Delisted Chris Dawes

I was thinking the same thing.

They don't seem to have worked out how best to play together, yet.

Bigger picture (and diverting slightly from the theme of the thread), this is probably one of our issues across the ground. We've had a lot of personnel changes in the past couple of years, a lot of new kids coming into the side, and rarely a settled side for multiple weeks in a row. Unfortunately it takes time for the game-day chemistry to fully click.

There's two main issues here. Dawes is a limited player, and his style of play is definitely too similar to Hogan's.

We really need to draft/recruit/develop a go-to deep target while Hogan can use his tank to get up and down the ground.

When dawes looked good, playing up the ground against brisbane...we looked good.
He kicked a goal today, but was still bloody odinary. I have absolutely no doubt that hogan does not enjoy playing alongside him.
I dont want to be out potting our players, but for the cash hes on, we need to look at some options years end.

My op doesn't cover enough. We would be better off playing fitzpatrick who is a better ruck, and somewhat of a swingman now, or simply playing a second ruckman out of full forward, leaving jesse to do his thing at chf

Possibly our most expensive concern...

My op doesn't cover enough. We would be better off playing fitzpatrick who is a better ruck, and somewhat of a swingman now, or simply playing a second ruckman out of full forward, leaving jesse to do his thing at chf

Yeah, Dawes and Hogan appear to be almost incompatible. They both have similar styles - better at running up the field creating space behind them.

It'd be so much better if we had a taller, deep target at FF and had Hogan playing further upfield, using his tank.

I agree, it's time to ditch Dawes and play a second ruck who can pinch hit at FF.

Edit: When f@cking Dawes missed that open goal from the top of the goal square in the first quarter .... dear me. Way to set an example, mate.

Overall, he's been a bust. Possibly the worst field kick in the side. Butchers it time and time again. Still can't take a contested mark to save himself.

Needs to earn his paycheque at Casey for a week or two. Not that it will matter much.

Old mate at the footy was laughing at me for saying we should get rid of Dawes the past few weeks. Been banging on about his great form against Essendon and Brisbane. Well I sure showed him!

Howestheman I have merged your thread in here.

Dawes' first quarter yesterday was an absolute howler. So many basic stuff-ups which killed momentum.

Thank frank he kicked that goal in the second quarter after we had missed a bunch... I was ready to give him a massive serve if he had missed it.

Yeah and the other two are out injured so what is your point?

Dawes is an overpaid dud, when the other two are fit next year Dawes should be third in line.

I've always been generally supportive of Dawes, but I think it's time to play Jamar or Fitz ahead of him.

Very much a shame that Pederson isn't available, because he's certainly our best option to try ahead of Dawes.

Can we please play Jamar in the 50?

Takes care of our second ruck issue, can take a grab and won't get in Hogan's space.

Also the perfect option for the deep F50 kick that we so love these days.
I had similar thoughts last year when we had no target other than Dawes with the absence of Hogan.

Right now i'd take Jamar ahead of him, can second ruck and can clunk some and put them through.

Anyway unless he plays on next year we may as well let him play out the season, the season is over and i say let the Russian have his fun if he isn't coming back next year

I've always been generally supportive of Dawes, but I think it's time to play Jamar or Fitz ahead of him.

Very much a shame that Pederson isn't available, because he's certainly our best option to try ahead of Dawes.

With the personnel we have available, we will need to restructure if we drop Dawes.

Even if we bring in Fitz, I reckon they'll play him at CHB, and put TMac at CHF again.

My preference is for Jamar at full forward though, as you suggest.

Delisted Chris Dawes