Preview Changes vs Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter King Elvis

Because aside from one bad game (vs Freo), he's actually been very good so far this season? There is no justification whatsoever for dropping him, so why would the selectors do it?

I am definitely not a whipping boy basher and give players more than a fair go but I can't understand why there are still a large group of people defending Reilly this season?

One bad game? Reilly has only been good for a few games this season and the rest has been quite average. I would even say 'good' is pushing it as he always seems to offset any good plays with equally if not worse bad plays. He is a shadow of the player he was last year and in a lot of cases, is a liability.

Martin has been dudded by this club over the last couple of years. Honestly, the poor guy has been given next to no chance to show his strengths. I know his disposal stunk last week but he needed to be given at least a couple of full games in a row. As it is, I can't honestly see where his next opportunity can come from. Shame. Think he's now done for at this club. Should have been given Porps' role and Porps dropped.

Notice how everyone is up in arms about Lyons but no one has batted an eyelid about Martin? There's a reason for that, he's one of those inbetweener's, too good for SANFL, not good enough for AFL.

I really look forward to seeing him with another pre season under his belt, I reckon the coaches will want to see him impact a few more contests. I think there a re still a few reservations and I think its about his ability to cover the ground.
Yeah I like him as a player, but with Crouch coming back you can't have them all. His form hasn't been demanding permanent selection, and you can't just gift games to players. Very surprised the Porpoise survived, but I guess he'll be our sub, AGAIN...

Not surprised to see Brown out with a slight niggle, has looked tired in recent weeks. Mckernan and Hendo are good ins, great to see Hendo back.

Porps plays as a sub which he has been effective in this year, including said North game, and Crouch and Danger play in the guts. Yes Crouch is young but both he and Dolph are very solid bodies
You seem to want a bit each way. Mattox post referred to Porps and the need for mature bodies. Having his mature body for a quarter doesn't fill that need. His post also lay the blame on the kids for being blown away against North and ignored the mature senior bodies poor start and Lyons ripper second qtr.

Sydney bat about 12 deep in the midfield, removing Lyons makes no sense.

So we need strong bodies against Sydney? I'd hardly call Porps body a "strong" body at the moment given his dodgy shoulders, shot confidence and complete inability to lay a tackle. He may be a solid unit but that will count for naught due to the aforementioned issues. Meanwhile, we drop one of our better clearance players in recent weeks against a contested ball-focused side:rolleyes:. Lyons isn't a skinny 18 yo, he's got the body to go for a few more weeks yet.

I do take some solace from Phil Harper on FiveAA saying Lyons should be back in a couple of weeks though (won't hold my breath).

So Phil Harper has dropped the " he'll play a lot of footy for us this year " line now and replaced it with he should be back in a couple of weeks?
It seemed to be a no brainer to drop Porps and keep Lyons

Yeah I like him as a player, but with Crouch coming back you can't have them all. His form hasn't been demanding permanent selection, and you can't just gift games to players. Very surprised the Porpoise survived, but I guess he'll be our sub, AGAIN...

Not surprised to see Brown out with a slight niggle, has looked tired in recent weeks. Mckernan and Hendo are good ins, great to see Hendo back.

Oh Im sorry, I thought this is what the Match Committee were doing for Porps, Reilly and McKay, as you were :rolleyes:

So Phil Harper has dropped the " he'll play a lot of footy for us this year " line now and replaced it with he should be back in a couple of weeks?
Did the 5AA crew drill him about his dropping?

I dare say thats why Hendo is in. So he can stay forward and Danger can play in the middle more. If we kept Lyons in as well as Crouch thats just too young a midfield for mine and we would get slaughtered. I dare say Lyons is feeling it after the freo match.

Is Lyons an in for Glenelg?
Very well said.

Also,

I obviously agree with the logic of keeping a balance of youth and experience. But when certain youth has a higher output than certain experience week in week out, then how can you justify that you will be better off with the experience?

This isn't a game of numbers (especially this season, where our younger players have stepped up regularly), where you balance out your teams experience against theirs and expect an even contest.

