Cheap Beer

• Thread starter Thread starter Goldhawk

Have to be careful with Uncle Dan's.

They're T&C's on their website say the store must be within 10km of the coupon's store.

Just one to keep an eye out for.

Yep, First Choice is the same mate.

Went in on Wednesday when WDO had the $30 deal on Crownies and lo and behold, there was a sign detailing the T&Cs, but only overhanging the pallets of Crownies.

Given the place was packed and I had other serious purchases to make, I didn't play the game, but I reckon the gig may be up - unless of course you can get to within 10kms of Richmond.

Have a yak to Vic.

Aussies love their sport almost as much as their beer. And they are happy to down a tinnie in commiseration almost as much as a celebration.

Australia's favourite beer will honour its commitment to shout the nation with a free can or stubby of VB for every eligible adult in the country.

It was meant to be a celebration for winning the Ashes, but the good people at CUB have rightly seen that we need it anyway.

"We promised to shout the nation at the start of the Ashes campaign, and even though the boys didn't win, that's still what we are going to do,'' VB group marketing manager Paul Donaldson said.

The brewer has no idea how many Australians will claim their free VB through coupons in Saturday's Herald Sun and other News Ltd papers across the nation

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/vi...e-aussies-losing/story-e6frf7kx-1225981300085

They finally had a different beer on special last week, Peroni Nastro Azzurro a good buy at $29.99 normally around the $50

And it's a good beer too.

I wonder what they will advertise next Wenesday in the "Hun "

They finally had a different beer on special last week, Peroni Nastro Azzurro a good buy at $29.99 normally around the $50

And it's a good beer too.

I wonder what they will advertise next Wenesday in the "Hun "

I've got a slab of that cooling in the fridge ready for Go Hawks!!! Nab Cup Bbq next Sunday.

Slab cooling in the fridge for next Sunday... bloody soft.

Dash has offered to host if your bigscreen is unavailable.

Reminder to organise Sydney Hawka a taxi home....

Funnily enough and in the spitrit of the thread, i ran out of beer last night and hit the scotch. Man, I was jogging as slow as X Ellis at full speed.

Again, you are inviting yrself to my place? there are rules mate, which are simple, take you bloody shoes off, you did not adhere to the rules, and therefore you are banned.

I don't know where I am watching it at the moment.

Ok off to Dan Murphy's to restock on crown and pure blonde

On special in todays Herald Sun ,Peroni and Corona at $29.99

So get your coupons and go straight to Dan Murphys

Over at GH's on his my loved carpet.

Henry, I'm not quite sure what you mean here, you're obviously worked up, but I can join the dots.... children read this board.

I have a $30 slab of Joey Peroni chilling in the fridge.

Of the 4 blokes (mostly tradies) in line at my local Uncle Dan's - All had a torn out page from the Hun.

I reckon the bloke in Richmond does it just to stick it to the man.

Henry, I'm not quite sure what you mean here, you're obviously worked up, but I can join the dots.... children read this board.

Na, nothing like that Grizz.

GH allows NO ONE to wear their shoes on his carpet. So I made sure that my socks were dirtier than my shoes :D

I have a $30 slab of Joey Peroni chilling in the fridge.

Of the 4 blokes (mostly tradies) in line at my local Uncle Dan's - All had a torn out page from the Hun.

I reckon the bloke in Richmond does it just to stick it to the man.

Is it the real Peroni? Some guy on Twitter has launched a campaign against the barrage of inferior paralleled brewed Peroni that's flooding the Australian market. Sorry, don't have the link.

No it's not the real deal.

Brewed under supervision Birra Peroni- in Australia by Pacific Beverages Pty Ltd, 102 Briens rd Northmead NSW from local and imported ingredients.

But still not a bad drop,i think it's better than the Stella .

No it's not the real deal.

Brewed under supervision Birra Peroni- in Australia by Pacific Beverages Pty Ltd, 102 Briens rd Northmead NSW from local and imported ingredients.

But still not a bad drop,i think it's better than the Stella .

Bastards.

I hurriedly read that carton and read "Imported by...."

That's NZ importing it from us.

Ah well, still beats the hell out of Tooheys.

Bastards.

I hurriedly read that carton and read "Imported by...."

That's NZ importing it from us.

Ah well, still beats the hell out of Tooheys.

Almost anything is better than the standard swill brewed by the majors.

You can say that again.

When I see slabs of VB or whatever selling for over $40 I just laugh.

It's made about 5kms from my house and yet you can buy a carton of Urquell or real Peroni for roughly the same price that's been shipped from bloody Europe.

