Phantom Draft Chris25's 2009 Phantom Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Chris25

Your missing Jesse Critchon, might want to reorder. Other then that really good list.

Yeah, I don't have Crichton in there. But it wasn't an oversight. I think he could go anywhere from late first round to early third round, but in the end I had a few KPP's going in the second round which squeezed Crichton out.

I was playing around with Martin/Stevens a bit, and I did initially have Essendon with pick 7 taking Stevens and Port taking Martin at pick 9. But after Essendon's win today, I can see them making the finals and finishing with pick 9. I considered changing Port's pick to Stevens, but thought Martin might be a better fit being a genuine inside midfielder. But it could go either way.

Yeah nice attempt mate, well done. :thumbsu:

Just interested to know why you reckon West Coast will stick to WA boys? Fair enough if the draft order just happens to fall that way, but if you look at their drafting over past years they have no hesitation in picking up interstate players if they're the best available.

The way I see the draft is that the top 20 or so are the standouts, and after this the draft becomes a lot more even. It's because of this I've gone with the SA and WA teams primarily picking home grown players. I figure if there are no clear standouts, you might as well stick to your own state and avoid the risk of them wanting a trade later on.

I'll say it again, I seriously doubt that Richmond will take Morabito. Otherwise, your list looks pretty good.
Why? Have you seen him play? The kid will be an absolute star. If Scully, Trengove and Butcher are gone I'd be rapt to get him.

My issue is with Chris's second pick for us. If Carlisle is the best remaining KPF I'd think we'd grab him there.

Good attempt my bredren, I think your list is pretty good.

Personally, I'm thinking Melbourne might lean towards Scully and Trengove early, and then, if the order stays similar to what you have there, Panos with their second rounder. I think that would be excellent.

In saying that, Lewis Jetta is a player that I really like, so if the draft ended up the way you have it, I would also be thrilled.

I just can't see Freo passing over Morabito. If he's available to them, they'll take him. Why? See Stephen Hill last year!

Why? Have you seen him play? The kid will be an absolute star. If Scully, Trengove and Butcher are gone I'd be rapt to get him.

His kicking is an issue and we need a mid with elite kicking skills more than anything else.

His kicking is not an issue. It's a little high at the moment but nothing that can't be fixed. The important thing is that it goes where he wants it to, off both feet. Meanwhile, he's a 17 year old physically dominating men in the WAFL, and will do the same in the AFL when he fills out. He's a super talent, and that's what we need, more than anything else. You like dogma Floozy - 'best player available'. This guy's a gun, one of the top 4 in the draft. Could easily end up the best. He's big, strong, quick and skilled (without being Luke Hodge) and has an appetitie and feel for the game. In other words, a ripper. We probably won't get him because I can't see Freo not taking him and even if we get pick 3 we're likely to take whichever of Butcher and Trengove is available, but I'd be very happy to see him at Punt Rd.

IMO wc would take either Colyer or Ah Chee with their 2nd rounder

or jetta if he's still available

This is just the current reverse ladder positions.
melb 1 - Scully
Melb 2 - Trengrove
Freo 3 - Morabito
Rich 4 - Butcher
NM 5 - Lucas
WCE 6 - Rohan
Haw 7- Talia
Syd 8 - Cunnington
PA 9 - Martin
Ess 10 - Tapscott
Bris 11 -Stevens
Adel 12 - Gysberts
carl 13 - Panos
WB 14 - Carlisle
Coll 15 - Moore
Geel 16 - Vardy
STK 17 - Crichton

My issue is with Chris's second pick for us. If Carlisle is the best remaining KPF I'd think we'd grab him there.

I think Richmond will be happy enough with the forward line of Riewoldt and Morton, with Vickery rotating through. Also Riewoldt and Morton don't offer a lot of versatility in where they can play, it's up forward or nowhere.

So I think they might look at more versatility, which is what Fitzgerald would offer them. He could well develop into the perfect partner for Vickery, one goes in the ruck while the other goes to FF....

I just can't see Freo passing over Morabito. If he's available to them, they'll take him.

I have little doubt that Fremantle will take Morabito ahead of anyone else, except if we somehow end up with the option of Scully. Personally I'd go with Trengove though, as we don't have a lot of players capable of playing the inside midfielder well.

IMO wc would take either Colyer or Ah Chee with their 2nd rounder.

First off, I don't rate Colyer as a second round pick. I think his height will see him drop to the third round at the earliest.

Ah Chee would be a good choice for West Coast though, but I just don't see it happening. Don't ask me why, because I have no reasoning behind it.....:)

I think Richmond will be happy enough with the forward line of Riewoldt and Morton, with Vickery rotating through. Also Riewoldt and Morton don't offer a lot of versatility in where they can play, it's up forward or nowhere.

