Phantom Draft Chris25's 2011 Mock Draft

Re: A Mock Draft In June? Version 2.0

Because Collingwood don't really need anything, so they can afford to go best available regardless of position. They could maybe use a medium sized forward to add another dimension to their forward line, in which case I would go with Duffy even if Kersten was still available.

And just for you, because I know how much you love Witts, my current rankings of the ruckmen...

1. Billy Longer
2. Myles Bolger

3. Jarrod Witts
4. Ben Brown
5. Jay Lever

Testing at the combine will probably show the other chances, but it isn't a strong year for rucks as a fair few of the prospects are more your undersized part time ruck options. Don't expect many rucks to go in the National Draft, teams might be looking to some older players in the rookie draft.

A good 3rd Tall would be a Good Selection. Don't know much about Duffy but Kirsten would be a good selection if he get's to our 1st Round Pick and If we keep it too,

Yeah I aqree Witts would be the 3rd best Ruckman but could have the Biggest Upside:thumbsu:

Chris

Spoken a little bit to Knightmare/Snoop Dog about the mature age guys this year, any guys in the 19 - 22 age bracket that are going to sneak into the earlier rounds from the WAFL/SANFL?

Looked at Monaco's stats, playing more forward in the reserves including a bag of 5, whilst Chalwell is having a solid season in the west as well.

Would love to know of any other speculative picks from the state leagues that you like the look of?

(note: not the older guys 24 + ;))

Probably not much that I haven't already covered, and honestly I don't really see any mature aged players who could sneak into the early rounds. Unless there is a late bolter that is.

Lots of slightly older (19-20 years old) SA players, but I wouldn't expect much more than the rookie draft for the likes of Rankine, Batley, Armfield and Hannath. Terry Milera has been in good form, and should push for a late selection. Best bets for National Draft selection would be Brayden O'Hara and Steve Morris. The Duigan and Puopolo of 2011.

The same goes for WA. Monaco, Busher and Lee should all get late/rookie spots. Your main mature aged players from over west are more the former AFL listed ones like Blackwell, Wilkes and Cook though.

By the time GWS have signed, and possibly on traded, their allotment of mature aged players then I'm not sure there will be much more than depth players left.

There is a huge gap between #2 and #3. I'm interested to see how Witts develops playing against bigger and better competition. He'll take time, but at least he'll be better than Wood.

Longer and Bolger would be the top 2 Rucks as they are the most Ready to play in the AFL.

Witts only played about 40 AFL Games in his Life and at 209cm + and 113kg he would be big enough to match it with the AFL Rucks. Moves Very Well and Good User of the Ball

Would be happy if the draft turned out that way for the Bombers even though we would probably be looking at a tall who could play forward given Pears and Hooker are already solid in defense and Hurley is playing his best footy there at the moment.
On top of that Carlisle has been doing well at CHB for Bendigo and we also have Davis as a tall defender.
The question mark has been on our tall forwards.

Do like frost though and would easily fit him on the list.

The 2 mid selections work for me :)

We may gain a KP forward in Tweeddale who has looked good enough for NSW and Fields is a 40/60 chance to be picked up under F/S later on in the draft as another 190cm defender.

The Lions second pick would be before pick 30. They have a Priority compensation pick for losing a player to the Suns and their using that pick in this years draft.
They get 1 of the two picks at the end of the first round which would be 26 or 27.

The Lions second pick would be before pick 30. They have a Priority compensation pick for losing a player to the Suns and their using that pick in this years draft.
They get 1 of the two picks at the end of the first round which would be 26 or 27.

Find it hard to believe that the lions would use a compensation pick this year given the lack of depth in the draft, when next year there will be the so-called super draft happening - it really seems like very poor mangement.

Very OT- but Brisbane have still got another end of first round compensation pick left which can be used next year, and likely another compo pick (at the very least Band 3, if not Band 2) in compensation for the likely loss of Mitch Clark.

Hence we had 4 picks within the first 35 last year, 3 picks within the first 35 this year (4 picks if we've got a Priority Pick due to less than 5 wins, which seems likely) and 4 picks in the first thirty next year. This means we should hopefully refresh our list relatively quickly, and with Graeme Hadley's strike rate since the 2008 Draft I think you'll find Brisbane supporters aren't complaining.

Really enjoy reading all the hard work you lads put in- Bravo.

Ellis will be an interesting one in the coming months, looks a real tough and nuggety player. Seen plenty of his type before, who don't test all that well.

The above quote from Chris25 is patently wrong. Ellis is an outstanding athlete who tests well both for endurance and speed. I really enjoy Chris' work like I enjoy many other quality posters work in these threads but if you dont know much about a player then dont guess and make sweeping generalised statements. I don't want this to sound grumpy or patronising but I would prefer us all to make comments that are based in fact as much as possible. I am not sure how you could say that Ellis looks real tough and nuggety unless he has been viewed absolutely sparingly.

'Tough and nuggety' doesn't necessarily equate to being a slow plonker on the field. Suban and Johncock for example would come under that description in my mind, but they aren't athletically limited.

As for Ellis and that quote, I was more saying that similar looking players to him have been found out after impressive championships in the draft testing. So he will need to test well. I wasn't actually commenting on his athletic ability, just on his type in general. Maybe that wasn't clear. Good to know that Ellis will blitz the testing though.

I think you have your draft mix up people are calling this years draft the super draft. They are saying its going to be like the 2001 draft.

