Changes vs the Gold Coast Suns

Hopefully, if we don't win by at least 10 goals I am going to be worried.

That's what I said going into yesterdays game, and we only won by 11 points! (or can we count the rain as a legitimate excuse? lol)

Hopefully, if we don't win by at least 10 goals I am going to be worried.

A loss within 10 goals is what I'm gunning for. We showed heaps of improvement over the Dogs and lost by a smaller margin than the Lions did. Mind you, Dogs had a bit of a shocker. Add to this and some of our under-done players are coming back into fitness. The loss of Brown will sting us down the back. But by the looks of things, you guys will be playing without one of your stars too. What is it with footy players and not having toilet training? Oy.

On anyrate, I'm looking forward to it and how we improve again! One of our problems is taking marks in the forward fifty. Definitely need to improve there.

Anyway. Sorry to intrude on your board. ;)

Should be a good game at the Gabba. :thumbsu:

We need to remember that each game they play makes them a slightly different team & gives them a little more exposure to the requirements of playing in the AFL. I would expect that each week they get a little closer to the teams they play or at least a little better & more cohesive as a team. There will still be blow outs for them & I hope this one of them against us this week, but I would be happy if we won by 10 goals.

Out: Morton, Dunn
In: Maric, Newton

Cale needs full game time to build fitness, adapt to game speed and build confidence.
I think everyone gets fooled with Dunn. He kicks a bag of goals every now and then but moreoften than not he doesn't have much impact. Granted its hard to be a forward for us with so little opportunities. If Watts was targeted as much as Dunn, I think a lot of the Watts doubters would change their view of him. Dunn gets targeted more than Watts and is often less open when targeted.

I also think when Morton gets back to full speed he would be a better option than Dunn as a hff. Better overhead mark and better ball user.

I've started to notice this too, anyone else?

I think it might be team mates lack of confidence in him. I've heard several times from MFC people & commentators that he works hard, leading & re-leading, but I'm noticing he doesn't often get the ball kicked to him.

The worst on the weekend was when he worked hard into space & was 15m clear in the pocket for what would've been a 25m/45 degree set shot, punt Rd end. Martin saw him but decided to try pin point a pass to LJ 40m out straight in front, who had 3 guys close on him from all angles, the kick wasn't a perfect as it needed to be & the Lions won the ball. Davey would've had trouble pulling the kick off & Martin tried it & failed, rather than kick to Watts.

I think it might be team mates lack of confidence in him. I've heard several times from MFC people & commentators that he works hard, leading & re-leading, but I'm noticing he doesn't often get the ball kicked to him.

The worst on the weekend was when he worked hard into space & was 15m clear in the pocket for what would've been a 25m/45 degree set shot, punt Rd end. Martin saw him but decided to try pin point a pass to LJ 40m out straight in front, who had 3 guys close on him from all angles, the kick wasn't a perfect as it needed to be & the Lions won the ball. Davey would've had trouble pulling the kick off & Martin tried it & failed, rather than kick to Watts.

I've noticed this all year, the players obviously don't rate him and don't want to kick to him.

He should be dropped for the sake of morale.

I have.

It has been happening all this year including the preseason where he is wide open & they have ignored him (It did happen last year too but it has become more noticeable this year). I know he needs to move the ball a lot quicker when he gets it but if a player is open I don't care if its Spencer, kick it to him! Particularly if they’re in the forward pocket with 15-20 meters space. But due to his form we did become a little Jurrahcentric yesterday.

I've said this already but I would like to see Watts used heavily this week against the gold coast & have him spend the entire first half leading out of the square. This is a chance for him to see how he matches up against similar bodies to his. Jurrah should have Bock on him but if he went to watts put Jamar forward, not moving from the square so Watts can still lead out from the square & allow Martin to do the ruck work.

against port last year he kick a couple of goals and took some good marks

would rather he got 0 tackles and went hard at the ball.

wish we traded for jude bolton a couple of years ago

He played a very good game last week against the Hawks in a side that got completely smashed. 15 possessions, a goal, dished off at least 2 hand balls that resulted in goals and passed one off by foot that resulted in a goal. His reading of the play was first rate and his decision making under pressure is alot better than most of his team mates. He had more possessions than Jurrah, Petterd, Dunnie and even Trengove! However, like his game against the Lions, he lacks a bit of confidence to throw himself into games but that will come as he gets more game time and increases his muscle mass.

I can't wait for the day when Jack completely rips a game apart and makes arm chair critics like you eat your f^cken words :( Its not a matter of if its just a matter of when.

I just read on Demonland that Juice got a week from the VFL tribunal. Take him out of your calculations for this week.

I have.
It has been happening all this year including the preseason where he is wide open & they have ignored him (It did happen last year too but it has become more noticeable this year). I know he needs to move the ball a lot quicker when he gets it but if a player is open I don't care if its Spencer, kick it to him! Particularly if they’re in the forward pocket with 15-20 meters space. But due to his form we did become a little Jurrahcentric yesterday.

