Roast Chris Johnson

Re: Chris Johnson - weak as piss ...

So why was Bailey so filthy about loosing him ?? Why did the Demons want to keep him?? Most see it as a personality issue between him and Bailey.

He's not a bad player, he just needs too learn confidence under pressure, and that will come, conficence is something he didn;t learn at Melbourne obviously.

Good luck tomorrow, well good luck this year.

As alluded to, Bailey was filthy about the way he went about it. To top it off, he has turned up at a training session after trying to bend the club over a barrel thinking everything would be sweet to say good bye.

Bailey was within his rights to tell him to piss off, and with in his rights to be dirty about losing him after the PSD. If Carlton really wanted him, they could have traded for him. A 3rd rounder would have been fair.

What makes it even more disappointing is that he was the son of a club champion. Yes, he was hung out to dry but he deserved it.

Has he been anymore unprofessional than Colin Sylvia, who has let his team/teammates down on a number of occasions. Or is it a case of different strokes for different blokes?

FWIW, IMO Sylvia is a more piss-weak person than Johnson, because the club have stood behind him despite his off-field lack of discipline & yet he still managed to transgress again this year. There must be degrees of being piss-weak.

You'll find most Melbourne supporters agreeing with you, if Sylvia continues as is I highly doubt whether he'll get another contract.
Not sure what Sylvia's got to do with the topic though.

CJ left Melbourne because another club was offering him a longer contract with more money. Melbourne didn't up their offer because they felt that CJ's weaknesses overshadowed his positives.
I don't blame CJ for wanting him to leave and I don't blame Bailey for letting him go. In both cases I'd do the same.

Look, CJ is ok, but he's not good under pressure. He seldom puts his body on the line and his decision making goes to water when harrased. As you guys get better he'll struggle to hold his place but he'll always be an ok depth player, if you accept his weaknesses.

Bailey wasn't filthy at losing him. Bailey was filthy AT him, because he shopped himself around, made a deal with another club and not sign a new contract, and walked on Melbourne so they didn't get a draft pick for him as compensation for putting 5 years into his development. And then he wouldn't fess up and tell his team mates and friends what he'd done, and rocked up to training despite the fact he wasn't signed to the club anymore, and was going to Carlton. His own friends even told him to f*ck off.

It was nothing to do with losing him, as he is no loss. It was to do with him being a pissweak person and handling himself in an unprofessional manner.

Hmm I think he was filthy with him...he rejected a 1 year deal with Melbourne, was delisted after the Demons and his management could not agree to a new contract.

I thought he played pretty well at times for Melbourne, he;s only 22 and will improve....of course you;re going to say negative things about him cos he;s bailed....

He;s not good under pressure but that will improve.

He started Well in the Pre Season and early games but has been pretty bad the last 2 weeks even thou his heaps younger then Scotland,Scotland is rather cool and doesn't panic. I reckon we should persist with Joey Anderson if we looking for a younger guy who can run it out,because he will get better with his skills just like Bower.

Bring Anderson in.

of course you;re going to say negative things about him cos he;s bailed....

Don't delude yourself into thinking that.

I always thought he was a pretty woeful player during his years at Melbourne and I've got little doubt you'll agree soon enough. There's no reason for any Demon supporter to be 'sore' about losing Chris Johnson, the very idea is laughable :)

I know something else that's very laughable that has to do with Melbourne...

Oh wait, it IS Melbourne. :rolleyes:

Cutting.

Take the dummy out of your mouth and try to stick to the topic.

If you can :)
Hmm... nah.

I'd much rather chuckle at Melbourne. Much more interesting.

Has he been anymore unprofessional than Colin Sylvia, who has let his team/teammates down on a number of occasions. Or is it a case of different strokes for different blokes?

FWIW, IMO Sylvia is a more piss-weak person than Johnson, because the club have stood behind him despite his off-field lack of discipline & yet he still managed to transgress again this year. There must be degrees of being piss-weak.
Not going to argue there. If you visit the Demonland forums, lots of the threads are about Sylvia, and how he should be delisted at the end of this season. Ideally we'd like to trade him, but I doubt anyone would be stupid enough to give up a pick for a moron like him. He should've been dropped after his last 2 weeks, and he's lucky to be in our team. He is an under-performing high draft pick who is skating on thin ice. Only conselation we can take from it is the 2003 draft was pathetic, and there werent many other players you'd pick ahead of him because they are all rubbish lol. Possibly the worst year to have got 2 top 5 draft picks in. Typical :(

Hmm I think he was filthy with him...he rejected a 1 year deal with Melbourne, was delisted after the Demons and his management could not agree to a new contract.

I thought he played pretty well at times for Melbourne, he;s only 22 and will improve....of course you;re going to say negative things about him cos he;s bailed....

He;s not good under pressure but that will improve.
Did you even read my posts? I'm not saying this stuff because he bailed. I'm saying it because it's fact. He is a soft hack, who acted extremely unprofessionally, and who is lucky to be in your team. The sooner Scotland or someone else takes his spot, the better off you will be! :)

Hmm... nah.

I'd much rather chuckle at Melbourne. Much more interesting.

short memory? everyone's been laughing at your club for the better part of a decade...

as for CJ, I myself was a CJ fan... i was really disappointed when he left, and I think given the right role, he has a lot to offer... i didn't see the game today, but he obviously had a shocker... he can be soft, however there's usually a spot for a soft backman racking up the cheap kicks in the backline in every team... SCG really isn't as suited to it due to it's size, and sydney's style of play... keep the faith, he was definately worth a late pre-season draft selection

Oh god, please don't tell me we signed this DUD up for a multi-year deal, ala Ackland:( do we ever learn?:thumbsd:

He started Well in the Pre Season and early games but has been pretty bad the last 2 weeks even thou his heaps younger then Scotland,Scotland is rather cool and doesn't panic. I reckon we should persist with Joey Anderson if we looking for a younger guy who can run it out,because he will get better with his skills just like Bower.

