Changes vs the Saints - 4 changes

Agree 100%. We are a bottom 2 or 3 side ATM. I would have dropped half the side last week, the other half this week. Jetta and Oliver are about the only two who can hold there heads up after the last fortnight.
Agree. What the **** has happened? This team has turned into a VFL side in the past 3 weeks. They are playing like a gutless pack of pussies.
Don't they want to play finals? Would they rather have an early holiday overseas? Well cancel that. Trade or delist the most gutless loser ones.

Agree 100%. We are a bottom 2 or 3 side ATM. I would have dropped half the side last week, the other half this week. Jetta and Oliver are about the only two who can hold there heads up after the last fortnight.

Good thing you're not the coach in that case

Might have more chance of waking those pea hearts up before quarter time. Our first quarters have cost us most our losses this year, and some games we got lucky and pulled in the damage. But our first quarters have been deplorable all season bar maybe 2 or 3 games. Can anyone explain wtf this keeps happening?

Tough to explain, really. I just refer back to rd 1 when we stayed the course after a diabolical first quarter and rolled the Saints. Definitely something to work on over pre-season. As someone whose done a fair bit of coaching, losing your head makes you no friends and plenty of enemies.

Unfortunately I don't think we will win another game. Our form is woeful. I am particularly concerned about all 3 games because;

St Kilda have the wood on us
Brisbane aren't playing badly
Collingwood aren't playing badly

When Melbourne switch off, like we did after we kicked the first 3, it's lethal. We can never recover from an opposition piling on 5-6 in succession. That's how you beat us, smash us for 10-15 minutes and then just nullify what we do.

Problems;

1. Lack of leadership
2. Lack of contested possession
3. Lack of initiating physical contact
4. No forward line
5. Lack of speed

Jordan Lewis I am looking at you. Did Hawthorn off load you at a good time? Are you just here for your salary? Do you care? Do you have any leadership skills or did you just become dwarfed in Hawthorn's elite midfield?

Dom Tyson & Jack Watts. Grow some balls and google urgency. In fact Jack Watts? You're done mate. Let's part ways now while you have currency.

Need 3 games of Weidemann and Hannan in the side together and I hope Brayshaw comes on.

That's really it. We should be better next year if we snare Lever or another KPD. I also think we are tired. We also need a fast midfielder.

With Brisbane and Collingwood to follow. Dont you guys see finals if you win next week

WC and Bullies have tricky final last three games and Essendon on equal points are likely to go 2/3
Getting over St Kilda with our current form will be nigh on impossible. We are tired, young, and unfortunately shying the physical stuff. Our skills going forward are horrid.

The Saints have the timber on us and also the Riewoldt goodbye factor. Plus if they win tomorrow they'll know finals is within reach.

The only game we might win (very big might) is Brisbane.

Shuffling deck chairs on the Titanic at this stage.

Watts has to go. You can't have a 150 game senior player turn in such absolutely piss weak efforts for 3 weeks straight. It's not good enough and shouldn't be tolerated.

Might as well keep getting games into Maynard and Weid.
Agree. I think today was his last game for us. Trade while we have currency. 3 more games of shit form will lower his value. He has played too much footy to be producing efforts like that today.

Time is up.

From the dees website. Maybe not all hope is lost:

Angus Brayshaw was brilliant for the Demons, showing the flare which fans have come to expect from the young star. He tackled with strength and hunted the ball for 34 disposals, standing up when required at the death.

“You can see why he’s a number three draft pick, that’s what I’ve seen today,” Plapp said.

“He was extraordinary.”

Bernie Vince got a mark on the 50 when we were 3 goals up. He tried to play on too quickly and the ball was smothered and GWS went up the other end and scored the first goal and we never recovered. Just retire mate

We can't afford him and Lewis in the same side. We've paid Lewis 1.8 over 3 years so he isn't going. Vince is done.

From the dees website. Maybe not all hope is lost:

Angus Brayshaw was brilliant for the Demons, showing the flare which fans have come to expect from the young star. He tackled with strength and hunted the ball for 34 disposals, standing up when required at the death.

“You can see why he’s a number three draft pick, that’s what I’ve seen today,” Plapp said.

“He was extraordinary.”
Great. Let's get the kid back in perhaps? Reward the effort. Tell Dom Tyson that he is out or Bernie Vince that he is out. Tell them that 34 possession games in the VFL will get you back into the side.

Sick of gifting these guys games to produce efforts that ruin our finals chances.

Great. Let's get the kid back in perhaps? Reward the effort. Tell Dom Tyson that he is out or Bernie Vince that he is out. Tell them that 34 possession games in the VFL will get you back into the side.

Sick of gifting these guys games to produce efforts that ruin our finals chances.

34 touch games got JKH and Trenners into the side. It's the quality of Brays touches as I read them not the amount

Like the fact the accumulation is there though. It means he is constantly around it. No problems with him going on the outer and not getting concussed in and under. He has nothing to prove, he is as tough as they come. Maybe he can be out outside runner.

I do wonder if it's time to #unleashthegus

See if we can get him to play on the outside and use his foot skills.
It would be a good time to bring him in, if he thinks he's ready to come back. He could realistically play at HB long term for us and resemble the role Vince has played when he's played at HB. It's good that we've got a bit of flexibility with Gus in that he's not just a midfielder.

I dunno if he plays at half back because you have to happy to stand in the hole.

You know what **** this, i'm not calling quits just yet. Been over to ladder predictor, even if we lose to the saints but win our last two we can still cling to 8th. Just need to thump brisbane to get a good percentage clear of West Coast and Essendon.

Win all three and we'll be there.

This ****ing season is weird though. If the hawks beat richmond and win their next three they could be in

I dunno if he plays at half back because you have to happy to stand in the hole.
We can't hide him from the physicality though so if he thinks he's ready to come back I reckon he needs to be prepared to do the team thing when and put his body on the line when it presents itself regardless of what position he plays. That should be required for every player on our team. It is encouraging seeing him really involve himself in the VFL though.

Tough to explain, really. I just refer back to rd 1 when we stayed the course after a diabolical first quarter and rolled the Saints. Definitely something to work on over pre-season. As someone whose done a fair bit of coaching, losing your head makes you no friends and plenty of enemies.
Amazes me how we won that game yet 20 rounds later can go to sleep and expect that someone will drag us out of the hole. It's not tough to explain. It's because no one put up their hand and said after, we kicked 3 goals and GWS kicked 2, 'Boys, let's ****ing kill this, no more goals. We need another 2-3 goals now to show these campaigners we are fair dinkum'

That's what needed to be said.

We can't hide him from the physicality though so if he thinks he's ready to come back I reckon he needs to be prepared to do the team thing when and put his body on the line when it presents itself regardless of what position he plays. That should be required for every player on our team. It is encouraging seeing him really involve himself in the VFL though.

I totally agree but maybe his first game shouldnt have Bruce Membrey and Riewoldt jumping all over his head.