Past Cheynee Stiller (2006-2012)

Stiller is one of those finge players who is in a position to make a big difference for us this year. He is the sort of footballer we need to stand up to fill the gap left in our side by Rischitelli and given that he is still relatively young (24 yrs ) and he has 76 games under his belt, he is well placed to do so.

I know that he has been a bit of a "whipping boy" for some, but I have always thought that he has the potential, but for some reason things just haven't "clicked" for him. Perhaps he has been give too negative a role to play and he might play better football if allowed to play a more attacking running role. Most people seem to be agreed that he has great endurance and I would never question his courage / hardness at the ball, so maybe we need to utilize this in a more offensive capacity. With Raines appearing to have locked down the main run with tagging role, I would love to see Cheynee make 2011 his breakout year as a running half back / wingman who could rotate through the middle when required.

I have sat on the fence a little when it comes to Stiller, but now I am thinking Voss needs to pick him from round one and put it on him to show some character and consistency this year. If he can't step up this season then I will be joining the chorus of those calling for him to be delisted. I feel sure it won't come to that.

Stiller's main drawback is that he lacks the ability to move the ball on quickly. This includes a lack of leg speed, not being inclined to play on after taking a mark, and a lack of penetration in his disposal. He is an honest footballer, but I can't see him ever becoming a damaging player. 3KZ, you say he needs to stand up, but I think he is already close to getting the most out of himself.

Probably true Grim, he has been on the list long enough that he should have had some kind of improvement over the last few seasons if it was there. He is as you say an 'honest' footballer, and i think if he is performing his role in the team, there is a spot in the 22 for him, but we just can't expect him to the that player breaking the lines and getting the ball rebounding quickly.

Every good team needs a few honest players though, not everyone is a super star, sometimes you just need a few guys to do their job.

Stiller's main drawback is that he lacks the ability to move the ball on quickly. This includes a lack of leg speed, not being inclined to play on after taking a mark, and a lack of penetration in his disposal. He is an honest footballer, but I can't see him ever becoming a damaging player. 3KZ, you say he needs to stand up, but I think he is already close to getting the most out of himself.

You might be right Grimreepah. I do wonder; however, if this reluctance to play on is related to a lack of confidence and may be able to be coached out of him. As for his lack of penetration with kicking, that too may be inherent, but it equally might be something that could be corrected with specialist attention and coaching.

I think that it is reasonable to expect that a player at 24 years of age who has played 76 senior games is still capable of improvement as he heads towards what most footballers seem to demonstrate are their peak years, so I will hold out that hope. If it is a false hope though, as I said in my original comments, it will be no surprise to see him shipped out at the end of the season.

I think any player can improve, and Cheynee is no different, but where will it come from? I can picture him improving his link up play and I could see him continuing to improve his inside game. The end of last season suggested he was finding a better balance between minding his man and providing a target.

He could play with a bit more dare, but all in all I can't see him ever being a quick transition player. Quick ball movement has become increasingly important in recent years, hence my belief that he needs to make every post a winner just to remain a fringe player.

If it is a false hope though, as I said in my original comments, it will be no surprise to see him shipped out at the end of the season.

I'm not a big fan of him but I will be very surprised if he is not offered a new contract at the end of the season. He is probably one of the fittest players we have and while we have a lot of young talented midfielders coming through who will eventually overtake him he is very useful even as a fringe player.

With the sub rule this year he becomes even more useful than before because he is one of the midfielders that doesn't need to come off for much whereas some of the younger guys are better in bursts.

I'm not a big fan of him but I will be very surprised if he is not offered a new contract at the end of the season. He is probably one of the fittest players we have and while we have a lot of young talented midfielders coming through who will eventually overtake him he is very useful even as a fringe player.

With the sub rule this year he becomes even more useful than before because he is one of the midfielders that doesn't need to come off for much whereas some of the younger guys are better in bursts.

Not having a crack at Stiller but in general if a player is not going increase the teams chances of taking the four points the less time on the ground probably the better.

