Channel 9 Consortium gains Footy Rights

...and what a big week it has been in football!

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Yup and I saw on the news that Channel Ten will get the rights to the whole finals series, as well as the grand final.

More Eddie when games are on 9
frown.gif

Originally posted by meg:
Yup and I saw on the news that Channel Ten will get the rights to the whole finals series, as well as the grand final.

More Eddie when games are on 9
frown.gif

Great - Tim Webster on GF day, it's enough to make me listen to Rex.

Channel Nine....Eddie McChins
Channel Ten.....Just plain shithouse.

All the more reason to forget TV and go to games whenever possible.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Channel seven good riddance!!

seeya boofhead roberts!!

stay in sth aus dickhead mcavaney!!

------------------
Well they blew up the chicken man in philly last night now they blew up his house too down on the boardwalk they're gettin'ready for a fight gonna see what them racket boys can do,SHITE!!

oh yeah i forgot

shithead sheehan
get a job
get a job
get a job

ha ha ha you 4eyed prick!!!

------------------
Well they blew up the chicken man in philly last night now they blew up his house too down on the boardwalk they're gettin'ready for a fight gonna see what them racket boys can do,SHITE!!

Easty,give it up mate,you can chase mags around here with all your big talk,but go away and start on someone else ok,cause frankly i dont give a shit what you say,simply because your a dickhead,youd be a little squirt who wouldnt be able to lock the shithouse door,so go away and play your games with someone else.
seeya around mate!!!

------------------

Yeah just a while ago I heard the news about Channel 7 deciding not to pursue the footy rights.
eek.gif
I am excited yet terrified....
eek.gif
hehehe

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

Well I too will be happy to see the end of McAvaney's footy calling career.

Maybe he can get a gig calling the Strathalbyn Dogs or something.

But expect some big changes over the next few years. Mergers. Teams folding. Hideous new made-for-TV guernseys. Ball-cam. This new deal brings the end of footy that little bit closer.

------------------
**floreat pica**

Alf,
You Talk of mergers, not the famous Carlington Bluepies, I hope! but hows this! Those damn west fremantle dongles, how about the westernport powerdogs, or the essenmond bomgers, maybe some new teams could join, 1 from NSW called the Bondi/Kings Cross Syringes or one from SA called the rundle Mall Morons.

The End Is Nigh.
Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid

Listening to the neurotic Vics is enough to make me choke on my breaky. Christ have you ever listened to a call from Morphett, Dipper, Dunstall, Brereton, Bartlett. Have noticed that recent Grand Final calls have been undertaken by Roberts, McAvaney and Cometti. And why would that be, cause they are the best you simple minded, one eyed simpletons...

Any rate the quicker we drop 2 or 4 Victorian teams and get back to a 12 or 14 team competition, where you play both home and away games the better off the AFL will be.

I'm a bit concerned about Channel 10's involvement. Tom Wobster...sorry that's Tim Webster of 'Sparts Tanoit'...errr..'Sports Tonight' fame? Please no!

where's wally?

Here's the channel nine commentators for 2002 :

Eddie,BT,Sam,Gary Lyon,Billy,Dwayne Russell,Tony Greig,Mark Taylor,Bill Lawry,Ian Chappell and Joe The Cameraman [special comments]
biggrin.gif

Channel 10's commentators :
Quarters,Timmmmmmmmmmmmy Webster,Bazzzzza Sheene,Billy Woods,Mike Larkan [ground reports],Tim Bailey [the new Dipper] and special reports from Harry Potter.

------------------
"Screw you guys,I'm goin' home "

Cometti will be a sad loss, I must say. That guy has got a magnificent voice.

But I always felt he was wasted on football anyway. He's got a beautiful race-caller's voice. And I reckon that's what he should be doing. Calling the races. He would be right up there with Ian Craig and Paul Ambrosoli, I reckon.

McAvaney used to call the races, and it comes through in his football commentary. He's forever using the imagery of the racetrack and, frankly, it gets a bit tedious when applied to football. He'd fit in well in Adelaide because the race-callers there are so bad he'd actually be an improvement. Terry McAuliffe is a complete w***er who badly needs voice lessons.

So ... there you go.

Cometti and McAvaney to be resurrected as race-callers.

But please don't waste Cometti on the Perth races. He deserves Sydney at least. McAvaney, however, should not be let out of Adelaide. Ever.

By the way ...

**GO THE CARLINGTON BLUEPIES!!!**

[This message has been edited by AlfAndrews (edited 26 January 2001).]

Originally posted by dons_r_tops:
... maybe some new teams could join, 1 from NSW called the Bondi/Kings Cross Syringes ...

Nah, that's tacky.

Should be called the "Bondi Rush". Based in Aukland. Their symbol could be a bit like Port Power. Except that instead of a hand holding a thunderbolt, they could have an arm with a needle sticking into it. Very classy. Aimed at the grunge/goth market. They could wear all-black.

Shit. I think I'd barrack for them!!!

**... ah!!!!!!!! What a rush! ...**

Here's another idea.

Forget the Carlington Bluepies.

Relocate Collingwood to South Australia. Change the colours to vomit green.
Call the team the "Pie Floaters".

After-match functions could be held at the famous Adelaide Pie Cart.

**I'm just floating**

[This message has been edited by AlfAndrews (edited 26 January 2001).]

Well heard Eddie on radio this morning and he says thet he will be looking at a lot of the callers from seven including McAverney so you may not be able to rejoice just yet, and lets hope channel nine do do the right thing because if they dont then I dont think that 7 will be wanting to take it back to quickly Cant help but think that Packer is more interested in Rubgy and would put them first if there was a clash of interests, anyway I dont know enough about it yet to fully understand what is going to happen, only know i will be changing to Foxtel next season glad i already have the line in because they will probably charge the earth to have it connected, more money for Mr Packer. Oh well what it it they say," the rich get richer and the poor get poorer."

The only positive for me at least is that I'll be able to see more Garry Lyon. Apart from that, I really don't mind who has it.

------------------
The Melbourne Football Club: Tradition, Heritage, Excitement

I want Channel 9 & 10 to select commentators who are able to speak English correctly.It has been frustrating listening to Dipper and Dermie struggle with elocution and grammar. Commentators also need to be objective and impartial, unlike Tony Lockett and Paul Roos. Matthew Campbell from Brisbane, never changed the pitch of his voice. What a bore !! Last but not least, will the new consortium snuggle up in bed with Brisbane and Sydney just like Channel 7 did ?

Channel 9 Consortium gains Footy Rights