Club XVIII 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Uncle Mick

Hey, could anyone here help me out with finding a team to have a run around with? I've moved up Melbourne for uni this year and am missing playing footy. I live near the Essendon train station, use public transport, have no fitness base, could only train once a week because of work and am dying to have a kick of the footy! I am not at all familiar with the various leagues in Melbourne, all I know is I want to find a clubbies side that I could slot into some time in the next few weeks. Used to be a ruckman as a junior, unfortunately I stopped growing at around 6"1 and only got away with it in U/18's because I'd throw myself into the contest as hard as I could (injuring my opponent just as much as myself). I can usually kick, sometimes I can mark and I'm not much of a runner but I keep giving it everything for the whole game. Clubbies sounds like the level for me

St Bernard's off Beryl Street in Essendon and is about 3-4 mins from Essendon station. 4 Senior sides so plenty of opportunities for whatever level you are.

Also any of the EDFL sides would be okay for distance to where you are.

Beamsy, you can't go underground after a loss or 2. The people want to hear from you! What's going on down at the Gunn?
Terrible day for footy on the weekend. We got absolutely smashed again. Boys are having a red hot crack, but unfortunately we're just not up to it. Missed a few key players on Saturday and as our previous results have shown we can ill-afford to be missing our better players.

When do you play Richmond Central UM? that could be a morale boosting win for you. Beamsy has gone very very quiet. We had a ripping win on Saturday, an ugly game but a win nonetheless.

Beamsy, you can't go underground after a loss or 2. The people want to hear from you! What's going on down at the Gunn?
Terrible day for footy on the weekend. We got absolutely smashed again. Boys are having a red hot crack, but unfortunately we're just not up to it. Missed a few key players on Saturday and as our previous results have shown we can ill-afford to be missing our better players.
It may appear that I've dropped of the face of the earth due to a couple of losses, but the truth is I'm extremely busy at work at the moment. Anyway.....The loss agianst Mazenod was due to alot of factors. 1 is that we probably got ahead of ourselves after 3 convincing wins, secondly Mazenod had a quality side on the park, thirdly we dont seem to match up very well against them & lastly we had a number of players pull out of the side for various reasons. The loss against Ajax on the weekend was much harder to take. Inaccurate kicking, 5 players pulling out after selection on Thursday night & 1 classy midfielder all contributed to us going down. Metzy nearly pulled in a great mark in the goalsquare with 5 seconds to go, but unfortunately he dropped it & it went through for a point. Dont worry, I'm not avoiding the facts & there will be some soul searching done down at the Gunn ovewr the next 2 weeks. We have the bye this week which hopefully will freshen a couple of lads up. Onward & Upward!!!!!

Therry would be the obvious one in Glenroy. You can find their contact details on the wafa website. The other would be Old Essendon.

Thanks mate, I went over to Therry tonight and had a chat, gonna have a kick with the clubbies on Thursday. Might end up playing 18's or 19's though, apparently they're more in need of numbers.

Cool I hope you enjoy a kick with the lions!

Nice caboose UM. If you have some spare time have a look at the spartans website they have put a huge amount of effort into. Always good to see teams putting in some effort. Don't know about quoting lines from the movie 300 before singing the song?

Huuuuuge week of footy in Club XVIII (South) coming up. A clash of the titans as Old Richmond Scotch Central and Hampton Rovers lock horns in a battle where surely one side will post their first win of the season.
For the Rovers, a win will be the first '1' in the W column for not just its "Clubbies", but for the entire club in 2011. It's been a challenging start to the season down at 'The Boss' which means there will be plenty of pressure on the club's 3rds to break the duck and set the tone for their U19s later in the day.
Based on results, ORSC look like an improved outfit over the past couple of weeks, whilst the Rovers have sunken further into the mire with consecutive 100+ point beltings. Whatever the result (besides a draw), you can be sure the song will be sung with plenty of gusto by the winning team on Saturday afternoon.
Good luck to all involved.

watched the first half of the other RCAFC side and they looked pretty good for a half of footy, didn't catch much of the second however I believe it was their undoing. Should be a huge match with both sides undoubtedly excited at singing the song for the first and only time of the season.

How's the side looking for tomorrow, Humdinger?
Looks pretty good, a grand turnout on thursday and some injuries coming back from the Seniors which has pushed players down has inflated their stocks. Should be a rip snorter of a game. I saw Norm has tipped us, probably the first time he has ever looked on RCAFC favourably

Fair enough from Norm. We've been horrible the past 3 weeks and deserve the underdog tag. Not sure where that first win will come from with the results we've had of late, but to be fair on our boys, they're having a fair dinkum crack. We could potentially see our 50th player for the season tomorrow. Worthy of a banner?

without question although it may be hard to string one together in 16 hours, I hear it takes the entire suburb of sunshine a week to construct Hawthorns banner each week.

As it turns out, we got to 48. However, 50 is a strong possibility this weekend. Great result for our boys on the weekend. In our 3rd season of Club XVIII footy and we've never entered a 3/4 time huddle knowing the result was in the bag. Quite refreshing and great to chalk up the club's first win in 2011.

Pity we didn't play you guys this weekend. I might have had a run. Look out OG :)

Congrats on the first win Uncle Mick, back to the drawing board for RC.

Our game got called off on the weekend because a bloke broke his leg, literally a metre from the boundary line and they refused to move him until the ambulance came which took an hour. I understand that player safety is paramount, but it's ridiculous that a game gets called off due to the injury of one player. As it turns out, Fitzroy are a good side and probably had our measure so the 2 points is handy but nonetheless, very disappointing to essentially have a week off.

i have no doubt that waz could have slotted a cool 14 at the boss.

on hummers comments, agree with player safety and no one wanted to be liable if the player is moved and more damage is done, but to call off a game when a player was injured almost in the goal square was amazing.

i could only think the roy boys would be disappointed with only getting 2 points considering their form early in the season.

Fair play to you, sir. Shame we didn't get to see the exploits of one of the VAFA's finest on Saturday. Hopefully, the return bout will change this.