Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Was Ray Jencke a go home to momma boi?What does Ray Jencke have to do with us?
Was Ray Jencke a go home to momma boi?
That's a yes then. You can't be home every thursday night after training for momma's special pasta in another post code!He was zoned to Hawthorn before the draft was a thing, and played his whole career there. So I guess we’ll never know.
That's a yes then. You can't be home every thursday night after training for momma's special pasta in another post code!
Poor RoJo.Always a spot on the West Coast Big Footy Board for a another whipping boy.
With the probable departure of Nelson there will be a “ Situation Vacant “ sign being installed very shortly.
Each year we need a winner of the Whipping Boy of the Year.
Otherwise know as:
The Chris Masten Medal 🎖
I honestly think he's good because he's a left handed ruckman. It confuses other ruckman by his body positioning, a bit like a south paw in boxing totally throws you off your normal style.Sean Darcy can't jump much either but makes up for it with bulk. Might be taller though.
Well summarised, I said a few weeks back he looked a million bucks with his breakaway from stoppages but then lack impact with disposal.So I've posted this in a few draft threads, but not getting much. Probably a question for the likes of WCE_phil / Monocle etc:
Can someone help me see what I'm supposed to be seeing in Tsatas? Hard to argue with the numbers, but, I dunno, everytime I watch him I'm just...unconvinced.
I see a receiver type who runs more one way than the other, has an albeit impressive knack of getting the ball and carrying it, and doesn't do anything particularly remarkable with it.
From the matches I've watched, I definitely can't see how anyone would want him over Sheezel, and I'd just about be more comfortable if we reached hard for someone like Mackenzie or Humphrey.
How's Kai Lohmann going? I really like him last year, saw him a snippet on Dev and he looked like he bulked up.Here goes the same story again.
I attended the Lions draft function last year, and one of our recruiters gave a good talk about drafting for need as opposed to drafting best talent available.
Regardless what the Lions said publicly last year leading up to the draft, about drafting best players available at our first two picks, we were definitely drafting for need.
He went on to give examples of what happens if you draft best player available, especially with early picks.
More often you end up with a team stacked with midfielders, and he highlighted GWS as an example, where they just have way to many quality mids, that even pushing some to the flanks, they can’t play them all, and eventually they will lose some.
Now you are currently at a different position than GWS, where you probably need players in every position, except for tall defender, but it’s still possible you could go the best player available at your first few picks, and fill different needs.
But it’s also possible that at your first three picks, the best players available are mids, maybe inside mids. Especially if a few of the other teams prioritise other needs.
Can't fault it: Ryan/ Wardlaw both smaller midfielders though. Don't want to end up like Adelaide.So if we were to go into the draft with our current hand, no trades no swaps ect who would you pick?. Need to be realistic with pick positions and who would be available
I’ll go first looking forward to be pulled apart lol
pick 2 : Wardlaw
pick 20: Isaac Keeler….reckon Bailey might be gonsky so good upgrade
pick 26 : Kobe Ryan
Pick 38:Edward Allen
Can't fault it: Ryan/ Wardlaw both smaller midfielders though. Don't want to end up like Adelaide.
Wheres Allens best position? I would say we have a good mix of wingers/ back flanks already
One of those needs based picks I spoke about earlier. Adds speed inside and outside.How's Kai Lohmann going? I really like him last year, saw him a snippet on Dev and he looked like he bulked up.
Wilmot looked awesome the other night, was a great pick up last year.
Yeah I concur from what I saw of Kai last year. He was also very good at ground level, could do some amazing things.One of those needs based picks I spoke about earlier. Adds speed inside and outside.
Kai is a human highlight real in our reserves.
Is an insanely talented leaper and mark. Really good defensively as well, chasing down and applying pressure. Has a fair bit to work on with his field kicking.
Looks like the successor to McCarthy.
Wilmot was also a needs based pick. Adds defence and speed on the outside.
Still needs to work on his disposal.
I’ve always said he’ll replace Answerth in defence.
He’s a different type of kid. Looks like he’ll replace Robinson in terms of character at training and in the senior team.
He’s also a natural in seeing and reading the game, and directing team mates.
Add in Fletcher and both Ashcroft boys, and we’re going to eventually turn in to a running team.
Fletcher probably eventually replaces Dan Rich at halfback.
In case you haven’t seen any of the rumours, we are going hard at Connor McKenna, with the plan to pick him up during the SSP.
Also there’s some suggestion we’re in the running for Darcy Parish if we miss out on Dunkley.
So if we were to go into the draft with our current hand, no trades no swaps ect who would you pick?. Need to be realistic with pick positions and who would be available
I knew I should have put mine in earlier. I had Szybkowski and Smith in mind for you guys.Ok ............. I will give it a go.
Pick 02: George Wardlaw Oakleigh Chargers. 182 cm 82 kg ...caveat the medical of those dame hamstrings, need to first win me over.
I reckon one of these three slide out of the first round Henry Hustwaite, Ollie Hotton and the most likely Mitch Szybokski.
