Chris Knights

• Thread starter Thread starter Bo_Gas

That was his first knee reco, never had knee troubles before. Was very injury prone though. At one point in 2009 he was the most accurate kick in the afl with 21.3 from 24 scoring shots. Career high 37 touches against Collingwood in 2007 too. Huge potential but sadly will probably not be fulfilled. Would love to see him succeed though, is a ball magnet when fit.

He was jogging laps without a knee support during training last week.
His leg (the one he hurt, I can't remember which) is noticeably thinner, and obviously it'll be a drawn out process, but he was playing some really nice footy. Hope he gets back, and well.

Oh ok, maybe it was chaplin I had with the knee issues then...

Knights i've always thought would be our gun half forward, if we can strengthen that knee and get his confidence back in he'll be a welcomed addition next year.

Thing i'd like to see the Tiger heirachy work on is his right foot, its virtually non existent... doesn't need to bang it 50+ metres but be confident enough to use his right if caught on wrong side.

Not sure if people on this thread are srs?

He was just starting to play well and kick goals, and I'm not sure if anyone realises, but we don't have any other half forwards capable of kicking 30-40 goals a season.

When he's back and fit I'd like to seem him straight back in the team.

Knights is a really good player, in potential. He got into great form before his injury. I reckon he added hugely to our structure when fit. His injury was a wierd one, probably just unlucky. People just forget what he offers and his adition next yera could bea big part of any improvement.
Before people say I am pumping his tyres to much. I reckon he is a good B+ grade players, not A. But he offers a player type that really improves us. He is a good mid and a good goalkicker. I reckon he makes out offensive side more dangerous and unpredictable. Which is why I rate him so highly, what he brings to the structure and game plan.

Knights is a really good player, in potential. He got into great form before his injury. I reckon he added hugely to our structure when fit. His injury was a wierd one, probably just unlucky. People just forget what he offers and his adition next yera could bea big part of any improvement.
Before people say I am pumping his tyres to much. I reckon he is a good B+ grade players, not A. But he offers a player type that really improves us. He is a good mid and a good goalkicker. I reckon he makes out offensive side more dangerous and unpredictable. Which is why I rate him so highly, what he brings to the structure and game plan.

Yeah I agree - good B+ and fits the structure well..

He is going well, patella tendon injuries such as his have an excellent recovery ration with 90% getting of operations resulting in 100% return to full knee motion, and the other 10% getting 90% knee motion back. It generally takes about 6 months though to fully return. So the odds are he should be fine.

I genuinely believe that if we had Knights and White in that elimination final things may have been a different story.

Knights is a very good AFL footballer and in our best 22

Love him, really good player when playing freo and thought that he was going to pump us up into top 4. What i'm more interested in is whether he is rubbing off his talent onto O'Hanlon. I hope O'Hanlon makes it, just needs to find hit his straps. Know how to find the footy and use it.

He started slow but come the Fremantle game he kicked (I believe) 3 goals, and just kicked a goal as he got injured two weeks later. He was warming up to it.

He's already had his holiday so will be staying here doing rehab over the break.

His a jet and would have been our best pickup had he not got injured. Slot him straight back onto a HFF/Wing come round .

I was told he is already doing some running..

Yep, time to send him packing. Our window is open now. No project players or constantly injured guys.

Sorry.....reality.

It's been said multiple times that it was his first knee injury.

So how come in his last 3 season's with Adelaide he played 5, 16, and 5 games. That sets up 2 possibilities - either he was often injured, or he wasn't good enough to command a regular spot.

I'm not pinning great hopes on him. Hopefully he's useful - but I would be surprised if he turns out to be THAT much of an upgrade over King or Nahas at their best. If he get's back to his best (he will be 27 next season).

So how come in his last 3 season's with Adelaide he played 5, 16, and 5 games. That sets up 2 possibilities - either he was often injured, or he wasn't good enough to command a regular spot.

I'm not pinning great hopes on him. Hopefully he's useful - but I would be surprised if he turns out to be THAT much of an upgrade over King or Nahas at their best. If he get's back to his best (he will be 27 next season).

KNEE injury.

Dislocated knee cap does not require a knee reconstruction.

Would have been a lateral co ligament stabilisation or a tendon repair

Injured and then overtaken.

Problem with Knights is he lost a bit of kicking strength and freedom in his legs when he did the injury originally. If Knights comes back to his best, he'll be an absolute gun for you guys, however that is such a remote chance that will happen ('09).

I really do like Knights so it is an absolute shame his career has been destroyed by injuries as when he was on song, he was one of our main reasons for making the finals in 09.

Yep doc just like astbury.

A knee reconstruction refers to an anterior cruciate ligament injury that requires a autograft from either the hamstring or the patella. More commonly, the hamstring semi- membranosous.

A dislocated knee cap, whilst serious in some cases is not a knee reconstruction, some cases are solved without surgery.

A knee reconstruction refers to an anterior cruciate ligament injury that requires a autograft from either the hamstring or the patella. More commonly, the hamstring semi- membranosous.

A dislocated knee cap, whilst serious in some cases is not a knee reconstruction, some cases are solved without surgery.

Yep mate I was agreeing with you( I wasn't being a smart ar*e). I remember astbury had to have surgery for stabilisation for his patella injury and I've actually seen this surgery on RPA. Having also had a patella reco myself i'm aware of all the details and in particular the use of the phrase 'full reco' when that only applies to multiple ligament repairs. There is no such thing as a 'partial' knee reco!! My doc reference was as I believe you are actually a MD.

Yep mate I was agreeing with you( I wasn't being a smart ar*e). I remember astbury had to have surgery for stabilisation for his patella injury and I've actually seen this surgery on RPA. Having also had a patella reco myself i'm aware of all the details and in particular the use of the phrase 'full reco' when that only applies to multiple ligament repairs. There is no such thing as a 'partial' knee reco!!

Ah I see, sarcasm is hard to pick up on the internetz

Nasty surgery and recovery, acl almost the better one to have

Thing i'd like to see the Tiger heirachy work on is his right foot, its virtually non existent... doesn't need to bang it 50+ metres but be confident enough to use his right if caught on wrong side.

I reckon for every left footer with a right side, there's 5 that don't. They find a way.