Preview Changes vs Swans

But Pods has been total shit, a waste of a spot. LJ outperforms him in any indicator you can dream up (unless shitness is one), yet we've dropped him.

This is the same crap as last year; "We can't play the kids, we need the experienced guys or we'll get belted!"

Yet we got belted constantly - and it was very, very rarely the kids who ever let us down.

Being experienced doesn't make you good.
Being inexperienced doesn't make you crap.

But Pods has been total shit, a waste of a spot. LJ outperforms him in any indicator you can dream up (unless shitness is one), yet we've dropped him.

This is the same crap as last year; "We can't play the kids, we need the experienced guys or we'll get belted!"

Yet we got belted constantly - and it was very, very rarely the kids who ever let us down.

Being experienced doesn't make you good.
Being inexperienced doesn't make you crap.
How do you think Johnston will go as a KPF?

Missed it by that much, Agent 99.

Overall I really like the changes. What do all the ins have in common? They are hard nuts.

I suspect that Smack would have been dropped if he wasn't injured (I would have preferred Smack to JPod but we couldn't drop all three tall forwards.....yet). Hopefully bringing in Hartigan puts Truck on notice.

Not surprisingly they ignored Jarryd Lyons yet again. Sando likes the "concept" of Petrenko as opposed to someone like Jarryd Lyons who is boring and just gets heaps of clearances. Unlike many others, I remember how well Sam Shaw played in that brief phase of his career when he went for 2 months without an injury.

Officially Gone; Martin, Porplyzia, LJ, Graham

Watch this Space; JPod, Rutten, Reilly, Jaensch (NaBA), Petrenko, Mackay

Waiting in the wings; CEY, RAT, Charlie

I dunno, i reckon it might of been the other way round with J-Pod getting dropped. You'd hope the selectors would realize that Smack needed 5-6 games before making a call on his career (yes, i'd have him in the watch this space section). Reckon J-Pod for McKernan next week.

Lyons has two big problems here right now. He's a inside midfielder without much else and whilst you can make a damn fine career out of being that, right now spot 1 is filled by a aging Thompson.

The second one is the drafting of M.Crouch, who Sando has had massive wraps from the beginning.

Now realistically for balance, you can fit 1 and at most 2 of these types of players in and everyone can see that Crouch is in the box seat, right now Lyons needs to add more to his game or be depth for a long time.

Petrenko is "liked" because he adds speed to our side, even though it's just speed and not much else. Disappointed they didn't go Cameron here, sure he "might" not be ready, but Pets doesn't fill me with any confidence.

Shaw, two years ago he had a golden two month patch, but right now he looks shaky, he needed to be dropped.

And finally, i hope your right about CEY, RAT and Charlie being close. Love to see all three (Actually, i'd also like to see Knights debut as well, sounds like a young Sloane and boy do we need more of those) play before the bye.

I'm glad there were some big changes to give the boys a rocket after that U.13s effort last week, but two were forced so therefore only three. I am disappointed that LJ got dropped before Pods even after Sando stated Pods was a long way out of form - just because we picked him up doesn't mean he should be guaranteed a gig, why do other poor performers need to find form in the SANFL but Pods gets to hang out with his Geelong mates in the A's?

Petrenko is another who has had opportunity after opportunity and has never quite cracked it - why does he offer more than what Lyon does even sitting in the forward line, surely Lyon offers more versatility- he has shown he can kick goals as well as take a grab above the pack and swing into the centre -someone doesn't like him.

Glad to check out BOB and fantastic to have Laird back the only Crow to show some mongrel and fight for a while, even though he's the smallest bloke in our side.

I'm not completely writing off our season just yet we have four or five best 22 out but geez get a shellacking in this one and we may be cactus...

Love the changes!

Would've liked to see Charlie Cameron but I'm sure that'll come.
At least we don't have to watch the 2 marshmellows spud it up forward.
If we never see LJ and Smack again in the 1's wont be disappointed.
Bit surprised to see Pets, wonder if he would make a perfect super sub?
Always struggles with running out a whole game it may suit him.

Got a Feeling BoB will make his mark real quick, and Lairdy will add a bit of mongrel to the back line.
With Hartigan in would love to see the big Truck move back to the forward line but doubt it since Shaw was an out.

At least a message has been sent, Stink it up and your gone!

more optimistic now about the Swans game.

Regarding the LJ v Pods debate.... I can't work out why we drop LJ and Shaw. We sadly lack a lead up forward, and LJ (despite his shortcomings) is our only option, UNLESS we moved Shaw up forward. Pods doesn't have the legs and can only play deep.

