Club 18

gooday mate, yeah, great win, to be honest I heard about their S2 and thought they stack S3...and based on the lads that showed up in the morning it wouldn't surprise me if there were some from S2, not many under 5'10 i reckon...then again everyone looks 5'10 to me...has to be one of complete games by our boys, just goes to show that if we can concentrate we can produce...it is a very tight race now...and so it should be...good interesting footy from now on...hanging for Saturdays...:thumbsu:

Yeah good win JP. Not sure if we play you again - was an enjoyable day against you at Ajani. Had a brief chat to a couple of guys during the game v Marcellin on the weekend (as you do when the ball is down the other end) and they were pretty positive about the Dragons too.

Hopefully you are around finals time, the clubbies needs sides like yours:thumbsu:

Thanks Dee, look we're probably still a bit behind the 8 ball as far as the top 4 is concerned, couple of games we shouldn't have dropped including the 4 point nail-biter versus your mob...jezz that was close...but i think we're still a good chance of getting there, if we do from this point we will make it competitive...I think the thing about our side is that unlike most other side we don't have the luxury of more than one team, there's certainly no Box Hill North players ( seniors or Magoos ) playing with us at any given time...classic example is Old Scotch, Fitzroy Reds who have the luxury of many teams, they can adjust their side depending on the fixture, the plus side of things is that we get to play the same blokes week in week out and gel much better as a team...

Having played bottom D grade comps before I must say Clubbies has been fun...it is a great competition and you don't know what you get served up from one week to the other, you can throw the form guide out altogether...except when it comes to the top 3 teams, they've been pretty consistent...

You guys missed out on playing us at home, we have some nice food after every home match, so far this year we had a variety of different Asian cuisine and last weekend our Korean player's mum came and did the best Korean BBQ...man it is mouthwatering just thinking about it....:thumbsu:

who ever is playing beaumaris next round in the clubbies has got no chance with the possibility of chris "the fist" badman coming back into the side from the reserves. this solid backman never fails to fist a ball out of a forwards hands when it gets tough. forwards, be scared...

With C section clubs also having the luxury of a week off this Saturday (in addition to the traditional A/B bye), which Club XVIII teams might benefit most from a few of their senior / reserve lads dropping back to help out and/or find form and fitness???

It could mean the difference between a win and a loss.

I'm thinking:

Xavs (2) and Uni Blues in section 1
Uni Blacks and Fitzroy Reds in section 2
NOBSPC and Scotch (3) in section 3

If Beaumaris is not playing this week in their 1s and 2s, does that mean that their 3s going to have a few of these blokes running around??? Hence "the Fist" is coming down to play 3s???

There is the chance of this though you'd think most clubs would not break the spirit of the competition for short term gain. You would expect most of clubbies from the A, B and C grade clubs would get a couple back if they have been topping up their reserves but each club will be different.

The VAFA usually put out a direction to the clubs to not "stack sides" on the byes because the same problem can arise in the lower U19 grades where a club has 2 U19 teams.

Good point, and i think for the blokes that are playing in the clubbies in those A and B grades, they won't be too pleased if they get dropped so their reserves or seniors can run a round instead...I won't be too happy about that if I were them...:thumbsu:

The only circumstances in which a Club 18 player should make way for a senior/reserve player this weekend is if the Club 18 player is happy to take a week off to rest and recuperate.

If a Club 18 player has done the right thing by training and working hard to play this weekend, the he should get the chance to play in his team. That's what Club 18 is about - and also why there's 8 on the bench.

The only circumstances in which a Club 18 player should make way for a senior/reserve player this weekend is if the Club 18 player is happy to take a week off to rest and recuperate.

If a Club 18 player has done the right thing by training and working hard to play this weekend, the he should get the chance to play in his team. That's what Club 18 is about - and also why there's 8 on the bench.

Scribe, our clubbies had a great example of a club doing the right thing last week (your club in fact). Our guys were playing Reds S3 team at 2pm at Vic Park after your S2 side's game at the same venue. The S2 game was forfeited but I didn't see any guys stacking the side in the later game.:thumbsu:

G'day Mag mate, trying my best to get the best out of the boys!! Carrey has been solid, playing a bit further away from goal than normal, and Duke has been solid mainly on ball and forward, he had one poor game but bounced back the following week, as a backman!

