Universal Love Classic Carlton Games

Took the words right out of my mouth. I’ve watched a couple of games (big thanks to blues4Eva!!) in the last couple of days which showed what could have been for whitehead and in particular brad pearce. The speed Pearce possessed was amazing.
One of my fondest memories of Brad Pearce was at the MCG V *. Gavin Wanganeen couldn‘t keep up with him on the lead and Brad smashed him. I reckon he kicked 6 goals.

I’m currently working my way through West Coast V Carlton at Subiaco. I think Round 21 1995.

Things of note.

How different the flow of the game was in 1995? The umpiring was significantly different and contributed to a game that was well worth watching.

West Coast was packed to the rafters with talent but I think the Blues shaded them in overall talent.

The classic Spalding hit on McKenna was bone crunching (but not worthy of suspension;))

Greg Williams was constantly booed.

The one on one battles were all over the ground but out wide it was captivating. Hanna and Mainwaring was a beauty. Camporeale v Matera was sensational.

The Kouta and Christou double act was great to watch. Too bad injuries robbed us of 10 seasons of WOOFS and KOUTA!

So much more but I’ll you with one last observation. I think Deany and Woosher went to the same barber.
In my opinion, one of the greatest shirt fronts ever.

One of my fondest memories of Brad Pearce was at the MCG V *. Gavin Wanganeen couldn‘t keep up with him on the lead and Brad smashed him. I reckon he kicked 6 goals.
Was that a very wet day?

The same day diesel got cleaned up by Mark Harvey then banged one home from 45m out with a wet pill not long after.

Just one last recollection from that West Coast game. How good was Adrian Whitehead? Such a shame that his career was ruined through injury. He would have developed into another Ratts.

Yeah, we seemed to lose a number of really talented young players in the following years. And he was certainly one of them. But don't think he was anything like Ratts. Quick outside player vs. a slow inside player.

Was also at that game. Standing on the steps at the city end of Subiaco. Was a very intense and tough game. The Baggers supporters were as good as the team that day. Never felt the minority or the 'away team.

...and Earls' shirtfront on Bluey McKenna!
I complimented him about it once. (Used to see him once every month through work when i lived in WA).

At the same time, with a laugh, i told Earl i kinda felt sorry for Bluey. If you've met Earl, you know he is one big unit.
I'm 6/2 and felt very small in his presence haha.

Anyway, a cracking game it was and absolutely worth reliving.

Go Baggers
Fond memories of the last game in 95 before the finals. v Eagles over there. Engrossing.

Recollect one period when the ball didn't get far before it went over the boundary line. Back and forth. Not pretty footy but hard fought. Loved SOS.

On SM-T515 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Carlton v Geelong Round 12

This game was a modern day classic and is generally accepted by Carlton fans as one of the best home & away games of the last 20 years, if not longer

This our next one 😀

This game was a modern day classic and is generally accepted by Carlton fans as one of the best home & away games of the last 20 years, if not longer

This our next one 😀
Great game but I would rate the contest at Subiaco vs West Coast in 95 as the better H/A game.

Had no work to do this arvo, working from home, so, for some reason, searched the 1995 prelim and watched it. What a team, so many memories.

I remember being so nervous as kid before that game, few early injuries but had it in the bag from pretty early. Geez we played well.

Watching it again, loved it. Old school footy, big hits, no deliberate out of bounds, parkin yelling down the phone 10 goals up, glue pot centre square, great players (madden, Sexton (so underated), SOS killing duck, sticks, big Earl, Hanna) and youngsters stepping up (kouta dominating, pearce, whitehead - geez he could've been something)

That's when footy was at its best, will never be as good as the mid 90s for me. Great commentary as well, Ian Robertson so underated

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

The ultimate moment for me, and my first live game to boot as a 12 year old kid down from Ballarat with his nanna, was the round 14 match versus * at Windy Hill 1975. The second quarter had it all. 14 goals 1 point, went for 40 minutes, and had the biggest stoush at half time which included dudes from the crowd, trainers, coppers. Was a completely psycho introduction to VFL footy for a little country kid, to say nothing of the feral * fanatics on the terraces. I can still remember my nan clutching my arm as we made our way through the mob, tisk tisking the language. I loved it!! Would love to see that quarter again.....
I was there. Funniest was when Swan Mckay, who was easily BOG that day, kicked that behind in the 2nd qtr. Whole Carlton crowd booed.

Swan kicked 8. And was reported. Craig Davis, who was looking to become a star was knocked out twice. Beginning of the end for him (at Carlton).

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

This our next one 😀
My son and I have been watching the 1995 season. Last night was Rnd 12 v Geelong. I remember I took my two young sons to that game, and could only recall Bradley's dive in the goal square to spoil Abletts goal in the dying moments of the last quarter. It was great to see it again. But having watched the season so far, it is remarkable how well Campo played for a first year player. Whitehead too, consistantly good. Hanna great. Bradley run, run, run, pinpoint passing.. Dean, Sexton, McKay attacking and kicking goals from half back. Silvagni and Christou spoiling down back. Pearce so quick, good mark, and what a deadly kick! A young Kouta. So many others. But, what about Greg Williams, wow! How did he manage to read the play and get the ball? A "slow" player who just breaks the tackles and dishes out a handball or a kick under extreme pressure to a team mate 9 times out of 10, just wonderful. It is a pity Parko gave him the flick when he tried out for Carlton. Might have won a couple of extra flags with him had he been recruited as a young fella. Looking forward to the next game in a couple of days.
BTW.
Umpires, quickly blew the whistle and bounced the ball before it developed into a rugby scrum. Interchange was minimal, players actually played on each other.

My son and I have been watching the 1995 season. Last night was Rnd 12 v Geelong. I remember I took my two young sons to that game, and could only recall Bradley's dive in the goal square to spoil Abletts goal in the dying moments of the last quarter. It was great to see it again. But having watched the season so far, it is remarkable how well Campo played for a first year player. Whitehead too, consistantly good. Hanna great. Bradley run, run, run, pinpoint passing.. Dean, Sexton, McKay attacking and kicking goals from half back. Silvagni and Christou spoiling down back. Pearce so quick, good mark, and what a deadly kick! A young Kouta. So many others. But, what about Greg Williams, wow! How did he manage to read the play and get the ball? A "slow" player who just breaks the tackles and dishes out a handball or a kick under extreme pressure to a team mate 9 times out of 10, just wonderful. It is a pity Parko gave him the flick when he tried out for Carlton. Might have won a couple of extra flags with him had he been recruited as a young fella. Looking forward to the next game in a couple of days.
BTW.
Umpires, quickly blew the whistle and bounced the ball before it developed into a rugby scrum. Interchange was minimal, players actually played on each other.
Yeh it’s great footy to watch

Universal Love Classic Carlton Games