Toast Choco

• Thread starter Thread starter Rayzorwire

Saw him in person a couple of times, obviously get all the media coverage over here, so its not from in the know, it is personal opinion, but the man looked tired and grumpy.

Hopefully, the RFC recognise exactly how valuable he is and will be to our developing list and keeps him happy with the right money, responsibilities etc.

Not sure if he wants a title, but besides his development role he's basically our 2IC coach on gameday, making sure the strategy is being adhered to and adding his insight as and when required from the boundary. Its a bloody good double act with Dimma calling the shots in the box....and if everyone's happy with the arrangement then can't see why he'd go anywhere in the short term.

Making this club successful on the field is still the biggest challenge and prize in the AFL, reckon he'll stay on board for the ride for a few years yet.

Just like Balme, Daniher, Matthews?
Mathews had 4 premierships to his name and stated that he no longer wants to coach
Balmy was never really crazy about coaching and to my knowledge never applied to any other coaching jobs after melbourne
Daniher is more a country lad thats happy with his current role

Not great examples really Chocco has and will apply for jobs as a senior coach if available unless he gets overlooked another 3-4 years then might be too late for him

Considering pro basketball/NFL/baseball/soccer coaches take a very verbal proactive role on the sidelines, its a wonder it has taken this long for the AFL coaches to get someone down there yelling out the orders like Chocco was doing.

Thought it was fantastic, really seemed to make a difference and who better to be doing it.

Has he been doing it all season? They havn't highlighted it on any of the broadcasts that I've seen.

Had the pleasure of meeting him a few times when I lived over in SA and was working for a SANFL club, he was still head coach of the Power at that stage. We were invited to tour their facilities (top notch), and I took the chance to pick his brain about a few things. Very informative and straight laced, I got a lot out of his answers.

A couple of weeks later our side was playing Port Adelaide Magpies out at Alberton and he was there, he remembered me and we had a good chat pre game. This time he put the focus back on me, asked me about my study, how I came to work for a SANFL club, asked me my thoughts on being a woman working in a male dominated industry etc and how I was treated, how I was enjoying it, we spoke about his sister Jenny and her role as an ambassador for women in footy.

For him to remember me after only having met me once and then to actually show an interest in me as a person was outstanding. He can certainly come across as being a battleaxe but he is an absolute font of information, his football heritage (son of Fos who was a champion in his own right) and subsequent football knowledge knows no bounds and to have him onboard in a development role is going to be wonderful for our youngsters. He is a wonderful family man and thoroughly enjoys taking the young blokes under his wing, to the point where he will send them home with cakes after having them around for dinner and they will then bake him a cake in return (yes Dustin Martin I am looking at you).

A marvellous acquisition for the Richmond Football Club and I hope he sticks around for a few more years yet.

Had the pleasure of meeting him a few times when I lived over in SA and was working for a SANFL club, he was still head coach of the Power at that stage. We were invited to tour their facilities (top notch), and I took the chance to pick his brain about a few things. Very informative and straight laced, I got a lot out of his answers.

A couple of weeks later our side was playing Port Adelaide Magpies out at Alberton and he was there, he remembered me and we had a good chat pre game. This time he put the focus back on me, asked me about my study, how I came to work for a SANFL club, asked me my thoughts on being a woman working in a male dominated industry etc and how I was treated, how I was enjoying it, we spoke about his sister Jenny and her role as an ambassador for women in footy.

For him to remember me after only having met me once and then to actually show an interest in me as a person was outstanding. He can certainly come across as being a battleaxe but he is an absolute font of information, his football heritage (son of Fos who was a champion in his own right) and subsequent football knowledge knows no bounds and to have him onboard in a development role is going to be wonderful for our youngsters. He is a wonderful family man and thoroughly enjoys taking the young blokes under his wing, to the point where he will send them home with cakes after having them around for dinner and they will then bake him a cake in return (yes Dustin Martin I am looking at you).

