Protege
Feb 17, 2019
Port Adelaide
AFL IN ASIA
in conversation with
Nick Riewoldt and Gavin Wanganeen

Cocktail Event | Friday 1 March 2019
Join the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Port Adelaide Football club for a night of fun! In the build up to the highly anticipated Shanghai AFL match between Port Adelaide and St Kilda in June, head over to Mr Wolf to preview the 2019 season.
Listen to AFL legends Nick Riewoldt and Gavin Wanganeen, get to know them through a Q&A session with the audience and enjoy free flow wine, beer and canapés.

1550750010035.png

Jul 2, 2010

TWLS

Jul 19, 2015
WA
GWS Giants
Any of you guys care to comment about the figures above - Such as region or Province breakdown.

I will add here that in India with shoestring budgets operating -AFL India and Reclink India have spread some grassroots presence to about 20 States, with them announcing about 5000 participants.
They are concentrating on the lower socio economic areas in some states.

Jun 6, 2000
West Perth
Port Adelaide
Woomera Centrals, Jazza
Port Adelaide launches International Student Program
ISP-940_940X559.jpg

THE Port Adelaide Football Club has proven the benefits of sport to international relations and it now wants to use its standing in the Australian sporting landscape to help international students feel more comfortable in Adelaide.

On Wednesday, the club launched its new International Student Program which is all about creating a safe community which provides a range of services for students, including legal advice and internships.

Port Adelaide’s General Manager of China Engagement Andrew Hunter said the new program would be providing simpler access to essential services, enrich the lives of the international students through sport, and provide internship opportunities to expand the potential of those students after they graduate.

“This is a program designed to build a community of care around international students,” Mr Hunter said.

“We believe sport, with its centrality to Australian society, can be central to this community of care.

https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2019-02-27/port-launches-isp

The Rubber Man

May 1, 2018
Port Adelaide
Don’t want to be a wet blanket but I’m personally getting sick of the China experiment. Focus on your own community port and making them proud.

But with the multi year China deal I’ll have to get use to it

If you haven't picked up on this yet, we need money.

If what they are saying is true, we should make at least $500,000 this year. Also there is a strong chance Gupta wouldn't have signed on as a major sponsor without the china game.

So we had two of these sponsors billboards at the event, either side of the lectern. The 2 bottom ones on left hand side as looking at them, are for Urbanest - a student accommodation group in Adelaide, Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane and bottom one is Australian International Education Services. Groovy Grape Tours is the one on the bottom right.

No logos for either Jincheng or their education subsidiary, Hangzhou Entel Foreign Language School that Janus linked in the other thread on death of JMS, are on the billboard. Why? Another MJK? Something just doesn't seem right.

Interesting that the member for Port Adelaide Susan Close who is the opposition spokeswoman on Education spoke at the launch and the Minister for Education was missing. Mind you he seems to go missing a lot. Hadn't heard from him in months, until the new school boundaries issue for the 2 CBD high schools came up a couple of weeks ago

Only one mention of Jincheng in the story on the club's website.

"Port Adelaide is now involved in education-related programs in both China and Australia. In China, its Power Footy program encourages healthy lifestyles and cultural understanding. It has partnerships with the Jincheng Group and The University of Adelaide, which encourage Chinese students to study in Australia."

1551254288081.png

Feb 6, 2014
Brisbane
Port Adelaide
Hey all. For those that went over previously, looking for some guidance on mobile sim/data.

Going with a group of 8 or so family members and no doubt will have to co-ordinate on the ground at some point.

Was thinking we could use messenger to communicate as needed.

Anyone know of decent SIM card deals to make this happen? Is this a good idea or you know of an alternate solution?

I have 3 70 year olds and 5-6 40 year olds to not lose over the 4 days.

Cheers BF peeps

So we had two of these sponsors billboards at the event, either side of the lectern. The 2 bottom ones on left hand side as looking at them, are for Urbanest - a student accommodation group in Adelaide, Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane and bottom one is Australian International Education Services. Groovy Grape Tours is the one on the bottom right.

