Chocco Interview

I have no doubt every team is over-coached. They are professional footballers/coaches with nothing else to do. Over-coaching is how they fill in time.

Seriously, the rumours, innuendos and "ifs" in this thread regarding Mark, Port, GWS, RFC due diligence etc are, to me, just that.
I agree Mark is different in a lateral, left brain sense, but I would not say he's divisive at all, and always worked with the best interests of the Club in mind. How did I form that view? I worked at Port Adelaide, with their Board and Executive, in the year after their flag success. I attend the Cairns PreSeason Camp and Mark was my team captain. I sat in the coaches box twice last year with Mark present. In fact, I sat next to Mark at Blundstone. I've had lunch with him, and Chris Yarran last year.
And as for allegeded lack of due diligence by the club on his appointment, well we had two Port Adelaide premiership players at the Club who would have a good view of his working style. We also have the brother of the Giants CEO working in the Executive Team at the Club, so I just reckon I might stick my head out here, but if there were issues at GWS that we would have known about them????

In the end, was Mark the right man to take development forward in 2017? The Club decided not. But to classify him as decisive over a supposed argument with Alex, and other BigFooty innuendo, is just unfair to the man.

Haere Ra

Stop using your personal experience and logic. This is BF in the off season!!! Venting and writing dross are what it is about.

{Actually don't do that. I greatly appreciate your input. You have the actual knowledge people like me lack.}

Seriously, the rumours, innuendos and "ifs" in this thread regarding Mark, Port, GWS, RFC due diligence etc are, to me, just that.
I agree Mark is different in a lateral, left brain sense, but I would not say he's divisive at all, and always worked with the best interests of the Club in mind. How did I form that view? I worked at Port Adelaide, with their Board and Executive, in the year after their flag success. I attend the Cairns PreSeason Camp and Mark was my team captain. I sat in the coaches box twice last year with Mark present. In fact, I sat next to Mark at Blundstone. I've had lunch with him, and Chris Yarran last year.
And as for allegeded lack of due diligence by the club on his appointment, well we had two Port Adelaide premiership players at the Club who would have a good view of his working style. We also have the brother of the Giants CEO working in the Executive Team at the Club, so I just reckon I might stick my head out here, but if there were issues at GWS that we would have known about them????

In the end, was Mark the right man to take development forward in 2017? The Club decided not. But to classify him as decisive over a supposed argument with Alex, and other BigFooty innuendo, is just unfair to the man.

Haere Ra

If chocco berated anyone its about ******* time. We have been pathetic for 30 years.

Maybe we should give some more pats on the back and more encouragement. Maybe thats what we need to keep everyone happy..

Get real you ****en pansys
the team has had its fair share of spray's by this and the previous coaching staff, so I wouldn't say it isn't happening and the basis of our failed last 30 years.

What dig was made by talking tigers about Deledio during the intraclub?
I don't recall anything

Wondered aloud how he'd go making friends at GWS, then tried to clarify by mentioning that he was aloof and then went on a quick backtrack saying that he was always good with them. Not something you'd ever broach about a naturally friendly type. Comment started in regards to who Grigg would hang around with now.

All people have strength and weakness's, as KIWI has said, for most of us on BF we have no idea and claiming thoughts or opinion as bygone fact is nonsense..

To my first point, RFC have decided that given current climate they want change, doesn't mean we have perfect people now or in the future as circumstances and people constantly change, so to suggest due diligence or a huge mistake is incorrect unless you have all the facts and even then its never so black and white.
Did you make the right choice with the info at hand, at the time? If the answer is yes, you can rest easy.

Lol get real. Everyone takes criticism differently. Giving the old spary isnt necessarily the best way to convey a point. Its not about being tough or a pussy[/QUOTE]

Agree, for me it's about doing what's necessary to help players reach their full potential....

Overcoached, what does that even mean. How were they overcoached, i'm sure Chocco just forgot to elaborate on this point because i'm still waiting for a description on how they were overcoached.

