Phantom Draft Chris25's 2011 Mock Draft

Also in summaries of picks 12 and 15, you have them confused as to who is going where.

Yeah, for some of the picks I just copied over my profile from my old thread. Will go through and clean it up a bit.

I am hoping Adelaide will take Gibson Turner with our first rookie pick. Exactly what the crows are crying out for and would feel at home at Adelaide with the other boys.

Turner is one of my favourite players. I would have had no problem taking him in the top 30 of the national draft. I can only assume that the whole 'will they, wont they' GWS zone selection thing hurt his chances.

As for Adelaide, I fully expect them to be choosing between Justin Clarke and Gibson Turner. So in that case, I think they'll be of the opinion that Clarke doesn't make it past the first round whereas Turner just might.

But having said that, I would definitely pounce if I were drafting for Fremantle. Could be such a talent at either end of the ground.

Even after this rookie draft, Ben McEvoy is still the only real ruckman on Saints lists.

I found the comments from your recruiters about Jay Lever interesting. I always saw him as a ruckman first and foremost. I'm sure they know a hell of a lot more about him than me, but that's probably why I didn't draft the Saints a ruck - because in my mind, you had already drafted one.

But I'm sure you'll draft a mature aged guy in the rookie draft somewhere.

chris did you cut and paste these summaries from elsewhere?

Yeah, I copied my old profiles over from my previous thread. I'll need to adjust some obviously.

Bombers probably won't take that many smaller players.... Matt Little would be a good chance to be rookied to see if he can do a "Crameri" and have an imapct at senior level next season. We will rookie Anthony Long and possibly take 2 ruckmen as well.

No Leon Davis, Fev or Medders? Or again just more about plugging the lesser names?

I'm going to guess that Davis returns home to WA, and ends up playing in the WAFL. Port Adelaide look to be his best chance, but I don't think he'll go to SA.

Impossible to guess what will happen with Fevola or Medhurst though.

Chris, do you think Callum Papertalk or Dale Wallam are chances to get rookied? Papertalk finished top 5 B&F ahead of Duffy and Eardley while Wallam was invited to the state screening. Both seem like real smokies. I would be interested to hear your thoughts.

As a Blues fan I'd be rapt if we got Waldhuter - just the sort of tough mid we need. Don't know about Staley though - to me not the type we need, I'd be looking either at another mid or a project ruckman (we have enough ready to go rucks, but a genuine ruck for a little down the track/insurance/reserves wouldn't go astray, but perhaps another mid is a greater need). Perhaps Sandilands, who I note you have still around at this pick, or someone like Hannath. As for Jack Frost I think Carlton are not keen on guys who have disposal issues, so that's not likely especially as I don't see that great a need for his type.

Chris, do you think Callum Papertalk or Dale Wallam are chances to get rookied? Papertalk finished top 5 B&F ahead of Duffy and Eardley while Wallam was invited to the state screening. Both seem like real smokies. I would be interested to hear your thoughts.

I included Papertalk as one of the unlucky players to miss, and I think he would be a real shot at going late in the piece. As you said he would be a bit of a smokey, but there is lots to like about him. Is a very nice size for a midfielder with good speed, not unlike Ah Chee who taken by Port in the 40s. What was also pleasing was that he improved his consistency as the season went on, confidence in the air and in front of goals seemed to improve as a result.

Wallam was one that I was very keen to put in, but ultimately I think it might be a year too soon for him. He can still play another season of Colts football next year, can't help but think that that will be the best route for him going forward. Even though he would be a tempting selection this year given what he can do. If more people knew about him I have a feeling he would have received some over-hyping of his own like Manson.

Chris what do you think of Andrew Hayes 26 from Central District's and i think he was on the Sydney list and is a Four-time premiership player in the SANFL.

And from Woodville West Torrens Lee Staple 21 who i thought had a good year.

mate that is a real good read. some players in there that i have thought about but just havent seen enough so good to get your perspectives.

Damien Williams is an interesting one. He could well come back to them via the rookie as may have used it to put wind up him. I think the view of GWS was had the talent but question over how much he wanted it.

Devitt and Thomas are interesting ones but am surprised a couple of the mature age players arent in there. Do you not think Blackwell, Dwyer, OHara, Cook, Hutchings arent that promising?

Also interested in where you rank kids like Derham, Dinham, Rander, Kukliwoski and Nysoukus who i have on the cusp. I left Derham and Rander out but one will go back in now that i know WCE have a 4th pick.

mate that is a real good read. some players in there that i have thought about but just havent seen enough so good to get your perspectives.