No logos for either Jincheng or their education subsidiary, Hangzhou Entel Foreign Language School that Janus linked in the other thread on death of JMS, are on the billboard. Why? Another MJK? Something just doesn't seem right.

Interesting that the member for Port Adelaide Susan Close who is the opposition spokeswoman on Education spoke at the launch and the Minister for Education was missing. Mind you he seems to go missing a lot. Hadn't heard from him in months, until the new school boundaries issue for the 2 CBD high schools came up a couple of weeks ago

Only one mention of Jincheng in the story on the club's website.

"Port Adelaide is now involved in education-related programs in both China and Australia. In China, its Power Footy program encourages healthy lifestyles and cultural understanding. It has partnerships with the Jincheng Group and The University of Adelaide, which encourage Chinese students to study in Australia."

View attachment 626618

Why would Jincheng be a sponsor of a program that is targeted towards Chinese students studying in Australia? What is the benefit to them?

I think you'll find that the Jincheng Group is partnering us with the Power Footy program through their schools in China and that's it. It's not a standard sponsorship in that they give us money (which is why they aren't on the board)...but they do give the sponsors on that board access to their students, which is why businesses like Rundle Mall Terry White Chemmart and DWFoxTucker have upgraded their sponsorships from being China Power Club members to Program Partners and other companies have come on board.

Keith Thomas even said that the Jincheng partnership isn't your typical sports sponsorship at the announcement, so why are you expecting it to follow the criteria of one?

Why would Jincheng be a sponsor of a program that is targeted towards Chinese students studying in Australia? What is the benefit to them?

I think you'll find that the Jincheng Group is partnering us with the Power Footy program through their schools in China and that's it. It's not a standard sponsorship in that they give us money (which is why they aren't on the board)...but they do give the sponsors on that board access to their students, which is why businesses like Rundle Mall Terry White Chemmart and DWFoxTucker have upgraded their sponsorships from being China Power Club members to Program Partners and other companies have come on board.

Keith Thomas even said that the Jincheng partnership isn't your typical sports sponsorship at the announcement, so why are you expecting it to follow the criteria of one?

Is Jincheng driving this?? It was Jincheng who have looked at funding - I don't know what % - the 100 students from the Power Footy programs, which now might be 50 a year, that come and check out education facilities at Adelaide Uni. From August this year;

http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2018-08-24/ports-power-footy-expansion
In 2019, the program will expand to two new provinces – Zhejiang as well as Sichuan - and involve at least 30 schools. This expansion holds great commercial potential, with PAFC to announce private sector support for the program in the coming weeks. It also holds great economic potential for South Australia.

In early August, a significant Chinese company that supports the Power Footy program traveled to South Australia and met with the University of Adelaide, with discussions now underway to send 100 Power Footy graduates each year to the university, creating around 29 jobs in South Australia and attracting a $13 million-dollar boost to the state’s economy.

It was confirmed in December that this significant company was the Jincheng Group. And yes KT said the week before Christmas at the signing ceremony that it wasn't a standard sponsorship.
https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/n...elaides-game-changing-educational-partnership
“This agreement with Jincheng is not a standard sport sponsorship, but it does reflect Port Adelaide’s desire to always search for meaningful ways to maximise the club’s ability to encourage positive community outcomes,” Mr Thomas said.

So is the 50 students we are taking to a game, in addition to the Jincheng Group students or part of the ones that will come to Adelaide in the future??

Now this is an excellent vertical integration type project, providing extended services to international students, maybe non Chinese students, and if its separate to what Jincheng are doing, then fair enough, but the club keeps linking them to this. That's why I ask the question, why aren't they getting branding visibility with this, or around this, and why isn't their branding more significant on the club's China page???

The club in December said
https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/n...elaides-game-changing-educational-partnership
Port Adelaide will make further announcements about this partnership in the new year.

https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2018-12-21/2018-financial-result-released
... and we continued to advance our strategic push into China, with the positive execution of our second game in Shanghai, which has seen us underpin our commercial relationships with Shanghai Cred Real Estate and most recently, the Jincheng Group,” Mr Koch said.

