Chris Scott SEN interview

• Thread starter Thread starter Gogeelong

Do they plan to miss. Not sure if they practice enough but thats also part of "1" . The sports science guys don't like them kicking too much. For mine , if you miss those shots then what the hell is the good of being fit.

And on that, anyone who is or has been big into fitness will attest to the fact that the fitter you get the better your co-ordination gets, so it may just be an issue that they are getting conditioning into them at this point - the rest will come, blokes that have been kicking a football most of their adult life dont just loose it like that all of a sudden.

It will most likely look be Selwood, Kelly, Hunt, Boak and Christensen/Bartel rotating in 2013 with Corey playing more of a burst role from the bench.

I see what you did there :D:thumbsu:

WOW.

How good is CS. i reckon this bloke will have a statue next to Frank, Bomber, Cookie and Wells by the time he is done - and that won't be for a while.

His vision, presuming it comes off, may well plant him as the next Malthouse, Barassi, Jeans, Hafey, Matthews type as a coach - but he could be the most inventive and creative of the lot of them.

Given that he is taking a champion team and seemingly working for now and the future concurrently using the list management, draft, player development, free agency and on field tactics to Geelong advantage.

To meet the criticism head on and embrace it and turn it to inspiration and positive energy as a 2nd year coach is remarkable.

I just find it amazing that people have been jumping off about small picture things (myself included on occasion) when after listening to that interview you can see the clear and detailed manor in which he goes about his business.

HoW lucky are we to have him...

Go Catters

Thats a TOP Post Mate -agree 1000 percent

Just a couple of points i would add -personally i think it is important that the coach has a successfull playing record -and he was a very good premiership winning player -he was hard to -him and Brad wernt known as the Kray brothers for nothing .

If i was a player i would be much more inspired by playing under someone like Scott (because of his playing record ) than someone like Neeld -whos playing record pales into insigniifigance

One final thing i like about Scott -is he doesnt seem to have an ego -thats why i have allways been a massive rap for Goggin -if you met Billy -there was nothing put on about him at all -where as some players and coaches -they think their the Ants Pants -theve got massive egos and make you sick

He meant "telephoned" Tim Watson phoned Selwood to apologise for the bullshit he was spreading in the media.

seems like a strange rumor to start.
Must fear the Cats subconsciously or perhaps he knows the Bombers are trying to get Dangerfield and spreading a rumor about rift between player & coach would give him 2nd thoughts on choosing Cat land.

I firmly believe it should be illegal for Tim Watson to be able to make phone contact with anyone on the Geelong pay roll.

Yeah right ... just like it was illegal for Watson and co to get Bomber, the weapon and B Mac to windy hill....

I agree but he's a snake and a snake aint gonna change...

Go Catters

Understandable for us to start slow, there's no way that we could be playing like Essendon, Adelaide or even West Coast and last the full season, the players would be stuffed, especially coming off a short pre-season. We are 5-4, just outside the 8 but we are only going to improve from now on, players coming back like Wojo, Menzel and Varcoe is a huge help.

We are coming.

Too true, and the thing that a lot of people are missing is that those 3 teams you mentioned have a lot of kids who will normally drop off later in the season.

Its a lot of footy yet to be played, and we are looking better and better each week!!

Blasted ex Essendon players , their spirits are up at the moment, must be feeling good about the team. Apparently 'diver' Lloyd( he would never have played if the staging rule had been in years ago) had a go at Josh during the CH9 sunday morning show. Time for them to go away, they know nothing about us.

Unfortunately we're not good enough to win at 75% anymore and with all the extra footy we've played we can't maintain 100% fitness throughout the long season.

I'm guessing the plan was to get to the bye at 7-3 or 8-2. Things haven't gone to plan and unfortunately we're now looking at 6-4.

If we still have what it takes I think we'll be looking at winning 9-3 after the bye. That might not be enough to guarantee top 4 though anymore.

Hmm, not so sure about that.
We are only still 2 games out of the 4 and still face all teams above us so we have a chance to take games off them - that loss against the Pies hurts a bit, it would mean we would have been clearly in the 8 and ready for a tilt at the 4.

But if you look at it, after GWS we have carlton & swans after the bye.
Two wins there would get us into 5th(percentage aside), then with a game against Port at home looking like a win, as is GWS the following week.
We then face Collingwood the week after, a win there puts us into the top 4!!

Not only that, Bombers and Adelaide are the two weeks after that - if we carry good form into those games and get a win or two it all of a sudden changes the Complexion of the top 4!!

If this comes to fruition, I expect a fair few bandwagon jumpers :D

I made a maistake of writing this club off before (2009 loss to carlton) and i won't do it again.