Universal Love Charlie ‘Chook’ Constable

not Referring to constable in my previous post. Re read it. The point is that AFL footy is now about whole ground defence. And if a player can’t or won’t defend for 100
Minutes, he won’t play. Constable has one very good strong to his bow. He finds the ball in traffic. Unfortunately, that’s not enough anymore.
Kreuger?

no, a kid who they cut because as insanely
Talented as he is and was, he couldn’t run the speeds or distances they wanted. Doesn’t matter what his name is. Reality is AFL players have to be able to
Defend a whole ground for 100
Minutes and I’d they can’t, they won’t play.
At this stage Chook can’t get it done

Talented as he is and was, he couldn’t run the speeds or distances they wanted. Doesn’t matter what his name is. Reality is AFL players have to be able to
Was he an Indigenous bloke?

GO Catters

I've been saying for a while the only reason you would play AFL now is for the money and the chicks.
How much fun could it be? Just running.
The rules need to change.
Someone like the kid your talking about is who we should be watching.
Not someone who can run up and down the ground who can't kick.

I've been saying for a while the only reason you would play AFL now is for the money and the chicks.
How much fun could it be? Just running.
The rules need to change.
Someone like the kid your talking about is who we should be watching.
Not someone who can run up and down the ground who can't kick.
Spectacular goals and high flying marks have nothing on elite running patterns. Phwoah, I'm getting all flustered just thinking about it!

As if you have any idea how fast our midfielders are relative to each other in any meaningful way.

Unless of course you're sitting on a cache of GPS data not being shared with the rest of the class?
He ran a 3.05secs 0-20m in his draft year, which is slow for a midfielder, but not the slowest. I doubt he's improved much on that. Whilst he doesn't look dead slow out of stoppages, his opponents can break cleanly from him when they have to. I think I have a good enough grasp on it. He is quicker than GHS, but its certainly not line-breaking stuff.

What he needs isn't more speed although that would help it is more fitness to be able to get to more contests and defend for long periods of time.

No point playing him if he is buggered by 3/4 time when only playing 65% game time he needs to be able to Play 80% + game time and still be able to push hard in the last 10 mins of the game.

If he can improve his tank to at least that 80% game time he will be able to contribute greatly and will most likely be picked in the first 15 every week

What he needs isn't more speed although that would help it is more fitness to be able to get to more contests and defend for long periods of time.

No point playing him if he is buggered by 3/4 time when only playing 65% game time he needs to be able to Play 80% + game time and still be able to push hard in the last 10 mins of the game.

If he can improve his tank to at least that 80% game time he will be able to contribute greatly and will most likely be picked in the first 15 every week
Yeah, I agree on that also.

So who does the attacking if we want our mids getting to the contest to defend?
It depends on who is in the centre but ideally for me we would want 1 pure attacking mid i.e Danger 2nd mix maybe 70-30 attack/def Selwood/chook or who ever you want in that role and the the 3rd as mainly defensive maybe 80/20 def/attack or maybe even a pure tagger like Ling was, Could try Atkins/Fog/Guthrie for that and of course 2 outside winger types Duncan and Clark are my standouts for that atm.

What we don't want is everyone being an attacking mid like every season lately.

If we want Danger to do what He does best we need others to sacrifice parts of the game for it (it could be anyone in that role not just Danger e.g. Cocky would be brilliant at it)

The question is can some of our players accept that and play the role given to them

You reckon, so you're trying to tell me Dallhaus or Narkle are so much better?
Or Ablett for that matter, he's fit alright had a full pre season and should be right to go
Just play him in his correct position, that's the guts surely they understand that!

You reckon, so you're trying to tell me Dallhaus or Narkle are so much better?
Or Ablett for that matter, he's fit alright had a full pre season and should be right to go
Just play him in his correct position, that's the guts surely they understand that!

modern footy isn’t the same as when you played man. A player who’s “playing in the guts” needs to be able to Cover 15km at pace. So that when we lose possession, he can sprint back to the back half and fill space to defend as a part of a zone. Then when we win the ball, that same player has to have the tank to sprint forward. Be an option, transition the ball and even be fit enough to kick a goal if he ends up with the ball. In answer to your question, Ablett, narkle and Dahlhaus are infinitely better at covering ground, getting to multiple contests and defending space Than constable.

I don't think any of those 3 would be any better than CC at the above.

A former member of this BF parish who now follows footy for a living told a couple of us late last season that the MC weren’t picking Constable due to stoppage ball watching, not tracking his man and defensive running.

Everything people say about him indicates similar. Moreover as a pure extractor his use of the pill is woeful. By foot I could understand but by hand his hand passes are sloppy at best.

‘Universal Love’ is a farcical prefix for this thread. Hasn’t earned it at all

not Referring to constable in my previous post. Re read it. The point is that AFL footy is now about whole ground defence. And if a player can’t or won’t defend for 100
Minutes, he won’t play. Constable has one very good strong to his bow. He finds the ball in traffic. Unfortunately, that’s not enough anymore.
I hope Geelong has still got his phone number!

(SNIP)....
‘Universal Love’ is a farcical prefix for this thread. Hasn’t earned it at all
He did earn it. Hardly a one on this board was not impressed by his first few games.

But love can wane and much hard work has to be done to rekindle it!

I agree though the universal tag should be removed and replaced with Promising? Hopeful? Limited? .....or just removed for 6 months.

So you're going to blindly project combine results and personal bias?

It is as I said, you have no idea.

So you're going to blindly project combine results and personal bias?

It is as I said, you have no idea.
Doesn't take a genius or a stack of data to work out he ain't a line-breaker. You can figure it out after watching several games.

So any player who isn't a line breaker on the virtue of their speed is inherently slow?

Spectacular goals and high flying marks have nothing on elite running patterns. Phwoah, I'm getting all flustered just thinking about it!
Yeah, and the outcome is that we’d lose every week if we ignored the running requirements.

The game is played on a big ground, it’s a competitive advantage if extra numbers flood the forward line or back line.

The game has moved forward strategically and tactically and coaches have identified ways to win games and premierships. The professional teams today would cream the star-studded one grab high flying teams of yesteryear.

So any player who isn't a line breaker on the virtue of their speed is inherently slow?
This guy raced in the year above me in Inter-School, he was a record breaker in the region. I was racing the year level below him. He was the quickest in the AFL at one point. I also played footy against him.
We were both undefeated in the Ballarat district throughout High School, year by year. I raced in the big smoke, and was undefeated there also.
Pity I was just average at footy, lol.

No, but it is critical for a stoppage specialist.

I used to be a 100m runner, and winning one as a junior... you're underestimating my keen eye ;)

Your eye is not a valuable judge, no matter how highly you choose to value your own opinion.

Interesting question......

Can a player who is slow by foot, hand or mind be a 'line breaker'?

What is the specific attribute of a player who is considered to be one?

Sam Mitchell (back when) and Ben Cunnington are players that can break lines/open up play with exceptional attributes that are unrelated to pace.

Chook has the potential to do something of the sort, with strong extraction and clean hands. But he also doesn't need to be breaking lines to become a strong performer at AFL level.