Social Chit Chat III

Mackie just won the elimination challenge on masterchef

Hey hey my fellows was up?!?!?!?!?!?!

I miss u guys and football so much. (Cept for the loss in Sydney, what the **** how did we lose that after coming back and they get a goal with a minute to go????! Bah).

In Chi-town atm, having an awesome time, just got back from a piano bar. Is 2am, slightly tired... big day tomorrow going around the city, then going out again. And then getting up at 4am (not joking) to drive to Ohio and go to an amusement park.

Hope all is well. :)

Luuuuke. They breed them bloody well in Perth. We have a guy from Perth on our tour (Freo supporter tho, hahaha). He is ****ing hot. -sigh-. Its not fair. :(

Luuuuke. They breed them bloody well in Perth.

Yeah I know. :cool:

Shell said:
We have a guy from Perth on our tour (Freo supporter tho, hahaha). He is ******* hot. -sigh-. Its not fair. :(

Haha Freo, fail. When will they ever learn?

Hope you're having fun Shell, catch ya.

No worries.

Damn, that's no good. I suppose you'll have to get a new one then if they have any left. Have fun, try not to lose any more of your stuff. :p

Thanks Luke!

In other news... I lost my premiership cup cap (2011 one) in Vancouver. Of all the ****ing caps to lose. I also took with me a shitty navy one, the ones the club hand out for free every year. But no, I lose the premiership one.

:(

its all good i ordered a new one :)

in other news.. NO MORE CAMPING. thank ****. at the hilton atm living it up ordering room service lol

Hey guys!!!

Where is everyone.

Just gonna copy and paste some email material here, let u know whats been happening with me :)

Yup, back in the land of the living (can u tell by that massive Cedar Point email I just sent you, lol), in Denver now, staying with a friend in her flat. Unlimited internet/email access over the next week. Bliss!!!!

The last place I left you was Chicago I guess? Great city, did alot of great things, but the best was this night bike tour around the city on the first night. Our tour guide was hilarious and told us some really interesting stuff about different landmarks, etc. But just riding around the city streets (and parks/ lake) of Chicago at night was enough for me. Was a nice, cool night too. All the other days we have been here in the States have been stinking hot!! Here in Denver they are in a massive heat wave (100 degrees most days) and their state is burning with wildfires too. But mostly national parks dw- I am safe here in Denver. I think.

So we left Chicago at 5am, for Cedar point -read CP email here-. Was a fun day. Have never been more exhausted in my entire life at the end of it tho.

After Cedar, we went onto Niagra Falls and did the "Maid of the mist tour". Was pretty amazing to be up that close to NF. But the area is very very commercialized (theres a casino right across from the falls for instance)- but the town isnt that glitzy. It looks kinda cheap and run down. We still had a great night out tho in NF. Starting with dinner at a Mexican restaurant, followed by drinks at a bar, then dancing at a club. Till 2am. -sheesh-. I still had a beer!!!! I had to drink it on the street- classy stuff i know.).

SO, next day was the last day. Spent 10 freaken hours in the van, heading to Newark Hilton. Dam it was nice to have a Hilton at the end of the trek, after you had been camping for so long. Everyone met in the hotel bar, had food and drinks and goodbyes. Was a bit sad. Still tho its not ALL sad- one guy from England will be living in Melbourne as of Nov 30th, the guy who is from Perth is moving to Melbourne in March, another Brit will be travelling to Melbourne in the near future, plus theres me, and another 2 girls from Melbourne too!

Everyone just loves us, lol. So there will be mini reunions in the near future which will be good. Oh yeah and another couple of Brits who plan on living and working here for a while.

SO- i spent a few nights in NY. Spent one day in Manhattan tho- just walked around times square, had a hot dog in central park (am slightly addicted to hot dogs, can you tell?), chilled in central park, then met some of my mates and did the WTC memorial. After that caught a broadway show of Chicago (awesome!!!), and now im here in Denver CO

And here is the Cedar Point email, lol:

Anyway, Cedar Point, where do i start. Well first off all it was voted the worlds best theme park, how ever many years in a row. (But then again, maybe the Americans just voted for that, lol). The park is located in Ohio. And we were in Illinois. So guess what?!?! We had to be in the van at 5am, so we had some decent hours at the park. So we rolled into the car park just around 11.30am- we paid $52 to get in. And I got a fast pass as well... guess how much that was??? Come on guess.... $30. Nope higher... $40... nope more than that.

$55 dollars!!!! More than the blasted entry fee!!!!

I still paid it. Number 1. I hate queuing for things. And number 2. I hate queuing for things.

So there we were, in 35 degree heat at this playground full of asphalt, queuing, and only one water ride.

