Re: 20. Clinton Benjamin

From the CFC website:

Selection 51
Clinton Benjamin
DOB - 27/07/1988
Hgt - 189.2
Wgt - 80.5

Super quick defender/wingman from Broome in far North WA. WA U18 representative this year and AIS/AFL Academy Graduate. Ran a 2.95sec for 20m at the NAB AFL Draft Camp. A combined total of 24.74sec for the Repeat Sprint Test saw Clinton ranked in the top 3% of players undertaking the test in Canberra.

I will be looking after Clint this year. Wanted to pick up one of the kids as i took an interest in the U18 champs last year.

Not much to report at the moment as Clint has has a quadricep strain for a few weeks now (in fact i think we are about on a month to be precise). I am hoping he is right to line up for the Bullants next practice match (not this weekend but the weekend after), and i will do my best to get along and report.

In the meantime, it is often interesting to wind back the clock on the kids, remembering that recruiters are watching them from the time they are 15 and 16 playing in the under 16's champs. I recall seeing this article last year when i was reading up on the kids prior to the champs.

Source: http://www.theage.com.au/news/Geoff-McClure/Sporting-Life/2005/04/13/1113251680511.html
He's only 16, but boy can he play

When you see AFL talent scouts and player football managers watching a game of school footy involving boys who will not be old enough to be recruited for another 18 months, it usually means one thing - a youngster with super talents is playing. Which was precisely the scenario at Melbourne Grammar yesterday when word got out about a certain 16-year-old Aboriginal boy from Western Australia who not only has outstanding talent but is also 192 centimetres (6ft 4in in the old) tall (and still growing) and can run 100 metres in under 11 seconds to boot.
Clinton Benjamin is his name and he turned out for his school, Perth's Hale school, just a few days after returning home with the rest of the team which represented Australia in the under-17 international rules series in Ireland. Now, both his Australian Institute of Sport coach Alan McConnell and his school coach Brian Clarkson were careful not to single Benjamin out at the risk of being unfair to his teammates, but others who have been watching his progress say he has the hallmarks of being a future superstar.

wbSPLIFEclinton_narrowweb__200x270.jpg

Clinton Benjamin, a 16 year old from Broome playing for Hale against Melbourne Grammar.
Photo:Vince Caligiuri

Described by McConnell as a one-touch player, not only is he a high flyer (as he showed in this photograph from yesterday's game) and can he play back or forward but, because of his speed and athleticism, he is already an eye-catcher. "He was going on 70-metre searing runs in Ireland with opponents chasing him the whole way," said McConnell. AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan is another who has has been impressed by the teenager. "He has got the tools you want to see on the AFL playing fields," said the usually conservative Sheehan. "With good management, good coaching and with the kid keeping it all together, we look forward to seeing him appear on the MCG or Subiaco."
Others to impress in Ireland were another 16-year-old Aboriginal from Western Australia, Leroy Jetta, Scott Gumbleton, also from Perth, and Bendigo's Joel Selwood, brother of the twins Troy (Brisbane Lions) and Adam (West Coast), who began their AFL careers this year. Indeed, one of the highlights of the Irish tour, from Western Australia's perspective, anyway, is that 10 of the 30 boys who toured are all home-grown WA boys, a sure sign that the state that has produced only a handful of drafted players in the past few years might be about to turn things around. "It represents a terrific group - WA is basically back on track," said Sheehan.

It is interesting and exciting to note that at the time he was mentioned in the same breath as some of the top 10 draftees. Many have asked why he slipped to #51. I obviously can't answer as i am not skilled in the area of recruitment, however my naive understanding is that his form dropped slightly after the U16's, and he was hampered by some injuries, and perhaps being that in-between height (he is listed as 189.2cm on the CFC web-site, not 192 as reported here), he might have struggled to find a regular position on the field. IN his junior footy he has been played in defense, including Key Position roles, up forward and on a wing. IMO his best position at AFL will be as an attacking wingman. I belive that due to these factors his form curtailed a little. At times there may be a perception that he lacks aggression and intensity. He seems like a nice, meek kid and he may need to develop this side to his game....but i suspect it is also in part due to the ease and athleticism over which he covers the ground, he fair dinkum moves like a gazelle.