Damien Williams is an interesting one. He could well come back to them via the rookie as may have used it to put wind up him. I think the view of GWS was had the talent but question over how much he wanted it.

Devitt and Thomas are interesting ones but am surprised a couple of the mature age players arent in there. Do you not think Blackwell, Dwyer, OHara, Cook, Hutchings arent that promising?

Also interested in where you rank kids like Derham, Dinham, Rander, Kukliwoski and Nysoukus who i have on the cusp. I left Derham and Rander out but one will go back in now that i know WCE have a 4th pick.

Damian Williams was interesting. Was invited to the state screening, but didn't think much of it at the time. Obviously some teams were doing their homework, because I just assumed GWS would keep him given they've had him for the last two years. Sounds like having to go through the draft might just give the rocket he needs, so I guess that's a good thing.

Sounds very much like Ryan Cook will be coming to Fremantle, which is fine with me because he'd probably be my pick of the WA mature aged players. Blackwell I'm not so keen on him, just too much like Schammer for me - gun WAFL player, but a last resort at AFL level.

Hutchings and Butcher were close, and O'Hara really should get picked up. He deserves it, I was pumping him early but have since moved on to some lesser known mature aged guys - like Crook, Goldsworthy and Clutterbuck.

Some of those third tier SA prospects are interesting ones. Derham, Dinham and Rander are nice players, but really could go either way. Dinham is the more classic CHF, but Rander's ability to go in the ruck might help his chances. Personally, I'm a Tom Langford fan but he doesn't seem to get as much attention.

I rate Nyskohus as a good chance to get picked up - just a neat player, strong defensively too. As for Kulikowski, I liked him last year and he has played more in the midfield this season but he isn't a name I've heard much of this time around. So not sure where he sits. Drew Gallard is the one for me though, no state screening invite and not even the greatest season, but one I'd be willing to give a chance to.

Luke Blackwell as given up on afl as he has a very high paying job in perth that allows him to play WAFL footy
Its a shame as he is such a better player now than he was when Carlton recruited him.

An odd pick with Jackson Potter being rookied by Sydney considering they could have put him on as a scholarship player and chose not to.:confused:
More than likely he's just training as he will be a top up player for them at reserves level.

I don't get your logic in giving Lee Spur and Myles Bolger to GWS and Pfeiffer to Port in the PSD. Both clubs had the oppurtunity to select these players with there last picks but passed.

Surely they have there eyes on other players or they want to select them in the RD.

Wilson and Hibberd went in the PSD last year. Grimes, Neates and Hardingham the year before. Not every pick in the PSD has to be a delisted player who didn't nominate for the National Draft.

GWS might look at things and think they do need another ruckman after all, maybe they look things over and think Spurr is actually a better prospect than Ladson or Bevan. Port would have held over their pick just in case they wanted Leon Davis, but maybe things change so they just take someone else instead.

Chris what do you think of Andrew Hayes 26 from Central District's and i think he was on the Sydney list and is a Four-time premiership player in the SANFL.

And from Woodville West Torrens Lee Staple 21 who i thought had a good year.

Hey Chris you missed my question but thats ok :thumbsu:

Wilson and Hibberd went in the PSD last year. Grimes, Neates and Hardingham the year before. Not every pick in the PSD has to be a delisted player who didn't nominate for the National Draft.

GWS might look at things and think they do need another ruckman after all, maybe they look things over and think Spurr is actually a better prospect than Ladson or Bevan. Port would have held over their pick just in case they wanted Leon Davis, but maybe things change so they just take someone else instead.

I certainly believe these players deserve to be on a senior list, I would just be shocked if they get picked in the PSD after being overlooked in the ND. The port situation makes sense though.

It happens a fair bit though Hdecure, clubs would prefer to take a bit more of a punt on NQR mature ages in the PSD - they only have to offer one-year contracts instead of the standard two-year the player would get in the National Draft.

I don't get your logic in giving Lee Spur and Myles Bolger to GWS and Pfeiffer to Port in the PSD. Both clubs had the oppurtunity to select these players with there last picks but passed.

Surely they have there eyes on other players or they want to select them in the RD.

Port said they VERY nearly used their pick in the ND but decided they wanted some time to think it over and analyse a bit more.

Hey Chris,

Any chance of Justin Clarke slipping through to the crows at #5 still do you think, or it most likely Brisbane will pick him, as he is training with them?