Preview Changes vs Swans

on the weekend I thought LJ did this many times. There is also absolutely no second effort. Its like he just stops and thinks ' oh well I'll wait until it comes back'. I wouldn't be so fustratedwith LJ if I didn't think he had the talent. Outside of Betts we don't have one fit forward without glaring deficiencies that the coaches must urgently address

The bigger problem was that our forwards seems to be caught out behind the defender. This poses the question, is the game plan to kick over the defenders head or is it to kick to leading forwards?

hoping for lots of changes

Out
Crouch (inj)
Smack
LJ
Porps

IN
Jenkins
M.Crouch
Laird
Hartigan

Hartigan to full back slot the Truck to full forward
Would also put the vest on DMack. some form some tactic.
tell him he has 40 min's to run hard and have an impact.

Looking at 2006 is worse... If Mark Ricciuto, If Rhett Biglands, if Trent Hentshel etc etc. That is the year we had the premiership cup taken right out of our hands.
If only we had a drug dog in the change rooms at half time in the prelim we would have 3 trophy's now!

on the weekend I thought LJ did this many times. There is also absolutely no second effort. Its like he just stops and thinks ' oh well I'll wait until it comes back'. I wouldn't be so fustratedwith LJ if I didn't think he had the talent. Outside of Betts we don't have one fit forward without glaring deficiencies that the coaches must urgently address

He did it, but he chased plenty of times as well.

Really, there needs to be some acknowledgement that the abysmal delivery for the midfield is a factor; how many times do they need to kick it to the opposition or to our player's disadvantage before the forwards get sick of their shit and realise they're wasting their time busting their arses to try and clean up the mess afterwards?

I would bring in M Crouch, Hartigan, Pets and CEY.
Now I dont know if everyone knows but there is a reason Smack played so badly. He got concussed and and it wasnt picked up by the medical staff until after the match. He doesnt remember the game and may not play this week due to it. Smack has been our inform forward all preseason and he deserves the benefit of the doubt.
I would bounce Jpod before him, but we all know Sando wont drop him due to him been a mate. Did anyone see where Jpod jumped to mark the ball under no pressure and actually missed it totally? It was embarrising. And to think we could of drafted the young SA AA U18 Darcy H and given him a go instead of Jpod.

Would explain a fair bit about Smack on Saturday. Wonder if it's happened in a bunch of his other games too? :p

I hope we stick with him though. It's now or never time for him. Don't drop him unless we've decided to delist him.

I would bring in M Crouch, Hartigan, Pets and CEY.
I would bounce Jpod before him, but we all know Sando wont drop him due to him been a mate. Did anyone see where Jpod jumped to mark the ball under no pressure and actually missed it totally? It was embarrising. And to think we could of drafted the young SA AA U18 Darcy H and given him a go instead of Jpod.

J-Pod has been terrible. No disagreement there. But, just on Darcy Hourigan. He was passed up by every AFL club. So, we weren't alone in thinking he was perhaps not up to it.

Would explain a fair bit about Smack on Saturday. Wonder if it's happened in a bunch of his other games too? :p

I hope we stick with him though. It's now or never time for him. Don't drop him unless we've decided to delist him.

Maybe he has had a concussion since we drafted him, would explain a lot

He did it, but he chased plenty of times as well.

Really, there needs to be some acknowledgement that the abysmal delivery for the midfield is a factor; how many times do they need to kick it to the opposition or to our player's disadvantage before the forwards get sick of their shit and realise they're wasting their time busting their arses to try and clean up the mess afterwards?
This is great point

Absolutely... You can teach a player fitness and accountability. You cannot teach them how to have talent and a footy brain.

LJ is a much smarter footballer than many on here give him credit for. He knows when and where to lead and he knows how to kick a goal when he gets the ball. Those are two things that JJ does not have and probably will never have.
He's had 5 years to learn fitness & accountability. So far the only time he has ever demonstrated either was when his job was on the line late last year. Tex started the same way & spent his first year in the SANFL as a result, with frequent trips back to Norwood until the message finally sank in. Tex lifted his game years ago, LJ refuses to do so. At some point you have to accept that the player is never going to change and dump them for good.

WTF, Vader, is that you?

Buddy's 'key forward' days should be behind him. He'd be an enormous tall winger/high half forward. He'll be lucky to take take more than a dozen contested marks in any yet to occur season. Confident that he will adapt and continue to be elite.

Needs to get rid if the beard though.

Talia is good, but he can't counteract speed. He's the truck replacement, but we will continue to roll with both.
Prob a bit harsh and premature to write Buddys forward days over, he kicked 13 goals in a game last year.

If Sandi and McPharlin lined up against us in the semi final, we would've been knocked out in straight sets.

Only losers consider themselves victims of fate.

Not that I disagree with your overall point, but if Sandi didn't play who the flip was the 7 foot ****er that Porps out marked to give us the lead back in the last quarter?

Well seeing Smack had concussion last game and looked the same and played the same as he has every other game I think Bruce owes Smack a apology for saying he looks dopey .
Well to look at the changes i will try and put my thoughts with Vader like thinking anticipating what Sando. etc will do .

No 1 -- They will not drop Pods as that will make them look very silly virtually finishing off his career after 2 games on a 2 year contract.
I personally would keep him on hope as no real alternatives.

No 2 -- They will not bring both Martin and Lyon into team as again make them look silly after dropping last week .
I think Lyon unlucky and really don't understand why did not leave when had opportunity as obviously not a Sandos buddy.

No 3 Hartigan will come in as deserves to but as can't play SANFL this week very logical.
Will probably replace Shaw injured or not , but still believe Shaw has ability to be a good defender . Maybe Shaw will be Sub and might try up
forward like done with Otten in that Lynch lead up role .
They will not drop Reilly no matter how many want it. And won't drop Jaensch yet as least was getting cheap kicks .

NO 4 M. Crouch, Laird and Jenkins are the only certain ins and Hartigan then either Lyons or Martin to me seem to be changes with CEY some chance .
and be annoyed if Petrenko gets in.

No 5 Certainly won't drop LJ and Pods as no real options and think both get another chance .

In -- Jenkins - Hartigan - M Crouch -- Laird

Out -- B Crouch -- Mc Kernan -- Porps -- Shaw

For what it is worth thats my views.

Not that I disagree with your overall point, but if Sandi didn't play who the flip was the 7 foot goose that Porps out marked to give us the lead back in the last quarter?
You can't even post things at 4am without basic fact checking these days. What is the world coming to? :p

I know it's fashionable to belt LJ for lack of effort.

He's currently 11th on our list for average tackles and 12th for average 1% ers.

Given he basically plays as a key forward, I reckon there is a few other blokes to look at harder for lack of effort

If Shaw goes out Hartigan comes in. Laird does regardless for Jaensch who wasnt awful but we need defenders who defend.

Move Jaensch to the spot that Porps has been playing and put Laird in his spot?

Would love to see Jaensch move behind the ball when we're struggling, not starting as a defender. Let him be loose and use the run/long kick rather than having to worry about an opponent.

ATM I'd be giving the Pods one last chance.

Out: Crouch (inj), Porps (omit), One-Way running
In: Laird, Lyons, Heart