Clash Strip

• Thread starter Thread starter Jem

So Essendon FC saying we played our first game in a black jumper with a red sash is a crock?

1873 First game played. Players wore black guernsey with red sash.
If you were to speak to Gregor McCaskie in the Hall of Fame, he would either direct you to me, or he would tell you himself that the most recent evidence shows a Navy jumper for 1873-74, a Navy jumper with Red sash 1875-89, Black jumper with Red Sash 1890-2007.

What is reported is in Flying High, which that section was written in 1983.
And researched some time before that.
At that point, no-one had bothered to read 'The Footballer' magazines in the State Library from 1873 to 1880.
Or the newspapers listing Essendon as 'the Blue and Reds'.
They didn't because they trusted the article on McCracken in 1912.

Now, that doesn't stop certain people nominating 1873 when it suits them. (Web administrators included.)
And there's probably people who overheard someone else say 1873 and went with it themselves.
But the people actually involved in the history of the club will tell you 1890 was when the Black & Red JUMPERS came in.
Black & red were the official club colours. on the socks from 1873, but not on the jumpers.

it looks crap no offence.. maybe a red or black jumper with the bomber emblem on the front.. that would look heaps better i think its simliar to ur training jumper..

Im hoping the AFL goes one better and has the players names on the back at some stage of the competition. I think it really adds to the prestige for a player to have their family name on the back of their guernsey. I know if I were the father of a player, to see my family name go round one more time on the field would make me proud.

Can you wait a couple of years?

In the AFL shops you can already buy jumpers with names on.
It's only a matter of time, and I have heard it will be fairly soon.
Probably two years is all it will be before this comes in.

Can you wait a couple of years?

In the AFL shops you can already buy jumpers with names on.
It's only a matter of time, and I have heard it will be fairly soon.
Probably two years is all it will be before this comes in.

afl guernseys are cluttered enough now.................bloody sponsors logos front and back...........afl logos all over the place...........3-4 colours on some guernseys.............monikers or emblems on others..............and how effective will it be anyway, there's not much room on the back of guernseys. the size of the numbers will have to be reduced.

if introduced it is a clear indication that the wish for greater merchandise sales are behind it, more so than the concept of alternate strips which actually serve a purpose.

this is just another concept the AFL will be borrowing from their big brother league - the NFL. they've already pilfered comcepts such the salary cap, trading, player draft, draft camp, all-americans, hall of fame, etc. we'll be moving to a night GF so we can have our own superbowl extraveganza too.

ahhhhhhhhhhh Australian Rules Football traditions, what are they????

afl guernseys are cluttered enough now.................bloody sponsors logos front and back...........afl logos all over the place...........3-4 colours on some guernseys.............monikers or emblems on others..............and how effective will it be anyway, there's not much room on the back of guernseys. the size of the numbers will have to be reduced.

if introduced it is a clear indication that the wish for greater merchandise sales are behind it, more so than the concept of alternate strips which actually serve a purpose.

this is just another concept the AFL will be borrowing from their big brother league - the NFL. they've already pilfered comcepts such the salary cap, trading, player draft, draft camp, all-americans, hall of fame, etc. we'll be moving to a night GF so we can have our own superbowl extraveganza too.

ahhhhhhhhhhh Australian Rules Football traditions, what are they????

How do you expect us to market the game internationally then? Hold footy clinics around the world? Sure, its blatant marketing, but it couldnt hurt to extend our game beyond a couple of shonky exhibition games to a broader audience.