Preview Changes vs Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter PowerKidd

One thing's for sure - the Hoon won't be dropped. Not the biggest or the fastest. But he's got footy smarts - something that's in short supply in our team at the moment. The 'non-mark' in the last qtr was a good example. He positioned himself in space hoping that Port would win the contest, and find him unmarked in the forward line.
I reckon he would've slotted the goal too as he seems like the type of lad who'd relish a match winning moment, it really sucks but the umpires ruined what would've been a youngsters dream to win a game in the dying stages.

The Hoon will be one of the easiest trade ins for my DT/SC sides after the bye, wouldn't be surprised if he stays in the side the rest of the season, as you say he's got footy smarts & a hunger to win which is lacking in a number of others at the moment.

One thing's for sure - the Hoon won't be dropped. Not the biggest or the fastest. But he's got footy smarts - something that's in short supply in our team at the moment. The 'non-mark' in the last qtr was a good example. He positioned himself in space hoping that Port would win the contest, and find him unmarked in the forward line.

I'll lose it if Hoon is dropped. He's doing very well considering this is the first he's played at AFL level since the 2013 finals and he had a season ending injury last year. If anything he's been one of our best in the two games he's been back for.

Some players had better watch out because if Colqhoun , AhChee , Amon become best 22 there's a few established names that might just miss out . I definitely wouldn't drop Sammy C , like the previous posters have said he's got the footy smarts , similar to Impey once he gets that little bit more depth in his kicking he'll be a player . Credit it to him , a Cornes replacement if I've ever seen one , not so much the tagging bit but the tidier up between the arcs ...
I wouldn't drop Arch either , I'm very impressed with his tools , all he ever seemed to need was more intensity and he actually seems to have found it .
Moore is the same for me , just needs more intensity but he hasn't found it seemingly .
I'd give him another game though ,
I'll join the chorus to drop Mitchell , unfortunately his skills just don't cut it .
I wouldn't be against Jonas being dropped either , he needs to win his one on one contests because if he doesn't the rest of his game won't make up for it .

Some players had better watch out because if Colqhoun , AhChee , Amon become best 22 there's a few established names that might just miss out . I definitely wouldn't drop Sammy C , like the previous posters have said he's got the footy smarts , similar to Impey once he gets that little bit more depth in his kicking he'll be a player . Credit it to him , a Cornes replacement if I've ever seen one , not so much the tagging bit but the tidier up between the arcs ...
I wouldn't drop Arch either , I'm very impressed with his tools , all he ever seemed to need was more intensity and he actually seems to have found it .
Moore is the same for me , just needs more intensity but he hasn't found it seemingly .
I'd give him another game though ,
I'll join the chorus to drop Mitchell , unfortunately his skills just don't cut it .
I wouldn't be against Jonas being dropped either , he needs to win his one on one contests because if he doesn't the rest of his game won't make up for it .
Culquoon is a smart player, he's found targets very well this season in limited opportunities.
As for Moore, he was one of the few players that had any grunt or aggression in the game. He was the one of the few that had words with Gibbs.

Jonas has been diabolically bad this year. I actually can't even see how he will get back to form from where he is.

During the offseason, I thought you guys were a bit mad to chase Ryder so hard because you already had a quality ruckman in Lobbe. Now I'm thinking it's very fortunate that you have Ryder because Lobbe doesn't seem to be cutting the mustard at the moment and should probably be replaced. Maybe I'm way off.

Mitchell should obviously go.

Jonas too if you feel you've got a reliable replacement.

How bad is Neade's form? I think he'll become a gun and should play every week, even if his form is shit.

I'm sure you all value my opinion very highly.

During the offseason, I thought you guys were a bit mad to chase Ryder so hard because you already had a quality ruckman in Lobbe. Now I'm thinking it's very fortunate that you have Ryder because Lobbe doesn't seem to be cutting the mustard at the moment and should probably be replaced. Maybe I'm way off.

How bad is Neade's form? I think he'll become a gun and should play every week, even if his form is shit.

