Changes vs Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter EFL Boy

Kelvin is spot on.

He is playing as a forward - and lets face it - he ain't doing anywhere near enough to be walk up start. Why is it he can get the pill maybe 12 times and 3 or 4 with a great attack on the footy and he is doing his job?

He is not a forward and he is proving it. He has been a passenger and I'm sorry but to include his Melbourne game as showing good form in the last few weeks is clucthcing at straws. Melbourne are schite. Play well against the decent teams.

Where was he last night when we were smashed in the middle? If he can;t run in the middle as required, he should not be playing instead of a forward who can provide a spark and kick goals.

I don't advocate Jetta's inclusion unless he has good form, but those that cream their pants at Sam 12 disposals Lonergans form ought to wonder why we are middle of the road?

And for all the Reimers lovers out there - he is another who is a passenger.

He has the tools to be great, so does Lonergan, but if you don;t perform why should you get a gig over more deserving players?

McVeigh must be counting his lucky stars because he is a monty to play next week given the form of a few in the 22.

He is playing as a forward - and lets face it - he ain't doing anywhere near enough to be walk up start. Why is it he can get the pill maybe 12 times and 3 or 4 with a great attack on the footy and he is doing his job?

He got the ball 16 times mate. Leroy Jetta has done that once in his entire career to date.

He is not a forward and he is proving it. He has been a passenger and I'm sorry but to include his Melbourne game as showing good form in the last few weeks is clucthcing at straws. Melbourne are schite. Play well against the decent teams.

Lonergan as a 'non forward' has shown more than Jetta in his entire career to date.

Where was he last night when we were smashed in the middle? If he can;t run in the middle as required, he should not be playing instead of a forward who can provide a spark and kick goals.

Ask Matthew Knights why don't you? At present he is being played out of position and still doing an admirable job. If only specialist forwards could show the same sort of endevour.

I don't advocate Jetta's inclusion unless he has good form, but those that cream their pants at Sam 12 disposals Lonergans form ought to wonder why we are middle of the road

16 possesions mate and who is creaming their pants? You sound like Kelvin re Myers! Nobody is creaming their pants, we are saying on current form he is not under the gun to be dropped.

Responses above.

He has the tools to be great, so does Lonergan, but if you don;t perform why should you get a gig over more deserving players?

McVeigh must be counting his lucky stars because he is a monty to play next week given the form of a few in the 22.

Reimers? 5+ months out of football? :rolleyes:

Lonergan had 2 issues to address from 2008

- Increase his tank so he could spend more time on the ground.
- And to pick up more loose ball gets.

The jury is still deliberating over the first issue and he has barely improved his loose ball gets.

Overall, Lonergan's performance in 2009 has been mediocre, although his performances against Melbourne and Carlton were very good.

As a point of comparison Dane Swan only averages about 70% game time but racks up the numbers.

Lonergan must address one of these two areas of concern if he is to have a long term future in the team.,

When do the yearly flog awards take place?

Not sure... surely you must have received your invite in the mail by now? ;)

Lonergan as a midfielder doesn't it get it enough in a time where possessions are going through the roof.

Lonergan as a forward provides no crumbing ability. Most of his goals are from marks inside 50. We can't have a side full of lead up slow forwards.

We have pretty low standards if you think his output is ok at the moment. Maybe Sheedy was right about him?

As for the comparision to Jetta, well it's pointless because they're two different players and teams these days are about structure and role players. They have different roles and both are underperfoming in them.

Jetta plays a role we don't have any depth in. Lonergan plays a role in which everyone has gone past him bar a few kids. If Myers makes it and becomes an inside mid then he's in a lot of trouble.

dyson??? hes actually proving to be quite valuable to our style of footy

in: Mcveigh (better prove himself after one of the most selfish acts)
Watson
Hurley
Myers
out: skipworth
monfries (wats his injury?)
NLM
hooker

i know this wont happen but stanton should be dropped...i cant stand this bloke...should go back to bendigo and prove that he can run both ways not just when the goals are in front of him and also show some awareness, he gets run down twice a game and its so costly

Watson
Hurley
Myers
NLM
hooker

i know this wont happen but stanton should be dropped...i cant stand this bloke...should go back to bendigo and prove that he can run both ways not just when the goals are in front of him and also show some awareness, he gets run down twice a game and its so costly
you flog...Stanton is clearly our fittest and most hard running player..

Remember, he had NO preseason and has played 4 games. I'm backing him and so is Knights.
I would reserve your judgement 'til the guy plays a couple more games, he brings aggression, speed and X factor unlike anyone else in the side. We need a Loose Cannon and I would much prefer Kyle to Nat Rat.

