Changes vs Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter EFL Boy

The more I watch Davey the more I think there is something up with him. I think he really needs a rest, just to freshen up, he hasn't played this far into a season before and he is tiring. Belly is a must, Hooker is almost useless in the ruck, any other option must be taken if available. I know they've been tight on changes this year, but could well be 4 or 5 plus this week and up to 6 or 7 over the next fortnight. Love to see Jetta and Hurley back, Hooker and Davey given a rest. McVeigh and Watson back for Lovett-Murray and Monfries if injured, Hocking if not.

davey is critical to our team balance, he cant be rested.
bellchambers is an interesting one, he hasnt showed any more then hooker in the games he has played in the ruck but could be included.

In: Mcveigh, Watson,
Outs:Stanton, Monfries (inj)

The main issue is running ryder into the ground, if knights thinks its necessary to give ryder some help then i would go with

In: Bellchambers, Hurley, Mcveigh, Watson
Out: Hooker, Reimers, Stanton, Monfries (inj)

i dont think reimers is in our best 22 yet, and i just dont think he is up to it at the momment, has been out too long and needs to find touch.
Stanton has been terrible the last few months, has been unaccountable and when he has had the ball he has had 0 impact, he had it 27 times last night and i barely noticed him. Hooker has been admirable however i feel hurley is a better option down back and if bellchambers is to ocme in its at the expense of hooker.

prismall to play a more outside role (stantons role) and mcveigh and watson to help out as the inside midfeilders.

Watched Welsh a bit last night...felt he was really laboring on that ankle. Nowhere near 100% and may need a break to get it right.

Out: Monfries, Welsh, Lovett-Murray, Hooker
In: Watson, McVeigh, Bellchambers, Hurley

B: Slattery, Hurley, Fletcher
HB: Dempsey, Pears, McPhee
C: Lovett, Watson, Stanton
HF: Dyson, Lucas, Winderlich
F: Davey, Lloyd, McVeigh
R: Ryder, Hocking, Prismall
Int: Skipworth, Bellchambers, Lonergan, Reimers
Emerg: Houli, Daniher, Lovett-Murray

Its complete dribble suggesting lonergan isnt doing enough to hold his spot. If you actually went to a game you would see him on the bottom of loads of packs trying his guts out.

It's mindless dribble like ^^^^ that kills any good footy discussion on this board.

Well done folks. :thumbsu:
You're calling my post's dribble? oh come on. You said Lonergan should be dropped, he's been one of our better players for the past few weeks and yet you call my posts dibble. Sit down and Shut up

Forgot about Houli. He's another possibility.

Lonergan isn't doing enough to hold his place also.

Not doing enought to hold his place? He has been amongst the best players the last 2 weeks.

Also, you are calling for Jetta's inclusion after 1 good game yet you want Myers to string 3-4 30+ possesion games together at Bendigo before being considered.

So which midfielder has Lonergan performed better than this year?

He's getting the ball less than last year and tackling is slightly down.

There's been plenty of comments on the board as to how he's underperforming. Why wouldn't he be a candidate to drop?

And fwiw, I actually said he's not doing enough to hold his place. Whether there's someone else to come in right now is debatable but hey lets make it all black and white.

Not doing enought to hold his place? He has been amongst the best players the last 2 weeks.

Also, you are calling for Jetta's inclusion after 1 good game yet you want Myers to string 3-4 30+ possesion games together at Bendigo before being considered.

Geez, I must have missed that bit where Myers and Jetta are playing for the same position.

Lonergan was in the bests on Friday. :confused:

Come on kelvin...calm down slightly.

Lonergan has been very good in recent weeks. Look at his hard ball gets!

Safe.

A few hardball gets around the stoppages is ok but when the game spreads he doesn't do enough.

They killed us with numbers around the ball and contests yesterday and it's guys like Lonergan who weren't able to keep up with the opposition.

Hocking has gone past him and I count McVeigh, Watson, Welsh, Prismall, Stanton, Winderlich, Lovett as first picked before him. There's not enough room for all and he doesn't give us anything different to the first 4. In fact he's a poor mans version of em right now.

He needs to seriously pull his finger out as he can't rely on playing forward to keep his place in the side.

A few hardball gets around the stoppages is ok but when the game spreads he doesn't do enough.

They killed us with numbers around the ball and contests yesterday and it's guys like Lonergan who weren't able to keep up with the opposition.