A marvellous acquisition for the Richmond Football Club and I hope he sticks around for a few more years yet.

I caught up with him during the Hawks preseason game, got down to the boundary in Lonnie called out to him 5-10 meters away he came over and remembered me from high school when he played for the pies. He was my PE teacher back then. He has a very good memory. Thanks for sharing your story, I really enjoy hearing these types of stories. All the best with your career in footy, do you have an ideal job in footy mactier ??

In all honesty, Whilst i dont want him to leave and would love Chocco around for a long long time

He would be crazy to knock back the melbourne job, He would easily get a 5 year contract at $600k and a very very good young list full of 1st round draft picks - Any coach would jump at that Melbournes list is actually in a better state than ours was when Hardwick took over
But you at also missing the fact that the Admin at Melbourne is also ****ed, bad board leadership can lose games also, just look at Richmond the last 30 years

All the best with your career in footy, do you have an ideal job in footy mactier ??

Jeez Choco has an outstanding memory doesn't he? What was he like as a PE teacher?

And thanks mate. Been out of it for quite a few years now but I was a sports trainer for a few years with Norwood u17s & u19s, then progressing up into reserves and league while some of my boys made the transition too. Cleve Hughes was one injury prone softie I had the...pleasure...of working with.

Its was excellent seeing quite a few of the guys I looked after make the transition from junior to senior football and then watching some of them progress through and get drafted, particularly some of the late bloomers like Puopolo and Duigan. You work with some guys who you are sure 100% will get drafted, to the point where I would have AFL club scouts ask me about particular players over the fence during matches. Most of them have the skills but unfortunately neither the heart or the mental discipline, which I unfortunately saw in a few cases. Some surprising, some not at all. You've got to be the full package at an early age these days because the system will find you out quite quickly.

I have a big interest in sports psychology and junior junior development, and I certainly am thinking about a return to being a sports trainer. Considering whether to apply for a spot in Richmonds stand alone VFL side next year...or a U18 side, TAC Cup or otherwise.

Thanks for that, a nice read

Jeez Choco has an outstanding memory doesn't he? What was he like as a PE teacher?

And thanks mate. Been out of it for quite a few years now but I was a sports trainer for a few years with Norwood u17s & u19s, then progressing up into reserves and league while some of my boys made the transition too. Cleve Hughes was one injury prone softie I had the...pleasure...of working with.

Its was excellent seeing quite a few of the guys I looked after make the transition from junior to senior football and then watching some of them progress through and get drafted, particularly some of the late bloomers like Puopolo and Duigan. You work with some guys who you are sure 100% will get drafted, to the point where I would have AFL club scouts ask me about particular players over the fence during matches. Most of them have the skills but unfortunately neither the heart or the mental discipline, which I unfortunately saw in a few cases. Some surprising, some not at all. You've got to be the full package at an early age these days because the system will find you out quite quickly.

I have a big interest in sports psychology and junior junior development, and I certainly am thinking about a return to being a sports trainer. Considering whether to apply for a spot in Richmonds stand alone VFL side next year...or a U18 side, TAC Cup or otherwise.[/quote]

If that's where your passion is, GO FOR IT !! Although you may not be able to post on hear anymore but I'm sure you'd handle it. Probably learn lots from the exposure to people like chocco etc :thumbsu:

P.S If you hear of the club going after a "softie", don't be shy ;)

I have a big interest in sports psychology and junior junior development, and I certainly am thinking about a return to being a sports trainer. Considering whether to apply for a spot in Richmonds stand alone VFL side next year...or a U18 side, TAC Cup or otherwise.

Great post.