No thats wrong the draft this year is the one that lacks depth, the 2012 draft is the one that is referred to as looking like the super draft

NEXT year's national draft is shaping up as one of the best talent pools in a decade.

While Greater Western Sydney will dominate this year's early picks, it is next season's lot that is earning comparisons to the 2001 "super draft" that produced Luke Hodge, Luke Ball and Chris Judd.
A comparable bunch of future superstars is expected to emerge next year.
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...on-class-of-2012/story-e6freck3-1226089262240

Anyway I think I have gone off topic enough.

Yeah, next year is shaping up to be a really good year. But I still think the top 30 this year is just as strong as any other year, after that it drops away. So Brisbane should still be in the running for a quality player with their compensation pick.

At the moment, if GC, Port and Brisbane don't win more than 4 games, Brisbane will have picks 8, 29, 30 and 34. Do you think it would be the Lions' best interest to trade a couple of the later picks for a selection around 15-20?

FWIW, this year I think Brisbane has these needs (whether the right player type available at the selection represents "value" is unknown):
- key forward who preferably can play back up ruck
- key defender
- small forward
- line breaking midfielder
So a bit of everything really :eek:

FWIW, this year I think Brisbane has these needs (whether the right player type available at the selection represents "value" is unknown):
- key forward who preferably can play back up ruck ( todd elton)
- key defender ( should be plenty around that pp/2nd round)
- small forward ( dev smith personally 8 to early for me?)
- line breaking midfielder ( sumner, hoskin-elliot)
^^^^^^^^^

Sheehan was saying the same thing in Fridays tele, but what was of further interest is that he said at this stage this is the 10 best players in the draft but not in any real order:

Patton, Coniglio, Wingard, Longer, Tyson, Green, Hoskin-Elliott, Anderson, Adams, Mitchell

Obviously - Mitchell is a swans father/son, and Anderson is a zone selection for GWS (I actually see him more top 15-20 rather then top 10).

Apart from the obvious few - do you see the other guys as top 10 material?

At the moment, if GC, Port and Brisbane don't win more than 4 games, Brisbane will have picks 8, 29, 30 and 34. Do you think it would be the Lions' best interest to trade a couple of the later picks for a selection around 15-20?

- key forward who preferably can play back up ruck
- key defender
- small forward
- line breaking midfielder

I wish I could disagree with you, but Brisbane really do need everything. Given those four picks that you mentioned, an ideal draft if I was picking for Brisbane would be...

#8 - Will Hoskin-Elliot
#29 - Michael Talia
#30 - Jackson Paine
#34 - Sam Gordon

The chances of that happening (the first two in particular) are close to zero, but one can hope. Would give you a longer term forward/ruck in Gordon, with a mobile forward in Paine (who would make a nice duo with Karnezis) to partner Brown.

Ultimately though, Talia will probably go earlier in which case I would take Luke Brown who is an attacking half back/wing and try my luck with a key defender later on in the piece. Along with a small forward or two, maybe try Tipungwuti?

Sheehan was saying the same thing in Fridays tele, but what was of further interest is that he said at this stage this is the 10 best players in the draft but not in any real order:

Patton, Coniglio, Wingard, Longer, Tyson, Green, Hoskin-Elliott, Anderson, Adams, Mitchell

Obviously - Mitchell is a swans father/son, and Anderson is a zone selection for GWS (I actually see him more top 15-20 rather then top 10).

Apart from the obvious few - do you see the other guys as top 10 material?

Jed Anderson isn't eligible until next year, so I don't know why Sheehan would have named him? But considering he has already been at GWS and will rejoin them at the end of the year, it does get confusing.

The rest are definitely top 10 material. I find it hard to place guys like Greene and Adams, because there quite a few of their type in the draft and similar players who have dropped in previous drafts. But they are good players.

I understand why he left Kavanagh out, with his injury a lot of his talk lately is just media hype. He still needs to actually perform again. While I'm a fan of the likes of Elton, Buntine, Grigg and McKenzie, it's hard to really argue with of the names he mentioned.

Cheers Chris. Brisbane currently is so far from being a complete side that best available is the way forward I reckon, a few years before being to draft to address "gaps". With our record under Graeme Hadley, I'm hopeful we'll get some solid prospects this year.

totally disagree brisbanes need for small forwards and quick mids who can use the ball far outweigh "best available" unless its one of the types i mentioned

obviously not hoping for a tambling franklin situation of course

I don't think you can be committed to a needs based draft anymore, especially when one of those needs is a small forward. There just aren't any real genuine small forwards pushing for early selection, and I don't think Brisbane can afford to reach for someone.

Brisbane could perhaps take someone like Murray Newman (small midfielder/forward) in the second round, but otherwise that isn't a need I would be looking at too early.

G'Day Chris, just wondering if you think the Bombers could go after Todd Elton. Or is he GWS bound?

Also wondering if you have any info on how Doug Bond from NSW in the under 16's is going?

Unless Essendon lose the rest of their games, I'd imagine Elton would be well and truly gone by their pick. But even if he was there, I don't think I would go for him. I don't know what Essendon fans are thinking, but I think you already have a good crop of young KPPs.

I was at the Bendigo Bombers game yesterday, and Carlisle was quite impressive down back. And although Hurley is a much better defender than forward, he could be forced to play up forward with Carlisle, Pears and Hooker down back. Steinberg is still looking the goods to me, and Jenkins could be a player in a couple of years. Gumbleton looked about ready for another run in the AFL too.