Chris Judd vs Peter Matera vs Ben Cousins - Who was the greatest ever Eagle?

Who was the greatest ever Eagle?

• Chris Judd

Votes: 15 29.4%
  • Peter Matera

Votes: 16 31.4%
  • Ben Cousins

Votes: 20 39.2%

As a Geelong supporter it's hard to go past [PLAYERCARD]Peter Matera[/PLAYERCARD], Dean Kemp, Glen Jackovich, Chris Mainwaring and Brett Heady before you get to Ben Cousins and [PLAYERCARD]Daniel Kerr[/PLAYERCARD]. Judd was good, but i find it hard to put him ahead of some of those Eagles players from the early 90s. I have him as 8th best Eagle!

As a Geelong supporter it's hard to go past Peter Matera, Dean Kemp, Glen Jackovich, Chris Mainwaring and Brett Heady before you get to Ben Cousins and Daniel Kerr. Judd was good, but i find it hard to put him ahead of some of those Eagles players from the early 90s. I have him as 8th best Eagle!
Merriman
Mensch
Steinfort
Menzel
Bizzell
Lynch
Tudor
Arnott
Hargreaves

The greatest of the Cats?

Cousins

He achieved just about everything on the field that you can and if he didn't mess up so badly off field he probably could've achieved even more.

Any time he had the ball in hand Id immediately be relieved because I knew his disposal would benefit the team in some way.

He could do it all, inside contested ball, tackling as well as outside running and with slick delivery and finishing.

[PLAYERCARD]Peter Matera[/PLAYERCARD] are very very close second, had a little bit more natural ability than Cuz....but Cuz had the borderline psychotic want to win and push himself.

Matera
Judd
Cousins

Close.

Matera Norm Smith and Brownlow Runner up.

Judd - brownlow and Norm Smith

Cousins - Brownlow

If Judd and Cousins stay fit they challenge Geelong for the 2007 Premiership. Wpuld have been a mighty titanic Grand Final.

Based on Eagles Career Alone,

Matera, Cousins, Judd

Overall Career- Judd, Matera, Cousins.

Very close between the Trio, but Matera trumps for impact and longevity. Cousins burnt the place down, so that affects his standing.

Cousins for mine as as personified the Weagles on and off the footy ground to a perfect T. Although Judd is comfortably the most talented player to have played for the Weagles with Matera not far behind.

Judd is the greatest player to ever wear eagles colours, but because he was only there for half of his career, it would have to be either Cousins or Matera.

I would lean more towards Cousins as he won a brownlow, rising star and 6x all-australians.

Cousins was fantastic, but Judd put the fear in me because he was unstoppable. Matera was electric, but only have vague memories.

Hard to pick really, but went Judd because his top end of the 3 was the best.

Best or greatest? Because if it's the latter(as per the thread title) it's John Worsfold>>>>>>>>daylight>>>>>a chook raffle of other players.
As a figure of the club yeah, but not as a player

Cousins was at it all game every game. Kerr and Judd more powerful but Judd got hurt and left, and Kerr was less fit. Probably the best Eagle of all.

Kemp, McKenna and Jacovich were the Malthouse era players the stuck out for me as an opposition observer. Once again, all so reliable.

Kemp was relentlessly bashed, probably more than Cousins, and just got to the ball and got it onwards. I feel he's very under rated. Skill and pressure, and team player too.

Jacovich is correctly rated, used to break even and even beat Carey, and everyone else. A collosus.

McKenna had great skills and gave zero ****s. When everyone was accusing the Eagles of steroid use in the 90s he went ln telly and said "yeah the boys are chucking needles around in the showers " and laughed in the idiot journo's fat face. His footy was very high standard, as a half back he ranks close to [PLAYERCARD]Chris Johnson[/PLAYERCARD] for mine, absolute star player.

Matera could play, and his brother Peter too ;) . He wasn't my cup of tea thats all, cant deny he was a matchwinner.

Worsfold was an excellent coach, his sides played hard fair footy and he was robbed in 05. I know Gaff belted that bloke but I honestly believe he was trying to punch his chest, the fella ducked. Maybe Kerr was dirty, the rest were hard and fair.

As a player he was a scumbag. I have met a player (not Collingwood) who told me he throttled them in packs when they were pinned. He was a gutless off the ball sniper. He jeered at McGuane after the siren, specifically referencing his dead team mate Millane. I never saw him front a hard player, in fact I saw him shirk contests against Millane and Gavin Brown.

I didn't see every game he played, but every game I saw he was an unsportsmanlike shit.

The player he choked said off field he was a decent bloke.

Got to vote for The Prince of Perth

agree with Kerr being underrated

and Judd and Matera were freaks.

Judd. He was the best player in the comp from 04-06. He was doing things no other player could do, he was the best inside and best outside midfielder in the comp at the best time.

People forget how good he was - for a few years he was better than any other midfielder is living memory.

The other two were stars but not at his level.

Judd. He was the best player in the comp from 04-06. He was doing things no other player could do, he was the best inside and best outside midfielder in the comp at the best time.

People forget how good he was - for a few years he was better than any other midfielder is living memory.

The other two were stars but not at his level.
Yeah I agree Judd was the best midfielder going around and one of the best mids ever

but Matera could play on the wing you could throw him forward to kick goals...and he got AA playing from the half back line

for me Judd is the best midfielder we ever had with cuz 2nd...but Matera was the best allround eagle

Out of those three I would have Matera Judd then Cuz