Phantom Draft Chris25's 2011 Mock Draft

Chris , the Bootsma name got a right up on the AFL website as a possible bolter who may now be 1st round pick, what your opinion on him

I feel like I should be talking up Josh Bootsma, because it seems like Fremantle are the reason he is being talked about as a first round pick. So I should really be setting the ground work for that pick, just in case. :p

I think the main reason he isn't being talked about on BigFooty is because he was initially overlooked for the Draft Combine, and I believe only ended up getting a late invite. So the AFL website don't have a profile on him or a highlights video.

Honestly, I would have had him as a mid to late draft chance even with potential to last until the rookie draft. Lots of good AFL attributes, but just that in between height and a lack of exposure at higher levels saw him slip in my mind.

But yeah, I wouldn't be surprised to see someone rate him quite highly. Think Bootsma is probably the perfect example of how even this draft is.

I'm thinking more likely from here..

Chris greatt read,hope Freo do as well as your draft.
How many picks do you think Freo will use in the ND ?? do you think they would consider Horsley at #58 as I dont think he will make it much further ?? and finally how many rookie spots do we need to fill and who in your opinion would be considered by FREo...cheers

Do you and Snoop, Knightmare, Bulldogsman, Foj etc base your Mocks entirely on your thoughts or do you have "inside info" on what each club is actually interested in and thus place your selections accordingly.

Thanks.

My draft is just my rankings, which is why I have some players much higher than others - Newman, Crisp, Yeo, Ellis-Yolmen. So no real inside information in terms of who is interested in who, just more what I pick up from games in regards to which players have general interest in them.

Some other posters have 'inside info', while others use media reports in addition to their thoughts to try for a realistic draft. But yeah, my draft is largely just my thoughts.

Chris greatt read,hope Freo do as well as your draft.
How many picks do you think Freo will use in the ND ?? do you think they would consider Horsley at #58 as I dont think he will make it much further ?? and finally how many rookie spots do we need to fill and who in your opinion would be considered by FREo...cheers

Looks like we'll be taking 5 selections, passing on one for the PSD and using our final pick for upgrading Lower.

I'm sure Horsley is one they would be looking at. In addition to Lee Spurr, Ryan Cook, Tom Sundberg and hopefully Darren Pfeiffer. Guess it will come down to whether they see Horsley or Spurr as being clear stand outs or if they are happy to wait until the rookie draft for one of the next group. Also don't discount the possibility of re-drafting Clancee Pearce with #71. I would rather we waited until the rookie draft, but from all reports he is impressing so far in pre-season.

As for rookie picks, I believe we have 5 selections. Hard to say exactly who we would target, considering we don't know who will be or wont be available. But if I had to guess I would say a young ruckman (Sandilands), a mature KPP (Busher, Wall), a mature aged midfielder (Hutchings, Cook) and then a couple of kids on top of that.

Looks like we'll be taking 5 selections, passing on one for the PSD and using our final pick for upgrading Lower.

I'm sure Horsley is one they would be looking at. In addition to Lee Spurr, Ryan Cook, Tom Sundberg and hopefully Darren Pfeiffer. Guess it will come down to whether they see Horsley or Spurr as being clear stand outs or if they are happy to wait until the rookie draft for one of the next group. Also don't discount the possibility of re-drafting Clancee Pearce with #71. I would rather we waited until the rookie draft, but from all reports he is impressing so far in pre-season.

As for rookie picks, I believe we have 5 selections. Hard to say exactly who we would target, considering we don't know who will be or wont be available. But if I had to guess I would say a young ruckman (Sandilands), a mature KPP (Busher, Wall), a mature aged midfielder (Hutchings, Cook) and then a couple of kids on top of that.

Cheers, I think Cook would be a good fit....he's just about there already ,as he bunks up with Snos,heard a rumour that Freo flew Wall over here for a look around..so you would say they are more than interested.
Did you mention a player from Canberra that had potential ???

