Chris Fagan

Still a bit early to call. Reserving judgement before seeing how they come out of the blocks next year.

If it's the real deal I hope they can hang onto their players.

Precious.

Someone directly mentioned that Fagan came from the Clarkson system and has a teaching background, which Bolton also has. It was a relevant comment/comparison to make, especially for two teams who have been rebuilding at the same time. There is no rule that any tangential mention of another club needs to be moved to another thread.

Again, don’t be precious. You are the one making it into a “thing”. It will be a really boring back and forth for everyone else. Apologies to them.

Haha each to their own, I can tel you though, it Carlton were on their way up, and started doing good shit, Brisbane is the last thing that would ever enter my mind

• Average games played - Brisbane 88.6 vs. Carlton 86.9 (= +1.7 games on average)
  • Average age - Brisbane 24.7 vs. Carlton 24.9 (= -0.2 years on average)
I enjoy a Carlton bashing as much as the next person, but had them at Br 88.6 games, Ca 75.5; Br 24.69, Ca 24.36.

Together with the heat and Carlton players looking obviously distressed when they came off, I didn't put too much store in the win. But yesterday was an outstanding win as the Hawks rarely lose down there.

Although Richmond has won 13 (?) in a row against Brisbane, I wouldn't want to be playing them in the run home.

Best of both worlds. Coached under Daniher who has been recognised as one of the great tacticians, before coaching under Clarkson as one of the great man managers.
Actually stunning in hindsight that he didn’t have a crack earlier.
IIRC Chris Fagan in an interview after his appointment to the job said he wasn't actively pursuing a senior position, the Lions contacted him and asked him would he be interested in applying for it and that sparked his interest. Inspired decision to ask the question.

They are getting the praise now that they have strung together some wins but you could see they had improved this year even earlier on. Their percentage said it all. Its a good indicator for a team rebuilding from the bottom. They were much more competitive in most of their games this year even when they were stuck on 1 win.

I think this Brisbane outfit will jump up to about 10 wins next year. After that we'll see. The hardest part in my opinion is going from that 10 wins type team to a team that is playing and winning finals.

The lions have drafted well most years. Just hurts them when these players leave. Imagine yeo and docherty in this lineup. Also if schache was able to adjust and realise his potential then they could’ve had a KPF combo of hipwood and schache

It’s evident Schache isn’t going to be the footballer he was expected to be.

Chris Fagan is a fantastic fit for our side and came in at the perfect time.

And that flog Hutchy reckons he has no tactical nous so he needs some help in the box on match days, Hutchy you idiot, give yourself an uppercut.
latest
What the **** would Hutchy know? See him go to water when Lloydy asked him what Fagan was doing wrong?! campaigner just says things then backs away 100 miles an hour without retracting anything leaving his comments as if they’re legitimate.

Fagan is doing a great job imo and so is the team.

All year they have been showing signs that their future is bright, that they have the skills and the talent. Now with three wins in a row, and demolishing the Hawks in Tassie, they most likely have the belief as well. They will still have their ups and downs as any young side does, but I reckon in 2020 or 2021 they'll be playing finals.

They have a lot more good mature age players than us.

This maybe an unpopular opinion but they may have underachieved a bit this year, with a fairy clear run with injury.

Proof will be in how they go in coming years, but they look to have a good foundation in place

That’s true, however, these mature aged guys don’t improve all that much. The improvement has come from the continued development of their draftees. The Lions have drafted very well.

The Blues would be a lot better if they had really good mature aged players, however, I think the Lions have a greater number of talented kids who can hold their own in the team rather than being gifted games.

Fagan is doing a great job imo and so is the team.

All year they have been showing signs that their future is bright, that they have the skills and the talent. Now with three wins in a row, and demolishing the Hawks in Tassie, they most likely have the belief as well. They will still have their ups and downs as any young side does, but I reckon in 2020 or 2021 they'll be playing finals.

Beams will be a massive loss for them if he leaves or gets struck down by injury again. But yeah, no reason why they can’t challenge a finals birth in the next 2 years.

Well he has certainly picked the Lions up off the canvas and I think the days of teams going to Brisbane looking for a percentage boost are over for quite a while.
We have to Wait and see if he can make this team flag contenders but finishing this year well is a springboard into finals contention next year I think.

THe Lions have some very good young key position players Andrews and Hipwood who I would love to be Pies players and they are well coached.

I saw them play the Pies earlier in the season and they were good bloody good and I think apart from the beating from Richmond they have been tough to beat.

They will be on the cusp of finals within a season or 2.

Still a bit early to call. Reserving judgement before seeing how they come out of the blocks next year.

If it's the real deal I hope they can hang onto their players.

They've had no trouble doing that tho. Signed Martin, got Christensen, Beams and a few others to come homr. Zorko looks comfortable.

They have a great spine and players seem happy atm.

IIRC Chris Fagan in an interview after his appointment to the job said he wasn't actively pursuing a senior position, the Lions contacted him and asked him would he be interested in applying for it and that sparked his interest. Inspired decision to ask the question.

I think you will find it is Mark Evans the Lions have to thank.

They've had no trouble doing that tho. Signed Martin, got Christensen, Beams and a few others to come homr. Zorko looks comfortable.

They have a great spine and players seem happy atm.

Young players are extending in droves too.

Brisbane have a lot more good players 23+ compared to us.

Also for all the praise Brisbane have still only won 4 games

So with this multitude avalanche of picks you have recieved over the years and cushy draws

Who's at fault?

The coach
The recruiting
The development
The assistants

Murphy Kreuzer Gibbs weitering all pick 1s

Judd walker Thomas. All pick 2s

Dow pick3

Lots and lots of quality has gone thru the joint for UNDERPAR RESULTS

Chris Fagan