Chris Judd beginning

• Thread starter Thread starter blueman91

I don't remember where I was to be honest. I just remember the relief .... relief that the decision had been made and we were getting him and not Collingwood, and relief that the dark days were now over.

I had mixed feelings. ..

I wanted him to go to Melbourne as it would have been poetic to go back to his boyhood club and they were struggling too. ..

But I loved the idea that he could bring a winning culture to our club, as I thought we had the personnel but not the drive. ..

Then when I found out what we swapped for him, I was bitterly disappointed. .. Kennedy was a well liked club man already and a player for the future. .. I understood we needed to make a decent offer to secure Judd but I always wanted us to have thrown Fev into the trade as he was already starting to show signs he'd never learn. ..

Its worked out and I'm glad Judd delivered on the promise of turning our culture around. .. Every time I watch WCE play I feel sorry for Kennedy, especially when we play them and you see that there is still a core group of players that would like to have him still playing in the Navy Blue. ..

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

I wanted him to go to Melbourne as it would have been poetic to go back to his boyhood club and they were struggling too. ..

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

What can I say, I am a footy fan first and a Carlton fan a close second. .. I like seeing moments in the game that remind us that its not just an entertainment corporation. .. I lament the loss of things like club loyalty (not to be mistaken with player loyalty which is still sort of there) towards the players and of course players playing for the club they love. .. It shouldn't all be about the dollar. ..

Sorry but I've always been Carlton first. Obtaining Chris Judd was massive for our club and I would have been mighty upset had he chosen to go elsewhere. Nobody saying it's anything to do with money, it's about lifting our club out of the dire situation we were in and taking it onwards and upwards.

Disbelief at the Eagles that they'd been r*ped in the trade when we gave up JK, Rhys Palmer and Tayte Pears for a has-been with a history of shoulder problems and a busted groin.:eek::p

Still, very happy with Army.:D

I must admit I was actually not all that excited - coming off the back of Kouta's disastrous long-term big-money contract, I was really worried about doing the same thing with someone else, particularly a someone who wasn't exactly in as-new condition when we got him... Also really liked JK and thought at the time we'd paid over the odds.

Needless to say, I'm still disappointed JK's gone, but have soooooo much man-love for Juddy it's not funny. Very happy to have my initial concerns proven wrong each and every week he pulls on the navy blue. Or white. Or Lance Armstrong yellow. Or whatever. Love him/them whatever jumper they're in!

I was rapt when Judd chose Carlton as his team of choice. Not so much for me - I've been lucky enough to have seen Carlton win 5 premierships, but moreso for my 16 y.o. son.

The 2003-2007 years were pretty lean and tough however my young bloke stuck with the blues. I remember coming home from work and his unbridled excitement and joy that Juddy was coming to Carlton - priceless.

I literally said "who is chris judd?" Cos I'd been away for 5 years and had no idea who he was. I first saw him walk into a press conference and thought he was a coach or something cos he looked older and historically its coach changes that make the big news. i have since developed a healthy man crush. I would like to know if he was a better player at WC and what differences there are now in his game if any.
thankyou

I was in the middle of shagging my missus and her sister when I heard the news. I kept shagging them.

Looking for a second to nominate this for Post Of The Year. :thumbsu::thumbsu::D

Appallingly crude however. :thumbsd:

Was at work, need to keep some degree of professional decorum.

I just did the Setanta post goal celebration.

Erm......thats the 2010 version, little double fist pump and an inner voice "F#!cking yes!" (at least I hope it was my inner voice......), not the 2009 run around like a luntaic high 5ing anyone within "arm slap" distance.

Then after work just spent some quality time looking at the picture of him walking across VISY park......imagining him bursting through packs, hitting Fev lace out.......visualising how much we were gonna stick it to the bombers because they have no guns in their midfield..........wondering which number Murph would get now Juddy was coming...... :D

Got home from work, turned on the radio and heard the news.

Spent the night drinking and trying to explain to the missus who Chris Judd was and why I was acting like a little girl.

