Universal Love Chris Mayne

A couple of months ago I was jogging on the beach with my 17 year-old son. After a leisurely 20 minutes he said 'do you want to race?'

I immediately took off without answering, hoping to crush his spirit with a big initial lead.

Within seconds he had flown past me, possessing leg speed that had left me some time before WW2. Of course my ego was dented. Age is cruel, taking away our dignities and powers.

And on Sunday I watched Chrissy Mayne spinning in sand as he tried to close-in on a Geelong backman. I saw in him a kindred spirit. A man whose physical best is in the rear vision mirror who valiantly rails against the dying of the light (Arts degree metaphors). Keep fighting Chris, I'm barracking for you.
How’s that avatar going?

Give us a break, he was recruited as a forward and as forward he is ****en hopeless, now plays his best footy on a wing where he is way too slow and weak, who does he replace on a wing if you don't mind me asking?, he is ****en useless

Howe was recruited as a forward. We should drop him. He's going garbage up forward. Can't get a touch.

Can’t believe Mayne is getting praise for playing on the wing. You want your wing men to be guys who can get the outside ball and drive it forward. The best wingers in the game have between 300-600m gained per game. Maynes contribution yesterday? 154m gained from 25 disposals, meaning he was gaining an average of a whopping 6m per disposal. That’s as bad as Blair’s effort the other week. Non damaging disposals, and heaps of tackles because he’s constantly second to the ball. Can’t kick more than 30m. He’s not AFL standard anymore and we’ve been a significantly worse outfit since he and Blair were recalled.

I tend to agree with this. But I do think as an entire team we struggled with our ball movement. Geelong were fantastic at applying pressure and intercepting our handballs. Pressure, pressure, pressure and then they'd just pluck us off. We got figured out badly. So I do wonder if Maynes metres gained stats were just symtomatic of the game?

Howe was recruited as a forward. We should drop him. He's going garbage up forward. Can't get a touch.
So who do you take out from the wing to accommodate Mayne? Sidebottom, Phillips, Aish, WHE, Wells, Stephenson, Brown,? Howe played defense because we had no other option, your argument about Mayne is irrelevant, god help us if Mayne becomes one our wingman

I wouldn't play Mayne personally. I just think it's a bit disingenuous to slam the club for looking at other ways to use a player and to get something out of them. That's smart in my mind. Mayne wasn't terrible in the role btw and there are reasons why there was a position there on the wing to be taken - if you care to think about it.

I tend to agree with this. But I do think as an entire team we struggled with our ball movement. Geelong were fantastic at applying pressure and intercepting our handballs. Pressure, pressure, pressure and then they'd just pluck us off. We got figured out badly. So I do wonder if Maynes metres gained stats were just symtomatic of the game?
I think all of Mayne stats are symtomatic of the game.

I wouldn't play Mayne personally. I just think it's a bit disingenuous to slam the club for looking at other ways to use a player and to get something out of them. That's smart in my mind. Mayne wasn't terrible in the role btw and there are reasons why there was a position there on the wing to be taken - if you care to think about it.

The club wasn't looking for other roles for him, the fact was he couldn't buy a possession in the VFL on the forward line and he happened to fall onto the wing one day, so what you are saying is that we pay him $500,000 a year to be a VFL wingman? Because there is no way he plays AFL wing if all the others I mentioned are available. Not so smart by the club at all because either way you look at it he is just a depth player at best

I'm not arguing about the efficacy of the trade. It clearly hasn't been a good result for us. But we might as well try and make the most of it. You don't seem to be able to see past outrage at the club for it so I think i'll end the discussion about this with you here.

was not good on the weekend. I would play Daicos instead. Better skills, quicker, better form, and is more of a chance to be part of our future...

Hopefully pendles coming back makes it redundant, whilst Faz can take Crocker's

I'd like to see Daicos get some game time on the wing. Or Wells if he has the fitness for it. I think the club wants someone that has the fitness to work both ways and keep our shape in transition. I assume that's why Mayne has been selected over the alternatives and considering our current injuries.

was not good on the weekend. I would play Daicos instead. Better skills, quicker, better form, and is more of a chance to be part of our future...

Hopefully pendles coming back makes it redundant, whilst Faz can take Crocker's
Well he was good. Get over it.

He gets another game this week purely for smashing Joel Selwood, (despite his best efforts to milk one) without giving away a free kick and turning it into a goal.

Was out this morning for work near Sandringham footy ground and saw Mayne training. Stopped to have a chat to him and see how things are going.

he has been training 5 days a week since the end of the season and when i seen him he was doing sprints and Goal kicking, must say ive been against the Mayne deal since he signed but just maybe things might turn for him and i can tell you it wont be from not caring cause he does care and hopefully he can turn it around next season.

Found this from September Last year i am so happy for the guy really nice guy and wants to repay the club for his contract !!!

This post aged well....

Mayne took a mark and kicked a goal right in front of me. Right. In. Front. Of. Me. Brothers, I have been blessed. I saw sweat drip from the furrow of his brow as he went back and slotted it. I missed the goal, I was to busy admiring his mop top flop about as he ran. #BlessedByMayne.

luiz-main.jpg

Universal Love Chris Mayne