Club XVIII 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Uncle Mick

Shuffler - we had a reunion match on the weekend with a number of 2001 C Section premiership players coming out of retirement. I was quietly confident the quality of the group playing would be good enough to get a win. Looks like we might've convinced a few to run around again for the rest of the season. Will hopefully make us a competitive outfit for the reamining 3 games.
As for Ajax beating Hawthorn that has really thrown me. We played Ajax about a month ago and I found them to be the least capable of the sides in finals contention. I wonder if there was a wedding in Hawthorn or whether they had a stinker? Very surprising result for mine.
I think i know what may have happened between hawthorn & Ajax. A,B & C Section had a bye on the weekend. Ajax plays in C section & Hawthorn doesnt. You guys can work the rest out.

Shuffler - we had a reunion match on the weekend with a number of 2001 C Section premiership players coming out of retirement. I was quietly confident the quality of the group playing would be good enough to get a win. Looks like we might've convinced a few to run around again for the rest of the season. Will hopefully make us a competitive outfit for the reamining 3 games.
As for Ajax beating Hawthorn that has really thrown me. We played Ajax about a month ago and I found them to be the least capable of the sides in finals contention. I wonder if there was a wedding in Hawthorn or whether they had a stinker? Very surprising result for mine.

Well the least that the Ormond boys could do would be to pay the bar tab from the Hampton reunion? Gifts like that don't come around every day.

Beamsy - The C Section and Clubbies byes for Mazenod could also be the reason the Under 19's won by 217 points? Or that could just be because the club is up and about..

We will find out where Hawthorn are at next week when they make the trek to Central to get a front row seat to the Jeff Bates show.

Well the least that the Ormond boys could do would be to pay the bar tab from the Hampton reunion? Gifts like that don't come around every day.

Beamsy - The C Section and Clubbies byes for Mazenod could also be the reason the Under 19's won by 217 points? Or that could just be because the club is up and about..

We will find out where Hawthorn are at next week when they make the trek to Central to get a front row seat to the Jeff Bates show.
Fat chance of us paying the bar tab!
I dont rate Hawthorn & Mazenod will easily account for them this Saturday. They beat us 2 weeks ago. we played for 3 quarters with 16 vs 26. They also have a number of their better players in the Greek Islands at the moment. Either way they will not get the chockies at Central reserve. I might pop down for a look because we have the bye this week. I would expect that you would make me feel welcome!

The Mazenod clubbies always make every one of the bumper crowd feel welcome.

You can't begrudge the Hawthorn boys for making the trip to the Islands at this time of year.

I'm sure they are seeing a lot more ball on mykinos than they would have seen this Saturday anyway..

You can't begrudge the Hawthorn boys for making the trip to the Islands at this time of year.

I'm sure they are seeing a lot more ball on mykinos than they would have seen this Saturday anyway..

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!! Some sharp work there Shuffler.

I know; contender for post of the year. Remembering some of the Hawthorn players, Mykonos would be a fitting destination

I have seen Hawthorn on a couple of occasions this year and I rate them highly. I would say this weekend is a pre-match of what we will see if the grand final. With Ajax and Ormond doing well in the 2s they don't have the depth of Mazenod to compete with Hawthorn and they can't afford to drop players down like I suspect they did on the weekend to beat Hawthorn. I reckon they will be the ones to beat but it will be an interesting game I wish I could see at Mazenod this week.

Thought our boys were a bit stiff in Norm Nugent's write up this week. In our 3rd season of Club 18 footy, last Saturday was the first time we've saluted for the second time in a season and all he can write about is OG being no good on the road. What about credit where it's due, Norm?!!
Very good chance we might notch our 3rd win of the year tomorrow. Never thought we'd see the day our Clubbies would have 3 wins on the board. Just a shame it's at 2pm with the Carlton/Collingwood game on live.

Gday fellas, i was reading earlier how some blokes get into the younger fellas of the team. ive been playing clubbies this year for a kick since im focusing on year 12, all year ive been copping shit, i dont mind it since it is senior football and ive been playing well, however a few weeks ago i was king hit and knocked out behind play, ive been out for 4 weeks now, why is it some blokes get into us younger blokes but dont touch the bigger blokes

Thought our boys were a bit stiff in Norm Nugent's write up this week. In our 3rd season of Club 18 footy, last Saturday was the first time we've saluted for the second time in a season and all he can write about is OG being no good on the road. What about credit where it's due, Norm?!!
Very good chance we might notch our 3rd win of the year tomorrow. Never thought we'd see the day our Clubbies would have 3 wins on the board. Just a shame it's at 2pm with the Carlton/Collingwood game on live.

so does richmonds win mean you're worse than chadstones reserves?

Looks like the big shot Mazenod boys can back up their posts. Hopefully, the rocket our boys got on the weekend after our insipid loss will result in a more spirited effort on the weekend. With the Seniors & Reserves expecting a hadnful back we should benefit with a few more dropping back.

Hummer - are the rumours true you've got one too many on your table for the anniversary dinner?

Looks like the big shot Mazenod boys can back up their posts. Hopefully, the rocket our boys got on the weekend after our insipid loss will result in a more spirited effort on the weekend. With the Seniors & Reserves expecting a hadnful back we should benefit with a few more dropping back.

Hummer - are the rumours true you've got one too many on your table for the anniversary dinner?
What happened against the RC boys UM. I thought you were an absolute monty against those spuds.

Quite simply, we played like a side that thought we would win. And quite frankly, we're not good enough to have that attitude.

