Changes vs The Crows

• Thread starter Thread starter Testekill

I don't know why teams are happy to throw their forward structure out by playing key forwards as second ruckman, but seemingly won't entertain throwing a key defender in as relief ruck and making do down back.

I'm locking roughie in as our full-back for the next 5/6 years, but why can't he play on the ball for 5 mins a quarter?? He's a great contested mark and moves well. Morris/hamling and wood can all play tall for small periods. Would give us more run from the back at times as well.

Surely worth a try this year at some point.
Yeah I'm not sure if I'd really want it long term but surely it's worth a shot. I think most people here want Rough playing on the second ruck/forward anyway so surely he could literally just follow his man into the ruck. If we have to we could throw Bonts or Stringer behind the ball to great effect while Rough is in there. And if like we all want we get Roberts at CHF or maybe even Carlisle/Henderson we could quite easily shift them back for 5 minutes and it would pretty much be exactly the same as losing a tall up front. The possibilities with such a versatile team are endless and I really do think Rough would be great in the middle.

It's worth a try anyway

Edit: probably should have read on a bit before posting, it's all been covered already :p

If Cordy plays back over Hamling this week , I'll never post here again

Quoted for future bribery and corruption purposes.... Nothing to see here, just move along.....

Poor guy. If he was capable of performing well I'm sure he would be doing it. If the MC keep playing someone who's not up to it, it's their responsibilty largely.

Hear hear. Except when I suggested selecting Cordy twice was a match committee fail, I was taken to task for the comment.

IN: Redpath, new Match Committee
OUT: Cordy, old Match Committee

I'd be happy with Campbell as an inclusion also.

Going to move the topic away from Cordy - does anybody know if Webb got injured at some stage?

He played only 72% of game time, which is quite low regardless - however if you look here (go to Webb's name, then click the little grey and white graph to the left of his name). In the third quarter he didn't gain, nor lose any DT points, meaning he didn't get any disposals, free kicks, marks, etc, and didn't concede any free kicks or anything either.

All seems to add up to him missing a significant period of time in the third quarter.

Going to move the topic away from Cordy - does anybody know if Webb got injured at some stage?

He played only 72% of game time, which is quite low regardless - however if you look here (go to Webb's name, then click the little grey and white graph to the left of his name). In the third quarter he didn't gain, nor lose any DT points, meaning he didn't get any disposals, free kicks, marks, etc, and didn't concede any free kicks or anything either.

All seems to add up to him missing a significant period of time in the third quarter.
It was his first game in a very physical encounter. Maybe seeing as the game was lost they were just managing him.

Certainly could be - but choosing to keep him out of the quarter directly after the half time break, despite being already down to two interchanges? It just seems odd to me.

Either way it looks like we were down to a single interchange for much of the third quarter which paints our fade out in a less drastic light.

I can see Jong up forward. He plays taller than 1.88m, doesn't mind crashing a pack and would harass defenders all day long. Foxfooty showed some footage of him at halftime vs Hawthorn where he got in the way of Toyd in his eagerness to get at the ball. If he moves to the right spots and crumbs instead of impeding others he could be very damaging. Throw one of the other pups into the mid.

At the risk of re-Cordying the thread (!!), he is never going to be heavy enough for his height.
Centre of gravity is way too high.

Just not built for footy, sadly.

I reckon your medium to smallish forwards in the likes of Stringer, Dahl and Dickson could cause us a serious handful on the weekend. No Kyle Cheney is a huge blow for us imo, reckon he would have been a great match up for Stringer. Would be a tough gig to send the newbie in Jake kelly to him, but unfortunately he's the only medium defender we have atm. Henderson and Mackay would be given an absolute bath by a brute like Stringer. Laird will probably run with someone like Dahl as he did with Harvey in round 1. Brown on Dickson could also cause a few issues as Dickson is very good at playing tall for his size.

At the other end of the ground, Tex will be a great test for Roughead and if he is deemed fit to play, Wood is a great match up for JJ in terms of physical attributes. Talia should also match up well with Lycnh you'd think, with both having the ability to play up the ground.

Two of the best tackling sides this season also going up against it in what will be a heated midfield battle.

Should be a very interesting match up this one and one I look forward to! Always had a bit of a soft spot for the doggies ever since I was a kid, don't ask why or how haha. Anyways, best of luck for the weekend!

You felt sorry for us after 97?

My bet Hrovat my old mate you will be first on if his name is called out Thursday night.;)
Haha I have until Sunday as he may not play , will be an extended bench also until Friday night , if he is even on the bench I'll be shattered bev must be showing zaine how you don't play football ?

The second ruck argument could rage forever, stuff it.
Play Stringer at CHF that still leaves us with three
players over 200 cm on the ground. I don't care if we
ruck Caleb Daniel for five minutes which i would pay to
see to give Minson a rest. Stringer is big enough at
192 cm and he compliments Boyd, Campbell, or
Redpath who most likely will fill the big hulking low
possession forward position at various times this year.

At the risk of re-Cordying the thread (!!), he is never going to be heavy enough for his height.
Centre of gravity is way too high.

Just not built for footy, sadly.

In a strange way i miss Austin and Higgins

Keep Goodes IN. With Morris out, we need senior players. He has been okay thus far this year.

IN: Hunter, Bonti, Boyd, Redpath.
OUT: Cordy, Wallis, Morris, Honeychurch (rest).

Hunter to cover Honeychurch, Redpath to cover Cordy, Bonti in for Wallis and Boyd down back.

Also, to the Cordy debate. Do you think Bev is sticking with him in case Minson goes down with an injury? In that case, that is probably the reason why he hasn't been delisted yet.

I reckon your medium to smallish forwards in the likes of Stringer, Dahl and Dickson could cause us a serious handful on the weekend. No Kyle Cheney is a huge blow for us imo, reckon he would have been a great match up for Stringer. Would be a tough gig to send the newbie in Jake kelly to him, but unfortunately he's the only medium defender we have atm. Henderson and Mackay would be given an absolute bath by a brute like Stringer. Laird will probably run with someone like Dahl as he did with Harvey in round 1. Brown on Dickson could also cause a few issues as Dickson is very good at playing tall for his size.

At the other end of the ground, Tex will be a great test for Roughead and if he is deemed fit to play, Wood is a great match up for JJ in terms of physical attributes. Talia should also match up well with Lycnh you'd think, with both having the ability to play up the ground.

Two of the best tackling sides this season also going up against it in what will be a heated midfield battle.

Wood is 186cm and 84kg, Jenkins (I'm assuming that's who you mean by JJ) is 199cm and 107kg. No chance those two matchup haha

More likely to be Talia on Tex, Roughead on Jenkins, Wood on Betts maybe and Hamling on Lynch. Then Boyd and Murphy to take the remaining two bodies in the forward line and peel off to help the other blokes shut down what is an exceptionally good forward line in my opinion (would absolutely love to get Jenkins)