The points are well made and the sense of humour is appreciated.

Completely agree with everything.. Neades defensive pressure could be better..

During the preseason someone at the club told me "Matt Lobbe is very aware Ryder is at the club now. He's training harder and longer to ensure there's no slip up in form". He said this as a positive thing, that Lobbe's rising to the challenge of having a "star" recruit at the club who plays his position.
Perhaps Lobbe is feeling the pressure of Ryder's presence in a slightly negative way insomuch as he's placing too much pressure on himself and trying too hard.

WHY DON'T YOU **** OFF BACK TO YOUR OWN BOARD RA RA RA!!!!!!11!!!111

The only times I was comfortable on the weekend were when Hoon and Krak had the ball in the back 50 or back of centre as they were hitting targets or at least putting the ball out to a team mates advantage.

Mitchells out
Jonas didn't even try and break tackles so that's an out just on effort for mine
Hartlett was horrible again - out

If Ryder can start taking contested marks up forward then he has served his purpose. The past has shown us however that it takes a long while for forwards to slot into a new team and structure. ie. Schulz was on the verge of being dropped after 8-10 weeks of his first season before he kicked a break out 7 goals. Franklin struggled settling into the Swans and turned it on in the back half of the year, etc.

Lobbe is going ok, he just doesn't take marks around the ground, this is his biggest flaw. We need him to offer something in the air. Other than that he is at worst competitive in ruck, and far from our biggest concern.

You are right re - Jonas, he is exhibiting all of the flaws that showed up when he first hit the AFL scene. A lack of intensity, a lack of urgency, a lack of speed and average skills, but now even worse he is getting beaten defensively. That's the one area that was never in doubt. He needs to lift or O'Shea who provides far more rebound and intercept marking, might take his place. Clurey also wouldn't be far off, but Clurey is still a fair way off AFL pace.

Neade is doing pretty bloody well. He's just not having 4 quarter performances. He'll kick 3 goals in a half and then be quiet the next. He should absolutely be in the selection frame at the moment though. His ball use going forward and composure are behind only Wingard and Krak.

If Ryder can start taking contested marks up forward then he has served his purpose. The past has shown us however that it takes a long while for forwards to slot into a new team and structure. ie. Schulz was on the verge of being dropped after 8-10 weeks of his first season before he kicked a break out 7 goals. Franklin struggled settling into the Swans and turned it on in the back half of the year, etc.

Lobbe is going ok, he just doesn't take marks around the ground, this is his biggest flaw. We need him to offer something in the air. Other than that he is at worst competitive in ruck, and far from our biggest concern.

You are right re - Jonas, he is exhibiting all of the flaws that showed up when he first hit the AFL scene. A lack of intensity, a lack of urgency, a lack of speed and average skills, but now even worse he is getting beaten defensively. That's the one area that was never in doubt. He needs to lift or O'Shea who provides far more rebound and intercept marking, might take his place. Clurey also wouldn't be far off, but Clurey is still a fair way off AFL pace.

Neade is doing pretty bloody well. He's just not having 4 quarter performances. He'll kick 3 goals in a half and then be quiet the next. He should absolutely be in the selection frame at the moment though. His ball use going forward and composure are behind only Wingard and Krak.

Disagree with the last line re:Neade. His pressure was great early this season but his ball use was appalling. Can't comment too much on how he is going now but he was absolutely terrible with ball in hand early. I still want him selected though. Neade >>> Moore, Mitchell, Gray.

Lobbe is fine, we need Ryder and Lobbe to learn to play each other no point dropping Lobbe. It will come.

Culquoon is a smart player, he's found targets very well this season in limited opportunities.
As for Moore, he was one of the few players that had any grunt or aggression in the game. He was the one of the few that had words with Gibbs.
Sam Colquhoun knows how and where to find possession and uses the ball well. Think he will get more game time
He came 3rd in 3k time trial before injury, so he can run a bit.
Remember that run and collect in the showdown when he got the ball, moved sideways, then backwards, and held on, then passed to Wingard (when Chad made the move to him) who goaled.