Overcoached IMO means that for every single situation the occurs on the ground a player must achieve a desired outcome.

i.e. Kick to a certain spot, calculate the chances of us winning the ball vs the opposition and position offensively or defensively accordingly and so on and so forth.

What Miles is hinting at IMO is that coaches last year were all providing different recommendations.

I.e Dimma tells a player to look in board to attack the corridor whereas Lade was telling the same player to think defensively and kick up the line etc...

Overcoached IMO means that for every single situation the occurs on the ground a player must achieve a desired outcome.

i.e. Kick to a certain spot, calculate the chances of us winning the ball vs the opposition and position offensively or defensively accordingly and so on and so forth.

What Miles is hinting at IMO is that coaches last year were all providing different recommendations.

I.e Dimma tells a player to look in board to attack the corridor whereas Lade was telling the same player to think defensively and kick up the line etc...

He just confirmed what we knew. To many chiefs not enough indians and those chiefs all tried to run there small tribes.

IMO thats on hardwick As head coach he should have put a stop to it vut did not

He just confirmed what we knew. To many chiefs not enough indians and those chiefs all tried to run there small tribes.

IMO thats on hardwick As head coach he should have put a stop to it vut did not
Maybe he tried to though.. Maybe they wouldn't listen and many of them got the sack.

So we were over coached ,under coached and out coached.Hence the reason for an overhaul in the FD.
Well said:thumbsu:

Im of the view hardwick can coach. He got us enough wins to get into finals and we definitely beat some quality sides on the way there... My questions are can he adapt and take us further with new ideas and a new footy department?:rainbow:

If yes, he stays on to see out 2018.
If not, hes gone and its time for someone new.

Well said:thumbsu:

Im of the view hardwick can coach. He got us enough wins to get into finals and we definitely beat some quality sides on the way there... My questions are can he adapt and take us further with new ideas and a new footy department?:rainbow:

If yes, he stays on to see out 2018.
If not, hes gone and its time for someone new.

how do you define further.? we finished 13th in 2016 & let say we finish 10th in 2017, he has definitely taken us further.
does that suffice..? I agree Dimma can coach, but he fails to get the best out of his troops. Beating quality sides is irrelevant cause you're only as good as your last game. 2013 - eliminated, 2014 - eliminated, 2015 - eliminated, 2016 - humiliated.
But the guy can coach cause we beat a few quality sides on the way..!!

I hope like most of us that he turns it around but am not holding my breath...

Maybe he tried to though.. Maybe they wouldn't listen and many of them got the sack.

Still not good enough. The situation screams poor direction and integrity of non negotiable. I believe Hardwick can coach and is a decent motivator but the glaring weaknesses in his tactical ability on top of his passive inaction that allowed the culture among the assistance all to act like they were all senior coaches so mixed messages, falls squarely on Hardwick.

If I remember rightly it was last year when I was hearing new players talking about how they were told to just get out there and play their best footy. Don't think this instinctive footy is a sudden off season thought.

Still not good enough. The situation screams poor direction and integrity of non negotiable. I believe Hardwick can coach and is a decent motivator but the glaring weaknesses in his tactical ability on top of his passive inaction that allowed the culture among the assistance all to act like they were all senior coaches so mixed messages, falls squarely on Hardwick.

You'd know more than me. But it seems like Dimma is a damn good motivator and has a great understanding of footy. But he seems poor at reflection on why things happen. After losing finals we changed the game plan significantly, but he seems not to have worked out that there are more ways to change things up than to alter the game plan. i.e. 1) only in 2017 do we have a decent inside mid set up, and small forwards of quality (drafting, recruitment and trading), 2) the on field leadership and direction/control by that group in games has been poor (giving control to players and working on them being smarter and having agency to do things themselves), 3) trying to create super smart set ups like Jack being more a mid than forward and not changing when it doesn't work so well for the team's performance, 4) the development of cliques at the club that required outside intervention after the crap 2016 season to breakup (reportedly).

If he can be made to challenge his wordview in real time rather than just after each season I reckon he could be a great coach. But the ability to look hard at yourself and make good changes is rare (just look at our pollies :'(). I wonder if he can adjust and learn to take a more expansive view of what he does.