Please post more. :thumbsu:

Sorry I missed that. He was my PE teacher, classroom teacher as well. He was very much a straight shooter. Didn't have a high tolerance for crap and let people know pretty quick. Although I enjoyed that about him
becos you knew where you stood. I enjoyed Gymnastics at high school and Chocco used to meet me during his lunch time so we could work together. He was great. I remember getting a bit upset with him once (squash was my sport) so I had a hit with him, very competitive at the time, surprised me a little the level of squash he could play at. He just ran for everything. In all was one of the reasons I trained as a Fizz Edder :p. In all my memories of him are :thumbsu:. I remember him as a genuinely caring person and I'm sure that's a big reason the boys at RFC have responded well to him.

Thanks, mactier, that was a great series of posts. :thumbsu:

Choco is a legend but,

I find it really interesting that when we win its because of Choco , but when we lose its all dimma's fault

Funny that

The OP starts and ends with a celebration of the obvious - how committed to the club Choco is and how good he is in the role. I go on to credit Hardwick with the coaching from the boundary emphasis he's had since he came to the club.

So there was no 'we won because of Choco' angle intended or in any way conveyed - you invented it.

I happened to watch some old footage through the week prior to our game which showed coaches leaning out the open window of the boxes at the old suburban grounds, barking instructions from on high. I'm not too sure how much would actually filter down to the players (probably depended on a whole range of variables, especially crowd size, noise and wind), but I'm sure being within earshot of the box was an intimate experience no modern crowd gets from an AFL ground these days! ;)

The coaches liked having the windows of the box open all days where the rain wasn't pouring in and seemingly preferred having no barrier between them and the game.

The parallels with Choco's performance and Hardwick's stance on the issue as displayed on Monday were striking to say the least.

If he has the itch to coach again I'd be handing him the board and saying the Richmond VFL side is the place for him to scratch that itch. No real pressure, not a full time position and time permitting can still be involved in the senior game, build a good rapport with the kids coming in and works with the senior players as well.

Was always a fan of choco and was stoked when i heard we picked him up. He'll be fighting vlaustin for best off season recruit!

If he has the itch to coach again I'd be handing him the board and saying the Richmond VFL side is the place for him to scratch that itch. No real pressure, not a full time position and time permitting can still be involved in the senior game, build a good rapport with the kids coming in and works with the senior players as well.
I dont reckon that would do it, heck theres less atmosphere in these games than a suburban gig. I would be more inclined to giving him the keys to the tiger academy.

Different if we're playing at Punt Rd before games at the G rather than out back of Coburg or Craigieburn or where ever else we end up.

Depending on how serious Melbournes interest, I would be surprised if Gale hasn't had a chat to Chocco telling him if Dimma doesn't work out then he will be the one to take us to the next step. With the decision on Dimma to be made half way through next year.

Thanks, mactier, that was a great series of posts. :thumbsu:

The OP starts and ends with a celebration of the obvious - how committed to the club Choco is and how good he is in the role. I go on to credit Hardwick with the coaching from the boundary emphasis he's had since he came to the club.

So there was no 'we won because of Choco' angle intended or in any way conveyed - you invented it.

I happened to watch some old footage through the week prior to our game which showed coaches leaning out the open window of the boxes at the old suburban grounds, barking instructions from on high. I'm not too sure how much would actually filter down to the players (probably depended on a whole range of variables, especially crowd size, noise and wind), but I'm sure being within earshot of the box was an intimate experience no modern crowd gets from an AFL ground these days! ;)

The coaches liked having the windows of the box open all days where the rain wasn't pouring in and seemingly preferred having no barrier between them and the game.

The parallels with Choco's performance and Hardwick's stance on the issue as displayed on Monday were striking to say the least.

Rayzor what are you saying in this statement? That DH doesnt want to open coaches boxs' windows somehow effects hows he goes about it ?

Great posting. Love it.

Depending on how serious Melbournes interest, I would be surprised if Gale hasn't had a chat to Chocco telling him if Dimma doesn't work out then he will be the one to take us to the next step. With the decision on Dimma to be made half way through next year.

If I was choco that conversation would make me more inclined to take the Melbourne job - good organisations don't work like that.