Am assuming both Hewett and Ginbey are well gone.
Pick 20: Mitch Szybokski. 186 cm 84 kg Dandenong Stringrays. Think Jhye Clark light. Mr Consistent would team up well with his midfield mate - Jye Culley.
Pick 26: Harry Barnett. 202 cm 93 kg. West Adelaide. Good young ruck KPP prospect, sticky hands and great mark, either in intercept or attacking option.
PicK 38: Coby Burgiel. 183cm 76 kg. Gippsland Power.The prototype that ROB & Co love. Smart plays multiple positions kicks goals and racks up possessions.
Other names that I fell are very RO'B & Co type picks, that could come into consideration at 38 are.
Jakob Ryan. 189 cm 77 kg Glenelg. Is one that I think is very under ratted, already regularly playing league for Glenelg, both an attacking and close checking HBF that plays taller than his 189, he is very clean, reads the play well and wins the one on ones most times.
One from left field that could come into play, is Kaleb Smith. 181cm 77 kg. East Fremantle. Think Jordan Clark from The Unwashed.
He has speed and the run and carry, thats currently sought after, from an attacking HBF, kid also has pretty good foot skills.
I knew I should have put mine in earlier. I had Szybkowski and Smith in mind for you guys.
I was going (2) Wardlaw, (20)Szybkowski, (26) Darcy Jones, (27)* Keeler and (38) Kaleb Smith.
Yes, I was going to cheat and add in the pick you’ll likely receive from Port for Riolli.![]()
Keeler to me is the ultimate tease, if he could just harness his talent and play consistent football, then he could well end up being the best player in this cohort.
When he is on, he is an opposing coaches nightmare, with his speed and agility at 198 cm he is unstoppable.
Great over head and with his leap is a very strong overhead mark, that makes him a very handy backup ruck option for a chop out role.
The Paddy Ryder playing style comparisons are spot on.
With his concentration as it currently is, I would be tempted to play him at CHB in his formative years, that way the best CHF keep him in the game and he learn his craft.....ultimately with his skill set, if he ever gets it all together for a 100 minutes, he would be one hell of a damaging CHF himself.
At pick 27 he would very much, be worth picking........ high reward if he makes it.
We will need to draft an elite runner with our second rounder if we pick Wardlaw with 2. If he's a good two way runner he could be an option. Other players of that ilk i can see from 20 to 38 are Kobe Ryan and Cowan.I'll throw hands,,, we should really be picking Billy Dowling, goal kicking winger that racks up the touches mid 20 pick
Assuming 5 picksSo if we were to go into the draft with our current hand, no trades no swaps ect who would you pick?. Need to be realistic with pick positions and who would be available
Pick 2: Sheezel, for mine the most talented in the draft. Norf may well take him, if not it's him for me. With Willie going, talented forward with xfactor that can midfield ticks lots of boxes for mine.So if we were to go into the draft with our current hand, no trades no swaps ect who would you pick?. Need to be realistic with pick positions and who would be available
Assuming 5 picks
2: Mattaes Phillipou - Tall midfielder/ fwd. Super clean at ground level, terrific overhead kicks goals, is a natural footballer.
Best available mid & has a bit of flexibility, has been restricted by injury but still performed to a high level.
20: Lewis Hayes- Key Def. Good overhead, intercepts well. Very good under pressure.
With none of the likely fwds or mids available great I think we can snatch up whoever slides here. (Wouldnt be unhappy with Barnett)
26: Jacob Ryan- Back flank. Good 1 on 1, rebounds well, good size, ticks a lot of boxes.
Has a lot of upside IMO & has performed well at all levels
38: Jed Hagan - Tough no frills mid, can play back as well, generally tidy
Caleb Serong light, is the opposite of a west coast pick. We could have a budget Kerr instead we'll go after another Tom Lamb
74: Olivier Northam - Is a really good player yet a bit of a tweener at 195 cm, could be a handy utility type fwd/ruck as an upgrade on B.Williams
A bit short to ruck at the top level but on talent alone is worth checking out
I think he's just not great body on body. With an open field in front of him look out though. Ive been thinking CHF is his best spot yet his kicking is also a worry. I'd hate burning chances delivering inside 50 and also struggle a CHF that con't convert those long shots isn't ideal.Keeler to me is the ultimate tease, if he could just harness his talent and play consistent football, then he could well end up being the best player in this cohort.
When he is on, he is an opposing coaches nightmare, with his speed and agility at 198 cm he is unstoppable.
Great over head and with his leap is a very strong overhead mark, that makes him a very handy backup ruck option for a chop out role.
The Paddy Ryder playing style comparisons are spot on.
With his concentration as it currently is, I would be tempted to play him at CHB in his formative years, that way the best CHF keep him in the game and he learns his craft.....ultimately with his skill set, if he ever gets it all together for a 100 minutes, he would be one hell of a damaging CHF himself.
At pick 27 he would very much, be worth picking........ high reward if he makes it.