So I think they might look at more versatility, which is what Fitzgerald would offer them. He could well develop into the perfect partner for Vickery, one goes in the ruck while the other goes to FF....
You clearly have no idea about our forward line. Morton is a medium, not key forward, and Riewoldt needs a bigger body to help him out. Riewoldt is capable of playing CHB but why would he. And Morton would be looking to move into the midfield at some stage, although he is very valuable up forward.
Fitzpatrick is very much like Vickery, but we've already got Vicks, as well as Putt and Browne. I doubt we'll get a ruck at all this draft. We need a genuine key forward, not two bitsers.

This is just the current reverse ladder positions.
melb 1 - Scully
Melb 2 - Trengrove
Freo 3 - Morabito
Rich 4 - Butcher
NM 5 - Lucas
WCE 6 - Rohan
Haw 7- Talia
Syd 8 - Cunnington
PA 9 - Martin
Ess 10 - Tapscott
Bris 11 -Stevens
Adel 12 - Gysberts
carl 13 - Panos
WB 14 - Carlisle
Coll 15 - Moore
Geel 16 - Vardy
STK 17 - Crichton

Judging by Woosha's comments, I'd say this is actually a very likely pick for us.

I will be shocked to say the least if Morton ever moves in to the midfield. Although that would make his kicking problem less evident...:p

As for Fitzgerald, the versatility I was referring to was in regards to the role which the club would develop him into. Personally, I see him becoming a forward/ruckman. But there is no reason he can't be developed into a Koschitzke type forward. He has good hands, and it will just be a matter of bulking him up over a few years.

Kosi is a pretty good kick... it would take a lot for fitzgerald to be considered a good kick... If he could he would be a genuine top 10

My Mock top 10 boys - pretty confident about the first 8 in particular!

1.Melb – T.Scully

2.Melb – J.Trengove

3.Freo – A.Morabito

4.Richmond – D.Martin

5.Kangas – J.Butcher

6.WCE – K.Lucas

7.Hawthorn – G.Rohan

8.Sydney – B.Cunnington

9.PA – D.Talia

10.Essendon – L.Tapscott

1.Melb – T.Scully

2.Melb – J.Trengove

3.Freo – A.Morabito

4.Richmond – D.Martin

5.Kangas – J.Butcher

6.WCE – K.Lucas

7.Hawthorn – G.Rohan

8.Sydney – B.Cunnington

9.PA – D.Talia

10.Essendon – L.Tapscott

being a long time west coast supporter im hopinh that we indeed do get kane lucas and keep the wa boys home. yet i just cant see it happening

1. scully
2. trengrove
3. morabito
4. butcher
5. lucas

is lucas a certainty for # 5 or is he just hyped up by the west coast supporters ? do the east coast teams rate him? + who is dustin martin and why would he be taken ahead of lucas (i hope he does)........i dont know what wooshas on but i have no idea why he would want to bring lecras out into the midfield when he is doing so well in that small forward role. sureley he should have one more solid midfeilder in his sights at the draft?

1.Melb – T.Scully

2.Melb – J.Trengove

3.Freo – A.Morabito

4.Richmond – D.Martin

5.Kangas – J.Butcher

6.WCE – K.Lucas

7.Hawthorn – G.Rohan

8.Sydney – B.Cunnington

9.PA – D.Talia

10.Essendon – L.Tapscott

I beleive we will be going for the best available midfielder at North's pick.

Looks like Butcher is on the slide.

I think at least one of Talia, Fitzpatrick, Carlisle, Vardy will most likely slide into the 2nd round like Trengrove and McKernan last year.

Looks like Butcher is on the slide.

I think at least one of Talia, Fitzpatrick, Carlisle, Vardy will most likely slide into the 2nd round like Trengrove and McKernan last year.

Yep if the pick's go as per these;

Originally Posted by Nathan Brown #7

1.Melb – T.Scully

2.Melb – J.Trengove

3.Freo – A.Morabito

4.Richmond – D.Martin

I think North would go for Lucas who some on here seem to rate as the next best available midfielder.

5.Kangas – Lucas

But who knows what picks will occur until the day comes around.

North will go for a midfielder, it's almost guarenteed. With the development of Grima, Thompson and Hansen down back, it free's Petrie up to be our tall forward option, with others floating around him.

Our midfield needs a direct injection of class to complement our young on ball brigade. We'll be picking up one of Morabito/Trengove/Lucas if possible.

North will go for a midfielder, it's almost guarenteed. With the development of Grima, Thompson and Hansen down back, it free's Petrie up to be our tall forward option, with others floating around him.

Our midfield needs a direct injection of class to complement our young on ball brigade. We'll be picking up one of Morabito/Trengove/Lucas if possible.

Dont be surprised if Gary Rohan's name is called out.