Marcus Crook. Very good player, and very versatile. Should have been on the Giants list from the start. Hard to imagine any team being unhappy with someone like him on their list.

Just updated my draft, with the final draft order including rookie promotions. Was hoping to be able to update it to reflect the actual GWS zone selections, but haven't heard if/who they took.

So as for these zone picks...

Gibson Turner - probably would have slot him in at 27 to Adelaide
Louis Eggar - maybe would have gone to North at 40
Kelvin Williams - would have popped him in late, fourth or fifth round

Sam Milne - wouldn't have dropped out of the top 30
Harry Cunningham - Sydney would have snapped him up at 43
Marcus Crook - late pick to GWS

Maybe. But my draft isn't a reflection of media reports, it's my rankings and what I would do. If the first 11 picks played out this way, I would go tall if I were Brisbane and Elton is the best available.

And I rate Bolger highly. Who's to say he wouldn't get picked up by Brisbane or Essendon before the Saints pick next.

It's probably the most interesting part of the draft really. If I were GWS I would go tall, take my pick of the KPPs before anyone else gets a chance. If that includes 'reaching' then so be it. They are in the position to do it.

Long term I think drafting Patton, Longer, Kersten, Tomlinson, Haynes and Boseley inside the top 15 would set them up very nicely for success. Especially when you consider that there will still be some good midfield talent available when they are picking in the 90s - including mature aged players.

Well done chris enjoyable read.

Really hoping Murray Newman is available at 23 as i would love him, so do wce i think.

It looks like wce is aiming at very quick players with some outside ability.

Hence our interest in Newman, Murdoch and Hill.

No last minute update for my draft. I'll stick with my rankings.

Jack Crisp, Andrew Boseley, Nick Murphy, Brendon Ah Chee and Matt Jacquier will be the bargains I reckon. Particularly the last three, who could prove to be huge steals depending on when/if they get picked.

Tom Sheridan, Sam Kerridge and Clay Smith will no doubt go higher than what I have them, potentially to Fremantle too. So I'll hold off on any calls about them, just in case we do draft them. :p

Otherwise Brad Hill, Seb Ross, Haiden Schloithe, Daniel Pearce and Joel Hamling are the others who should feature much earlier in the real thing. But I'm more than happy with where I have them.

Hey Chris25, firstly, thanks for the time and effort you put in. Secondly, you're one of few to have mentioned Daniel Pearce who we picked up at #49, would love to know a little bit more about him if possible. Thanks.

No last minute update for my draft. I'll stick with my rankings.

Jack Crisp, Andrew Boseley, Nick Murphy, Brendon Ah Chee and Matt Jacquier will be the bargains I reckon. Particularly the last three, who could prove to be huge steals depending on when/if they get picked.

Tom Sheridan, Sam Kerridge and Clay Smith will no doubt go higher than what I have them, potentially to Fremantle too. So I'll hold off on any calls about them, just in case we do draft them. :p

Otherwise Brad Hill, Seb Ross, Haiden Schloithe, Daniel Pearce and Joel Hamling are the others who should feature much earlier in the real thing. But I'm more than happy with where I have them.

Hi Chris, what did you think of Freo's draft?
Also can you provideyour opinion on our picks, particularly the SA boys?
Thanks

What a your thoughts on the players that didn't get drafted that everyone thought would and why they didn't get picked. Frost, Bolger, Manson, Dobosz, Bosely, Nelson, Waldhuter, Spur etc.

Thanks.

I can only think that there was concern about the difference between the best and worst that Dobosz produces. Which is understandable considering he has only played 2 seasons of football.

Also at 191.5cm he may of been seen as being a little short to be a full forward. Apparently was inconsistent in a few draft combine test results.

However I think that he still will have currency for a rookie spot.

Would be interested on thoughts regarding Bosely as I genuinely thought he was in the best 5 tall tall defenders for the 18-19 age bracket.

