Roast Cheer Squad

Living in the country these days and giving up the membership I just buy a ticket on the odd occasion I can make it up to Perth now, it's quite interesting to see the differences in the crowd in various parts of the stadium after sitting in the same seat for 7 years.

I'll probably get shouted down for saying this BUT, you guys should really go to a Collingwood match at the G as a neutral observer, their fans are quite obviously mad, however from their perspective their players can do no wrong. Every slight win is met with a huge roar, they easily have the best roar of all the supporters. Opposition players and umpires are going to cop it and the Collingwood players love it.
Did you all know that they copied the slow 'Collingwood' chant from our Freo? It appeared during the 2008 season, years after ours.
I'm not a closet magpie, but on the whole their crowds are pretty impressive.

Yes. Collingwood fans provide a huge boost for their players. I think the Collingwood slow chant predates ours by about 2 decades. Ours is better though.

Yes, I have started a few cheers in my time and so have others who sit near me. I've never brought a banner. I'm not quite sure I understand your last sentence... I'm in block 105 Row MM seat 6. Why is that relevant? What's your point?

My point is you shouldn't be posting how bad our cheer squad is if your not willing to put in the same effort you are expecting of them.

Thanks heaps. Now the players would be inspired by this. Freo supporters should all get up off their back sides, hold their purple scafes up and chant "Freo - o, Freo - o" and so during the final warm up.

Or better yet, go and find a decent ballad (preferably by a local, but it doesn't really matter), go and talk to the club and get them to play it during the final warm up and see what you can do. I can't believe the club would get in the way of it.

Chants during the game usually die out pretty quick because something happens on the field that distracts everyone from it. That's why it's never really become a part of our game.

My point is you shouldn't be posting how bad our cheer squad is if your not willing to put in the same effort you are expecting of them.

Well, I disagree. I think it is a privilege to be a cheersquad member, which is why the club charges for it. Upon joining the cheersquad, you would surely feel a certain special status. You should feel like a significant part of the club, more connected to the club, because you are. But, I think if your going to be part of the cheersquad, you should be spending more effort than the average fan on starting and co-ordinating cheers and chants. Otherwise, you're just an average fan, like me.

I think the cheersquad serves an important purpose, especially at a non-victorian club where our supporters outnumber theirs significantly. But, as many in this thread have noted, the cheersquad in the last couple of years is quieter than it used to be. I don't think it's hypocritical for me to tell them to lift their game any more than it would be hypocritical for me to tell the players to lift their game, or the admin.

In summary, I don't have a problem telling people to put in more effort than I am putting in. I'll spend 3 hours tonight telling our boys how much effort they should be putting in while I sit in the comfort* of the stands. I hope the cheersquad is doing their very best to play their part.

Carn cheersquad!!! FIRE UP!!!

* Comfort at Paterson's stadium may not be actual comfort.

Drums, trumpets, sirens, bells... instruments of the past that assisted. Is not your VOICE an instrument too? Focussed and driven it is far more powerful. As has been mentioned through the thread - more coordination and presence of the WA squad is requested. 'Cheer Squad' is a commitment that many have taken through some desire to 'love' the club. What is being asked for, is a unison of voice to deliver powerful purple passion. Like anything, if you are satisfied with mediocrity then you will never achieve your full potential. I think this thread is merely stating - step up and be counted once again.

Getting into a 'my block', 'your block' vs. the cheer squad slanging match is not what we are all interested in I do not believe. What we all want to see from that Subi-end is to rock the oval - through the game, not just when we score, not just when we are ahead. We have a great post-game winning atmosphere with TNT. This needs to translate through the game led by the cheer squad. Find a common thread, find that something that makes the stands rise as one and sends the opposition cowering. Its your job. Easy? no. Achievable? yes!

The great strength of the 'Squad' is that you go to each and every game as a mob. A strong starting point. You don't need gadgets and you shouldn't need prodding. We can SEE your passion in the banner, lets HEAR it. We are all waiting to be led...