That's not to say I am totally unhappy with the selections. I like Henderson and obviously Crouch has the talent. McKernan also only was ousted last week because of the conditions. I just really hope Lyons gets back in soon because he is definitely a quality footballer.

Its disgraceful. Until we rid ourselves of the gold pass system we will continue to wallow as the great under achiever of the AFL.

We have a player who has been made to do more than earn his spot over almost 2.5 years. He comes in last year shows some good signs and is dropped. Then this year he was outstanding against GWS, very good against North and ok last week. FFS.

Im over the rubbish served up by selectors and the players that clog our best 22.
Ah, the good old 'gold pass system', great to see it back in vogue on this board! Died out a bit last year, but back with a vengeance this season.

Ha

Ha

All I can say, is I hope when Tippett comes back, I hope he gets concussion in some form

hell they don't have to be serious, you know maybe a $50 note smacking him in the nose when he opens his wallet or even his wallet falling on his head

I also wish him a long and healthy life outside football,but as long as he has a swans jumper on, I hope he has a target on his back(head)

Well it was a poor post as is yours.

We have just played a top 4 side who are renowned as a dour, contested side and almost beat them. McKay was subbed out anyway and Martin contributed nothing. So you, and the poster you support, think that if we dropped McKay and Martin for McKernan and Crouch, then all of a sudden we go from a side that lost by 7 points to Freo....to a side that is too inexperienced and will be thrashed?

Its a just a ridiculous assertion.
Coming from the 'gold pass' rant poster? Ha

Notice how everyone is up in arms about Lyons but no one has batted an eyelid about Martin? There's a reason for that, he's one of those inbetweener's, too good for SANFL, not good enough for AFL.

It's hard to be good at AFL when you are only given 30 minutes a season at it. Martin deserves more.
I would of liked to have seen him given half the opportunities Mackay or Porps has had his season.
I would of liked both those guys dropped and Martin & Lyons left in.
We are playing to many of reputations at the moment, hoping they will find form.

Very happy Crouch is in. He needed to come back in, regardless of SANFL form.

Glad that Brown wasn't dropped on form (because he didn't deserve to be), although whether the calf injury "saved" him from being dropped anyway is unknown.

Smack in makes sense and I like Hendo but he really needs a role to play instead of just being a little bit of everything.

Lyons out is awful, but if he's back in a couple of weeks for a longer stretch of AFL games then I'll be more okay with it.

Not sure why Mackay isn't being "rested".

Oh and Porps is incredibly lucky.
Good post mate, nailed my thoughts exactly.

To the masses on this board he does, but I'm not going to get anywhere on here when one of the favourites gets dropped. There has been a couple of very measured posts from Heafy83 and Mattrox, but they aren't in vogue.
They are measured if you ignore the inaccuracies and deficiencies of their posts

Good post mate, nailed my thoughts exactly.
Really? You seem to be siding with some posters who are criticising those of us who are unhappy with Lyons being dropped for Porps and yet you agreed JPs post.

I am definitely not a whipping boy basher and give players more than a fair go but I can't understand why there are still a large group of people defending Reilly this season?

One bad game? Reilly has only been good for a few games this season and the rest has been quite average. I would even say 'good' is pushing it as he always seems to offset any good plays with equally if not worse bad plays. He is a shadow of the player he was last year and in a lot of cases, is a liability.
I reckon last week was his first truly awful game this season though. He's been really good in a couple of others, and ok in the rest. He deserves another couple of games as a senior player, especially when he's our best disposer of the ball out of the backline.

Either Porps or McKay. I'd almost go for keeping Martin and being rid of them both

To the masses on this board he does, but I'm not going to get anywhere on here when one of the favourites gets dropped. There has been a couple of very measured posts from Heafy83 and Mattrox, but they aren't in vogue.

You said 'you can't gift players games' in regards to Lyons, when clearly anyone of Porps and Mackay have been EASILY worse and on last weeks game (if that's what we're judging Lyons on) Reilly, Smith and Kerridge were far worse. Not to mention Crouch hasn't exactly been demanding selection on SANFL form like Lyons was prior to his selection. You could even argue he is being 'gifted a game'.

Dont get me wrong. I'm not as upset as others about these selections, but am just disputing a lot of the logic being used.