Changing teams you support

I've dug up this old thread just to put a point out there - anyone who supports GWS or GCS has more than likely 'changed teams'. If this is you, you are an undeniable scumbag. I remember reading on the GWS board a year or so back, why do you barrack for GWS. Someone said 'oh we used to barrack for Essendon (I think it was) but then this team got created and my wife and I decided this was our chance to get in on the ground floor on something new!'. WTF????? Anyone who does this cannot be a real football supporter. Just a complete WTF @ people who team swap especially to such souless outfits. For them alliegience is a temporary thing. LOL. Oh and before anyone asks I was 9 when the Eagles formed in 87 and they are my only team.

Why do you care so much?? Just continue living your life and let others do what they want...

I am a Claremont man and always will be. I could never change that. Just couldn't.
As far as the AFL is concerned.
I barracked for the Eagles when they came along because I thought it would be good to have a WA team in a national comp. I followed them up until Freo came in to the comp. They never totally won my heart though because of several clashes with Claremont (not wanting their dropped players playing reserves for us regardless of form etc...).
Freo joined in 95, they had our coach and a heap of our players so I thought why the hell not?
That first season was fun, 8 wins from a team with none of the assistance new and struggling teams get nowadays, and it was like watching Claremont playing in the AFL.
Since then it's really been an exercise in football purgatory.
But I go for Freo and that's that.

I still can't help but barrack for the Eagles when I watch them though. I'm a supporter of WA footy I guess.

(I am also a closet Geelong supporter, they've been so good over the last 6 years that it's impossible not to like/admire them).

So in 94 you celebrate the Eagles premiership long and hard into the night, only to show up a few months later dressed in purple? Yep, that pretty much sums up your typical Dockers 'fan'.

No not really. I watched it with friends at their house and went home afterwards. Not much drinking or celebrating at all.
And it was a decision that I'd made as soon as I heard about the Dockers coming into the competition.

I could use a similar argument based on your reaction to my post and extrapolate that to all Eagles fans, but I won't cause it's not true.
Neither is your assertion.

Close friend of mine switched to Melbourne (from Hawthorn) for reasons he cannot explain. This was after the 1980's- he lived through the Hawks absolutely destroying Melbourne in the 1988 grand final, celebrated multiple premierships, and then decided to support the Dees. Made the switch during his teenage years.

I can't imagine why anyone would ever switch teams, let alone turning your back on Hawthorn... for ****ing Melbourne.

I can't imagine why anyone would ever switch teams, let alone turning your back on Hawthorn... for ******* Melbourne.

Love this. It warms my heart when team-swaps backfire on people. Maybe he liked Melbourne's song, it's a catchy tune!

Hang on, why are you called WinmartoLockett? Hmmmmm

Reason number 1 above.

Was a die hard Bomber fan in the 80's, mostly as a result of Weston and Copping going there from Glenelg, my local team. Loved the 84 and 85 grand finals, hated 1990.

Adelaide came in in 1991, and I was a foundation member, have been since. Held a soft spot for the bombers for a long.....blah blah blah

you were never a die-hard supporter

Love this. It warms my heart when team-swaps backfire on people. Maybe he liked Melbourne's song, it's a catchy tune!

That's the crazy thing- he knew exactly what he was getting into. He wasn't five years old, he was an adult.

It was the equivelent to ditching a rich, sucessful beautiful young woman... to go out with an overweight toothless stinking pile of shit.

I've dug up this old thread just to put a point out there - anyone who supports GWS or GCS has more than likely 'changed teams'. If this is you, you are an undeniable scumbag. I remember reading on the GWS board a year or so back, why do you barrack for GWS. Someone said 'oh we used to barrack for Essendon (I think it was) but then this team got created and my wife and I decided this was our chance to get in on the ground floor on something new!'. WTF????? Anyone who does this cannot be a real football supporter. Just a complete WTF @ people who team swap especially to such souless outfits. For them alliegience is a temporary thing. LOL. Oh and before anyone asks I was 9 when the Eagles formed in 87 and they are my only team.

I know so many Eagles supporters who all supporter other sides before the Eagles joined in '87. I even know one who was Collingwood, changed to Eagles and then to Fremantle when they joined.

I reckon that every time the Eagles play a home game, Subi must have 1000s of, 'scumbags' as you put it sitting there in the stands.

This is a good point, we should root out these scum, it would free up seats for loyal supporters who have been on the waiting list for years.

There were 1000s of empty seats for people to become loyal members back when you were rubbish around 2000 ;)

Apart from a few highlights was the VFL actually on TV over here? For most people I'd say that it was all about the WAFL back then and never seriously followed a team over east.

There were 1000s of empty seats for people to become loyal members back when you were rubbish around 2000 ;)

You can't expect everyone to turn up for every game, and the fickle do drop off a bit when you're at the bottom. There was still a waiting list to become a seated member I'm pretty sure.

Apart from a few highlights was the VFL actually on TV over here? For most people I'd say that it was all about the WAFL back then and never seriously followed a team over east.

I don't know, I was here. You can definitely forgive people who only followed their local league and didn't really follow the VFL but had nominated a team, for then switching to the Eagles, Crows etc. But not so called 'die-hards' who then drop their team at a drop of a hat, or changing from Eagles to Freo after attending the grand finals and celebrating the premierships. That's just scumbaggery at it's finest. Probably why freo fans aren't too concerned about having never won a flag, they already experienced 92 and 94.

So you didn't follow an AFL team from 0 to 9 years old? Sorry, you are not a real supporter of football or your team then. Everyone knows that real supporters are born with scarfs around their necks and the team song in their heart.

3/4ths of the eagles supporter base would be dirty scumbags. If you liked a VFL team then switched your calling them scumbag

F off.

The reality is that every single Eagles supporter and Dockers supporter changed teams. As you said you were very young but for the vast majority they all changed sides.
In fact outside of Victoria pretty much a vast majority of footy supporters had to find a new club to support. our tribal roots supporting the WAFL will always be in our heart, unfortunately our clubs never made it to the AFL so we had to find a new club if we wanted to support footy at the highest level.

My club West Perth will always be in my heart, I have been a member of the Eagles for 20 years and they are not in my heart. They are just who i barrack for in the AFL.

There are many adequate reasons for change teams. If you are from Greater Western Sydney and have been supporting Essendon, and have switching because you finally have a team from where you live, that is acceptable.

In AFL, most of the time people support a team based on who their family follow. My family was all Essendon, so naturally I became an Essendon fans. It is very similar to how people 'beleive' in particular Religions.

Once you have found the team you want to support then stick with them through thick and thin. I don't like to get into defining what a 'real' fan is...wasted negative energy.

I was a Carlton supporter when i was around 5 which was in 1999 when they lost in the GF. After this my friend told me to become and Essendon supporter and i did. This was in 2000 and i'm so ****ing happy i changed teams when i did :D

In my opinion if you change teams for any reason other then your team folding your a flog I'm a Richmond supporter toughest gig in footy but never even thought about it,and as for other reason family member gets drafted then you would have a soft spot for that team

I love it when Eagles fans push bullshit like this. Yep - there were 1.5 million people wearing Craig Turley masks and Eagles beanies in 1994. Truly.

Changing teams you support