I've said this already but I would like to see Watts used heavily this week against the gold coast & have him spend the entire first half leading out of the square. This is a chance for him to see how he matches up against similar bodies to his. Jurrah should have Bock on him but if he went to watts put Jamar forward, not moving from the square so Watts can still lead out from the square & allow Martin to do the ruck work.

Imagine how pissed off you would be if you were following the coaches instructions to lead up the ground (if not hit up), head back & lead a little wider (if not hit up), dart back & lead again (while trying to also keep an eye on your opponent all the time in case a perfect disposal in to the forward line is faulty), then BINGO, ignored again...

I know I would begin to wonder what the hell is going on... The idea of playing him from the goal square is great, except for the fact that the players refuse to kick it to him... Why???, it has to be more than "there were better options available", I am sure we have all seen him in a great position for a pass 40m out, slight angle, yet our players prefer to ignore that sort of option for a guy deep in a pocket with 1 or 2 defenders on him...

How can the kid build his confidence if this continues???

I can't wait for the day when Jack completely rips a game apart and makes arm chair critics like you eat your f^cken words :( Its not a matter of if its just a matter of when.

put your sorbolene away mate.

arm chair critics like myself and Leigh Mathews will keep our opinions.

suck it up princess, 1 goal just isnt good enough

Playing Newton against GC is a complete waist of time.

He is clearly not part of our future and has been retained only as a safety and/or for use for a role in a "must win game".

Playing Watts against GC is going to give him the best opportunity to dominate players is own size.

know what you are saying, and i would NOT have juice in this week, but if beating the suns isn't a MUST then I dunno what is.. A loss is unthinkable

If we have to bring Juice into the side to beat the Gold Coast then we have bigger issues than Jack Watts.

BAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! You are JUST like Leigh Matthews aren't you.....So would you and Leigh Matthews have traded Buddy when he had similar stats early in his career.....you are a complete muppet :rolleyes:

I have.

The coaching staff needs to call out any player the does this, Watts or whoever, you're right that it shouldn't matter who it is, if you have a team mate in a good position then use them.

If Watts plays hopefully he doesn't cop Bock, we need Martin or Jamar resting forward to take the big defender, then Watts should get a young bloke & have a better chance of getting into the game

I dont care how bad Watts has supposedly been, bringing Juice in is a complete waste of time. It does nothing. If Watts doesn't make the most of it against GC - by all means give him a spell in the Magoo's, but putting in a proven spud at AFL level - and a player that simply will not be around much longer - is a farce.

I didn't see it when I was at the game but apparently Watts copped a huge dressing down from Bailey before he was subbed? Perhaps he's gone or at least hopefully on notice for this week where he should be against opposition he's physically more suited to. I'm hoping for as settled a side as we can field this week. Last game really looked to me more like a group of individuals in the same guernsey than a cohesive team. Bailey has been big on not just getting games into the players but them getting games together so hopefully we can keep a settled lineup for a good period of time that they learn how each other plays and can become a more cohesive unit.

The only possible change for me would be Maric for Morton, but then leave them for some weeks to get settled, not in and out all the time.

Playing Newton against GC is a complete waist of time.

He is clearly not part of our future and has been retained only as a safety and/or for use for a role in a "must win game".

Playing Watts against GC is going to give him the best opportunity to dominate players is own size.

I dont know if we'll have any 'must win' games this year - but surely GC is close?

If Watts needs to play reserves then who would you suggest as a tall forward if not Newton?

FWIW Im now thinking play Watts for another week as well but Im not confident he'll be given another week.

I dont know if we'll have any 'must win' games this year - but surely GC is close?

If Watts needs to play reserves then who would you suggest as a tall forward if not Newton?

FWIW Im now thinking play Watts for another week as well but Im not confident he'll be given another week.

Agree with the part about this being a must win game. We won't have a bigger must win game all season.

Watts hasn't done enough to earn a selection really but games is what he needs and possibly better management when on the field. Playing the gc would be a good opportunityfor him imo

I think they might go unchanged, not liking having petterd out though. Lucky they didn't drop jones and rivers as many suggested otherwise we may have been discussing losing to Brisbane.

Agree with the part about this being a must win game. We won't have a bigger must win game all season.

Watts hasn't done enough to earn a selection really but games is what he needs and possibly better management when on the field. Playing the gc would be a good opportunityfor him imo

Agreed - if we have a big win this week he might kick a few goals and play himself into a bit of form.

If we are ever going to use Newton though, the same could be said for him.

GIVE WATTS A CHANCE! Does that only apply to Weetra, sorry I mean Jetta?

jetta - pick 51

watts - pick 1
Jetta or any low draft pick has to show us that he can play.

Watts or any high draft pick has time show us that he can't play.

It's not fair but that's life. Watts is just lucky that Newton is suspended, he must be running out of chances.