• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

In: Sylvia, Petterd, Grimes, Martin

Out: T.Mcdonald, Joel Macdonald, Sellar and Dunn

We have too many tall defenders. McDonald and MacDonald were horrendous in disposal. I don't know why Neeld isn't playing Martin in the ruck more?? Didn't he watch last year. Petterd shouldn't of been dropped in the first place.

Agree with all of this but after our best game of the season i can't see us making 4 changes.

I can only see us making 2, Sylvia and Grimes in. Petterd should also be in and Martin over Sellar but can't see them all happening.

In
Sylvia
Grimes

Out, Take your pick
Mcdonald
Macdonald
Sellar
Dunn

Some interesting matchups.

I like the Frawley to Milne match-up. Ross Lyon played a bigger opponent on Milne on friday nite cause he is a good mark for his size and hates being pushed around by bigger opponents. Has the speed to go with Milne.

Sellar to push back with Stanley? since Kozi is suspended.

Garland to Riewoldt.

Morton to Goddard.

Like Petterd to Fisher.

Think NJones hard tag on Dal Santo would be good.

i think we could do okay with the key match ups, only problem is winning the pill.

I figure Rivers should stick with Stanley, not sure about Sellar's speed.

Morton to Goddard is probably better than Watts to Goddard; I like it.

I did consider Jones for NDS, but I want him doing what he does best. Winning the ball, bollocking through opponents and thumping it deep into the fifty.

Our problem is definitely keeping the pill, rather than winning it.

I think we had four less contested disposals against a midfield with good insiders in Cross, Boyd and Picken.

But 90 less uncontested, and it all comes down to turnovers... and more specifically where we turn the ball over.

FB: BARTRAM - FRAWLEY - RIVERS
HB: GRIMES - GARLAND - TAPSCOTT
C: TRENGOVE - MOLONEY - MAGNER
HF: BATE - WATTS - PETTERD
FF: DAVEY - CLARK - FITZPATRICK
FOL: JAMAR - JONES - MCKENZIE
INT: MCDONALD - HOWE - MORTON -BAIL(Sub)

IN: FITZPATRICK, PETTERD, GRIMES,
OUT: MACDONALD, DUNN, SELLAR,

I think Sylvia is going to make a massive differance to our side. A big bodied out side mid that can take the game on. We really need him flying!

Conversly there are some players in that side that are just not up to it. For mine all of: Dunn, Bate, Morton, MacDonald, Bartram, Bail and Sellar are all not good enough to be playing AFL footy. I'd also say the Jordie McKenzie is on the edge.

However changes for mine:

In

Sylvia
Grimes
Petterd

Outs

MacDonald
Sellar
Dunn

Players listed are not AFL standard footballers. It’s not a reflection on their game yesterday; I was talking in broader terms.

Bate was great yesterday, but if he’s still playing in the midfield in 12 months time we are *****ed. Morton is a flea and Bail has the awareness of a post.

If you guys were happy with Morton yesterday then you are insane.

In: Sylvia, Petterd, Grimes, Martin

Out: T.Mcdonald, Joel Macdonald, Sellar and Dunn

We have too many tall defenders. McDonald and MacDonald were horrendous in disposal. I don't know why Neeld isn't playing Martin in the ruck more?? Didn't he watch last year. Petterd shouldn't of been dropped in the first place.

Perfect, especially due to Kosi being out for the Saints. Another tall we don't need to worry about.

Out Sellar for Martin
Out Joel McDonald for Grimes
Out Dunn for Sylvia

This is close to the mark, but it will be Tom McDonald to make way for Grimes... I also feel that the Dees will look to pace against an aging St Kilda.. Would expect Blease to get a call up, but not too sure who it will be at the expense of..

Good game coming up.. Expect a better looking line-up and a much closer result!!

In Grimes, out Joel Macdonald - just butchers the ball far too often. Some of his hospital handpasses remind me of C.Bruce.
In Petterd, out Dunn - Ricky offers far more with the ball and far less bullshit without it (McGinnity aside), defensive role on Fisher for him I reckon.
In Sylvia, out Sellar - hopefully Col is ready to go, we bloody well need him. Sellar offers very little.

Probably Martin in for Clark if the big man doesn't get up.

Dislike Casey having a bye this week... even less form to go on than usual.

Out: McDonald, Bartram, Sellar, McKenzie
In: Grimes, Sylvia, Petterd, Blease/Bennell

More speed against St Kilda is vital. Sellar needs a clearly defined role because he just looks lost out there...

Out: McDonald, Bartram, Sellar, McKenzie
In: Grimes, Sylvia, Petterd, Blease/Bennell

More speed against St Kilda is vital. Sellar needs a clearly defined role because he just looks lost out there...

10000/1 that McKenzie gets dropped. Did a fantastic job on the weekend.

St.Kilda board think the game is already won. Talking percentage boosters. I reckon we're in with a shot.

Let them. Look at their history and they don't have much so they need to have some fun somehow. They haven't been playing well enough to be that confident.

I was looking at some of the matchups mentioned and was thinking of some left field ideas (just for something to think about).

First I thought the idea of playing Dunn and petterd to play on Goddard and fisher (Goddard will still win that but maybe be able to limit him slightly) if frawley plays on riewoldt I reckon that's a win for us so could tapscott play on Milne. Speed might hurt him but he is a player who really doesn't like to get beaten and will have him for physicality? mckenzie to tag dal and possibly magner to go with montagna (for mine he is a player who drops his $&@t when beaten early). I think Clark is a win for us if he plays can't see them with a good enough tall to match up on him. Sylvia is an in. If Martin is fit like him for a role on Stanley. Moloney or jones runs with Hayes, I thought about this and originally had jones but that takes out our most inform mid. We want him getting the ball.

As I said not the matchups that will happen but I think are food for thought. I just thought of matchups that if our boys play at their best could do jobs on.

Bazinga! He got us good. Hope it was worth it flog. G&GF.

Let them. Look at their history and they don't have much so they need to have some fun somehow. They haven't been playing well enough to be that confident.

Watching Crameri run around struggling without Hurley playing today, well that would be the weakness that could be exploited.

Saints fans continue to underate what Kosi does for Nicks game.

You have good big one on one defenders.

Still think the Saints will win, but perhaps not the big win a lot are expecting unless our midfield can contribute their fare share of goals.