How's things up there? i see jungle went home, how's he going? Results don't seem to be going your way mate...I know the feeling, keep the head up!

Cheers,

Jungle is going real good, should poll well in B&F, Won our first game on Sat, big night, Puke and punches the order of the night.
I should say the Seniors won their first game cause us Magoo's won our third! ground was in shocking condition and it's were they are hosting the Granny this year!
Thanks for the update

boys, in fact Scribe, please beat Scotch...that's all i'm asking...hahaha...same goes for Dee...need you blokes to stand up against Scotch if there are to be any chance of seeing the Dragons in the finals...of course we need to knock over Beau, Geelong and Therry...:eek:

how VERY interesting that old xavs (2) beat prahran in the round that their 1's and 2's had the bye....lost their earlier encounter by 50 and won yesterday by 40????????

gee they love to STACK dont they.....

boys, in fact Scribe, please beat Scotch...that's all i'm asking...hahaha...same goes for Dee...need you blokes to stand up against Scotch if there are to be any chance of seeing the Dragons in the finals...of course we need to knock over Beau, Geelong and Therry...:eek:
The grapevine is running amok with the high quality of competitive footy at Beaumaris v Dragons yesterday. Apparently Beauy did have a gun or two running around including big Mick having a run before returning to the ones.
Well done to both teams on a great display played in top spirit and if the Dragons continue in that vain look out!

how VERY interesting that old xavs (2) beat prahran in the round that their 1's and 2's had the bye....lost their earlier encounter by 50 and won yesterday by 40????????

gee they love to STACK dont they.....

absolute disgrace that this is aloud to happen jumpman, undermines the integrity of the competition thats for sure. Oh well, that might be enough to get them in the finals in place of two teams that beat them by ten goals!
Weird draw hasn't helped either. The teams that don't have teams in the higher grades are blatantly disadvantaged....how this is allowed is beyond me.

Pointblank, it was an absolute cracker of a game yesterday, we probably didn't play our best footy but escaped with the 4 points...3 point win over a pretty good Beauy side showed some character...we came back hit the front after they went up by 9 points half way through the last quarter...then its 5 miniutes of madness in their forwardline till the siren went...no doubt they had players from their 1s and Magoos in that side but we won and that is that...:thumbsu: Interesting to see Scotch lose to Carey...so now we need Bulleen to do us the favour and also Reds to beat Scotch to see the Dragons in the 4!!!

Great stuff JP.
Don't discount Beaumaris at home to roll Old Scotch next week!!!!

JP,

Great win by your boys yesterday, though I think you will find Scribe has little influence on how the Reds' Club XVIII (3) side performs - he plays seniors/reserves and coaches their reserves.

Good luck for the rest of the season.

The Brain

In that case Pointblank...Go Beauy...

hahaha...Scribe can do anything he puts his head to...the Dragons are having this week off as we have the bye and need sometime to refresh for our assalt the week after...can't be complacent playing against Geelong and Therry...anything can happen...

Pointblank...Beauy's ground was a trip down memory lane for a few of the Dragon boys as we remembered when we were kids playing in mud filled centre squares...you can lose ya boots in their mate!!! hahaha...:thumbsu:

In that case Pointblank...Go Beauy...

hahaha...Scribe can do anything he puts his head to...the Dragons are having this week off as we have the bye and need sometime to refresh for our assalt the week after...can't be complacent playing against Geelong and Therry...anything can happen...

Pointblank...Beauy's ground was a trip down memory lane for a few of the Dragon boys as we remembered when we were kids playing in mud filled centre squares...you can lose ya boots in their mate!!! hahaha...:thumbsu:
Ahhh JP,
You must have been playing in the midfield amongst the gluepot.
Hear on the grapevine that OG have a social night after your match so u may have a tougher hit out than expected.

absolute disgrace that this is aloud to happen jumpman, undermines the integrity of the competition thats for sure. Oh well, that might be enough to get them in the finals in place of two teams that beat them by ten goals!
Weird draw hasn't helped either. The teams that don't have teams in the higher grades are blatantly disadvantaged....how this is allowed is beyond me.

do we know whether they actually stacked? I see from the OXFC site that the club tragically lost one of their players overseas in an accident - am sure this shock spurred the guys on given the reference on the site to this in the match review.

bigger result was De La knocking off the Crocs - suddenly Old Melburnians are top. Massive game vs your mob this week Rooster out at SFX

Club 18