Co-captains

Lets be honest though, if you looked at Rockcliff heading into the role at the time, you would have thought it was the right choice. They're a similar style of player and rockcliff went and did it himself and became a very harsh over the top captain. What i'm saying is this would have the same option to backfire, but he's got a good core around him with Jones sharing
I think the difference is that JV has literally been groomed since he was about 12 to be captain of the Melbourne Football Club.

Not sure if want

Edit - I was critical of Jones going missing at times last year when we needed our leaders to stand up (Both Saints games to start), so maybe it isn't the worst move. The fact he said he was 'initially surprised' by it doesn't exactly fill me with confidence this was player driven though, reckon this is Goodwin forcing it

Lets be honest though, if you looked at Rockcliff heading into the role at the time, you would have thought it was the right choice.
On paper definitely.

Having said that, a certain level of maturity is required to be captain of the club and it's patently obvious Tom doesn't have that now- I can't say whether that was obvious prior to his selection.

Also, he is one ugly mother****er: he's got Tom Greene levels of punchable face.

The fact he said he was 'initially surprised' by it doesn't exactly fill me with confidence this was player driven though, reckon this is Goodwin forcing it
Exactly my feeling when I read it mate.
He did go on to heap praise on JV but still, will be interesting.

I tend to think of co-captains like a succession plan. if done right, it can work. If implemented wrong, you get collingwood's succession plan, and our leadership in 2013
I have no doubt that this is part of the reasoning, but isn't that what vice-captains are for? As a vice captain, you are aware of your position as heir apparent, but you also know that you're on probation and that you have to keep developing and applying the effort to get the captaincy. Being made captain and still being very much in training for the job seems like the reward has preceded the achievement. If you look at the Roos/Goodwin model, Roos was still the senior coach until he actually stood down. They weren't co-senior coaches. I'm all for succession planning though. No problem with the concept. Maybe I'm worried over nothing, but it just doesn't quite sit right with me. I don't really like the co-captains model.

Same. Chains of command end in a single decision maker. Or you have a group wank and everyone becomes the captain and is 'invested'.

I'm going to go ahead and assume that they wouldn't have made this change unless Jones was comfortable with it, and as such, I'm happy.

I think he'll really relish the role, and will be All Australian this year.

All Australian Captain*

I was interested to see the article on the MFC website said that Jack and Todd were the first father/son combo to captain the club on a full-time basis. Does anyone know of any MFC captains that had a father or son skipper the club for any matches? I couldn't think of any off the top of my head.

Kind of harsh those two will be remembered in such a way. They both showed more heart and love for the club than Neeld, Schwab and the entire board.

I'll always consider Trenners and Grimes as a success story.

Facts i find interesting

Joe Daniher and Jack Viney where both drafted in 2012 under the F/S, both up to this point have played 70 games.

Also David Neitz Captained 168 games, surely this is under threat now perhaps?

Co-captains are never a good idea, in my opinion. Hopefully player driven, rather than Goodwin trying to make his mark in some fashion.
Sydney did cocaptains perfectly. We only ****ed it up because of Neeld

Also as much as i love jones as a captain hes always been a lead by example player, which is good but you also need someone who can give the boys a spray. Thats Viney

But not over the top and all the time, otherwise you loose the faith of the group. Which is my point in my previous posts.

Not saying he'll be over the top and he'll probs be a great captain, but it's easy to fall into if you expect standards as much as Viney does. Again i'm saying this won't happen and why i applaud him not being sole captain straight up

Really depends how the decision was made for me.

Player elected or Jones' idea/discussion with Goody - no worries.

Forced change by Goody - unsure, would be good to know why. Could of waited till next year, but probably not a massive deal to be honest as Viney already led by example.

Really depends how the decision was made for me.

Player elected or Jones' idea/discussion with Goody - no worries.

Forced change by Goody - unsure, would be good to know why. Could of waited till next year, but probably not a massive deal to be honest as Viney already led by example.

Agree with this, I doubt it was Jones' idea as he said he was surprised initially.

First reaction - not a big fan of this. Not a fan of cocaps in general. Viney could have been vice captain for a year or two then taken over the reigns. This undermines Jones, who is in my opinion a pretty underrated captain.

I'm sure I'll come around. And I bloody love Viney. But initially not a huge fan of this.