Chapman does a hammie

It's not meant to be a sob story, just an explanation as to why I have used so many trades to the SC genius that claimed that anyone without trades was stupid. Good on you for copping zeros and conserving trades but not everyone has that luxury, especially if they cop several long term injuries or need to trade to win league games and make finals.

All very well to say learn from it and make better choices next year but no one can accurately predict injuries or poor form. Even so called durable players like Pavlich, Harvey and Cox have all suffered significant injuries this year, whilst gun players like Franklin, Hodge and Fisher have all been well down on previous years form.

I accept there is a certain amount of strategy involved in SC & DT but there is also a hell of a lot of luck involved.
You don't trade players who are down on form. If thats what you have done then you can't complain

Nah, pretty much all my trades have been for injuries or to upgrade players.

I've stuck with players like Franklin and Fisher who have been down on form. I hardly ever trade a player due to poor form, as you know as soon as you trade them they will invariably come good and usually they drop so much in value it isn't worth trading them anyway. Almost made an exception with Franklin this year though, his form was that bad, but thankfully he's come good the past few weeks.

It's not meant to be a sob story, just an explanation as to why I have used so many trades to the SC genius that claimed that anyone without trades was stupid. Good on you for copping zeros and conserving trades but not everyone has that luxury, especially if they cop several long term injuries or need to trade to win league games and make finals.

All very well to say learn from it and make better choices next year but no one can accurately predict injuries or poor form. Even so called durable players like Pavlich, Harvey and Cox have all suffered significant injuries this year, whilst gun players like Franklin, Hodge and Fisher have all been well down on previous years form.

I accept there is a certain amount of strategy involved in SC & DT but there is also a hell of a lot of luck involved.

I can see what you are saying but I have been equally monstered by injury this year.

Harvey, Hille, Cox, Skippy, Hurley, Anthony, Pav (to a lesser extent), Adcock, Raines, McCaffer....have all spent prolonged amounts of time out through injury.

I've had some players who were dropped due to form & suspension (I'm look at you Bock)

I've also rookies waste most of the year copping 0's on the bench: Broughton, Hogan, Cheney, Anthony (again).

All of that paints a bleak picture but that is SC life. Roll with the punches, take your luck when you can but don't sook when you are left tradless at the end.....if you feel so strongly about your "poor luck" then post your trade history so we can pick that apart and tell you were you have obviously burnt trades you didn't need to.

That would be me. And mate, judging by your responses in this thread, you've only confirmed my theory. You're justifications for your lack or trades are poor, and most here have commented on it. As Ling said, I too played with several 0's earlier in the season with the knowledge people like you would run out of trades now and we could fly past a lot of people. Take responsibility that you didn't play it smart enough instead of making excuses which everyone could make and having a sook

I can see what you are saying but I have been equally monstered by injury this year.

Harvey, Hille, Cox, Skippy, Hurley, Anthony, Pav (to a lesser extent), Adcock, Raines, McCaffer....have all spent prolonged amounts of time out through injury.

I've had some players who were dropped due to form & suspension (I'm look at you Bock)

I've also rookies waste most of the year copping 0's on the bench: Broughton, Hogan, Cheney, Anthony (again).

All of that paints a bleak picture but that is SC life. Roll with the punches, take your luck when you can but don't sook when you are left tradless at the end.....if you feel so strongly about your "poor luck" then post your trade history so we can pick that apart and tell you were you have obviously burnt trades you didn't need to.

The last part sums my SC season up.

I've made some poor trade decisions I'm kicking myself about now, and although I finished my league with a 14 - 1 record, it looks a strong chance now that I'll go out in straight sets.

Have allready picked the brains out of my trades and moves and upgrades and will have a better plan/strategy for next season. Quite obviously you need to cop the occasional "0" during the regular season.

I didn't allow myself any 0's during the season and now with several forwards out or in doubt I will get one or two possibly 3 this very week.

The last part sums my SC season up.

I've made some poor trade decisions I'm kicking myself about now, and although I finished my league with a 14 - 1 record, it looks a strong chance now that I'll go out in straight sets.

Have allready picked the brains out of my trades and moves and upgrades and will have a better plan/strategy for next season. Quite obviously you need to cop the occasional "0" during the regular season.

I didn't allow myself any 0's during the season and now with several forwards out or in doubt I will get one or two possibly 3 this very week.

Especially when you're 14-1. You've overkilled the minor round. Once your top 4 spot is safe just back off with the trades and come again now. The later you can get away with your LTI trades the better (from a leagues perspective). I reckon I've copped 1 donut about 5-6 times at least already. I drew the line at 2 donuts.

With 2 trades left and $100 in the bank, should I

a) trade out chapman for someone like Reiwolt

b) trade out higgins for someone cheaper than him?

My forward line currently looks like

Chapman, J Brown, Goodwin, Delideo, Franklin, Fevola, M Brown (Higgins, Ballantyne)

Thanks!

Especially when you're 14-1. You've overkilled the minor round. Once your top 4 spot is safe just back off with the trades and come again now. The later you can get away with your LTI trades the better (from a leagues perspective). I reckon I've copped 1 donut about 5-6 times at least already. I drew the line at 2 donuts.

Yeh your spot on there, I over did it.

Went too hard too early like a bolter in the Melbourne Cup.

Anyway, I'm certain to lose this week now as I have 8 players out this week in total with only 1 trade remaining, even if I had 20 trades left, there's nothing I could really do about this weekend.

Ahwell, i'll be better for it next season. Allready started putting some planning into it.

As bad as I feel saying this, I just need Josh Drummond to pick up an injury to feel vindicated about not taking both him and Chappy (avoided injury-prone premiums where less injury-prone alternatives were available).

It's been frustrating seeing Drummond clock up the games and massive scores, with him only playing 45 games in the 4 years prior.

Thank you Jesus!! :D

But I don't even believe in Jebus! :(

praise-jebus.jpg