So we are going to spread our resources in China thin by taking the Power Footy Programs to Zhejiang province relatively close to Shanghai, and to Sichuan with its capital Chengdu being almost 2,000 kms from Shanghai. Are we trying to get close to 1573 - Luzhou Laojiao's headquarters just like Tennis Australia have an office in Shanghai and will soon have one in Chengdu, to be close to their significant sponsor??

When Richo told the story at the Club 1870 in April 2016, of Mr Gui and KT meeting for the first time in China to plan the roll out of our partnership, he talked about Mr Gui ringing up his mate, the deputy Commissioner of Schools in Shanghai, and he then came and met them and they discussed the roll out of the equivalent of Auskick in schools. The Shanghai school system has 20,000 schools which Port would have access to after this meeting.

We started off with 15 schools - and it was Lockhart Road who suggested the name Power Footy - in November/December 2016. We are now at 21 schools and looking to get to 30 by the end of 2019. Remember MJK? - we were going to take the program to Xian

https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2018-08-24/ports-power-footy-expansion
In its third year in 2018, around 4,000 students from 21 schools participated in the Power Footy program....... In 2019, the program will expand to two new provinces – Zhejiang as well as Sichuan - and involve at least 30 schools.

Will the Jincheng partnership allow us to have 4 to 6 development officers on the ground permanently or will the Power Footy programs be serviced by FIFO development staff from Oz?? If they are paying for permanent staff, then we should give them plenty of branding visibility and a big slap on the back like we do with Mr Gui.

The issue I have, is that the club either can't, or wont explain the narrative around the China students stuff and Jincheng's involvement. They link them to these international students but then they don't explain how they are involved. The International Student Program announced yesterday could see 50 Indian, or Nepalese or Vietnamese students invited to a game and not Chinese students, or students specifically who come to Oz after involvement with the Power Footy programs.

The club has poorly explained its narrative for a couple of years now, on several issues. This seems to continue that poor explanation of what we are doing. Is it because we don't have a clear plan? is it because we want to keep things secret? is it because we are hopeless? A bit of all 3?

I want to know if we are taking our eye off the main game re China and signing up significant commercial sponsorship, because these community partnerships are easier to do than signing commercial deals. We wont get a straight answer on that, so we have to join dots to try to get to the truth.

Is Jincheng driving this?? It was Jincheng who have looked at funding - I don't know what % - the 100 students from the Power Footy programs, which now might be 50 a year, that come and check out education facilities at Adelaide Uni. From August this year;

In 2019, the program will expand to two new provinces – Zhejiang as well as Sichuan - and involve at least 30 schools. This expansion holds great commercial potential, with PAFC to announce private sector support for the program in the coming weeks. It also holds great economic potential for South Australia.

In early August, a significant Chinese company that supports the Power Footy program traveled to South Australia and met with the University of Adelaide, with discussions now underway to send 100 Power Footy graduates each year to the university, creating around 29 jobs in South Australia and attracting a $13 million-dollar boost to the state’s economy.

It was confirmed in December that this significant company was the Jincheng Group. And yes KT said the week before Christmas at the signing ceremony that it wasn't a standard sponsorship.
“This agreement with Jincheng is not a standard sport sponsorship, but it does reflect Port Adelaide’s desire to always search for meaningful ways to maximise the club’s ability to encourage positive community outcomes,” Mr Thomas said.

So is the 50 students we are taking to a game, in addition to the Jincheng Group students or part of the ones that will come to Adelaide in the future??

Now this is an excellent vertical integration type project, providing extended services to international students, maybe non Chinese students, and if its separate to what Jincheng are doing, then fair enough, but the club keeps linking them to this. That's why I ask the question, why aren't they getting branding visibility with this, or around this, and why isn't their branding more significant on the club's China page???

