Scandal Class A Geelong Flog gives Crim a ‘Hello Sailor’ (Paywalled)

Sorry it’s paywalled - but everybody's favourite Geelong right wing jerk is exercising his “working class boy” image associating with the fattest Crim in town.

People find their own level, and in some cases they’re plumbing the depths with some prize winning turds.

https://stories.theage.com.au/see-who-was-seated-at-the-table-with-gangland-figure-mick-gatto-94538

(For what its worth - The Age has a special on subscriptions for 3mths - might be worthwhile for those who want to follow current issues).
Interesting that you call him a "right wing jerk" (and yes I know he is an outspoken conservative), when there are 2 prominent and often militant union figureheads also on his boat.

Gatto is a shady individual, but he was seemingly the smartest bloke in the underworld and they were never able to pin him with anything.
It's 2 private citizens hanging out, within a larger group. Not a scandal, not even close

Interesting that you call him a "right wing jerk" (and yes I know he is an outspoken conservative), when there are 2 prominent and often militant union figureheads also on his boat.

Gatto is a shady individual, but he was seemingly the smartest bloke in the underworld and they were never able to pin him with anything.
It's 2 private citizens hanging out, within a larger group. Not a scandal, not even close
He’s a Right Wing Jerk because he espouses anti social-justice ideals, he enjoys blaming, ridiculing and berating the unemployed, the indigenous peoples, the homeless, single mothers and every other socially disenfranchised group.

Regards ‘lefty crooks’ - Gone are the days when criminal trade unionists hold any political leanings - The fact that he is friends with a couple of heavy weight crims merely brings his character into question, not his politics.

And I’m ok with you not thinking this is scandalous - but it’s an unusual career move. 😏

He’s a Right Wing Jerk because he espouses anti social-justice ideals, he enjoys blaming, ridiculing and berating the unemployed, the indigenous peoples, the homeless, single mothers and every other socially disenfranchised group.

Regards ‘lefty crooks’ - Gone are the days when criminal trade unionists hold any political leanings - The fact that he is friends with a couple of heavy weight crims merely brings his character into question, not his politics.

And I’m ok with you not thinking this is scandalous - but it’s an unusual career move. 😏
It's a weird thing to get steamed up about about. Sam, Mick Gatto, Peter Marshall, Earl Setches and various others hanging out on a boat. Unless they're planning a drug or weapon smuggling racket whilst on board, they're not doing anything wrong or scandalous.

Sam's 80 and lives in a Docklands penthouse, I doubt he's particularly worried about his long-term career prospects. He's also never been the type to care about what his detractors think.

Sam was close mates with Fred Cook, hanging with guys with underworld connections isn't new for him.

It's a weird thing to get steamed up about about. Sam, Mick Gatto, Peter Marshall, Earl Setches and various others hanging out on a boat. Unless they're planning a drug or weapon smuggling racket whilst on board, they're not doing anything wrong or scandalous.

Sam's 80 and lives in a Docklands penthouse, I doubt he's particularly worried about his long-term career prospects. He's also never been the type to care about what his detractors think.

Sam was close mates with Fred Cook, hanging with guys with underworld connections isn't new for him.
Where, at any point, have I indicated I’m angry or upset?

That’s your invention.

As I stated, I just think it's an indication of the levels he’ll go to obtain ‘notoriety’ or be noticed - which is why I posted the article.

He’s an unlucky man - he can’t write, sing, play an instrument, paint, play footy any more, or make a point of difference in any way other than dog-whistling and hanging with scum.

That’s your invention.

As I stated, I just think it's an indication of the levels he’ll go to obtain ‘notoriety’ or be noticed - which is why I posted the article.

He’s an unlucky man - he can’t write, sing, play an instrument, paint, play footy any more, or make a point of difference in any way other than dog-whistling and hanging with scum.
Unlucky?

He's dodged death several times and made it to 80. Had a HOF 300 game footy career, then got paid millions for a 2 hour a week gig that lasted 25 years. Bloke has had far more successful career and interesting life than either of us could ever hope to have.
He's never needed to be able to write, sing, play an instrument etc to make a living.

It get you hate him, but he's just an old bloke who has a platform due to the success he had in the past. How much he and what he says or does lives in your head is up to you.

That’s your invention.

You’re helping him.

Unlucky?

He's dodged death several times and made it to 80. Had a HOF 300 game footy career, then got paid millions for a 2 hour a week gig that lasted 25 years. Bloke has had far more successful career and interesting life than either of us could ever hope to have.
He's never needed to be able to write, sing, play an instrument etc to make a living.

It get you hate him, but he's just an old bloke who has a platform due to the success he had in the past. How much he and what he says or does lives in your head is up to you.

Yes, talentless, no way to attract attention other than by doing stupid things, associating with stupid people and making stupid statements

His previous career is irrelevant, although his was hardly of the level of Sam Neil or Angus Young - clearly money and very little talent leaves you impressed.

As for hating him, I wouldn't waste the energy - I just know a fraud and a bigot when I see one.

Which leads me to question why you’re defending him - although your username tells me you are brothers in hatred - and as such you’re not worth my time. IGNORED.

Yes, talentless, no way to attract attention other than by doing stupid things, associating with stupid people and making stupid statements
Mate, you never gave us your views on Mickey O and what he got up to doing stupid things and associating with stupid people, yet is deified by the Swans supporters. What he's done is a thousand times worse than anything Newman's ever done.
I assume you'll ignore this again...

His previous career is irrelevant, although his was hardly of the level of Sam Neil or Angus Young - clearly money and very little talent leaves you impressed.

As for hating him, I wouldn't waste the energy - I just know a fraud and a bigot when I see one.

Which leads me to question why you’re defending him - although your username tells me you are brothers in hatred - and as such you’re not worth my time. IGNORED.
I have no problem admitting, that I like Sam. Always found him interesting and amusing.

He doesn't and never needed to be Sam Neil and Angus Young to have had a successful career. They're world famous and he's Australia famous, more than enough to leave him very well off.

Sam was the original Kane Cornes, just on a larger scale. Was willing to sacrifice widespread popularity to play the chief provocateur and was very successful doing it. It also built him a loyal fan base that has stuck with him for a generation.
None of whom are likely to care that he hangs out with Mick Gatto.

Sam and this whole situation seems to bother you enough to create this thread. So it clearly angers you and/or he lives in your head to some degree.

Just spent 10 days in hospital after having 2 mini strokes.

He couldn’t talk properly and luckily his partner got an ambulance straight away.

He had a narrowing artery in his neck that caused a bleed on the brain.

He’s ok now.

The campaigner is 80. Hes a product of his times

I feel like people go looking for reasons to talk about him these days. The Footy Show hasn't been on air since 2019 and I've never met a person that admits to listening to his podcast. Pretty sure some lackey at The Age is paid to listen to it just so they can see if there's anything they can get some mileage out of.

Could be. 🤷🏻