Anyway, hope this can satisfy some curiosity until we (hopefully) see him line up for the ants in a fortnights time. :thumbsu:

Training Pic taken 28/02/07 courtesy of Italian Styles.

normal_29.jpg

What a beautiful specimen for an AFL footballer :eek:

No strapping on the quad, not sure if he participated in full training, but kind of looks that way. Might try and search for a training report as it is difficult for me to get there with work committments. Hopefully he will line up for the next Bullants praccy match :thumbsu:
http://www.thesexysquad.com/gallery/displayimage.php?album=51&pos=28

I'm pretty much going to treat this as an online scrapbook of Clint's season at CFC.

another pic from training...and again, a great physique for a modern footballer. Could potentially be a great steal for #51.

clint.jpg

With another 4 or 5 kilo's on him, he really will have the perfect build on him for the modern game.

So Gilly, he's back at full training? What expectations can we have of Benjamin in 2007?

With another 4 or 5 kilo's on him, he really will have the perfect build on him for the modern game.

So Gilly, he's back at full training? What expectations can we have of Benjamin in 2007?

I haven't been able to get along to training so not 100% sure. Haven't seen any reports on TC of late either. I am assuming from the latest pics though that he is back into full training. Am hoping like hell he is playinig in the Bullants match on Sunday and i will be able to write a report.

As far as expectations for 2007, well just a mugs opinion, but I suspect he will play most of the season in the Ants and try to find his best position. As i have said before, I think that will be as an attacking wingman and I think his assetts would be wasted playing deep at either end, although he has the ability to play as a quick leading forward or on the third tall down back. There are obvioulsy others in front of Clint in this role, but possibly with injuries later in the year and good form in the Ants we could see a senior debut later in the year. I really think he needs a year or two development playing against men and i hope Mitchell can develop some real 'grunt' and aggression into his game.

I haven't been able to get along to training so not 100% sure. Haven't seen any reports on TC of late either. I am assuming from the latest pics though that he is back into full training. Am hoping like hell he is playinig in the Bullants match on Sunday and i will be able to write a report.

As far as expectations for 2007, well just a mugs opinion, but I suspect he will play most of the season in the Ants and try to find his best position. As i have said before, I think that will be as an attacking wingman and I think his assetts would be wasted playing deep at either end, although he has the ability to play as a quick leading forward or on the third tall down back. There are obvioulsy others in front of Clint in this role, but possibly with injuries later in the year and good form in the Ants we could see a senior debut later in the year. I really think he needs a year or two development playing against men and i hope Mitchell can develop some real 'grunt' and aggression into his game.
I know it is often hard to say, unless we're talking about a Murphy or Gibbs, but is your gut-feeling that he will be a longterm player at the club?

Gut feeling is that he has the ability to be, yes. How is that for appropriately non-committal?? :D

Have it on (hopefully ;) ) good authority that Clint won't be playing in the Ants practice match this Sunday and needs another week of full training before he is ready to go.

Looked great standing at the players race today, mucking about with Eddie...hopefully he can stay fit and crack it for a game next week. :thumbsu:

Great to hear that Eddie gets down and supports the boys.

Always good to have that sort of atmosphere. Any more boys show their head?

AWG it was great to see all the young boys are hanging out and building some rapport. Bryce was in at the 3/4 time huddle, giving Ando and Grigga some encouragement.

Saw bryce, sam jacobs, benjamin, eddie, carlos and bower. HBF, anybody i missed??

AWG it was great to see all the young boys are hanging out and building some rapport. Bryce was in at the 3/4 time huddle, giving Ando and Grigga some encouragement.

Saw bryce, sam jacobs, benjamin, eddie, carlos and bower. HBF, anybody i missed??

Great to hear that Gilly! :)

Do you get the feeling we are going to be witnessing something special down at carlton over the next few years? Not talkign about wins only, i'm talking about a wonderful place to be :) Good support between teammates, a real sense of pride for the club and for each other.

Wow it gives me goosebumps.

Great to hear that Gilly! :)

Do you get the feeling we are going to be witnessing something special down at carlton over the next few years? Not talkign about wins only, i'm talking about a wonderful place to be :) Good support between teammates, a real sense of pride for the club and for each other.

Wow it gives me goosebumps.

AWG, that was certainly the impression i got today...oh and to give you more goosebumps, HBF and I noted that of the boys not playing, Bryce was the only one wearing a CFC polo....going back to SA in 2 years huh?? BOLLOCKS

Have it on (hopefully ;) ) good authority that Clint won't be playing in the Ants practice match this Sunday and needs another week of full training before he is ready to go.

Quaddie is ready to go, has been fully training with the main squad for the last week and at this stage is going to play a half this weekend for the 'Ants.

