• Yes

Votes: 9 90.0%
  • Yes

Votes: 1 10.0%

Ben Brown is 2 disposals better than a chicken at the moment lol.

BBB does not have that credits in the bank to justify a horrendous 3 weeks in a premiership push. I'm not saying Mitch Brown will get a go, but it's almost irrefutable at this stage that he would've been much better the last 3 weeks and ongoing. Same as Daw. Or basically anyone at this stage.

Fritsch is our number 1 forward, then TMac, then Jackson, then Ben Brown. if he kicks a bag of goals then I'll forgive him. 0, 1 or 2 won't cut it.

I love Ben Brown because he is a great kick for goal. But he needs to be better and get the ball in his hands more often. More often than 2.
Jackson has kicked 5 to Browns 15 in two more games, but sure go off.

At what point does Brown get dropped though? 1 more game of under 5 possessions? 3 more games? It's a slippery slope. I don't mind Brown as a player but he is horribly out of form.
"Horribly" is such an extreme reaction from you, like always. He's not doing great but no one is banging down the door - Weid has been pox, no one else with runs on the board to take his spot.
Imo delivery into the forward line is the much greater issue than the form of our forwards.

"Horribly" is such an extreme reaction from you, like always. He's not doing great but no one is banging down the door - Weid has been pox, no one else with runs on the board to take his spot.
Imo delivery into the forward line is the much greater issue than the form of our forwards.
Last week: 2 possessions (51 inside 50's)
Round 10 vs kangaroos: 8 possessions, 0 goals. (74 inside 50's)
Round 9 vs Eagles: 6 possessions, 2 goals. (59 inside 50's)

Extreme reaction? No, that is horrible. in every sense of the word. That's against the 2 worst teams in the league. A 3 week rolling average of 5 possessions, 0.66 goals per game.

Why are you defending this?

Last week: 2 possessions (51 inside 50's)
Round 10 vs kangaroos: 8 possessions, 0 goals. (74 inside 50's)
Round 9 vs Eagles: 6 possessions, 2 goals. (59 inside 50's)

Extreme reaction? No, that is horrible. in every sense of the word. That's against the 2 worst teams in the league. A 3 week rolling average of 5 possessions, 0.66 goals per game.

Why are you defending this?
You didn't answer the question. Who is better placed to take the spot? And do you have an opinion about our forward 50 entry?

I think both Daemon and danster168 are correct.

Ben Brown is in poor form, but there is nobody better to take his spot, plus the way in which the team is coming into the forward line isn’t helping a player of Ben Brown’s style.

The coaches would know what they need and expect from a tall forward, and after watching Ben Brown and Weideman against Freo they’ve decided to drop Weideman.

They also showed last year they weren’t afraid to drop Ben Brown so it’s not like he’s untouchable either.

M.Brown. it's not so much about who comes in but we need to uphold standards and performance and i don't think his 3 week run is excusable. He was dropped in 2021, we can do it again and hopefully we can give him into form before finals.

We have bigger issues than the f50 entries in my opinion. Our defensive zone after a behind is non-existent and our ability to defend the spread has been exposed.

In one game, against a team that has been very good (except in the wet) when multiple in-game injuries were experienced, plus touching on a quarter of the best 22 missing.

I’m more concerned about forward connection as that’s been a recurring problem for runs of games both in 2021 and this year. Then I’m concerned next about getting opened up in centre clearance because again that happened a few times in 2021 and again this year in round 1.

Defensive zone and defending the spread have been exceptional and a strength for a long while so it takes much more than one week to go into panic mode for me.

In one game, against a team that has been very good (except in the wet) when multiple in-game injuries were experienced, plus touching on a quarter of the best 22 missing.

I’m more concerned about forward connection as that’s been a recurring problem for runs of games both in 2021 and this year. Then I’m concerned next about getting opened up in centre clearance because again that happened a few times in 2021 and again this year in round 1.

Defensive zone and defending the spread have been exceptional and a strength for a long while so it takes much more than one week to go into panic mode for me.
I respectfully disagree. West coast beat us in a half of footy. And when I say WCE, I mean WCE 2nds. And North matched us for 3 quarters so the writing has been on the wall for a while. Our defensive stuff across the ground has been well down. We were also poor against Ess, Hawthorn and Gold Coast. Even Port beat us in the 2nd half when we were all over them. So it's been far from just 1 game.

I'm not in panic mode either but I've been underwhelmed by a lot of our games this year and I know I'm not alone.