He obviously has some major deficencies that concerned recruiters for him not to be picked up. I was thinking maybe his disposal is a concern?

Unfortunately I am starting to think Mihocek may have reached his career highlight with selection in the National U/18 AA squad.

At 191cm and around 87kg, he had the advantage of weight on smaller frames in the carnival, but is a 2nd to 3rd tall forward/back.

There is alot of competition in this bracket and if the time of 3.44 seconds is true for the 20 metre sprint testing at the combine, then we are in a bad place.

A slow player of this size is literally going no where in the eyes of recruiters. Thinking he will line up for Burnie seniors in 2012- hope I am wrong as I was in some of my draft picks!!!:(

G'day Chris,
Was wondering if you have a detail run down of Joshua Bootsma as most Victorians don't have much of a clue about him, and your team was the team most interested in him, tryin to get him under father-son and all.
From highlight package, he seems impressive on both sides, but as many will point out, it is only a highlight package after all.
So please shed some light on the kid for us.
Look forward to your reply.

What a your thoughts on the players that didn't get drafted that everyone thought would and why they didn't get picked. Frost, Bolger, Manson, Dobosz, Bosely, Nelson, Waldhuter, Spur etc.

Thanks.

The three I don't know why they missed are Frost, Boseley and Bolger. Frost in particular was mentioned by Emma Quayle a few times as being a potential pick in the 25-30 range, so it wasn't just BigFooty hype either. Maybe Frost and Boseley aren't the most consistent kicks, but neither is Talia. One has a heap of potential, and the other has the performances on the board. Perhaps there were some injury concerns, I don't know.

Manson, I wasn't surprised by. I've long said that only the two WA clubs would draft him, and even then it wouldn't be easy. It will probably take a couple of years for him to settle, that's a long time to carry someone on a senior list.

Nelson, Waldhuter and Spurr are sort of the classic rookie list picks. Small but solid players, who don't have any real stand out qualities. But I've always been a fan of Waldhuter and the way he goes about his football.

Dobosz was always going to be a speculative pick, he is not unlike Manson in that he got talked up early based on a few good showings. A bit Matthew Panos like too.

The three I don't know why they missed are Frost, Boseley and Bolger. Frost in particular was mentioned by Emma Quayle a few times as being a potential pick in the 25-30 range, so it wasn't just BigFooty hype either.

Frost's main problems seem to be his kicking and the fact that he seems to think that AFL football is not a body contact sport. He has got by using his athletic talents and was demolished in the finals.

There is a very good chance at being picked up in the rookie draft, but he would want to work on improving his physicality.

Bolger, I still think he was more a rookie list chance with many clubs taking the minimum amount of players possible in this draft.

Hi Chris, what did you think of Freo's draft?
Also can you provide your opinion on our picks, particularly the SA boys?
Thanks

I liked our draft. Some Fremantle posters seem to think we erred in not taking KPPs, but nobody listens to those posters anyway. It looks like we made the right move seeing as how the draft panned out, in that practically no KPPs were taken after 50.

We obviously went best available, but also managed to fill needs in doing so. Sheridan is basically just a younger Barlow, Crozier will love playing at Subiaco and Forster was the cleanest player in the draft.

I like the Lachie Neale selection, and not just because I predicted it, he fits in well with our first three picks. All the talk pre-draft was that we were interested in Clay Smith, but I probably would have taken Neale ahead of him. Much the same style of player, but Neale is a natural ball winner and has better disposal.

Sutcliffe was an interesting selection, had him more as a rookie prospect. But considering we very nearly picked him last year, we obviously like what we see. I imagine we'll look to develop him into a van Berlo/Crowley like defensive player.

Overall, I think it was a really good draft. A couple of solid late picks, and some potentially elite players early. Just need to top it off with a couple of KPPs in the rookie draft, and some small quick outside players.