Preview Changes vs Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter King Elvis

Only one change I want to see this week:

When Sydney run out onto Footy Park, the big screen people need to show the Balfours ad featuring He Who Must Not Be Named.

That should get the blood pumping.

Why the AFL does not have a sense of theatre and organised it so Voldemort only had a 10 game suspension instead of a 11 game suspension I will never know. Adelaide at AAMI would be the perfect place for Voldemort to make his Swans debut :)

Yeah, no sense of fun in the Kremlin. The only reason they gave him 11 weeks off is because we're the week 11 opponent.

Good name for Kurt - Voldemort. I think it's Latin for 'four weeks off for slight head knock'.

I wish Kurtly was playing this weekend.

We would be absolute dead set certainties.

Why? ( I understand why but)...

why wouldn't they get that fired up every week?It's like playing well in milestone matches. It's false reality.

Using that sort of extrinsic motivation shouldn't help. If it does, why wouldn't they harness that motivation every week.

Hes a good Club Captain. Does everything right. Speaks well. Clean Cut.
He isn't a good leader on field that is. Doesn't win a lot of tough contests, kick big goals, and inspire team mates
Thought he kicked a pearler at the WACA last year when we needed it bigtime....long way out, tough angle too. He wasnt my first choice as Skipper either but he hasnt done too badly.

Just on Thommo - I agree with a few recent posts about how bad his disposal is re turnovers and frees against are. Not a week goes by when I dont spew over this.o_O
Is anybody at the AFC telling him??...doesnt look like it. Sando needs to bench him now and then...sadly he wont be short of reasons for doing so.

Why? ( I understand why but)...

why wouldn't they get that fired up every week?It's like playing well in milestone matches. It's false reality.

Using that sort of extrinsic motivation shouldn't help. If it does, why wouldn't they harness that motivation every week.

I sensed a bit of jovial tongue in cheek from Slippery Pete.

Yes, you are 99.9% certain on that one but knowing this board, I'm sure 'someone' was almost certain to suggest that in a serious way.

Some tough decisions this week at the selection table.

As minimum:
  1. McKernan in for Porplyzia - he is a shadow of his former self & many of us have been saying get him back to Westies to find some form.
  2. Henderson (sub?) in for Mackay - not worth risking, particularly given his form is patchy & we have similar types.
Then it is a question of whether you bring in a Wright &/or Crouch for Martin &/or Brown (with VB going into defence). I would like Martin given another run - preferably from the start to see whether he can make it - rather than chopping & changing.

Except of course there will likely be an on field riot of players and spectators :p

Maybe the AFL should organise a Balfours pie throwing competition at the half time break?

There are not that many obvious match ups, ill have a crack at some but more than happy to be corrected.
Mids
Okeefe & Dangerfield - ROK did the job on Watson last week and I would suggest he would get the job on Dangerfield
Kennedy & Thompson
Hannebery and Van Berlo?
Parker & Sloane
Mitchell & Vince??
Jack & Douglas
Goodes & Martin? I have no idea who you will match up on him.
Jetta?

Talia & Mummy or Pyke
Rutten? Not sure who he would match up on. Probably White if he plays but im not sure if he will.
Morton & Luke Brown?
Bolton ?
Mcglynn?

McKernan - Grundy
Jenkins & Jacobs - Richards
Patrenko - Malceski
Porplezyia - Rampe
Lynch - Everitt

Thats about all I an think of at the minute.

There are not that many obvious match ups, ill have a crack at some but more than happy to be corrected.
Mids
Okeefe & Dangerfield - ROK did the job on Watson last week and I would suggest he would get the job on Dangerfield
Kennedy & Thompson
Hannebery and Van Berlo?
Parker & Lyons
Mitchell & Vince??
Jack & Douglas
Goodes & Smith did the job on him in the second half in last years final? I have no idea who you will match up on him.
Jetta Sloane

Talia & Second Tall
Rutten? Mummy/Pyke
Morton & Otten
Bolton Reilly
Mcglynn? Laird/Brown

McKernan - Grundy
Jenkins & Jacobs - Richards
Patrenko - Malceski
Porplezyia - Rampe
Lynch - Everitt

Thats about all I an think of at the minute.

Thought he kicked a pearler at the WACA last year when we needed it bigtime....long way out, tough angle too. He wasnt my first choice as Skipper either but he hasnt done too badly.

Just on Thommo - I agree with a few recent posts about how bad his disposal is re turnovers and frees against are. Not a week goes by when I dont spew over this.o_O
Is anybody at the AFC telling him??...doesnt look like it. Sando needs to bench him now and then...sadly he wont be short of reasons for doing so.

That's 1.

