Preview Changes vs Swans

Swans only won two of their last seven in season 2013 and have followed that form with losing their first two in 2014

Winning 2 of their last 9 is not a good trend
Yes, we are a chance as basically they have been about as crap as us & also have many injuries ... & Massie has retired ;)

When Tex and JJ are back firing I beleive LJ will tear it up as the 3rd tall, unfortunately he is not a KPF, never will be but as the 3rd tall would be very dangerous.

I am more confidant about this game as the last two, they went as expected. This week I expect we will win.
Perhaps, but somehow I think Lynch &/or McKernan will take his place.

I wonder what we've got up the sleeve if Sydney win? Tex to return next week?

If we have a real stinker year it could be our most positive season ever in terms of good news.
If we keep playing most of the season like the 1st 2 rounds, we are going to fast run out of offsetting good news stories...

Really could see Jenkins playing FB after Ruttens requirement ......still not sure on Hartigan, don't like his lack of balance (core strength) and fact he goes to ground too easily ...that said that's all correctable
Potential to be a CHB with his athletism, but not a FB IMO.

Reckon Hartigan/Siggins is looking more likely though.

I'm not confident he can run through the banner without running out of puff or injuring his shoulder.
It's ok porps is on standby for cover* if this happens
* banner must be broken for porps to come in

Wait this was an option?
This club is utterly moronic, it's not hindsight it's knowing you have plenty of tall options and dismal small forwards, HBF options plus a lackluster on ball crew
How is chapman betts and no porps and pods not epic?
It's mind boggling.

"Paul Chapman? Nah, he's too old and past it. Let's recruit somebody who's just as old, and was never half as good instead."

What's pods record away from Kadinia park? Ordinary at best isn't it?

My favourite is that Pods is a fresh 32 year old because he started his AFL career late. Not as battered and bruised, see?

What was he doing prior? Sitting on pillows being fanned with palm leaves by wenches who intermittently stopped to drop grapes in his mouth I assume.

My favourite is that Pods is a fresh 32 year old because he started his AFL career late. Not as battered and bruised, see?

What was he doing prior? Sitting on pillows being fanned with palm leaves by wenches who intermittently stopped to drop grapes in his mouth I assume.
Weird isn't it? If he was fresh surely the Cats would have kept him. When he finishes his career he will be 34, how many 34 yr old forwards are playing let alone well? This was a panic selection.

Boy do I hate teachers pets and boy does Sando have his pets.
2 tall forwards in team left only and both out of form and we replace with Petrenko

Yep Sando starting to worry me as it is hard to lock ball in when bombed in and Betts has to out mark 3 on his own and chase 1 of them as 3 charge out .
How have we solved problem by dropping 2 falls and replacing one with Petrenko who stats in that role last year was embarrassing even the so called strength of tackling but his love of Pets and dislike of Lyons has proved good inside player but able to kick goals as well is just school;yard stuff.
If he did not want to leave Johnstone in team could have kept Shaw to put a little height and speed both ends.
But yep you could tell McKernan had concussion last week as he run around lost all game, not getting near the ball with a dopey look on his face .
Well guess we can only hope Danger dominates and actually puts the ball to our advantage this week to get us over the line.

I must say it is quite concern as to where we're actually going to get our goals from. Sure we've got Betts, but beyond that there's not a lot of firepower. Pods currently looks like he has the potency of a mule. Jenkins going by his career thus far is good for 1-2 goals a best when in form. Petrenko on average kicks a goal every 2nd game to go along with his 7 or 8 touches and that's about it for our specialist forwards. We're now relying on rotating midfielders to kick goals.

Its a very defensive, almost defeatist, mindset we're going in with and I think we're already seeing this season, that its the sides that can score quickly who are going to be the tough ones to beat.

We're essentially relying on someone like Dangerfield having a massive day, picking up 30+ possessions and kicking 4 goals, whilst Betts also has a big day. God help us if Betts is well held...

I must say it is quite concern as to where we're actually going to get our goals from. Sure we've got Betts, but beyond that there's not a lot of firepower. Pods currently looks like he has the potency of a mule. Jenkins going by his career thus far is good for 1-2 goals a best when in form. Petrenko on average kicks a goal every 2nd game to go along with his 7 or 8 touches and that's about it for our specialist forwards. We're now relying on rotating midfielders to kick goals.

Its a very defensive, almost defeatist, mindset we're going in with and I think we're already seeing this season, that its the sides that can score quickly who are going to be the tough ones to beat.

We're essentially relying on someone like Dangerfield having a massive day, picking up 30+ possessions and kicking 4 goals, whilst Betts also has a big day. God help us if Betts is well held...

Clarkson said tonight a simple truism that is all too often forgotten. Scoreboard pressure is the most important kind of pressure in football. Then he said it again just to reiterate. Scoreboard pressure is the most important kind of pressure in football.

