Chopper Reid

Chopper apparently left Tassie when he broke up with his 2nd wife - and came back to Melbourne to be with his 1st wife... Something along those lines. I think I read it in one of the weekend papers a few years back

"No out there he's the painters and dockers, in here he's just another bare bum in the shower"

"Beethoven had his critics too, Keithy. I'd like you name three of them"

"Nice shirt son, They make em in mens"

"Cmon Jimmy, the only thing your were ever good at was the ole stab stab in the ole chop chop".

"Bit early in the morning for kung foo isnt it Jimmy?.

nicho_magic said:
i just couldn't see through eric banna, he did a good job but i still see him in full frontal what ever he plays
No way, Bana was awesome. With most actors you can see that they are just acting, but I didn't even consider that during Chopper, he played the character 100% for the length of the movie in my opinion.

superstar said:
Just a coincidence, as all other names in the movie were invented. The Neville Bartos character was loosely based around two or three associates of Chopper.

im pretty sure neville bartos was real.

edit: as in just one person, not a collection of ppl

dave_4813 said:
Better bloke than people give him credit for.

Awesome movie, would easily be in my top 5 all time Australian movies.

But why is Chopper a better bloke than people give him credit for?

JIMMY: I put it to you that the reason you were searched so thoroughly is that you have a history of violent behaviour in courtrooms. Are you not currently serving a sentence of fourteen and a half years for the attempted abduction of a judge?

CHOPPER: That’s sixteen and a half years Jimmy. Sixteen and a half years.

JIMMY: I’m told you used a shotgun in this attempted abduction - is that so?

CHOPPER: Yeah, I had it right here under my coat.

JIMMY: Nothing down there now I hope.

CHOPPER: No, I wish there was.

JIMMY; I bet you do. Who would you like to use it on? Eh? This judge?

CHOPPER: No, I’d use it on you at the moment.

Brilliant movie- leaves you laughing at stuff and then feeling ashamed because you find it funny.

You get the feeling that Chopper Reid is going to be one of about a dozen Australians living today whose name will be readily recognised 50 years down the track. Not a bad thing to have on your resume.

Borgsta said:
im pretty sure neville bartos was real.

edit: as in just one person, not a collection of ppl
Neville Bartos exists but to save the film from being too hard to understand they put two or three real life figures in to the screen version of Neville Bartos. So yes Bartos is real but the film version of Bartos is an merger of a number of different real life figures.

MOJOE said:
Chopper apparently left Tassie when he broke up with his 2nd wife - and came back to Melbourne to be with his 1st wife... Something along those lines. I think I read it in one of the weekend papers a few years back
He married a woman named Maryanne. She used to write to him while he was in prison. They married while he was still in prison.
When he was released they bought a farm in Richmond in Tassie and lived there for a couple of years. They have a son named Charlie.
The marriage is now over, Chopper lives with an old girlfriend in Collingwood.

Earlier this year Chopper and Mark Jackson were doing a touring roadshow around WA. Their assistant was mugged while she waited for a taxi in the city, had her mobile stolen and was shaken up by the whole thing. Anyway, these two young cops were reporting the incident from their patrol car when bash bash on the window... they wind it down and there's chopper with Jackson behind him... Reid says to the cops "You better find this ****** before we do"

Funny thing is when the guy was caught and found out who he'd robbed he asked for police protection :D

goalsneek said:
Earlier this year Chopper and Mark Jackson were doing a touring roadshow around WA. Their assistant was mugged while she waited for a taxi in the city, had her mobile stolen and was shaken up by the whole thing. Anyway, these two young cops were reporting the incident from their patrol car when bash bash on the window... they wind it down and there's chopper with Jackson behind him... Reid says to the cops "You better find this ****** before we do"

Funny thing is when the guy was caught and found out who he'd robbed he asked for police protection :D
Gold. Jackson is probably the sanest of the lot too which is a scary thing! :eek:

Mead said:
Brilliant movie- leaves you laughing at stuff and then feeling ashamed because you find it funny.

You get the feeling that Chopper Reid is going to be one of about a dozen Australians living today whose name will be readily recognised 50 years down the track. Not a bad thing to have on your resume.
Just like ned kelly, both crims and remembered

milnedog44 said:
Just like ned kelly, both crims and remembered
Not unlike Ronnie Biggs, that larrikin element that Australians look up to and will forgive just about any indiscretion ( a guard was seriously injured in the great train robbery) as long as you appear to rob from the rich, seem to hurt only bad guys (or ideally no one at all). I'm surprised Robin Hood hasn't had a go at this post
;)

dave_4813 said:
Neville Bartos exists but to save the film from being too hard to understand they put two or three real life figures in to the screen version of Neville Bartos. So yes Bartos is real but the film version of Bartos is an merger of a number of different real life figures.

Not actually called Neville Bartos though.

Chopper had a Greek associate who he did alot of robberies with, and that's who the character of Neville Bartos is based on. Chopper was not, however, ever convicted for shooting this man. The man he shot in the leg was a bikie.

superstar said:
Not actually called Neville Bartos though.

Chopper had a Greek associate who he did alot of robberies with, and that's who the character of Neville Bartos is based on. Chopper was not, however, ever convicted for shooting this man. The man he shot in the leg was a bikie.

Correct, just read it on this website.

http://www.melbournecrime.com/mread.htm

goalsneek said:
Not unlike Ronnie Biggs, that larrikin element that Australians look up to and will forgive just about any indiscretion ( a guard was seriously injured in the great train robbery) as long as you appear to rob from the rich, seem to hurt only bad guys (or ideally no one at all). I'm surprised Robin Hood hasn't had a go at this post
;)
biggsy wasn't actually the person who got the guard though, he's not really a seriously violent person unlike how chops and i spose ned kelly were.

i mean, all the train robbers were doing was pinching old government loot that was destined for the incinerator. i don't reckon that's all that bad as crimes go.

Hoggy said:
JIMMY: I put it to you that the reason you were searched so thoroughly is that you have a history of violent behaviour in courtrooms. Are you not currently serving a sentence of fourteen and a half years for the attempted abduction of a judge?

CHOPPER: That’s sixteen and a half years Jimmy. Sixteen and a half years.

JIMMY: I’m told you used a shotgun in this attempted abduction - is that so?

CHOPPER: Yeah, I had it right here under my coat.

JIMMY: Nothing down there now I hope.

CHOPPER: No, I wish there was.

JIMMY; I bet you do. Who would you like to use it on? Eh? This judge?

CHOPPER: No, I’d use it on you at the moment.
have you seen the deleted scenes from the dvd?

keiffy's wife had a billiard ball stuck up her bottom. can't remember exactly how it goes but very bloody funny.

i'm flyin mate i'm f#ckin flyin, what did you forget mate what did you forget (opens neck to reveal gold chains) have a f#ckin geeez mate i'm flyin

can someone tell me the words when keiffy was mouthing off to chops in the holding cell with the line in the middle, he went something like why don't ya neck up the country or parrot ya f#ckin blowfly. orrrr come on keiffy don't be like that i thought we were friends. anyway i've never been able to guess exactly what he said in that bit, about necking up the blah blah whatever it is he says.

My dad was a prison officer at Risdon during Chopper's time there.

He got on well with Chopper and they would often chat during Dad's nightshift when he was bored. He reckons Chopper was a pretty smart man (despite ending up in jail) and he would sit down and have a beer with him if they ever caught up.

Dad told me this story about a prison officer who brought a small dog into the minimum security area. One of the prisoners (who has a bit on the mental side), went to attack and hurt the dog, and Chopper ended up smacking this bloke in the gob.

Chopper Reid