I headed straight for the Raptor (was right at the front), an upside down coaster- and then proceeded to do that another 3 times, so 4 times in a row. (Gotta love that fast pass). Btw, if you dont know what a fast pass is, its a wrist band they give you. Instead of lining up with all the poor people who have no money for fast passes, you get to go in your own special line, and literally skip about 3/4 of the queue. Most of the time tho, i walked right onto the ride. The longest wait i had ever was 20 minutes.

I made the mistake tho once of looking into the eyes of the people in the regular queue as I went by them. Their sunken, dull eyes were depressing. It didnt look like they were at a theme park at all, but in a line ready to join a train to take them off to a concentration camp. Poor things.

I did the Magnum twice. That was an older ride, but geeze it gave me a fright- it was FAST. 72 mph fast to be exact. Was so funny too- i was wearing a baseball cap, but of course took it off before the ride. The guy next to me didnt tho- his cap of course flew off after the first corner lol. Hes going "My hat! My hat!!!" And all his friends were cracking up cause he lost his hat. We get to the end of the ride- someone taps him on his shoulder- "Hey- did you lose you hat?!?! I think a guy back there CAUGHT IT". Lmao. And he did!!!! So he got his hat back. I said to the guy, he owed the other guy a beer, lol.

I did the Mantis ONCE. And jesus christ once was enough. Ive never wanted to get off a rollercoaster before it ended in my LIFE. It was brutal. It gave me a concussion ffs. This was a rollercoaster you stood up on. Yup, a standing one- you had this well bar/seat btw your legs and a strap over your chest and you were standing. But holy crap, the force of the ride kept banging your head from side to side. Needless to say i had a headache for the rest of the day because of that.

Dragster. What can i say about the dragster. Well first of all it isnt a rollercoaster per say. But it is the BEST ride in the whole park.

When its working.

"Its always breaking down"- this said to me by the locals. When we arrived at 12pm, it wasnt working. 2pm it was. Ran over there and finally got on. Well actually i was next in line when i heard "Hey- are you by yourself- did you wanna sit with me?". I turn around and see, quite frankly the cutest American guy- typical jock type. Hmmm, yeah i think i can manage that!!! He was so cool- told me everything about the ride (was slightly nervous- this one reaches speed of 120 mph and goes for a total of 17 seconds!!!!). So we sit. And sit. And sit some more. "Is this standard practise for this ride?" I ask my new friend. No of course it isnt. We sat there on the ride in the 35 deg heat for about 10minutes, until we finally got launched, lol.

Cant tell u much about it tho- i kept my eyes closed for the whole thing. The acceleration was amazing but.

I tried to get on the ride again thru out the day, but it was always broken down and had mechanics "looking at it". Didnt seem to me like they were doing much but. -sigh- Least i got to go on it ONCE. Everyone else in the trek, didnt get to go on it at all.

So yeah, did a whole lot of other rides too, including the Millenium force, their best coaster in the park (the best WORKING coaster in the park)- 93 miles per hour + an 80 degree drop at the start. Curmi you would have LOVED it.

My stats for the whole day were: 5 hours, 20 rides, 6 bottles of water, 1 hot dog. (Was extremely sick tho at the end- not actually sick, but felt like it. Apparently an overload of adrenaline can do that????)

So that was my Cedar Point experience. I highly recommend this park if you are ever in the Ohio area. Just try not to go on a 35 degree day. :)

dragster_tower1.jpg

ttd_thumb.jpg

Dragster ^

raptor_cobra.jpg

^^ Raptor

millennium_vista.jpg

^^ Millenium

Sounds like you're having a great time Shell, hope you're having as much fun as what you're describing.

I did the Magnum twice. That was an older ride, but geeze it gave me a fright- it was FAST. 72 mph fast to be exact. . :)

Sounds like your having a cracking time Shell, looking forward to all your photo's on FB.

Sounds like you both had a cracking time. :cool:

Shell said:
Lol, isnt there a poster on here called Mantis that everyone hates? Typical I hated the rollercoaster called Mantis as well haha.

I'm pretty sure her vagina has teeth.

I am guys- having as much fun as I'm saying. It is quite exhausting tho. Being on a tour, up every night till at least 1am or later and having 7, 8am starts. We even had a 5am start when we had to get to Cedar Point from Chicago!!!!

So yeah 4th of July last night was quiet. We went out in Denver for dinner, watched the fireworks about 10pm, after that I was ready for bed, lol.

The guys apartment tho, we watched the fireworks from had lived in Melbourne!!! He asked me if I was an Essendon fan after finding out where I lived. As I ranted on about how i hated them, and i was Geelong, he goes "Oh wait here a minute". Comes back with a GEELONG SCARF!!!!! How ****ing funny is that. He went to a Grand Final party last year and had to pick a side and he picked US. What a legend...