Came across the worst umpire in the history of footy on the weekend. Certainly not accusing him of influencing the result as he was shocking both ways. He tried to ruin what was a good game of footy by imposing himself on the contest. He threatened to report me after I asked him to do something about the goal umpire who was sitting on his mobile phone and awarded Richmond a dubious goal. It was in the first 1/4, so again, not suggesting it influenced the game, but to threaten a coach with a report simply for highlighting the fact a goal umpire was sitting on his mobile phone was nothing short of ridiculous. He even threatened to pay a free kick against our player for calling out "ball" while he tackled a player. Since when is that a rule? The amount of 25m penalties and some of the decisions made were farcical. I'd rather cop a bloke that is favourable to his own side than have a bloke who runs around with a massive chip on his shoulder trying to make the game his own. With my luck, we'll have the old prick again this weekend.

Anyway, fair play to Richmond on the weekend. They got a sniff and played like a side that wanted to win. Same couldn't be said about us.

UM, i am about to fall off my chair as I am going to agree with you.

We too had this umpire for our game before yours, and he did the same things, over umpired the game to an extent where some of the 25m penalties were similar to razor ray on a cold night at the G.

he was also cracking poor poor jokes all day, and getting too involved in the game for my liking.

2 instances come to mind where 2 of our players purely acidentally ran into him on seperate occasions which did not obscure his view at all and he stopped the game twice, both times threatening to report the bloke and awarded a free kick to NOBs both times. One of these was when we were 3 points down with less than 5 min to go, a ball up 20m out from our goal.

I am not going to complain that it changed the outcome of the game, because we played so so poorly that NOBs deserved to beat us with only 2 on their bench.

Just astounded that an umpire who has clearly come down from a higher grade, pay more free kicks than we have seen all year.

Not in the clubbies spirit, at all, I too would prefer a bias one-eyed umpire favouring his team UM.

Very honest appraisal of your performance on the weekend UM. It's also nice to see Chaz back on the airwaves. There is a way that you can possibly ensure that you dont have that peanut of an umpire again. Call Benny Goodman at the VAFA. UM you can do this in your coaching capacity. I had a very long discussion with Benny earlier in the year about the performance of an umpire. You have both said that the performance didnt neccessarily affect the outcome of the game, that is the tact you have to take. I successfully made the VAFA force an umpire to retire purely based on his lack of understanding of the game, his inability to convey clear & concise messages to the players & that by being inadequate in most facets of umpiring he was inadvertantly causing the players, coaches & spectators to act outside of what would be deemed acceptable. The only way WE, as lowly Clubbies teams can make any change is by going through the correct channels. Beamsy

Beamsy, I'm not really interested in getting blokes sacked or forcing them into retirement. I just think he needs to have his held pulled from out his ar$e- cos he was otherwise a reasonable umpire with respect to making decisions that weren't driven by his ego. Seems to me he's a 50 something year old who still lives with his mum and Saturdays are served as a 2 hour power trip to validate his purpose in life.

Haven't posted for quite some time, but thought there might be some interested onlookers... Hawthorn have a pretty cool website www.hawthornspartans.com.au that has some Youtube clips round by round of their season so far.

I don't know whether its because I've had a couple tonight already but this site is surely too professional for a clubbies team?

Was just doing some reasearch on the opposition, thats all.. enjoy, or not, whatever.

The lid is well and truly welded shut down at Mazenod. No gloating, praising or even discussing last weeks result from a game which may or may not have even taken place.

The Mazenod Clubbies have spent the first half of this week in Arizona freshening up ahead of the final month of the season. Apart from some liver injuries sustained on the plane, the troops are reported to be fit and healthy and looking forward to taking the bus down Springvale Road to Hampton this Saturday.

Finally, rumours of a betting scandal involving a plunge on Cam Debono to kick the first goal in the C18 (despite starting in defence and in the Reserves) are just that, rumours.

Big game for the poo browns tomorrow. A win against Ajax will seal their place in the August action.
Looks like UM crowed a bit early on the players dropping back. Whilst we do get a few from up the grades, we've also lost a heap from last week and are battling to field a side. Could be a long day at the office for the HR boys that turn up. Thankfully, only 1 week left of making phone calls all day Friday to get a side together.

Big game for the poo browns tomorrow. A win against Ajax will seal their place in the August action.
Looks like UM crowed a bit early on the players dropping back. Whilst we do get a few from up the grades, we've also lost a heap from last week and are battling to field a side. Could be a long day at the office for the HR boys that turn up. Thankfully, only 1 week left of making phone calls all day Friday to get a side together.

..Shame to hear it. Plenty of quandries around the selection table at Central Reserve last night as 35 does not divide into 26 with any degree of ease.

The result was a fully primed, cherry ripe Mazenod outfit that is eager to head over to Hampton and take the points.

The side will be flying over a day early to take in some beach sun and have a 'team bonding session' at Southland.

Is the rumour true shuffler that you are missing this week’s game as you have to babysit the new kitten you bought for your BFF?

Shuffler - from Southland, bus route 708 will drop you off just out front of Boss James. Zone 2 ticket will do the trick.

Thanks UM. The admin staff can phone Invicta ahead of time and ensure that 27 seats are left vacant.

Also, on behalf of Razzle Dazzle - which end of the away team bench is more comfortable?

Job done, Beamsy. Well done. Wonder if OG will give you a good run this week or lay down knowing their season is over.

Shuffler - the whisper out of Saturday was that you're not one of the boys. Care to prove otherwise? Was good to see a few of the lads stay back for a beer on Saturday. Doesn't happen enough at our level cos there's generally a 19s game on afterwards.