Changes vs the Saints - 4 changes

I posted this on the Saints board, but you all may be interested too. I recommend you all watch the League Teams preview on this game, they go into it in far more detail than every other game. I have highlighted the spot on the video where it starts, so when you play it should just go from there.

He was instrumental in the Carlton and Port wins. Down on form since but the absolutely pitiful midfield pressure hasn't helped. Also dropping him for not being a good full back is the same as dropping Watts for not being a good key forward.

Brayshaw in is bloody good news If true

Was alright against Carlton but don't give me instrumental against Port, the reason Dixon had zero impact was because we starved Port of opportunity.

Agree Gus in is great news, hope he plays in the fuggin midfield and not this forward pocket shit again.

I posted this on the Saints board, but you all may be interested too. I recommend you all watch the League Teams preview on this game, they go into it in far more detail than every other game. I have highlighted the spot on the video where it starts, so when you play it should just go from there.

I'm going to go out on a limb and say Roos tipped us :P

Was alright against Carlton but don't give me instrumental against Port, the reason Dixon had zero impact was because we starved Port of opportunity.

Agree Gus in is great news, hope he plays in the fuggin midfield and not this forward pocket shit again.

Not instrumental in 1 on 1 defending. Instrumental in implementing our zone that kept port scoreless for quarters and the one that desperately held Carlton at bay. Him and Jetta are the 2 focal points of the defense with their ability to swap between tall and small and never miss tackles. Now we are going to have a scared Omac by himself at the back of the zone with no idea when to come or go and none of the physical attributes to be slightly wrong.

I think you're badly overrating his impact, I agree his ability to cover guys with his pace is valuable but he really hasn't been in good form for a while now.

The only thing that worries me up forward is the Membrey matchup, Josh Bruce is more a leadup player who is likely to kick 2-3 where Membrey could get 4-6 if we give him space. I do feel like TMac is going to start forward but how the game is going will depend on where he plays, either he or Pedo will be the 2nd ruck. I think the game for us will mainly depend on how we kick the ball in the forward half, if we use it reasonably well we should be able to protect our defence pretty well.

The strange thing for me is that our defence hasn't been that awful during this for slump. Even a rampant Giants outfit couldn't kick 100 on us. The issues have been our delivery to the F50 which to me is a midfield and forward connection or skill problem. So to drop 2 defenders where others like Watts, Harmes, Tyson, Hunt etc have been much worse, is another head scratcher. The issues we have are far too ingrained to turn it around by dropping a couple of defenders who actually offer us flexibility.

I wonder how much footy these AFL experts have, as most on their website predict we will still make the 8. Bizarre. Have they not watched our last 6 weeks? Most stats clearly show us being a bottom 2 side in the last 2 months of football. Teams can't simply flick a switch and be in form all of a sudden..

Was listening to sen last night and the fella doing his tips pointed out two things. Melbourne do not like bring favourites it was something like 10 out of 12 times we've lost as favourites. Melbourne are the easiest team to tip when you know your team which is true. We all knew that we were more likely to beat port and lose to North, also the gws loss wouldn't of surprised anyone (even freo were competitive) Yet in the media thinks we'll storm in based on the fact we play lower ranked teams at the g. St kilda are about where we are at but are in better form, the Brisbane game has come at the wrong time earlier in the season I would be confident but now with a bit of pressure and Brisbane also in better form looking dangerous. Win the next two and then we face the pies who also are finding form.

I think he will come to regret omitting Frost.

I agree. We look incredibly small and light on down back without him. 100% guarantee Bruce or Membrey will kick a bag of goals this weekend. So are we robbing Peter to pay Paul by putting TMac back to defence, or do we risk a slow Pedo to go back? I don't think we can afford losing any more avenues to goal, so I'm assuming TMac stays forward. I'm guessing the club knew Nick Reiwoldt would be out, or there is no way Frost missed this game.

I think the changes are okay.

Salem (and Watts if true) clearly need to get match fitness and form.

Frost has been poor 1 v 1 the past month.

I hope Gus plays well and gets through 100% okay.

He is really important to us. I'm worried about Vince and Lewis becoming unplayable next year - if they do, guys like Stretch, Salem and Brayshaw need to fill their roles.

Surely Salem has been rested as he's not 100%. Sorry if this point has been stated already but I would have thought it's an obvious one.
I don't think Frost deserved to be dropped, has done enough.
Wonder (and this is just a thought) whether it has anything to do with him not wanting to sign a contract yet? Do they know something?
I'm sure the two aren't linked but the thought just crossed my mind.

Surely Salem has been rested as he's not 100%. Sorry if this point has been stated already but I would have thought it's an obvious one.
I don't think Frost deserved to be dropped, has done enough.
Wonder (and this is just a thought) whether it has anything to do with him not wanting to sign a contract yet? Do they know something?
I'm sure the two aren't linked but the thought just crossed my mind.

Someone mentioned a rumour a little while back that Frost was exploring his options elsewhere. It is worrying he hasn't signed yet

Very odd. I wonder if they knew Riewoldt was not playing when Frost was dropped.

My guess is TMac is playing back and Watts and Wiederman are both in

Someone mentioned a rumour a little while back that Frost was exploring his options elsewhere. It is worrying he hasn't signed yet

This is the type of selection crap you can do if you're out of the finals race but not now...

I'm not exactly buying it but everyday that rumour is closer to being true I guess.

I can't say I normally disagree with schmuttt and ThePuppetMaster so maybe I'll have to accept I was too inebriated and distracted to notice frosts decline. Still think he's a vital part of our zone even out of form

If Frost wants to explore options we can let him. He deserves to be paid, in my opinion he' been pretty good. But like anything, if he gets Godfather money elsewhere what choice does the club have but to try and get the best deal available?

I agree mate.
Reckon Goody is the type of bloke who wouldn't waste games on a bloke who wasn't staying so perhaps they do know something because IMO he's deserving of a spot.
Is the perfect match-up for either Bruce or Membrey

In what way?
Feel like Salem and in particular Frost are being punished for taking the game on. Both are pretty key to us winning games. Don't see the benefit in dropping Watts when there's nobody better to bring in.

I'm not exactly buying it but everyday that rumour is closer to being true I guess.

I can't say I normally disagree with schmuttt and ThePuppetMaster so maybe I'll have to accept I was too inebriated and distracted to notice frosts decline. Still think he's a vital part of our zone even out of form
Me and my best mate watch him closely because our clubs Vice President claims that our mate who is full back should play exactly like frost...safe to say we've been laughing about that suggestion for the last month. He's been down.