Reckon you can look no further than Welsh for that...I was staggered at his lack of manoeuverability...whilst I think Pendlebury was ineffective on him, Welsh just didn't look right. As for the stoppage comment, i am sure most in here would recall a number of efforts last night where he did the hard thing to win the ball, in one-n-one contests (1 example was in the 2nd term where in a two-on-one situation, he threw himself in, laid a great bump onto his opponent front-on, won the ball and then kicked after moving about 5-6 metres - fantastic against the run of play)

Forgot about Houli. He's another possibility.

Lonergan isn't doing enough to hold his place also.

He actually did some very nice things last night... His ability to win 1 on 1 contested footy is better than anyone in the side aside from Jobe..

WTF is with all these fools asking for 4-5 changes??? Seriously, some people on here have no idea... Lose a game = change the entire team :rolleyes::rolleyes:

And whatever nob put McPhee's name up --- please do not post again..

Question: Am I on the Carltank Board or the Essendon Board?

FFS Guys open your eyes.. We need Lonergan as he doesn't give a flying f*** if he gets knocked out he will put his head over the ball and be at the bottom of the pack all the time!!

People suggesting Stanton and McPhee be dropped :eek: 1. McPhee was clearly our best by a country mile..and 2. Stanton is allowed to have one bad game in his career? Come on guys let's get fair dinkum..

People saying Hocking should be dropped..This one really pisses me off!! The guy has had obviously his best year this year and claimed some big scalps along the year..He also deserves to keep his spot in the side.

Dyson might not have played to the best of his ability as he did on ANZAC Day but the guy has played consistenly well..not great but does what he needs to do.. Deserves his spot in the side!!

As I said in a post before the Carlton game...we cannot make so many changes in a week...Yes Watson and McVeigh are in our best 22 and with the injury to Gussy. We can't make so many changes in a one week.. These guys will learn from each other's mistakes... Take Geelong for example. IIRC they hardly made any changes in the first 5 rounds of 2007..after being 2 wins and 3 losses.

They stuck together as a playing group without making so many changes...They got beaten by the Kangaroos quite easily and people were questioning Mark Thompson's selection. He stuck with the virtually the same side in those first 5 rounds.

It is a must that we keep our changes to a minimum and make it hard for the likes of Jetta, Myers, Neagle etc..

Ok now that I've had my rant..Some positives out of last night..

Guys It was 1 quarter that cost us..Other than that we stayed with a very good side who is going to play deep into September

The Return form of Scotty Lucas. Ever since he has come back from Bendigo the man has been pretty impressive..I will be the first to say that I thought he was finished and would retire after a couple of weeks at Bendigo..but gee to his Credit has bounced back and playing some really good footy.

Welsh getting through another game after that horrific injury. Although I thought he looked a little lost out there was good to see my man get through another game..

Same goes for Prizza..Getting better with every game! Just waiting for that game where we see him stream down the guts of the MCG kicking a goal on the run.

Adrian Dorodo you have found an absolute superstar in Tayte Pears. Thought his only problem was, he went too far under the ball at times, but that was the smarts of Anthony doubling back all the time but Tayte will learn kid is only 19.

Finally..I think I can say for all of us here, It's going to be just as sad saying goodbye to Dustin Fletcher as it was to James Hird. In 17 years of my life, I don't think I've seen a better defender than Inspector Gadget himself.. If Dusty hadn't of missed those 6 or so weeks, Presti would of a real challenge on his hands for that AA spot.

My changes would be:

In: McVeigh and Watson
Out: NLM and Gus (inj)

Geez, I must have missed that bit where Myers and Jetta are playing for the same position.

Lonergan was in the bests on Friday. :confused:

What the *** does position have to do with it? You are an advocate of players showing form at Bendigo to earn a recall yet the same principal doesn't apply to Jetta. I have seen your posts and the one thing i know about you is that you are a Jetta fan and you loathe Myers. You fool noone.

Just out of curiosity which defender would you like to see Jetta replace? Slattery? Please bear in mind that he was close to our best player against the Pies. Which is it then? Please don't say the forward line because on form he has shown absolutely zero there.

Remember what you said - Myers played well for Bendigo inb the midfield so unless he can take a midfield role he doesnt gat a gig. Same applies for Jetta. Do you now see how ridiculous you are?

Hocking has gone past him and I count McVeigh, Watson, Welsh, Prismall, Stanton, Winderlich, Lovett as first picked before him. There's not enough room for all and he doesn't give us anything different to the first 4. In fact he's a poor mans version of em right now.

He needs to seriously pull his finger out as he can't rely on playing forward to keep his place in the side.

