Prediction Changes vs West Coast

With Schache it's pretty clear what he needs to do. Commit to the contest and present himself more. He's no use other wise.

With Young it's probably something like working on his decision making or disposal. Maybe just confidence even. All that will take some time.

With Schache it's pretty clear what he needs to do. Commit to the contest and present himself more. He's no use other wise.

With Young it's probably something like working on his decision making or disposal. Maybe just confidence even. All that will take some time.
I understand they are different types of players, but Hunter and JJ have never committed themselves to a contest and have won a BnF and a Norm Smith.
They are allowed to play to their strengths, why not give Schache the same opportunity?

I understand they are different types of players, but Hunter and JJ have never committed themselves to a contest and have won a BnF and a Norm Smith.
They are allowed to play to their strengths, why not give Schache the same opportunity?
Clearly you didn't watch Hunter against Geelong ..

We do age and games comparisons
But never weight comparisons.
Are we the lightest team in the history of the game?
Even being taller than we have been the whole season.Eack key position player is about 5 kg lighter than their direct opponent.
Without even looking at the other positions.
Hope we can at least out run them.Turn it into a marathon...
Get some steaks into the club!

Gardner/Young had to come in, I would’ve picked both personally but understand why not and La Young was as close to like for like as they could’ve gotten for Crozier but why in the hell is Gowers back?

I don’t notice all this apparent pressure/constant leading that others do obviously but I do pick up on his almost non existent footy IQ that burns us time and time again.

I really want to like the guy, I do and he does have a few tricks but overall I just don’t see it working with him at all going forward.

Bev sort of went through that in the press conference. Sounds like Schache was told he was in the frame this week, and Young was told he would be a key part of the team for future years as he was only 20. Reading between the lines: Schache is moving in the right direction but is still behinds Naughton and Gardner, and Young will start getting games further along in his development

Reg Young he is out of contract and although Bev sees him key part of going forward I wonder in Young feels the same.

I don’t notice all this apparent pressure/constant leading that others do obviously but I do pick up on his almost non existent footy IQ that burns us time and time again.

I don't think this fair. Gowers constantly leads as well as shepherds/blocks. No question on that.

Dale has to pull his finger out. Constantly shat himself last week and hasn’t showed any AFL form since late 2017

It's not a dislocated finger.

He was injured in 2018, played some games and then broke down with some kind of bone stress injury in the foot. He's been injured again in 2019.

Maybe he has been brought back into the seniors a little too early, I'll concede that, but soon enough you will get a shot of Baileys.

We do age and games comparisons
But never weight comparisons.
Are we the lightest team in the history of the game?
Even being taller than we have been the whole season.Eack key position player is about 5 kg lighter than their direct opponent.
Without even looking at the other positions.
Hope we can at least out run them.Turn it into a marathon...
This has been a problem for 20 years.

We are nearly are always skinny and short.

This has been a problem for 20 years.

We are nearly are always skinny and short.
It's not as though we regularly over-run teams in the last quarter either. I don't see the advantage we get being a team of greyhounds. Libba and a couple of others look like they're the only ones who hit the gym.

Don't mind La Young back in with his rangy fist but struggling to understand the Gardiner call up when Lew Young has been pushing for selection. And played well v Hawthorn.

Would have pushed Young back on Darling, Wood on Kennedy, Cordy an Allen, English forward/ruck and Trengove first ruck. Thought Trengove would give us an advantage v Vardy around the ball. English looked good forward last week.

Swing Naughton back at half time if Kennedy is smashing us.

Similar set up to our last few games in 2018. I don't think we've looked as good since. Trengove rucked. Roughead played forward/ruck. Gowers third tall to Schache. Reckon we should revisit that structure if Eagles do a number on us. And push Naughton back until we get a decent kpd.

I don't think this fair. Gowers constantly leads as well as shepherds/blocks. No question on that.

Agree. Not a fan but at least he has a crack. That plus the headless chook and shite disposal reminds me of Jong.

IMO having a crack is non negotiable to all players. If this is true then just having a crack is not a good reason to be chosen in a side. Having a crack needs to be accompanied with skill and offering a skill to the side that’s needed etc.

All this defending of Gowers is bullshit. He is a very average footballer that wouldn’t be getting a game at any other club. We are currently losing any credibility we had since winning the flag by playing guys like him. We are becoming a rabble again

Hoping for an improved showing tomorrow.

I don't think the team selected is our best 22 by any stretch, but hope the boys selected can somehow justify the faith shown by the match committee.

All this defending of Gowers is ********. He is a very average footballer that wouldn’t be getting a game at any other club. We are currently losing any credibility we had since winning the flag by playing guys like him. We are becoming a rabble again

Look mate, I was shopping at Central West in Braybrook just today. They have barrier security there. You are not allowed in if you don't have a weapon.

We are a rabble but we want to be a rabble that wins. Gowers is rabble material. He's ok. Just has to find more form.

The MSD was reintroduced so that clubs could fill gaps in their list that had opened up during the year. That’s exactly what happened to us (Picken, Boyd) and we’ve used it exactly as it was intended (except we only took 1 new player, not 2).

The premise was always that there are some players in state leagues who are quite a bit better than many of those on AFL lists.

Accordingly it should be no great surprise to see a draftee slot straight in for a senior game.

All the same I’d like to know what the dialogue is between Bevo/MC and each of Schache and Lewis, especially the latter. They are entitled to know where they stand, and what the plans and expectations for them are. I’m pretty sure such discussions will have been taking place in recent days or weeks.

Please stop making sense

I think Gowers is a more natural footballer than Jong, better footy IQ. Not a great kick. Doesn't tackle enough and isn't desperate enough defensively.

I think Jong is more athletic, an OK kick, works hard defensively. But poorer footy IQ, more prone to make poor decisions, and doesn't read the game/play as well (oddly/frustratingly can at VFL though).

But yeah both have a crack. Suspect having a crack is a Bevo non negotiatiable. Reckon Gardner straight in over Schache is related to that. We need big guys prepared to use their size and play aggressively like Naughton and Cordy do.

I'm not a stat-watcher at all. What i don't like about his play this year is:
- lack of any sort of forward pressure
- a nasty habit of trying to get goals out the back rather than compete (was probably worse at this earlier in the year)
- terrible skills / finishing

I like Gowers - however he has a terrible habit of giving away blatant free kicks when he is out of position - he does it every week, and often when all he needs to do is compete. Drives me insane...

Prediction Changes vs West Coast