Preview Changes West Coast vs St Kilda - Rd 19, 2021

Came on here for hutchings in melts but im severely dissapointed.
Hutchings will probably get 25 touches and play very well, proven AFL footballer who has been in outstanding WAFL form.
I’m happy he’s playing, unbelievable performance from him in the 2018 GF, I’ll never forget how he completely toweled up Sidebottom who’d been in amazing form.
Unlike other midfielders in WC team, Hutchings efforts remain constant for 4 quarters of footy, it’s called onfield leadership.

Geez, if people are still citing a game Hutchings played 3 years ago, i hope they also remember his performance in the 2019 semi final vs Geelong.

There's a reason why he's not in our best 22 anymore, and it's not just his failing body.

I'm all for rewarding WAFL form, Hutchings definitely deserves his spot so on that alone i'm glad he's been given a game. But we're in trouble if we're reliant on a player who's clearly past it at AFL level rather than one of our other young mids. Or Brander for that matter.

Geez, if people are still citing a game Hutchings played 3 years ago, i hope they also remember his performance in the 2019 semi final vs Geelong.

There's a reason why he's not in our best 22 anymore, and it's not just his failing body.

I'm all for rewarding WAFL form, Hutchings definitely deserves his spot so on that alone i'm glad he's been given a game. But we're in trouble if we're reliant on a player who's clearly past it at AFL level rather than one of our other young mids. Or Brander for that matter.

Brander is not a midfielder. He might have a good game at WAFL, but he is not an AFL level midfielder. He was drafted as a forward and it’s time we put him back there and see his worth as a lead up high forward as well as using his pace out the back

He’d be 21st or 22nd man out there - considering injuries that equates to 26-27 on the list this week and behind pretty much any other midfielder….except of course for Brander….if we are counting him as a mid…pushing the definition a bit at AFL level there.

I don’t think we are ‘reliant’…

Brander is not a midfielder. He might have a good game at WAFL, but he is not an AFL level midfielder. He was drafted as a forward and it’s time we put him back there and see his worth as a lead up high forward as well as using his pace out the back
I'm leaning towards JK coming back next year on the expectation he'll play ~10games max or so. It's time to play Brander forward.

There's no point pissing away an opportunity to see exactly what Brander can offer in order to play JK when JK is going to be done at the end of next year regardless.

I don't see what the problem is. Hutching's has been injury free, been among the best in WAFL every week and he is coming in to cover an injured player. Moreover I don't mind Hutchings. Good honest trier and actually has a defensive component to is game which the midfield is crying out for. Its like how the balance of our defense is off when we play Barrass and McGovern but no lock down KPP. Brander unlucky but Hutchings is a much better selection against St Kilda.

I don't see what the problem is. Hutching's has been injury free, been among the best in WAFL every week and he is coming in to cover an injured player.

He missed the start of the season with a knee, played one WAFL game, missed two weeks with a hammy, came back for a few more games, then missed the scrimmage against Freo in Melbourne with another knee.

Add that to last year when he missed lengthy periods.

Hutchings would absolutely get his pants pulled down by the Bont

Lets be fair, we're gonna get our pants pulled down by any side with a decent midfield unit.

If we make finals I can only see a path to the GF if we somehow avoid all of Geelong, Melbourne and Bulldogs, hope Brisbane fall into a hole and expect Port to continue to be Port.

Its a question of what we do to stop him, a shoot out with him we lose.

The best tactic we’ve had I think has been to put Yeo with him head to head, but Yeo hasn’t been at his best since he’s come back and Bont has gone to another level.

Nelson did a pretty good job in round 2 but only for a quarter.

Lets be fair, we're gonna get our pants pulled down by any side with a decent midfield unit.

If we make finals I can only see a path to the GF if we somehow avoid all of Geelong, Melbourne and Bulldogs, hope Brisbane fall into a hole and expect Port to continue to be Port.
I feel like our only option would be going the hail mary and going head to head with all our mids if by some miracle they are all out there. On paper Shuey, Kelly, Yeo, Redden, Sheed, Gaff should be able to beat anyone but obviously this is not the case.

Hutch was the best stopper we have, the only REAL stopper we have. If there is not a job for him, I wouldnt play him.
Even peak Hutch was never that good against the giant mids (Bont has 11cm on him) or the ultra quick players (Saad). On paper he is not a bad match-up for Steele this weekend. Liberatore would be his match-up for the Dogs I reckon.

I feel like our only option would be going the hail mary and going head to head with all our mids if by some miracle they are all out there. On paper Shuey, Kelly, Yeo, Redden, Sheed, Gaff should be able to beat anyone but obviously this is not the case.

Weirdly I feel like we play better when one of Shuey, Yeo or Kelly dont play.

I think its because, when Shuey and Yeo are both on the park, Kelly and Redden get a bit lost in what they should be doing and drift in and out of the game. They're all great mids on their day, but I dont think they've gelled well as a group.

Our only hope is if Nic Nat announces he’s retiring and will personally hunt and kill any campaigner who doesn’t help him win a premiership.

Bont is almost unstoppable this year. Is aerobically elite while playing through the mid and winning plenty of his own ball. Reckon even the best tags would be broken late in quarters and games when he just keeps working

Even peak Hutch was never that good against the giant mids (Bont has 11cm on him) or the ultra quick players (Saad). On paper he is not a bad match-up for Steele this weekend. Liberatore would be his match-up for the Dogs I reckon.

I dont want a match up player, we are effectively one down due to the number of players being managed. I wouldnt play Hutchings as a match up, a stopper or not at all.
Yes, the Bont is the top of the tree, reducing his influence is best I'd hope for.

IF Hutchings is in for a role on one of their mids then that is a better option than Brander just roaming around trying to get possessions. Wouldn't be surprised if he is going to play on Hill who from memory last time turned it on in the last 1/4.

With Steele we could play Yeo head to head which is better than trying to tag a contested mid. We didn't have Yeo last time and he has been increasing his physicality over the last few games.

I dont want a match up player, we are effectively one down due to the number of players being managed. I wouldnt play Hutchings as a match up, a stopper or not at all.
Yes, the Bont is the top of the tree, reducing his influence is best I'd hope for.
I meant as a stopper mate. When Hutch was the best tagger in the league he was still not good at stopping tall mids or quick players.

Weirdly I feel like we play better when one of Shuey, Yeo or Kelly dont play.

I think its because, when Shuey and Yeo are both on the park, Kelly and Redden get a bit lost in what they should be doing and drift in and out of the game. They're all great mids on their day, but I dont think they've gelled well as a group.
They haven’t really played much together as a group - so many injuries over the last two years, so not much chance to gel.

Preview Changes West Coast vs St Kilda - Rd 19, 2021