Dam his scarf was nice and clean too. I should have taken it, haha.

Hard rubbish time here.
Just found a green machine ! I always wanted one of those. Just replaced the inner tube. Gave it a splash of WD40 and it's fine.
The kids are going to love it. And be fighting over it.

Better than fighting over my iPhone and iPad which is giving me the shits.

:D;)

Hahah, hard rubbish collection. You should read the story of this guy in the General Board- his dad anyway. His dad just went up to someones house on hard rubbish day and took their lawnmower. Cept of course it WASNT part of the hard rubbish collection lol.

In other news... went outlet mall shopping. Tore the place apart- got new heels, pair of skechers, sunglasses, new jeans, earrings, Guess bag and wallet, and a penguins cap for Stripey.

Tomorrow Beach Boys concert here: http://www.redrocksonline.com/

Pretty amazing hey?

Beach boys are passed it.
I've got this thing about not seeing bands that are finished.
I saw some stuff on 60 minutes or something last week about them. Look out for the walking frames shell !

So stripey isn't with you. That's why I asked earlier 'why are you on your own' as your posts seemed to suggest it.

For us who don't have the itinerary, :) can you advise where you have to go yet?

Well people on my tour saw them in concert and they said they were fantastic and had a blast. Anyway, its more about seeing a show in the arena, its ****ing amazing, set in the rocks/ mountains. Im only here a week, hardly have much choice!!!

Stripey will be with me as of next week- we're meeting in London and doing the Contiki together. We DID tho break up a couple months ago, FYI.

And yeah no worries- basically I'm in Denver atm, staying with a friend. From here I go to Miami tomorrow and staying with a mate there too. Will be there for a week. Next Tuesday I fly out to London, staying there for 4 nights before Contiki starts.

Our tour covers these countries/cities:
- Paris
- Barcelona
- French Riviera
- Italy (Florence/Rome/Venice)
- Greece, incl a week in the Greek Islands
- Turkey
- Belgrade
- Budapest
- Vienna
- Switzerland/ Swiss Alps
- Munich
- Amsterdam

Then we have 2 weeks to play with afterwards, where we have absolutely nothing planned atm. We're thinking we will do another week somewhere in Europe (maybe somewhere on the tour thats our favourite and go back and stay longer), and a week more in London- have alot of friends there. Would be good to see them b4 we go home.

Wow wee. Fair trip.
You've probably only missed a bit of asia. Visas wouldn't be easy to organise this late but it would be damn cheap to go there for a week.

Probably wet season though. Be careful in Budapest. That place is suss. Don't trust anyone. Especially people acting like tourists.

Actually, just go to the south of france for a week and shack up in a village.
Maybe down near Monaco.

30 degrees down there are right now.

Yeah really? Ppl were telling me Istanbul is dodgy as, and i shouldnt go anywhere without Stripey (ie. being alone and female is not a good idea). Anyway i am beat. Beach Boys were awesome. That venue is ****ing awesome.

I have to be up at 5am and on a plane by 7.45am tomorrow. Or should i say today. That is not so awesome.

Good night.

Next Tuesday I fly out to London, staying there for 4 nights before Contiki starts.

Our tour covers these countries/cities:
- Paris
- Barcelona
- French Riviera
- Italy (Florence/Rome/Venice)
- Greece, incl a week in the Greek Islands
- Turkey
- Belgrade
- Budapest
- Vienna
- Switzerland/ Swiss Alps
- Munich
- Amsterdam

Then we have 2 weeks to play with afterwards, where we have absolutely nothing planned atm. We're thinking we will do another week somewhere in Europe (maybe somewhere on the tour thats our favourite and go back and stay longer), and a week more in London- have alot of friends there. Would be good to see them b4 we go home.

How long are you in each place? I've done exactly one tour in my whole travelling life (thirteen years and still chugging), and got bummed out by the whole 'we're here now, tomorrow we'll be there and the next day we're somewhere else so ignore your hangovers and MOVE YOUR ARSE PEOPLE!' kind of prodding and prompting that goes on.

I mean, I appreciate that there's time and money constraints and shit to contend with, but speaking for myself I reckon the whole 'guided tour' thing was a bit too much hand-holding. Got no use for routine, I guess.

Let us know how it grabs you, Shell.

Nah I don't mind it sicko. For instance I'm meeting up with these awesome ppl I was on tour here in America with next week in London. Plus I can't be ****ed doing all the booking everything when traveling independently. Also that 2 weeks at the end is to maybe go back somewhere we loved and got "rushed on" by the tour.