The club in December said
Port Adelaide will make further announcements about this partnership in the new year.

https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2018-12-21/2018-financial-result-released
... and we continued to advance our strategic push into China, with the positive execution of our second game in Shanghai, which has seen us underpin our commercial relationships with Shanghai Cred Real Estate and most recently, the Jincheng Group,” Mr Koch said.

So we are going to spread our resources in China thin by taking the Power Footy Programs to Zhejiang province relatively close to Shanghai, and to Sichuan with its capital Chengdu being almost 2,000 kms from Shanghai. Are we trying to get close to 1573 - Luzhou Laojiao's headquarters just like Tennis Australia have an office in Shanghai and will soon have one in Chengdu, to be close to their significant sponsor??

When Richo told the story at the Club 1870 in April 2016, of Mr Gui and KT meeting for the first time in China to plan the roll out of our partnership, he talked about Mr Gui ringing up his mate, the deputy Commissioner of Schools in Shanghai, and he then came and met them and they discussed the roll out of the equivalent of Auskick in schools. The Shanghai school system has 20,000 schools which Port would have access to after this meeting.

We started off with 15 schools - and it was Lockhart Road who suggested the name Power Footy - in November/December 2016. We are now at 21 schools and looking to get to 30 by the end of 2019. Remember MJK? - we were going to take the program to Xian

https://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2018-08-24/ports-power-footy-expansion
In its third year in 2018, around 4,000 students from 21 schools participated in the Power Footy program....... In 2019, the program will expand to two new provinces – Zhejiang as well as Sichuan - and involve at least 30 schools.

Will the Jincheng partnership allow us to have 4 to 6 development officers on the ground permanently or will the Power Footy programs be serviced by FIFO development staff from Oz?? If they are paying for permanent staff, then we should give them plenty of branding visibility and a big slap on the back like we do with Mr Gui.

The issue I have, is that the club either can't, or wont explain the narrative around the China students stuff and Jincheng's involvement. They link them to these international students but then they don't explain how they are involved. The International Student Program announced yesterday could see 50 Indian, or Nepalese or Vietnamese students invited to a game and not Chinese students, or students specifically who come to Oz after involvement with the Power Footy programs.

The club has poorly explained its narrative for a couple of years now, on several issues. This seems to continue that poor explanation of what we are doing. Is it because we don't have a clear plan? is it because we want to keep things secret? is it because we are hopeless? A bit of all 3?

I want to know if we are taking our eye off the main game re China and signing up significant commercial sponsorship, because these community partnerships are easier to do than signing commercial deals. We wont get a straight answer on that, so we have to join dots to try to get to the truth.

I would say it’s the same community engagement that got Gupta over the line. I wouldn’t dismiss the two as not being related.

If you wanna play join the dots...look at the following projects:

Dalrymple ESCRI battery storage facility - the first of many 30mW owned by Electranet. This one is leased to AGL which is connected to AGL's Wattle Point wind farm.

EnergyConnect - a joint partnership between Electranet and TransGrid to provide a $1.5b interconnector between SA and NSW, which will get final approval in the middle of 2019

Cultana Solar Farm and associated projects worth $1b to generate 1000 mW of power, owned in part by GFG - one of which is the Cultana Pumped Hydro Energy Storage Project...commissioned by old mate EnergyAustralia, who are related back to Electranet through the State Grid Corporation of China. The Cultana Hydro Energy Project is also getting final approval this year (2019)

The virtual power plant scheme which is apparently still going ahead - 250 mW energy storage

SIMEC Zen Energy’s battery at Pt Augusta - 120 mW energy storage

And of course you still have the Tesla battery - 100 mW energy storage

And let’s say Electranet build 6 more 30mW indoor batteries - 210 mW energy storage

That’s 680 mW of energy storage that can be accessed by SA, Vic, Qld and NSW when required.

South Australia will be 75% renewables by 2025. All these projects are related...and Gupta sponsoring Port Adelaide is related to all those projects, IMO.