Bloody cartel.

You can say that again.

When I see slabs of VB or whatever selling for over $40 I just laugh.

It's made about 5kms from my house and yet you can buy a carton of Urquell or real Peroni for roughly the same price that's been shipped from bloody Europe.

Bloody cartel.

When CUB were developing one of their light beers a few years back they got a master brewer out from Heineken - I think - to help put the beer together. He stayed around for several acrimonious months before leaving with these cutting words, 'you don't need a brewer, you need a <insert rude word for making love> chemist.

I've had a bit to do with CUB over the years from a professional point of view. Tis slightly disturbing how you can try the most amazing beers their brewers make in house for in-house consumption, then see the swill they develop based on marketing requirements and dodgy consumer insights. Remember LJ? G Beer? And the ever-present stable of crap like Cold etc. Sales of domestic beer are in decline, rapidly being filled by imports and quality smaller operations. It's not something an ad campaign will fix, in my opinion, because, as Heineken has spruiked for years, 'it's all about the beer' now for more and more consumers. Cheap slabs will always sell and have their place but loyalty isn't only being driven by product as it once was.

When CUB were developing one of their light beers a few years back they got a master brewer out from Heineken - I think - to help put the beer together. He stayed around for several acrimonious months before leaving with these cutting words, 'you don't need a brewer, you need a <insert rude word for making love> chemist.

That bloke could have made a massive difference if he was allowed to do his thing. What a shame,

I've had a bit to do with CUB over the years from a professional point of view. Tis slightly disturbing how you can try the most amazing beers their brewers make in house for in-house consumption, then see the swill they develop based on marketing requirements and dodgy consumer insights. Remember LJ? G Beer? And the ever-present stable of crap like Cold etc. Sales of domestic beer are in decline, rapidly being filled by imports and quality smaller operations. It's not something an ad campaign will fix, in my opinion, because, as Heineken has spruiked for years, 'it's all about the beer' now for more and more consumers. Cheap slabs will always sell and have their place but loyalty isn't only being driven by product as it once was.

I love the sound of the in-house beers. If only they released them to the public.

What's concerning in some ways is that I have two friends who were at executive level in marketing at CUB up until a couple of years ago.

Both are long time Hawthorn members!

One of them came up with the idea for CUB 'Cold Shot' (I think that's what it was called) - The beer with a shot of vodka.

Initially sales were astronomical for a few months. My friend looked to have defined his career. He was the toast of the place.

That's until The Hun ran an expose about binge drinking, targeting the Cold Shot in particular.

CUB caves to pressure, pulls his baby and he gets moved to cider.

Works his butt off to promote a drink that at the the time NO ONE was drinking.

Ends up leaving after a while and moves to greener pastures.

Three years later, Cider is selling like hot cakes.

VB Raw was the last Aus-major-brewed one I liked, other than Coopers'.
Cascade Draught is good from a tap but F-all chance CUB will bring it over, given it's about 8 times better than Carlton Draught-horse piss.

Hilarious that they'll put out ads for Boags/Cascade being brewed from pure Tas water etc; then in the very next instant expect us to swallow that a beer originally brewed in Italy, Japan, Holland, Mexico etc will taste exactly the same if it's brewed in Thailand, Samoa, NZ or NSW.

I've found a couple of sneaky little local independent bottle-Os & even the bottle-Os at IGAs have some good products well priced.
Since really taking an interest about 2 years ago, I'll always spend $50 on a slab of Cascade or Grolsch etc rather than $29 or 40 on a slab of generic stuff.

Found this article pretty interesting, particularly the different trends being seen by independent brewers vs the majors.

ie.
Who the **** likes "blonde" beer. It may be for blondes but beer it is not.

I am in the game and have a wine shop in Melbourne. The hardest part about dealing with fosters is that they just don't give a crap. As a small independent and there are not many around, it provides me with greater margin to purchase from the two big retailers rather than buying from Fosters and it is not a small amount. I buy Vic at 7.5% cheaper at my competitors retail outlet than from the wholesaler themselves. When your margin for a slab of beer is only about 5% you can see the issue.

Why would you buy any of the domestics when you can buy local for only $10-$15 more. I stick to the smaller new breweries around like 2 brothers, 3 troopers, Vale Ale for my beer.

The other aspect that is just crazy is the tax that is made by the government. About $14.40 from ever case of beer is tax. I thought that the GST was meant to be the only tax we have but in the booze game everything gets taxed twice. Wine has 29% Wet tax and then GST on top. Little crazy to have the government making more out of the sale of a box of beer or a glass of wine than the producer or the retailer.