How many times just this year has Danger kicked a big team lifting goal? at least 3 or 4

16 possessions and 75% efficiency. :rolleyes: Plenty worse than him today.
Do they have a stat for goals conceeded? Or times he volunteered to go to ground?
Seriously looked lost in the conditions which is a worry because we already have a bunch of players who look lost in the wet.

To win against Sydney, we need to run, run and more run. Two extremely dangerous players that need to be curtailed -Goodes and Jetta -give them a meter of space, put down your glasses -end of party. AND FFS have someone patrolling the goal line - sheesh it is frustrating when you see the ball dribble into goals with no one near by - cost us dearly against FreeHo.

How long does Lynch's 10 goal grace period last?
Other than the fact that he had a couple of great games before that and was good against North Melbourne last week? Short memories some people have..

But that's the thing; Ten Goal Tommy will only be judged by how many goals he kicks now.

Knowledgeable football people will know, he is not a goal kicking forward* and will never be a huge goal kicker but ignorant football people will continue to demand that he gets dropped after having perceived bad games when he doesn't kick any goals.

*I doubt he will kick more than 40 goals in a season but will still be a very good AFL forward.

In: McKernan, Crouch, Henderson
Out: Porplyzia, Mackay (inj), Brown

B: Otten, Rutten, Laird
HB: Smith, Talia, van Berlo
C: Sloane, Dangerfield, Martin
HF: Kerridge, Lynch, Lyons
F: Petrenko, Jenkins, Douglas
R: Jacobs, Vince, Thompson
I: McKernan, Crouch, Reilly, Henderson (sub)
Pretty much nailed it mate. Weather could dictate whether Smack comes in for Porps, but I reckon the other two are nearly spot on. The club are saying Dmac will get up, but who knows what to believe with injuries these days. Martin will be the one that goes out if Mackay is fit.

he still racked up 8 marks in the wet gave McPharlin a work out, only thing we remember is the idiotic short pass.

Exactly, a captains spot should be unquestionable, he shouldn't have a large portion of his supporter base questioning his performance on a weekly basis and saying "he's captain so he won't lose his spot but..." or have posters defending him sayin "he wasn't that bad..." See the likes of Danger, Thommo, Sloane, Walker and Rutten. How many captains in the AFL have such a portion of their fan base questioning their captains spot in the side?
So because people on here question his worth, that means it's the majority opinion? People will question anything these days, doesn't mean they're right. And an opinion on BF means jackshit in the scheme of things. The only reason people question him is because they didn't want him as captain in the first place, which is fine, but then don't expect people to take your opinion seriously.

And you say other people have blinkered views?

He's a mediocre footballer, and not the best leader on our list, let alone one of the best in the AFL.
Your view is just as blinkered as Vader's though. How on earth would you know whether he's one of the best captains in the league or not? Because the media says he isn't?

And he is rated as the best leader on the list by the players and coaches, I reckon they know a little more about his capabilities than an armchair critic.

So because people on here question his worth, that means it's the majority opinion? People will question anything these days, doesn't mean they're right. And an opinion on BF means jackshit in the scheme of things. The only reason people question him is because they didn't want him as captain in the first place, which is fine, but then don't expect people to take your opinion seriously.

I'm not going to go and find the post that you were responding to Baccs, but I will just mention Nick Maxwell's name. Collingwood supporters on mass didn't want him appointed captain and many still don't want him as captain. I'm sure it happens at other clubs too.

Agree....maybe you can't teach an old dog new tricks!

Ugh, god, what is it with people wanting to find the most indirect, STUPID answer for something that's just really plain and obvious, lol

People question him because they see him play like shit every week. It's because of his performance. It's not some rare moon tide that occurs once every few months to make us feel funny towards him. I have no reason or motive for just...hating a player. But I tell you what, I hate watching him play every week because he sucks. It's that simple. You -dread- when he gets the ball. It makes you feel like there's no hope for a premiership if he's the best we've got.

It doesn't help that he has no charisma and is all-round dull as ****, but first and foremost, it's his footy. He is shit, and that doesn't inspire people.

Ugh, god, what is it with people wanting to find the most indirect, STUPID answer for something that's just really plain and obvious, lol

People question him because they see him play like shit every week. It's because of his performance. It's not some rare moon tide that occurs once every few months to make us feel funny towards him. I have no reason or motive for just...hating a player. But I tell you what, I hate watching him play every week because he sucks. It's that simple. You -dread- when he gets the ball. It makes you feel like there's no hope for a premiership if he's the best we've got.

It doesn't help that he has no charisma and is all-round dull as ****, but first and foremost, it's his footy. He is shit, and that doesn't inspire people.

Clearly he inspires the players... and frankly, what you think doesn't matter.