If I were a betting man...and I am...I'd be putting money on any significant Chinese commercial deals happening this year if they are going to happen. The energy market regulator has stated that it wanted to come up with a solution to blackouts. I reckon this is it.

I would say it’s the same community engagement that got Gupta over the line. I wouldn’t dismiss the two as not being related.

If you wanna play join the dots...look at the following projects:

Dalrymple ESCRI battery storage facility - the first of many 30mW owned by Electranet. This one is leased to AGL which is connected to AGL's Wattle Point wind farm.

EnergyConnect - a joint partnership between Electranet and TransGrid to provide a $1.5b interconnector between SA and NSW, which will get final approval in the middle of 2019

Cultana Solar Farm and associated projects worth $1b to generate 1000 mW of power, owned in part by GFG - one of which is the Cultana Pumped Hydro Energy Storage Project...commissioned by old mate EnergyAustralia, who are related back to Electranet through the State Grid Corporation of China. The Cultana Hydro Energy Project is also getting final approval this year (2019)

The virtual power plant scheme which is apparently still going ahead - 250 mW energy storage

SIMEC Zen Energy’s battery at Pt Augusta - 120 mW energy storage

And of course you still have the Tesla battery - 100 mW energy storage

And let’s say Electranet build 6 more 30mW indoor batteries - 210 mW energy storage

That’s 680 mW of energy storage that can be accessed by SA, Vic, Qld and NSW when required.

South Australia will be 75% renewables by 2025. All these projects are related...and Gupta sponsoring Port Adelaide is related to all those projects, IMO.

If I were a betting man...and I am...I'd be putting money on any significant Chinese commercial deals happening this year if they are going to happen. The energy market regulator has stated that it wanted to come up with a solution to blackouts. I reckon this is it.
I agree with you 100% that the SA electricity / energy market has great potential opportunities for the club and tie in with China strategy. I just don't see how the Jincheng Group community work ties in with this or any other significant Chinese sponsorship opportunities.

My colleague has done a fair bit of work on the interconnector between SA and NSW and tying that in with a potential Queensland interconnector a few hundred kms from the the border of the 3 states so I know about that. Studying up on Gupta's plans I have varying degree of knowledge about all those other projects you listed.

How is EnergyAustralia and State Grid related? EnergyAustralia's parent is CLP (China Light and Power) is in fact in partnership with China Southern Grid who have the monopoly in the five southernmost provinces of China including Guangdong and who are thus competitors of State Grid. In HK there is Hongkong Electric which is the smaller of the two HK power utilities and is 20% owned by State Grid. Not sure if you are mixing the 2 up.

So yes the electricity /energy sector is a logical link and the biggest link to China is via ElectraNet and their biggest shareholder State Grid.

Our man in Hong Kong has 30 odd years experience in the electricity transmission and distribution market. Do you reckon he has given the club advise on what and with whom to take advantage of that connection? Any individuals who should be involved? Do you think the club has listened to him? In full or in part? Do you think the club has joined some dots and made a strategy to successfully take advantage of these connections? Or is it now looking to outsource this to Gupta and his people at GFG to help make those connections?

This sounds like the theme and guts to Lockhart Road's recent docudrama thread and some of his chapters and characters, see

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...he-tv-docudrama-series.1212264/#post-59562537
Key Corporations:
  • Electricity Grid of South Australia (EGSA) - Sole owner and controller of South Australia’s UHV and EHV power transmission network.
  • Ten-66 Funds Management Pty. Ltd. (Own 20% of EGSA.)
  • China State Gas & Power Net (more simply: China State Net) - 100% China State Owned Enterprise. A Fortune 500 top ten corporation with more than 1,500,000 employees worldwide. (Own 46.5% of EGSA.)
  • Zhudan Jinan Development (100% owned subsidiary of China State Net.)
But as LR was criticised, castigated and even chased out of BigFooty by screams of - Where is he going with this - we will probably never really know the full potential and full story.

Hey all. For those that went over previously, looking for some guidance on mobile sim/data.

Going with a group of 8 or so family members and no doubt will have to co-ordinate on the ground at some point.

