Phantom Draft Chris25's 2009 Phantom Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Chris25

Re: 2009 Phantom Draft - Version 2

Why would you prefer cunnington or martin. Heard today at draft camp that martin got better results on the new kicking test than cunnington, meaning martin can kick staighter and isn't that the most important part of the game. I reckon the demons 11 draft pick should be matthew panos not daniel talia. The SA kid can kick straighter than a arrow and he did kick the most goals in the under 18 championships.:)

I considered them drafting Talia at #11, but I still think he'll slip a bit. In the end Melbourne drafted the best talls available in my opinion, and I wouldn't be surprised to see them develop Carlisle into a defender/mobile ruck.

But when you think about it, really, Talia is much more superior to Carlisle as a footballer and overlooking him would be a bit silly in my opinion. Also, Melbourne already have a quick lead-up tall in Jurrah. I think once they have Panos, their forward line will be all set and ready whilst their pick 11 is used on the quality KPD in the draft, being Talia, regardless of injury. If not Talia, then maybe Jack Fitzpatrick as there are question marks all over their ruckmen or Gary Rohan as you have him slipping dramatically. But it's only my opinion.

Speaking of opinions, while I rate Melksham highly, I get a feeling Richmond will take Moore or Bastinac, Moore because of the brother factor but notably Bastinac because if Richmond need a fix on anything, it's kicking skill. Also I get a feeling Melksham will go first round, I can't fit him just yet but I think he's up there with Christensen and Gysberts.

Mate..clubs don't draft players on the "brother factor"...don't be foolish.
Although it is Richmond..and stupider things have been done

We already have a player like that and his name is Brett Deledio. People think that Morabito will go to Richmond but we don't need another outside recieving quick mid. We need a tough inside mid with elite kicking skills.

Tough inside mids dont need to be great kicks they need to get it out to our runners who need to be great kicks altho it doesnt hurt! Still not sure who I'd rather marabito or butcher maybe butcher at the moment cos there will be plenty mids left 2nd round.... If trengrove is still there then done deal!!!

It's looking more and more likely that Butcher will in fact slip out of the top 4, and quite possibly the top 10. Personally, I think this would be a big mistake for any club looking for a key forward. He is the best on offer, and surely he would be the first one to be drafted...

A lot will depend on trade week, and what happens with Hawthorn's first rounder. Rumours are that it will go to Port, who are then considering trading it on to Carlton.

Why would the lions choose allen christensen in the draft when they get gary rohan or brad sheppard who are far better players and have far greater upside and growth still left in them.

I wouldn't say Rohan and Sheppard are far better players, although there is a chance of them both being gone by the Brisbane pick. I would say Christensen has just as much upside, and with guys like Black and Power ageing combined with the need for some speed, I would think Brisbane would prefer a fast midfielder to a fast half forward or strong half back/midfielder.

Why would you prefer cunnington or martin. Heard today at draft camp that martin got better results on the new kicking test than cunnington, meaning martin can kick staighter and isn't that the most important part of the game.

In a game situation, Cunnington's kicking is no worse than Martin's. While his greatest attribute isn't measured at the draft camp, and that is his work rate and attack on the ball. Chances are Martin will go first (and quite possibly at #3), but I would be very happy to get Cunnington.

nice draft chris,i think butcher will drop,but i think your other top five is the way it will pan out. scully and trengove to melb 1 and 2,at 3 richmond will pick martin,at 4 freo will take morabito and at 5 the roos will take cunnington

Mate..clubs don't draft players on the "brother factor"...don't be foolish.
Although it is Richmond..and stupider things have been done

Ever heard of the Krakouer brothers you twit? Last time I checked, they were famous for working together so well on field. Thus it is to be considered a factor.

Plus the Danihers at Essendon, the Selwoods at West Coast and pretty much every Port player who has a brother or cousin:D

Martin and Cunnington seem to be firming for Richmond and North respectively.

Its funny,

Scully
Trengove
Martin
Morabito
Cunnington
Rohan

Are all very different players in their own right, all with weakness' etc.

But there isn't huge amount splitting them.

Smalls top 6.

Why would you prefer cunnington or martin. Heard today at draft camp that martin got better results on the new kicking test than cunnington, meaning martin can kick staighter and isn't that the most important part of the game. I reckon the demons 11 draft pick should be matthew panos not daniel talia. The SA kid can kick straighter than a arrow and he did kick the most goals in the under 18 championships.:)
Thought cunnington didn't test because of a hip injury.