Stiller is an interesting case. Got dropped by Voss only to have Voss conclude in a non direct way that he was a required player but then never really cemented a spot back in the team. Not particular strong in attack sound in defense, sound in a tagging role, ok in the link up role.

For me Stiller really needs to become an aggressive defender really break the shackles. Left field I would like him to show some mongrel, even go before the tribunal.

Awesome game on the weekend Cheynee :) Can't wait to see you come back and destroy St. Kilda like you have in the past

Given my earlier posts on this page, I really hope he can keep it up. It would be great if he could step up and take his football to a new level, this year and beyond. I know everyone wants him to kick on, he just has to keep putting it together.

Link to article

If Voss is secure in his future then he may be more inclined to bring in players who could be part of the next premiership side and not ones treading water such as Cheynee Stiller and Amon Buchanan.

stiller11.jpg

I disagree with Craddock's quote regarding Cheynee. He has been pretty handy this season and fills a vry important role in our side. Sure he is not indespensible and there are a few younger guys who could quite easily play his role, but I also think he is very much part of Voss' plans and far from treading water.

Yeah, I've been baffled by talk of having poor games, IMO his fitness is helping him run out games. I thought he's improved on last year.

One person's opinion and all that, but seriously you have got to be kidding. How the hell can you overlook his continual clangers, his shortfall kicks, or short and high kicks, or his regular inability to get to the contest?

In any case, even if you can overlook this sort of stuff, take a look at the replay of Thursday's game and observe the looks of dismay, "here we go again", from his nearby teammates.

Someone here once said that Stiller is a Voss favourite. Maybe, but count me as one person who could never the hell figure out why. Ask yourself- would he get a game in a competitive side?

We are better off blooding a trainee than perservering with this bloke.

I reckon his form has been fairly solid. I wouldn't say he has been damaging but he has his moments where he is handy. I haven't noticed these howling mistakes that Tassie is referring to. I thought he had been fairly reliable.

Edit: actually I do remember he fumbled a fair bit in the first half against Freo.

a few costly errors in his game against tigers. not sure he can afford to keep doing this with his experience now.

I honestly thought he was one of our better defenders last night, however, he really needs to work on his decision making, he always seems to turn himself back into traffic, so I think it's about time for a game in the two's. In saying that, he really seems to have worked on his spoiling and marking. I thought his contested mark in the second quarter was one of the marks of the night... if only it was paid :mad:

Cheynee does, and always has done, a few good things every game.

He has plenty of courage, good endurance and decent skills, but he almost inavariably comes up with mistakes which cost us goals if not games. Precision disappears when he is under pressure, and let's not get started with his composure when attempting a set shot.

He has tried hard for the club, but I believe his time has come to an end.

Link to article

Stiller has played all five matches this season and has been in solid form ahead of Saturday night's QClash against the Gold Coast. The Brisbane born-and-raised product has chalked up 81 games for the Lions and was itching to play a local derby.

"It's a good feeling. I think it's great for Queensland footy that we've got a game with two sides from Queensland and it means people from Queensland are going to get to watch live footy every weekend," he said.

stiller.jpg

I called up SEN about stiller after the gold coast game

Wayne Britian answered my question and say this

'He works his butt off on the track. I can understand him being in the team but I can't understand him being in the team ahead of Polec"

Stiller seems to do juuuust enough each week to avoid getting the chop.

Xavier Clarke

"Cheynee Stiller, I think he's batting above his average. He's getting married at the end of the year and he's done very well for himself."

Named on the wing this week.

Will it stay this way, or will he play in the back line?

If he is to play on the wing, do you think he will tag, or will he play the link role?

Interesting to see Stiller now dropped. I don't think his form got any worse over the first half of the season, but at the same time it wasn't getting any better. He is perhaps a victim of the club now looking towards 2012, and wanting to give a few younger players a go.

Conjecture in the game thread whether this indicates that the line has been drawn through his name on the Coach's whiteboard. I wouldn't have thought so personally. Think he has shown enough to be that serviceable player you are always going to need on your list.

Think his omission this week is purely a chance to get games into other blokes for the way forward.