Was thinking we could use messenger to communicate as needed.

Anyone know of decent SIM card deals to make this happen? Is this a good idea or you know of an alternate solution?

I have 3 70 year olds and 5-6 40 year olds to not lose over the 4 days.

Cheers BF peeps
If you are just phoning/texting, which sounds right from the above, I suggest buy a 'throwaway' cheapie* from Vodafone** and as cheap and short a plan as you can get. Each day the throwaway phone is used in China you will be charged an extra $5 roaming fee but big deal.
Another alternative is whatever phone you take buy a SIM and data plan at the airport at Shanghai. That will have more coverage in some areas of China as you travel around. Well I assume so, this stuff changes for the better all the time. I mean we didn't have the Vodafone roaming in 2017 but did in 2018.

* There are many, many warnings that data we feel is secure on our phones here is not so in China. Work on the idea that if you take you normal phone over everything on it is potentially hackable.
** I only suggest Vodafone because that's my carrier and I know the $5 roaming works well. Look around at other deals if you want.

I agree with you 100% that the SA electricity / energy market has great potential opportunities for the club and tie in with China strategy. I just don't see how the Jincheng Group community work ties in with this or any other significant Chinese sponsorship opportunities.

My colleague has done a fair bit of work on the interconnector between SA and NSW and tying that in with a potential Queensland interconnector a few hundred kms from the the border of the 3 states so I know about that. Studying up on Gupta's plans I have varying degree of knowledge about all those other projects you listed.

How is EnergyAustralia and State Grid related? EnergyAustralia's parent is CLP (China Light and Power) is in fact in partnership with China Southern Grid who have the monopoly in the five southernmost provinces of China including Guangdong and who are thus competitors of State Grid. In HK there is Hongkong Electric which is the smaller of the two HK power utilities and is 20% owned by State Grid. Not sure if you are mixing the 2 up.

So yes the electricity /energy sector is a logical link and the biggest link to China is via ElectraNet and their biggest shareholder State Grid.

Our man in Hong Kong has 30 odd years experience in the electricity transmission and distribution market. Do you reckon he has given the club advise on what and with whom to take advantage of that connection? Any individuals who should be involved? Do you think the club has listened to him? In full or in part? Do you think the club has joined some dots and made a strategy to successfully take advantage of these connections? Or is it now looking to outsource this to Gupta and his people at GFG to help make those connections?

This sounds like the theme and guts to Lockhart Road’s recent docudrama thread and some of his chapters and characters, see

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...he-tv-docudrama-series.1212264/#post-59562537
Key Corporations:
  • Electricity Grid of South Australia (EGSA) - Sole owner and controller of South Australia’s UHV and EHV power transmission network.
  • Ten-66 Funds Management Pty. Ltd. (Own 20% of EGSA.)
  • China State Gas & Power Net (more simply: China State Net) - 100% China State Owned Enterprise. A Fortune 500 top ten corporation with more than 1,500,000 employees worldwide. (Own 46.5% of EGSA.)
  • Zhudan Jinan Development (100% owned subsidiary of China State Net.)
But as LR was criticised, castigated and even chased out of BigFooty by screams of - Where is he going with this - we will probably never really know the full potential and full story.

LR like your post before so he’s still kicking around here. I really hope the club has brought him back in now that Koch has had his moment in the sun with Gupta, because I think they need his experience.

You’re right, EnergyAustralia isn’t directly related to Electranet through ownership - but they have to be in business together in the Cultana project because one owns the transmission lines and substations that the other wants to send generated power through. You can’t connect a power station if you’re not going to have a contract with Electranet. Maybe related wasn’t the right word to use - partners would be better.

LR did say the dance is continuing with State Grid (I assume it’s them) - but I still think his posts were more about getting the club’s attention than anything else. I can’t imagine him really giving a * about what people on this board think to ask for the thread to be locked - but I’d dearly love to know what he knows. I’ve got some pieces of what is going on from a holistic standpoint through what I’ve been told but nothing in terms of how it relates to the club...I’m trusting LR for that.