Bring Anderson in.

The reason he started well in the pre season & the first couple of games is that he was trying to claim a spot in the team and vying for his team mates respect! It seems as though now that he knows that he is one of rattens favourites he has gone back to his old ways.

and as far as Anderson is concerned..FORGET IT, this guy is hopeless, bad skills, bad decision making, panics under pressure! The only upside to Joey is his courage

There's no doubt that the MFC handled the departure of CJ appallingly. It was very unprofessional and I hope the club learns from it. He had been wanting to negotiate a contract for months, but to no avail. Melbourne finally offered a one year contract on money that was a joke a week before the trade period. Astonishingly, they then were offended when he decided to leave. Bailey still has a lot to learn.

That said, I've never rated Johnson and clearly the match committee had their reservations. He definitely was never in my best 22 and looking at our backline options of Garland, Warnock, Frawley, Grimes, Cheney, Bennell, Whelan, Wheatley, Rivers, and young Strauss who was drafted to become our designated backline kicker/play maker, then you can see that he was up against it.

But the biggest issue is that CJ is terribly soft. He is very poor under pressure and always has been. Why will this change ? It won't because it's in his DNA. I judge players on their ability to stand up in the heat of Finals. For this reason alone I knew that CJ would never make it. Brett Ratten and Co know more about footy than me and obvioulsy disagree, or maybe hoped they'd improve areas of his game and needed a decent kicker off half back.

Some Melbourne supporters might have sour grapes, but most just knew he wasn't up to it. Plenty have seen him at Sandy as well as the Dees. These are not rushed or ill informed views.

Good luck with him.

At the end of his current contract, Carlton should delist CJ.

He is a depth-player at best. There's got to be better, harder, more accountable players out there.

After five years of being in the system, how much more time does anyone need before arriving at the same judgement as Celtic Pride: CJ is spasmodically of AFL standard.

I would throw him at GC 17 when the time comes.

Biffinator.

Actually there is, I'm pretty sure he stole a football after Bailey told him to piss off when he showed up at training.

:(

I agree wholeheartedly. CS has the brains of a chicken. HIs tenure is coming to an end.

There is, however, a club that will happily take on Colin. Over the years, both Melbourne and Carlton have done well out of their generosity.

They are not based in Victoria. They pretty much accept any player who is "free-to-good-home' in return for draft picks.

Soon Colin will have a set new of team-mates. One of them goes by the name of Tazz.

Biffinator.

if he gets a game ahead of Scotland next week I'm convinced Brett Ratten has an ego bigger than Jason Akermanis.

Ratten chased him hard, got him but now has to realise he is soft and may cost him his job.
More appropriate than Scotland is Steven Browne. He is absolutely as tough as they come. Anyone who has ever watched him would realise he is exactly what we need. Go down to the Hawks today. He is SO consistent and reliable. He will give you: Super guts. Poise. Good tackler. Good decision maker. Good user. Yes he is a bit slow. STIFF SHIT. He is a loonnnnnggg way in front of this bloke and would not repeatedly cost us goals like this squib does. Johnson isn't even a good kick in because he shits himself. We can't have Johnson, Stevens and Houlihan all in the same side. None tackle and all are scared. Can cop one or two of these but thats it.

Waste of space.

Bring Anderson in.

Technically Bower's kicking has always been fine. His decision making and penchant for running himself into trouble were his early problems. Anderson can't hit a target even when he's on his own. Massive difference in their problems. Anderson is not the answer.

More appropriate than Scotland is Steven Browne.
Geez, read the whole thread and thought I'd have to mention him, took a while. Been in the emergencies every game? If not at least 2. Played well last year and a good find at p.36. Get him back in, he'll be a gun.

Oh god, please don't tell me we signed this DUD up for a multi-year deal, ala Ackland:( do we ever learn?:thumbsd:
Chris Johnson was pick 83 in the national draft. ;)

What more could you want from a selection that low?

A 26 year old Skipworth? :eek: :D

There's a good chance that Rhys O'keeffe and his dynamite left foot will take Johnson's spot by the end of next year.

And ROK will be harder at the ball.

Johnson will provide depth until that happens.

Johnson is a better pick than the likes of Ross Young, Steve Kenna, Ackland, Mclaren and Laurence Angwin who were recruited by Pagan.

Still has some time on his side.

Imagine the alternative which is Cousins.

celtic_pride would light a navy blue scented candle under a picture of Cousins every night if we had gone down that road...

Chris Johnson was pick 83 in the national draft. ;)

What more could you want from a selection that low?

A 26 year old Skipworth? :eek: :D

There's a good chance that Rhys O'keeffe and his dynamite left foot will take Johnson's spot by the end of next year.

And ROK will be harder at the ball.

Johnson will provide depth until that happens.

Johnson is a better pick than the likes of Ross Young, Steve Kenna, Ackland, Mclaren and Laurence Angwin who were recruited by Pagan.

Still has some time on his side.

Imagine the alternative which is Cousins.

celtic_pride would light a navy blue scented candle under a picture of Cousins every night if we had gone down that road...

Hope so. Gotta get it to kick it but. A really good size, spent a fair whack of time off the ground today.