This seems to indicate to me we're going to stick with our deep entry tactic, forcing our mids and defenders to bring the ball in closer and kick deeper.

Given how the Swans can kill us on the "slingshot", and given how much we've turned the bloody thing over so far, I'm really REALLY worried.

Sent from my luxury yacht in the Bahamas

Happy with some of the changes, not happy with some others.

- Love that Crouch Jr is in
- Happy with Hartigan coming in but it should've probably been Rutten dropped for him instead of Shaw
- Delighted to finally see Porpy get dropped (please don't come back)
- Disappointed that Charlie Cameron isn't replacing him. I'd much rather see Cameron than Petrenko
- Very happy to have Laird back, he should be replacing Reilly though instead of replacing a forward like Johnston
- Disgusted that Johnston got dropped. If they were going to drop a forward, it had to be Pods

Contribute as little as Pods has?

We're selecting our team to avoid embarrassing our stupid decisions, it's farcical.

Absolute bullshit that LJ is out and Pods remains.

Where the **** is Lyons?!?!

Typical short sighted, dumb, cautious, stupid crap.
Mate, I reckon if Roo, Mcleod and Modra all magically went back to the age they were in their peak, and then got picked this week, you would still find ways to criticise selection.

Maybe no coach spoke to him to realise he was concussed? Which is a concern in itself.

Can you blame them? Could you tell the difference between someone who has no idea where he was and Shaun Mckernan?

I hope Shaw never returns to the side. I think he is a massive spud who cannot kick to save his life.

Sando got the changes correct this week.

Well the whole entire playing group and coaching staff disagree with you on that front. Rated very highly internally at the club.

I wonder how long it will take for posters to realise that you can't play with 22 midfielders every week and that Lyons coming in this week would have been utterly pointless, as he offers zero tackling pressure as a half forward. Pets coming in makes perfect sense.

Lyons offer's no tackling pressure...? The guy is a tackling machine. Yes, he is on the slower side but it seems in fact that he has gained a genuine yard of pace over the preseason. Ive seen some great run downs from him both in the NAB and in last weeks trial game. The kid can tackle, and as a matter of face can actually play football unlike Petrenko.

My thoughts on Selection:
- Surely you guys are as confused as I am as to why LJ was dropped? Wtf Sando? :drunk:
- Sorry to be a party pooper, but I would rather Lyons over Crouch. Yes i want to see Bob play as much as the next guy, but we're playing Sydney. Needed Lyons here.
- Would have also liked to see one of CEY or Cameron over Petrenko. We are wasting our time with naming him.
- Happy to see JJ back. It's a confidence booster that he desperately needs.

Can you blame them? Could you tell the difference between someone who has no idea where he was and Shaun Mckernan?
I had a yack to Shaun a couple of weeks ago. I was blown away by how articulate, talkative and switched on he was. He is anything but dopey.

Nah I have heard that before from others actually, which did surprise me at first.

Be lets be honest, on the field he looks like a fish out of water half the time.

For the first time this year, I'm happy with our selections. I would have liked to see Smack stay in ahead of Pods, but concussion ruled out that possibility. Hopefully Pods finds some form this week otherwise he should be making his second Crows debut for the year next week. Really happy to see Crouch in, as others have said, he should have played round 1, and I like the inclusion of Hartigan. If we can get him up and playing well it gives us the option of resting the Truck when match ups suit, which would also give us a chance to blood CEY.

I would have tried Shaw as a forward. Tall, quick, can mark and has defensive nous as well. Just handball to Smith or Grigg when going for goal.

He'd probably forget he was playing as a forward and run away from the goals (before turning it over).

Nah I have heard that before from others actually, which did surprise me at first.

Be lets be honest, on the field he looks like a fish out of water half the time.
So what should we do with a big bloke who doesn't seem to be a natural forward? Play him at CHB maybe? Try Talia at CHF or, here's a bit of left field, chuck Truck up forward?

I'd love to see smack succeed, he's a great ruck for his size but not a natural forward imo.

Sent from my luxury yacht in the Bahamas

Well he's not a natural defender either, we tried him at that before and he was lost at sea.

So if he's not a natural forward, and not a natural defender, that makes him a natural ruckman - and unfortunately that makes him another tweener ruckman who isn't big enough to do it in the AFL and doesn't have enough tools to do it on the side.

Edit
My thoughts on Selection:
- Surely you guys are as confused as I am as to why LJ was dropped? Wtf Sando? :drunk:
Nope, not confused at all.
Looks like a champ when open but plays like a marshmellow under pressure.
Sando and Co obviously have had enough (finally).
And the fact that Porps, Shaw and MARTIN are emergencies show how far down the list he is.