I am excited for today :)
I miss that “winning feeling”. Looking forward to a game only to get pumped sucks heaps of arse. That’s what happened last week. It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day!
Don’t care which Brown it is I just want a nice fat bag of sausage from one of our forwards. Trac not having a mare. Langdon, Harmes, Salem coming back nicely. Lot to look forward to today!

I respectfully disagree. West coast beat us in a half of footy. And when I say WCE, I mean WCE 2nds. And North matched us for 3 quarters so the writing has been on the wall for a while. Our defensive stuff across the ground has been well down. We were also poor against Ess, Hawthorn and Gold Coast. Even Port beat us in the 2nd half when we were all over them. So it's been far from just 1 game.

I'm not in panic mode either but I've been underwhelmed by a lot of our games this year and I know I'm not alone.

We won every quarter against the eagles champ

Rumour is that TMac will not frock up ... M. Brown to take his place.
MB would be the right replacement because he can play in defence if needed tbh. We were so horribly exposed last weekend.

Aren't we like 11th for pressure this year? That's not gonna win us the flag against the better teams. Pressure with a strong defensive setup is where our bread and butter lies and I don't think we have been anywhere near our best for pressure. Forcing that pressure kick into our defence system is where we excel, and we haven't been anywhere near what we were doing last year. This is where we need to lift. Our forward entries have always been ordinary(besides the odd moment in time) because most of our mids aren't elite kicks. A fit Salem will hopefully see this improve, but we need to get back to our manic pressure. Maybe we're feeling the effects after a long 18 months or more? Maybe we are carrying more niggles this year? Will be interesting to see how we respond tonight. I'm not convinced we are travelling that well. We are very gettable atm

Maybe we're feeling the effects after a long 18 months or more? Maybe we are carrying more niggles this year? Will be interesting to see how we respond tonight. I'm not convinced we are travelling that well. We are very gettable atm
This time last year we'd dropped a game to the previous season's wooden spoon team and were about to lose a game to Collingwood. Two teams who finished bottom 4 for the year. Had a pretty good injury list at the time, maybe missing Ben Brown only?

So far this year we've only lost a game to a Top 4 side. Sure they murdered us- which might keep a few egos in check- but we'd been up for a long time and had in-game injuries, late withdrawals, flutracca and a few important players out already.

Agree we're gettable but I don't think that's anything to worry about. We're travelling fine IMO.

This time last year we'd dropped a game to the previous season's wooden spoon team and were about to lose a game to Collingwood. Two teams who finished bottom 4 for the year. Had a pretty good injury list at the time, maybe missing Ben Brown only?

So far this year we've only lost a game to a Top 4 side. Sure they murdered us- which might keep a few egos in check- but we'd been up for a long time and had in-game injuries, late withdrawals, flutracca and a few important players out already.

Agree we're gettable but I don't think that's anything to worry about. We're travelling fine IMO.
I think 11th in pressure is a little worrying. I want to see us hunt tonight. Got outhunted last week by a hungry team. Sydney can score, but they can open themselves up. Will be interesting to see how we respond. Tricky team to come up against after a loss.

Fair enough. I'm confident we can turn it on when necessary. Against teams like North or WC the intensity hasn't been there because we didn't need it.
No point going flat out and injuring yourself when the real shit is months away.
Should be a fun game tonight.

I think both Daemon and danster168 are correct.

Ben Brown is in poor form, but there is nobody better to take his spot, plus the way in which the team is coming into the forward line isn’t helping a player of Ben Brown’s style.

The coaches would know what they need and expect from a tall forward, and after watching Ben Brown and Weideman against Freo they’ve decided to drop Weideman.

They also showed last year they weren’t afraid to drop Ben Brown so it’s not like he’s untouchable either.
I'm sorry but at half time Brown has been useless again. 2 possessions. People give me a hard time for my strong opinions but just wait for everyone to jump on the drop Ben Brown train, 1-2 weeks after I started mentioning it.

It will never be Mitch Brown time unless every other tall forward falls into a bottomless pit or starts clucking like a chicken.

When did we build Mitch Brown up from being more than an honest trier to a genuine selection option?

BBB has enough credits in the bank to retire on. Mitch Brown isn't even in the frame and probably never will be.
I'm sure mate but you couldn't be further off the mark. Another horrific game. But heaven forbid we acknowledge that I was right.

I'm sorry but at half time Brown has been useless again. 2 possessions. People give me a hard time for my strong opinions but just wait for everyone to jump on the drop Ben Brown train, 1-2 weeks after I started mentioning it.
Who is saying Brown is in good form? Nobody. But who replaces him? Weideman again?

That's fine. But I don't want people to say the Ben Brown should be dropped next week then because that conversation should've been had a long time ago. People shouldn't have needed to see yet another horrendous display before realising.