On form Lonergan has been better than Welsh over the last 2 weeks. Welsh was terrible last night, probably close to the worst player for us.

Why does Lonergan have to play in the midfield? You keep calling for Jetta to be included yet Lonergan has shown far, far more than anything Jetta has shown in the forward line. Oh, im sorry, Jetta is lighting quick and he puts pressure on (a couple of Essendon bf myths right there).

What the *** does position have to do with it? You are an advocate of players showing form at Bendigo to earn a recall yet the same principal doesn't apply to Jetta. I have seen your posts and the one thing i know about you is that you are a Jetta fan and you loathe Myers. You fool noone.

Just out of curiosity which defender would you like to see Jetta replace? Slattery? Please bear in mind that he was close to our best player against the Pies. Which is it then? Please don't say the forward line because on form he has shown absolutely zero there.

Remember what you said - Myers played well for Bendigo inb the midfield so unless he can take a midfield role he doesnt gat a gig. Same applies for Jetta. Do you now see how ridiculous you are?

On form Lonergan has been better than Welsh over the last 2 weeks. Welsh was terrible last night, probably close to the worst player for us.

Why does Lonergan have to play in the midfield? You keep calling for Jetta to be included yet Lonergan has shown far, far more than anything Jetta has shown in the forward line. Oh, im sorry, Jetta is lighting quick and he puts pressure on (a couple of Essendon bf myths right there).

Jetta has displayed enough form at VFL level to warrant selection so I'm not sure what principle you are talking about. You select players based on what role they can play at AFL level. Myers and Jetta are a different kettle of fish. There's a spot for a zippy goal sneak. We need more mobility up forward.

Jetta is yet to be given any decent run in the seniors this year. He should be given a 4 week stretch to cement a spot up forward. Myers was given plenty of games at the start of the year when he was woeful.

Lonergan has to play midfield because he'll never be anything more than a bit part forward. He's either playing their or he's playing in Bendigo.

As for Lonergan showing more than Jetta forward, I disagree. Lonergan is yet to have a game like Jetta has playing forward. Jetta was great against Freo last year with 5 assists. Lonergan has a 2 goal game while Jetta 3. Jetta 6 inside 50's best against Lonergan 5.

Lonergan is way overated on these boards at the moment.

And you Welsh argument is just plain wrong - Welsh BOG against Carlton and has the runs on the board against Lonergan.

Jetta has displayed enough form at VFL level to warrant selection so I'm not sure what principle you are talking about. You select players based on what role they can play at AFL level. Myers and Jetta are a different kettle of fish. There's a spot for a zippy goal sneak. We need more mobility up forward.

Jetta has shown enough form at VFL level to warrant selection as a forward? He has been ok at best. He was good last week as a defender. And what the *** are you on about zippy goal sneak? He is not zippy and he doesnt kick goals. How many goals has he kicked this season? The guy shits himself everytime he has a chance to kick a goal...

Jetta is yet to be given any decent run in the seniors this year. He should be given a 4 week stretch to cement a spot up forward. Myers was given plenty of games at the start of the year when he was woeful.

Jetta has been terrible at AFL level. Myers has been poor also but you cleary have an agenda against Myers. Jetta does not like like he is up to being an AFL footballer, atleast Myers has some upside.

Lonergan has to play midfield because he'll never be anything more than a bit part forward. He's either playing their or he's playing in Bendigo.
Says Kelvin. I can guarantee you he will keep his spot next week and wont be at Bendigo. Unless someone like Jetta can actually do something it wont be changing anytime soon.

As for Lonergan showing more than Jetta forward, I disagree. Lonergan is yet to have a game like Jetta has playing forward. Jetta was great against Freo last year with 5 assists. Lonergan has a 2 goal game while Jetta 3. Jetta 6 inside 50's best against Lonergan 5.

Talk about grasping at straws. Jetta had one good game exactly 1 year ago and that is what you are hanging your hat on. Good luck with that pal. Lets talk about current form shall we?

Lonergan is way overated on these boards at the moment.

Lonergan is an underrated player at Essendon. Do you actually go to matches? Ive got a feeling you dont coz all you seem to do is refer to stats and bs. Lonergan has a crack and is always on the bottom of the pack getting his hands dirty. Of course people like you wouldnt notice him.

And you Welsh argument is just plain wrong - Welsh BOG against Carlton and has the runs on the board against Lonergan

I said on cosistency. Do you kknow the meaing of the word? Over the last 2 games Lonergan has been more consistant.

When do the yearly flog awards take place?