Knights is lucky in a way that essendon were so poor on the friday night. With mcveigh, watson as certain inclusions and hurley, jetta, myers, bellchambers all knocking on the door, selection would have been even tougher if the dons had a really consistent game against the pies.

however, the dons were very poor with only 3-4 decent players on the night. therefore, im going:

IN: mcveigh, watson, hurley, bellchambers (not sure how he has been going but should provide a better contest than hooker and give ryder a much needed hand)

OUT: monfries (inj), lovett-murray (hasn't been terrible but who instead? really want hurley in), hooker (been good but not a ruckmen, give him a break), reimers (needs to find form in the 2s -skipworth survives as he has been contributing goals and has been ok).

i think myers and jetta need to play well consistently before getting a game (loving our depth, last year these two (and houli) would be near certainties atm)

really want to see zaharakis back soon!! how has he been going at bendi?

As for the comparision to Jetta, well it's pointless because they're two different players and teams these days are about structure and role players. They have different roles and both are underperfoming in them.

They are both small players that are both vying for the same/similiar type positions at the moment. It may not be Lonergans natural position but he has still showm more in it than Jetta has over his entire career.

Jetta plays a role we don't have any depth in. Lonergan plays a role in which everyone has gone past him bar a few kids. If Myers makes it and becomes an inside mid then he's in a lot of trouble

Plays a role we have no depth in yet still isnt good enough to get a game. If 1 of these 2 players had to be cut from the list right now it would not be a contest. Not a lot you say makes sense. Why did you wait until Lonergan started showing some form to call for him to be dropped. I would have agreed with you if you had of said it earlier on.

Response above.

Lonergan had 2 issues to address from 2008

- Increase his tank so he could spend more time on the ground.
- And to pick up more loose ball gets.

The jury is still deliberating over the first issue and he has barely improved his loose ball gets.

Overall, Lonergan's performance in 2009 has been mediocre, although his performances against Melbourne and Carlton were very good.

As a point of comparison Dane Swan only averages about 70% game time but racks up the numbers.

Lonergan must address one of these two areas of concern if he is to have a long term future in the team.,

Very balanced opinion yaco..nice

Ins:
McViegh
Watson
Belly

Outs:
NLM
Skiworth
Hooker

If Monfries doesn't come up, bring in hurley or keep hooker in and play mcphee up forward.

Thats what I think anyways.

Another idiot that must watch too much TV. If you actually watched the game you would see that most times the bloke gets the ball he turns it over, he must become accountable:thumbsd:

Easy on the shit-slinging. I'll repeat:
We are not Richmond!

Watson
Hurley
Myers
NLM
hooker

could no agree more about stanton, he is a joke, doesnt use the ball well, doesnt run, doesnt cover his man when he needs to, im sick of him he doesnt deserve the number 5 seriously

Remember, he had NO preseason and has played 4 games. I'm backing him and so is Knights.
I would reserve your judgement 'til the guy plays a couple more games, he brings aggression, speed and X factor unlike anyone else in the side. We need a Loose Cannon and I would much prefer Kyle to Nat Rat.

No one reads posts- they just see something that might ruffle a feather and jumnp up and down on the spot.

I agree at his best he is in our 22. But if you don;t perfrom why is a 19 year old with maybe 20 games experience a monty for selection?

Is it me or has the "let's play the kids for the sake of it" train of through suddenly infected the board?

I'd drop Skipworth over Dyson. He'd not as hard at it and isn't as fast, nor does he take the game on and kick long like Dyson can.

NLM might do with a run for Bendigo.
I'm still not a Reimers fan, nothing in the last three weeks has shown me he deserved to come into the team straight off. I think he should have spent more time at Bendigo and I think he should go back there and prove himself before he steps up again.
Skipworth I don't dislike, but I think he slows the team down a bit too much. Him or Hocking.

Out: NLM, Skipworth/Hocking, Reimers, Monfries (if Inj)
In: Watson, McVeigh, Myers, Hurley

B: Slattery, Pears, Hurley
HB: Dempsey, Fletcher, Dyson
C: Lovett, McVeigh, Stanton
HF: Winderlich, Lucas, McPhee
F: Davey, Lloyd, Welsh
R: Ryder, Watson, Prismall
Int: Myers, Lonergan, Hocking, Hooker

Maybe even Bellchambers in for Hooker.

we need Bellchambers in,poor old Paddy is getting tired

16 possesions mate and who is creaming their pants? You sound like Kelvin re Myers! Nobody is creaming their pants, we are saying on current form he is not under the gun to be dropped.

If his spot is safe - then we really don;t have any depth. He is not a forward, he does not bring to the table what a forward needs. He shoudl be picnh-hitting up foward when not on the ball. Knights won;t play him on the ball - this is an indictment on him for his form this year.

I like Sam and the way he goes at the footy is great - but he does not impact on games as he needs to.

i would call it having an opinion.
which unless the law has changed you are still allowed to do.
No, it's being abusive and pathetic.

Argue all you like; calling each other 'flog' and 'idiot' is childish and does nothing to help your standing among your fellow posters on here.
By the way, if you want to be snide about it, please read the following:

Infraction guide
* Abuse: Terms like ******, **** and *******: Warning to Mid