Thanks for the update mate, will be keen to get along again this weekend.

Made the trip down to Sleep Hollow to watch Clint on Saturday. Due to a screw up with the times I only arrived at 1/4 time of the seniors game. Clint didn't play the last quarter and looked a bit proppy on his quad at the end of the third, so I'm sure he was rested for precautionary reasons. Was on and off the bench for the 2nd and 3rd quarters but spent more time on the ground more than off.

First thing that I noticed about Clint (aside from the fact he was wearing Chief's number 34), was who is this guy running across the ground like he's floating on air. He doesn't run over the ground so much as glide....he is quick, but it looks effortless. He played HFF all of the time he was on the ground. Wasn't involved in play a whole lot, but showed enough for mine to suggest he will make it and in future years he will provide us with some special moments. He took a beautiful grab deep in the forward line, where he moved into the contest from the side, jumped and glided through the air laterally and showed a nice vertical leap and strong hands. Missed a sitter of a set shot though and his kicking action looked awkward....from what I have seen of him so far, his field kicking looks slightly better than his set shot, however I admit that observation is based on a pretty small sample set.

Defensively he was prepared to chase and his closing speed is very good, however on a few occasions I thought that if he had of put in a few harder paces to start with then he could have laid a strong tackle, perhaps he was sitting back watching his opponent to see where he was going to run to before closing, but I'd rather see him show a bit more desperation defensively.

I think some of the younger kids could do very well by watching Murph this year. Murph reminds me of a kid with a new Christmas present. His upper body strenght is much better this year, and he is like a kid playing with his new toy...his chasing and tackling have been outstanding in the pre-season, and he just straight lines his man, even if that means he misses occasionally, for the most part he doesn't.

Anyway, for a first hit out for the Ants, Clint showed some exciting signs and is a perfect size for a wingman/flanker at AFL level....good times ahead.

I will head out again this Saturday to Casey Fields to have another look and hopefully his quad pulls up ok.

How quick is he? Are we talking Deledio/Lovett quick?

Sounds like he should sit down and have a good look at Eddie Betts' defensive pressure when in the Carlton FC.

I am really looking forward to seeing this guy play. Based on the weekend, would you say we are likely to see him in the seniors at any stage this year Gilly? Or more likely a project player?

How quick is he? Are we talking Deledio/Lovett quick?

Sounds like he should sit down and have a good look at Eddie Betts' defensive pressure when in the Carlton FC.

I am really looking forward to seeing this guy play. Based on the weekend, would you say we are likely to see him in the seniors at any stage this year Gilly? Or more likely a project player?

I can't really answer that. I suspect he would be quicker over 100m than both of those players, perhaps not as quick over the frst 20. He has long legs and take big strides, not those quick steps and furious leg pumping like Judd, Deledio and Murph. That's why I think his best work might be out of a FP on a long lead, or on the wing where he can find space, or hit the ball at speed. I am surprised he wasn't drafted by a WA team as the wide spaces of their grounds would suit him to a T. Perhaps that is one factor that put Victorian clubs off drafting him?? I dont' know, but it will be their loss and our gain.

Like I said, it was his first hit-out and he had limited time and was obviously nursed through the game with his quad, so I am not going to make a judgement on this one game. When he plays a full game and if he shows more glimpses like he did last weekend and if we get some injuries later in the year then I just suspect it is a matter of where the coaches see him in the pecking order as far as making a debut for us later in the year. . (i.e. is Jake in front of him for a mid-tall forward spot, is Grigga in front of him as an attacking wingman).

I wouldn't call him a project player...his body is a good size already, his skills are fine (although his kicking might need a bit of work).

Quad is still presenting some troubles, restricted work in training and is still proabably a couple of weeks off playing for the Ants.

If anybody gets a chance take a look at Jarrad Oakley Nichols from richmond/Coburg Tigers to get a rough comparison (only we have the better model :D :thumbsu: )

Thought I would bump my buddy back to the first page. Any of you looking for extra incentive to get along to the Bullants game this Saturday, I have it on good authority (thanks to my good authority ;) ), that Clint's quad is right to go and he should be playing for the Ants this weekend. Well worth the admission price i would say :thumbsu:

Will he be playing for the Ants senior or reserve team?

I'd like to see him come through the reserves, make him really improve his game, and get rewarded each time he does. From the Bullants reserves, soon into the Bullants seniors, and maybe later in the season into the Carlton team.

Past Clinton Benjamin