So, I wont be officially updating my draft until trade week is over with. But I have been playing around with it after draft camp. Just thought I would post what I have been thinking...

- as much as I don't agree with it, it looks fairly certain Martin will go #3
- I wont be letting Butcher slip any lower than Sydney at #6
- Rohan will go a tad higher, but not top 10
- Craig will be the big mover, with him finding a home in the second round
- Ah Chee will find himself slipping out of the second round, I think I have overrated him and it's time to be more realistic
- Thomas will be in the second round, after previously not appearing
- Dare will be another player who did not feature before, to be chosen inside the first three rounds
- I'm praying for Fremantle to get another second rounder in trade week, because I want Troy Taylor

- as much as I don't agree with it, it looks fairly certain Martin will go #3

First you had Morabito going to us then Butcher and now Martin. What's with all the changing? Seems you're going off media reports/ BF speculation rather than your own opinions.

I rate Morabito as the next best mid after Scully and Trengove, while Butcher is clearly the best key forward in the draft. Personally, I would take one of them if I was in charge at Richmond. That's why I have had them taking both at one stage or another.

But it seems fairly certain that they'll be taking Martin, and that's the only draft pick I have changed in accordance with media reports. And I did so purely to try to make my phantom draft at least relatively accurate. With Richmond's pick being so early, if I was to ignore the reports on Martin then it would affect the whole of the draft.

I would like to see the explanations for the picks that do not have any.

Since draft camp and with the trades that have been completed so far, the draft has changed a fair bit. Players have moved up the pecking order, while others have dropped. And coincidentally the picks that don't currently have explanations have changed, so there isn't really any point in doing those explanations.

In short though.....Reid (#37) is an athletic KPP and a possible replacement for Leo Barry at the Swans, Winmar (#38) would have added speed and skill to the West Coast midfield, Kennedy (#41) is a lead up forward and could have replaced Lloyd, Taylor (#43) would have given the Lions the speed and crumbing abilities they were looking for, Hutchings (#45) is just a tough and ready made midfielder who could have replaced O'Bree at Collingwood, McNeil (#47) would have been a ready made depth player at the Saints and Jones (#59) is a developing ruck/KPP.

First you had Morabito going to us then Butcher and now Martin. What's with all the changing? Seems you're going off media reports/ BF speculation rather than your own opinions.

You dont just go on who you rate or by who you think fits who, such bias does not improve the quality of your PD.

good effort but butcher no chance at 3 kicks it like his name :footy: martin is a given:thumbsu::thumbsu: kicks it better than all mids + harder than all top 2(inc)

What do you think of Thompson from Claremont? Do you think he will go in the draft, PSD, or as a rookie?

The updated version should be up on the weekend. Uni is getting in the way of a lot of things at the moment.

But until then, here is the first round (no explanations yet). It could still change though....

1. Melbourne - Scully
2. Melbourne - Trengove
3. Richmond - Martin
4. Fremantle - Morabito
5. North Melbourne - Cunnington
6. Sydney Swans - Butcher
7. West Coast - Lucas
8. Port Adelaide - Tapscott
9. Port Adelaide - Panos
10. Essendon - Jetta
11. Melbourne - Carlisle
12. Carlton - Black
13. Adelaide - Rohan
14. Sydney Swans - Melksham
15. Western Bulldogs - Talia
16. Port Adelaide - Stevens
17. Geelong - Christensen

I've updated the opening post with the new first round of my draft, with explanations.

I'll include more about the players themselves in the later rounds, as I am assuming most people will know about the potential first round draftees by now. The second, third and fourth rounds will be posted once I finish the explanations. And I will be putting together a fifth round, based on the teams using all their selections and not passing.

So bare with me, it will get done sooner rather than later.

Dont know if this has been mentioned, but saying Carlton will take a Forward with pick 12 to replace Fev because they didn't get one is complete rubbish. Henderson will prove to be a great option up forward for them in the next few years. Already has 2 years in the system, is a former first round pick. Very sad to see him go from Brissy, he was our next great forward when Bradshaw retired.

Doubt we would take Jetta with pick 10, if Sheedy was still coach, then we certainly would if he was still available.

But then if Sheedy was still coach, we would have picked up Cyril Rioli in the 07 draft.