Kicking goals does all kinds of funny things to the opposition and has the added benefit that its how you win too.

And what do we do? Drop our 2nd highest goal kicker because he was gasping after running lengths of the oval all afternoon trying to clean up after our mids. Genius.

Defensive pressure is cream on the scoreboard pressure cake. Basing your forward structure on defense and bringing in defensive specialists like pets at the expense of goal kickers is the definition of pissing in the wind.

We need a spread of goal kickers, need a lot more from our mids.

Lyons is a noted goal kicker btw. Was a forward as a youngster.

Because some people have the same Sack Trigg picture I often think you have multiple personalities........

Anyways, Lyons needs a proper go in the AFL. Some of our AFL players are just coasting and won't take us to a premiership, at least if we try Lyons properly we will know what he has to offer.

Clarkson said tonight a simple truism that is all too often forgotten. Scoreboard pressure is the most important kind of pressure in football. Then he said it again just to reiterate. Scoreboard pressure is the most important kind of pressure in football.

Kicking goals does all kinds of funny things to the opposition and has the added benefit that its how you win too.

And what do we do? Drop our 2nd highest goal kicker because he was gasping after running lengths of the oval all afternoon trying to clean up after our mids. Genius.

Defensive pressure is cream on the scoreboard pressure cake. Basing your forward structure on defense and bringing in defensive specialists like pets at the expense of goal kickers is the definition of pissing in the wind.

Correct, also defensive pressure is not corrected by simply dropping a tall and bringing in a small, it a team mindset and requires every player to get involved. Sure Petrenko has a greater chance of catching Jared Polec than Lewis Johnston, but he's going to be just as stuffed afterwards and less likely to score a goal in the first place. Bringing Petrenko in is a band-aid measure at best, merely covering over the fact that our forward structures are useless, our key forwards are woefully out of form and our midfielders haven't the faintest clue how to kick the ball to a forward. Its the same issue we've been having for years and apart from the odd, short lived, run of games has never been resolved and doesn't look like getting resolved any time soon.

:oops:

Eddie Betts says hi!!!

Tall forwards lads. I'm talking about god damn LJ and trying to defend his random omission from the team. Therefore Eddie betts has nothing to do with it, how many time have i had to say it now, gosh! :p

Mate, I'm loving your posting in this thread, but the bold is exactly the problem!

Senior, experienced players have no excuse for consistently crap performances.

We should be given the youngsters that leniency - understanding they will have their ups and downs, but are learning and developing.

Not senior players who should know better.

Pods has played two of the worst games of football you've ever seen, it's laughable that he's still in the side.

It's either a golden ticket or an admin/coaching panel who don't want to look stupid for recruiting an old man who is past it on a two year deal.

I know, its a tough one and I've been just as disgusting with his performances as others, albeit having little to no feeling in his hand vs Geelong.

But he does provide experience and leadership, setting up our forward line and telling them where to go at different stages of the game.

Like I said, it's not like any one else is setting the world on fire at the moment and th supply has been ordinary at best. Coming into a new team playing a different role, maybe he does deserve more than 1 uninjured game to prove his worth.

The way things are going at this rate though, I think I may have a heart attack in excitement when tex is finally back. Boy will he be a sight for sore eyes.

Could Kerridge be our saving grace when it comes to kicking goals tomorrow? A repeat performance of his game against the Roos would be excellent.

Swans do have some very good mid sized defenders, or at least imo, in laidler and Rampe who I rate very highly. Perfect match up for someone like Kedge so he may struggle to break open this game.

I hope he proves me wrong though, where else are the goals going to come from the way things are going atm.

When Tex and JJ are back firing I beleive LJ will tear it up as the 3rd tall, unfortunately he is not a KPF, never will be but as the 3rd tall would be very dangerous.

I am more confidant about this game as the last two, they went as expected. This week I expect we will win.

LJ has been playing as the third tall the first two games, but plays it like a KPF

Our third tall is lynch, and LJ still can't get a game when he is injured.

When walker and lynch are back, LJ's chances of a game are even worse.

This is so true and obvious; I don't know why more people can't see it.

Which is why we should be playing him right now; get some games/experience into him for when Tex is back.

Why will anything be different when #13 is back?

LJ will still be required to play the same position, he will still get the same defenders, nothing will change

We should not be playing him right now, because besides an ok kick, he is useless.

Walker and Lynch are both injured, and he still can't keep his spot.

I said it in the pre season that Otten wont start as a forward for us, but even he has gone past LJ as an option up forward in the seniors.

Once walker, lynch, otten are back, LJ will not play a game unless there are two injuries.

What i do agree with is that lyons has been very poorly treated. Plays 18 months of good footy in the SANFL, crouch jnr gets drafted and goes ahead of him straight away...o_O

Could Kerridge be our saving grace when it comes to kicking goals tomorrow? A repeat performance of his game against the Roos would be excellent.

A repeat performance of that Roos game would be excellent:D