Don't pay extra, Start the cheer, get them in time you are a grown man figure it out. "This is part of the problem" is you blaming others not taking responsibility and is just a cop out.

FFS $30 is what you spend on beers. Its not their job, they pay $30 because they're passionate and want to support our beloved team and its them trying to make a difference, Ask Seppo how much he sacrifices and puts in every game just to support Freo it just makes me angry to read this cr@p.

Do you even go to games mate? Unless it is going over the speakers it is impossible to get them in time. It happens at every game in every sport. How is it a cop out anyway? How many chants do you start? Me saying it being out of time is not me blaming others at all.

I don't drink at the games thank you. I'd rather keep my $30 than pay for that crap they serve up at Subi. They pay $30 to be a part of the cheer squad mate. Unless I have been misinformed as to what the word cheer means then I'm afraid it is their job. Yes we all have a responsibility to join in but it doesn't mean we have to start chants. I'm happy to go along with whatever gets started because I want it to be in time.

Just because they pay an extra $30 it doesn't make them any more passionate than anyone else. I fork out for a membership each season. I go watch them interstate 1 or 2 times a season. I go watch them train. I buy merchandise. Just because they pay an extra $30 for shit seats does not make them more passionate than anyone else. By that logic the people who buy corporate boxes or platinum seats on the wing are more passionate than everyone because they spend more money.

I appreciate all the effort Seppo puts in mate and think he is a star for doing it but once again it is his choice. Just like it is the choice of those in the cheer squad to be in there. They choose to take the responsibility on so they can take the criticism when it comes their way. Just like they would take all the plaudits if they were brilliant like our Vic cheer squad.

Check out this flog commenting on my cheersquad Youtube video from last year... Quite disturbing.
u9u5e6ed.jpg

Cheersquad sounding a bit more vocal so far. (Half time). Might be because there's only a small crowd but they're sounding good. Thumbs up.

More worried about our fair weather supporter base than the cheer squad. 28k on a beautiful Saturday night, round 18 v giant killers from last week. Really embarrassing effort (or lack of effort).

Being at the game tonight every chant the cheer squad did was never followed up by the rest of the crowd even people close by. I know people love the west aust cheer squad on here but off the internet and at the game no one in the crowd even showd a glimps of being apart of them.

More worried about our fair weather supporter base than the cheer squad. 28k on a beautiful Saturday night, round 18 v giant killers from last week. Really embarrassing effort (or lack of effort).

Unfortunately because of the empty seats around we had a few people shifting around taking advantage of the change in viewing perspective, which I don't have a problem with but when the two interloping middle aged couples behind me start cheering I was a bit perplexed.
"Go Aaron!" was all one of the guys could yell, I don't think he knew any other players names.
His wife would yell "Great mark number 23!" or whoever said players number was.
And the other guy was yelling encouragement which had a decidedly rugby tone to it.
I'd rather have even less people at the game than people like this. Embarrassing.

Regular seats were completely sold out by Tuesday too, that's a lot of no shows.

Yep, like I said really disappointing. It was like the weather from the morning was enough of an excuse to keep people away in the evening. Or the train disruptions? But it was an important game for us, almost balmy night for this time of year and 10,000 members couldn't show. May be just me but I love Saturday night games, especially compared to Sunday afternoons. Eagles got almost 40k last week and their season was almost shot.

I get my block going with the Freooooh chant, I'm certainly loud, & my voice suffers as a result. My block is full of 3gamers now, them that wear their blue & gold with a blue, sorry, "man purple" membership lanyard round their neck. Yep, that's one of the reasons, that & I don't believe the published figures. We're that financial we pay for seats we don't use?

The Steve's what? Go on, you can finish your sentence, You're among friends here.
Really? Haven't actually noticed that previously. The Steve's don't finance the Bannee crew & charge the cheer squad. They don't have pride in the FFC, they want to change it to what their ideal of a footy club is. I'm not suprised standards are slipping. People's passion isn't really just a marketable commodity. Passion wanes with FNB bandwagoners.

What I was getting at is that it is Steves, not Steve's