That’s why I don’t mind so much about things being hush hush because it’s all confidential business agreements. Most of the stuff is probably centred around the approval of the interconnector - a 900 mW extension cord that will tap into Snowy 2.0 while at the same time giving NSW access to SAs renewable energy sources and battery storage.

As for the Jincheng stuff - didn’t LR say once that proving you actually want to be real friends rather than just doing something to get something in return was the Chinese way of doing things? Sport is a way of soft diplomacy.

I saw it in linkedIn. Here is the rest of the post:

[IMG='width:80px;']https://media.licdn.com/dms/image/C4E03AQE5YhOEYuOcvQ/profile-displayphoto-shrink_800_800/0?e=1556755200&v=beta&t=Gg_AWmLQUMs7EfblrGR7CB0Ke15GzMtfTFcJg2bnebU[/IMG]
Darren Whitfield
Vice President, AFL Asia
3h • Edited

AFL fans from right across Australia and the Asian Region and beyond will gather in Shanghai for a massive weekend of AFL Football with the blockbuster between #portadelaidefc and the #stkildafc on Sunday June 2nd. AFL Asia’s annual Shanghai Cup Tournament is also amongst the jam packed weekend of action played on Saturday June 1st. The Shanghai Cup is held in high regard and is supported by Port Adelaide FC and the AFL in coordination with AFL Asia and hosting club the Shanghai Tigers. It is expected that approximately 300 players are flying in for the tournament alone and will participate in Open Men’s, Women’s, Juniors and Masters Men’s Divisions. Any interested businesses, companies or teams interested in sponsoring, partnering or playing in the tournament should contact AFL Asia now at vp@afl-ASIA.com #aflasia #afl #aflw #auskick #sportsnews #sponsorshipopportunity #howgoodsfootyinasia

[IMG='width:80px;']https://media.licdn.com/dms/image/C4E03AQE5YhOEYuOcvQ/profile-displayphoto-shrink_800_800/0?e=1556755200&v=beta&t=Gg_AWmLQUMs7EfblrGR7CB0Ke15GzMtfTFcJg2bnebU[/IMG]
Darren Whitfield
Vice President, AFL Asia
3h • Edited

AFL fans from right across Australia and the Asian Region and beyond will gather in Shanghai for a massive weekend of AFL Football with the blockbuster between #portadelaidefc and the #stkildafc on Sunday June 2nd. AFL Asia’s annual Shanghai Cup Tournament is also amongst the jam packed weekend of action played on Saturday June 1st. The Shanghai Cup is held in high regard and is supported by Port Adelaide FC and the AFL in coordination with AFL Asia and hosting club the Shanghai Tigers. It is expected that approximately 300 players are flying in for the tournament alone and will participate in Open Men’s, Women’s, Juniors and Masters Men’s Divisions. Any interested businesses, companies or teams interested in sponsoring, partnering or playing in the tournament should contact AFL Asia now at vp@afl-ASIA.com #aflasia #afl #aflw #auskick #sportsnews #sponsorshipopportunity #howgoodsfootyinasia

They did it in 2017 the day before the game and 2018 the day after. I have posted links for previous editions both in this thread and game thread.

https://www.afl-asia.com/2019-shanghai-cup/

https://www.facebook.com/AFLAsia/

Darren Whitfield
Vice President, AFL Asia
3h • Edited

If I spelled Darren's surname correctly I would have found some stuff I wrote on Darren last year when you first posted. He is a Port supporter and works for Cathay Pacific. I put up some picture from last years AFLX game in this post in the Photos and videos from Shanghai thread.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/photos-and-videos-from-shanghai.1194684/#post-55852758

Lockhart Road wrote this about Darren in the next post as I asked him if he had dealings with Darren who lives in HK and said he was a Port fan.

Affirmative. Darren is with Cathay Pacific, made the first co-operative move with them in 2014, and has been a member of the PAFC China Advisory Group.