I literally said "who is chris judd?" Cos I'd been away for 5 years and had no idea who he was. I first saw him walk into a press conference and thought he was a coach or something cos he looked older and historically its coach changes that make the big news. i have since developed a healthy man crush. I would like to know if he was a better player at WC and what differences there are now in his game if any.
thankyou

You really expect somebody is buying this rubbish ?? :rolleyes:

what do you mean? That is the case so I wrote it. I was abroad from 2003 to 2007 and did not watch a game of football or follow it much. He wasnt playing for Carlton in that time, so why would I notice players that don't play for my team. Is that truth rubbish?

Strange comment.

My uncle was away from about 2002 to 2010 and had never really seen any of Chris Judd at all. It's completely plausible for someone to not have heard of a player after being overseas.

Although the coach thing is a bit of a :eek:.

I was so excited when Chris Judd went to the Blues i thought that we were going to be a better team and knew we were going to start winning some games.
Still happy about the decision he's one of our best :)

gave my richmond supporting mate shit because he had been telling me that he was going to richmond ever since he announced leaving
Not nice.

Thats like waving a blanket in front of a homeless person.

Strange comment.

My uncle was away from about 2002 to 2010 and had never really seen any of Chris Judd at all. It's completely plausible for someone to not have heard of a player after being overseas.

Although the coach thing is a bit of a :eek:.

yeah thats fair enough, but he did have receding hair and growth and I must have thought of a different Chris, as in Mainwarring even the surnames are nothing alike. But when you dont know, you don't know.

So you were in jail in another country ??

Because there is this new thing called the interweb that has been around for a long time that enables people to keep up to date with things that are going on in other parts of the world...there is also a telephone where you can sometimes call family or friends back home to catch up on things....the point i am making is that if you are a fair dunkum footy fan, you will make a point of finding out the goings on at your club ..i know 99.99 % of the posters on this board would keep themselves up with whats happening with their club of choice.

Ask the soccer supporters in here if they know the movements at the English league soccer clubs they support.

Because there is this new thing called the interweb that has been around for a long time that enables people to keep up to date with things that are going on in other parts of the world...there is also a telephone where you can sometimes call family or friends back home to catch up on things....the point i am making is that if you are a fair dunkum footy fan, you will make a point of finding out the goings on at your club ..i know 99.99 % of the posters on this board would keep themselves up with whats happening with their club of choice.

Ask the soccer supporters in here if they know the movements at the English league soccer clubs they support.

He said he didn't know who Judd was before the trade. .. Not after he was at the club. .. If I were overseas and was keeping in touch with Carlton through the media, I probably wouldn't know much about the interstate clubs as the Melbourne media doesn't give interstate clubs much positive coverage let alone their players. ..

"................there is this NEW thing called the INTERWEB that has been around for a LONG TIME.........." Now that is rubbish: its new and been around for a long time. Use of the word 'INTERWEB' rather than 'Internet' also says a lot.

Your so clever, and funny and original man! not. Yes on the occasional time I spoke to family there was nothing more important to talk about than an AFL player that plays for WC. Forget that none of them follow footy much. Sorry I should remember the names of every player in the league even though I was abroad for years. Every now and then I'd check afl.com, on the internet, not "INTERWEB" to see results and grand final winners, but forgive me for not keeping in touch with every player that got brownlow votes, every dream team player, all Australian player and leading stats players. In the limited time I used the net, I did check in on players that I knew of before I left, eg Hird, Buckley, ie players who I actually knew. I may of looked at who the brownlow winners were and in 2004 probably thought "oh some west coast player I don't know" Again forgive me for not committing that unknown player to me, to my memory, just in case he eventually comes to my club 3 years later. I obviously don't live and breath footy while I'm in another part of the world where there is no AFL news or coverage and with much more important and relevant things in my life.

What is a fair dinkum footy fan? We can all have different levels of interest and theres nothing wrong with that. Now that I've been in Aus for over a year, I follow and keep up to date and watch a few games a week on TV. I avoid going, because I'd say there would be too many people like you at the footy. When I was away I did keep up to date with happenings at the club and that was losing a lot and wooden spoons. I knew about that and Fev doing well. There was NO mention of a Chris Judd trade. That happened when I got back in late 2007, hence my original question - "who is Chris Judd" that I asked when I heard about the news for the first time that he was coming to Carlton, when I caught up with my brothers in law. I was told "he is widely regarded as the best player in the league." Since I've been here I've been trying to see vidoes of him from WC because I never saw him before 2008 and thats why I also asked is there any difference from when he was a WC player.